NON-FINAL REJECTION
This application, filed May 23, 2024, is a continuation of PCT/CN2022/101011, filed Jun. 24, 2022, which claims benefit of foreign priority to CN 202111439232.3, filed Nov. 29, 2021.
Claims 1-10 are pending.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of Applicant's claim to foreign priority under 35 U.S.C.
119(a)-(d), and of Applicant' s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, or 365(c).
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on May 23, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement has been considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Min et al. (US Pub. 2023/0299242, cited on PTO-892, which is the English-language equivalent of WO 2022/078429, cited on the IDS dated 5/23/2024).
Min et al. disclose and claim light emitting devices comprising an electroluminescent unit and a color conversion layer comprising at least one color conversion material (CCM), which is a compound of structural formula (1) or (2).
In particular, Min et al. exemplify and claim a light-emitting device comprising a CCM compound of the structural formula shown below (claim 4, p. 40, left col., third compound from top) in comparison with DBTN-1:
Claimed Compound DBTN-1
Compound of Min et al.
Thus, Min et al. disclose, exemplify, and claim light emitting devices comprising a B/N (boron-nitrogen) compound which is identical to the core structure of DBTN-1, as recited by claims 1 and 10.
The compound of Min et al. differs from DBTN-1 only in the absence of the five peripheral tert-butyl substituents.
However, the compound of Min et al. is disclosed as a species of general formula (2), having the structural formula,
,
wherein R1 to R5 are independently selected from the group consisting of, inter alia, C3-C20 branched or cyclic alkyl (claim 1).
Min et al. further disclose that any hydrogen atom on the CCM compounds may be substituted, particularly preferably selected from, e.g., t-butyl (para. [0055]).
In addition, Min et al. exemplify several compounds with multiple tert-butyl substituents, including, e.g., the compound of Example 2,
which absorbs blue light from GaN LEDs with a peak between 400-465 nm, and emits green
light between 490-530 nm with a color coordinate of (0.16, 0.60) (paras. [0118]-[0119]).
Therefore, it would have been predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art as of the effective filing date to modify the compound of Min et al. by substituting hydrogen with t-butyl at R1, R2, R3, R4, and R5 of formula (2) to arrive at DBTN-1 with a reasonable expectation of success, because Min et al. expressly teach and suggest multiple t-butyl substitutions on the core CCM structure to enhance organic solvent solubility, and exemplify a structurally similar compound with four t-butyl substitutions that emits green light, as does DBTN-1. The modification would be expected to retain the core structure's narrow-band emission characteristics while achieving improved solubility.
As recognized by MPEP § 2144.09, a prima facie case of obviousness may be made when chemical compounds have (1) very close structural similarities and (2) similar utilities. "An obviousness rejection based on similarity in chemical structure and function entails the motivation of one skilled in the art to make a claimed compound, in the expectation that compounds similar in structure will have similar properties." In re Payne, 606 F.2d 303, 313, 203 USPQ 245, 254 (CCPA 1979).
A prima facie case of obviousness based on structural similarity is rebuttable by proof that the claimed compounds possess unexpectedly advantageous or superior properties. In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 137 USPQ 43 (CCPA 1963).
Claim Objections
Claims 2-9 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Citation of Additional Prior Art
Additional references made of record are considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
CN 113651841A (cited on PTO-892) discloses structurally similar B/N light-emitting materials, and exemplifies the reactant recited in step (1) of claim 2, as compound 2 (para. [0058]):
.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to SARA E. TOWNSLEY whose telephone number is 571-270-7672. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon-Fri from 10:00 am to 6:00 pm (EST). If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Jeff S. Lundgren, can be reached at 571-272-5541. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/SARA E. TOWNSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 1629