Detailed Action
This is the First Office Action on the Merits based on the 18/672,793 application filed on 05/23/2024 and which claims as originally filed have been considered in the ensuing action.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/20/2023 was filed. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
A third axis separate from the first and second axis (at least claim 5)
The resistance unit comprising two or more of a fan, magnetic wheel, fluid resistance chamber, electric generator or centrifugal pressure plate (at least claim 8, 19)
The resistance unit comprising one of a fan, magnetic wheel, fluid resistance chamber, or centrifugal pressure plate AND a close loop component of claims 5 and 16
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 3, “the axle supports” should be corrected to –the pair of laterally spaced axle supports---
Claim 2 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 2, “the axle supports” should be corrected to –the pair of laterally spaced axle supports---
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 1, “the axle supports” should be corrected to –the pair of laterally spaced axle supports---
Claim 10 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 1, “the channel” should be corrected to ---the upwardly opening channel----
On line 2, “the axle” should be corrected to ---the rear wheel axle---
Claim 11 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 3, “the axle supports” should be corrected to –the pair of laterally spaced axle supports---
On line 4, “the axle” should be corrected to ---the rear wheel axle---
Claim 12 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 12, “the axle supports” should be corrected to –the pair of laterally spaced axle supports---
Claim 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 3, “the chain” should be corrected to ---the drive chain---
Claim 20 is objected to because of the following informalities:
On line 1, “the axle supports” should be corrected to –the pair of laterally spaced axle supports---
On line 3, “the channel” should be corrected to ---the upwardly opening channel----
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 9-12 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al (US 9,884,237).
Regarding claim 1:
Wang et al disclose a frame (base frame 10) comprising a pair of laterally spaced axle supports (see annotated Fig. below) configured to support a rear wheel axle of a bicycle (see Fig. 7, showing a rear wheel of a bicycle attached to the base frame at the axle supports), wherein the axle supports define a laterally extending first axis (see annotated Fig. below); a drive wheel (roller 24) rotatably supported by the frame, wherein the drive wheel is rotatable about a second axis parallel to, and radially spaced from, the first axis (see annotated Fig. below); and a resistance unit (damper unit 20) supported by the frame and operably coupled to the drive wheel (see Fig. 1).
[AltContent: textbox (Second axis)][AltContent: textbox (First axis)][AltContent: textbox (First axis)][AltContent: textbox (First axis)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (First axis)][AltContent: connector][AltContent: textbox (Laterally spaced axle supports)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Regarding claim 2:
Wang et al disclose that the resistance unit is positioned rearwardly of the axle supports, and wherein the second axis is positioned rearwardly of the first axis (see annotated Fig. above).
Regarding claim 9:
Wang et al disclose that at least one of the axle supports comprises an upwardly opening channel (see Fig. 1 showing that the axle support has a U-shaped channel, with the opening extending upwardly).
Regarding claim 10:
Wang et al disclose that the channel comprises a bottom recess shaped to receive one end of the axle, wherein the bottom recess defines the first axis (see Fig. 7, specifically).
Regarding claim 11:
Wang et al disclose a frame (base frame 10) comprising a pair of laterally spaced axle supports (see annotated Fig. below); a bicycle (the bicycle is shown in Fig. 8) comprising a rear wheel axle (shown in Fig. 7-8; the rear wheel of the bicycle is configured to be placed within the axle supports) removably supported by the axle supports, wherein the axle defines a laterally extending first axis (see annotated Fig. below); a drive wheel (roller 24) rotatably supported by the frame, wherein the drive wheel is rotatable about a second axis parallel to, and radially spaced from, the first axis (see annotated Fig. below); and a resistance unit (damper unit 20) supported by the frame and operably coupled to the drive wheel (see Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12:
Wang et al disclose that the resistance unit is positioned rearwardly of the axle supports, and wherein the second axis is positioned rearwardly of the first axis (see annotated Fig. above).
Regarding claim 20:
Wang et al disclose that at least one of the axle supports comprises an upwardly opening channel (see Fig. 1 showing that the axle support has a U-shaped channel, with the opening extending upwardly), and wherein the rear wheel axle comprises an end disposed in the channel (see Figs. 1-8).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-8 and 13-19, in which claims 4-8 and 14-19 are dependent upon claims 3 and 13 respectively, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: The prior art of record fails to teach or disclose the bicycle trainer of independent claims and further comprising a cog rotatably supported by the frame about the second axis, the cog being laterally spaced from the drive wheel (claims 3 and 13).
The closest prior art of record comprises Wang et al (US 9,884,237) and Shu-Chiung (US 2013/0053223).
Wang et al is discussed in detail above. Wang et al fails to disclose a cog, among other limitations.
Shu-Chiung teaches a training apparatus for use with a bicycle, wherein the rear fork is attached to the axle of a cassette of the device. Shu-Chiung further discloses toothed pulley (23, broadly interpreted as a cog) that is rotatable about a second axis that is shared with dampening wheel (30), spaced apart, but parallel to the axis of rotation of the axle of the rear fork. Shu-Chiung fails to disclose a pair of laterally spaced axle supports, and that the cog is configured share an axis with the drive wheel and not the dampening wheel.
Conclusion
/Megan Anderson/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3784