DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 2,3 and 5 are cancelled.
Claim 1 is amended.
Claims 1 and 4 are pending.
Response to arguments
With respect to Applicant’s remarks filed on 06/08/2026; Applicant's “Amendments and Remarks” have been fully considered. Applicant’s remarks will be addressed in sequential order as they were presented.
Applicant remarks:
Kim does not teach or suggest at least the novel and nonobvious combination of amended claim- “a second mobile terminal…navigation device”. Kim’s first mobile terminal does not receive destination information from a second mobile terminal via short-range wireless communication.
Office Response:
Kim teaches the destination information transmits from first to second mobile terminal via a communication network, additionally Kwon mentioned the communication network can be short-range wireless communication. Since the amendment changes the scope of the claim, office provides new mapping for the independent and depended claims.
Applicant further argues that the other independent claims which recite similar features are allowable and the dependent claims are also allowable since they depend on allowable subject and the Office respectfully disagrees. It is the Office's stance that all of the claimed subject matter has been properly rejected; therefore, the Office's respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over US20030060976A1 to Sato et. al. (herein after “Sato”) in view of US20140006265A1 to Ye (herein after “Ye”).
Regarding claim 1, Sato teaches A navigation system comprising:
a first mobile terminal;
a second mobile terminal that establishes communication with the first mobile terminal (See Sato Abstract A navigation system has a first communication terminal unit; a second communication terminal unit which communicates with the first communication terminal unit),
when a distance from the first mobile terminal becomes equal to or less than a predetermined value, (See Sato para[0025]In further aspect of the navigation system of the present invention, the second communication terminal unit is a mobile communication terminal unit, and the location information transfer device of the second communication terminal unit has a short distance radio communication function to transfer the received location information to the car navigation apparatus using the short distance radio communication function.)
an in-vehicle navigation device that is able to communicate with the first mobile terminal, wherein: (See Sato abstract A navigation system has a first communication terminal unit; a second communication terminal unit which communicates with the first communication terminal unit; and a car navigation apparatus. The first communication terminal unit transmits the self-location information to the second communication terminal unit. ,figure 7)
when the communication between the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal is established, the first mobile terminal receives destination information including a destination selected in the second mobile terminal, (See Sato para [0083] For example, in a case where the BT transmitting/receiving section 35 of the portable telephone unit B is the master unit, if any slave unit (BT transmitting/receiving section for the car navigation apparatus S) existing within a radius of about 10 m is recognized, an approval process for exchanging and confirming their dedicated ID numbers, and producing a link key (password key) between master and slave units by generating the random number is made. By this approval process, connection between master and slave units is established to enable the data communication) and
transmits the destination information to the navigation device; (See Sato para[0150]
At step S 38, the system controller 70 may transmit the device information of the car navigation apparatus S, together with the car location information and the car arrival required time (D3 in FIG. 7).)
when the navigation device receives the destination information from the first mobile terminal, the navigation device sets a destination of route guidance using the received destination information; (See Sato para[0113]Then, if the terminal location information and the terminal information of the portable telephone unit A are acquired in the car navigation apparatus S, a destination is set up on the basis of the terminal location information, a route up to the destination is searched for and presented to the user Y through a route searching process in the car navigation apparatus S, and the car arrival required time is calculated, as shown in FIG. 7., para[0118] Then, if the terminal location information (after movement) and the terminal information are received in the car navigation apparatus S, a destination is set up on the basis of the terminal location information (after movement), the route up to the destination is searched for and presented to the user Y through a new route searching process (S 40) in the car navigation apparatus S, and the car arrival required time is calculated, as shown in FIG. 7.)
the second mobile terminal converts information including the destination selected using existing software of the second mobile terminal into the destination information that is able to be transmitted to the first mobile terminal by the short-range wireless communication, by using the predetermined software; and (See Sato para [0078] The receiving section 31 has a function of receiving various sorts of information (data) including the voice data input via an antenna AT3 through the mobile radio communications network NT from the portable telephone unit A. Also, the receiving section 31 has another function as a location information receiving device of a second communication terminal unit in this invention to receive the terminal location information and terminal information transmitted from the portable telephone unit A, para[ 0058] The receiving section 11 has a function of receiving various sorts of information (data) including the voice data input via an antenna AT1 through the mobile radio communications network NT from the portable telephone unit B. Also, the receiving section 11 has another function as a location information receiving device of a first communication terminal unit in this invention, is it possible to convert format of first mobile terminal destination to second mobile terminal destination information by the shared software)
(see Sato para[0055] a portable telephone unit (mobile unit) A as a first communication terminal unit of the invention, a portable telephone unit (mobile unit) B as a second communication terminal unit of the invention, )
the in-vehicle navigation device and the first mobile terminal are pre-paired. (See Sato para[0083[For example, in a case where the BT transmitting/receiving section 35 of the portable telephone unit B is the master unit, if any slave unit (BT transmitting/receiving section for the car navigation apparatus S) existing within a radius of about 10 m is recognized, an approval process for exchanging and confirming their dedicated ID numbers, and producing a link key (password key) between master and slave units by generating the random number is made. By this approval process, connection between master and slave units is established to enable the data communication. Once the approval process is made between master and slave units, the master and slave units are automatically connected to enable the data communication on the basis of the link key, without making the approval process at the time of subsequent connection. Thus, the BT transmitting/receiving section 35 transfers the received terminal location information and terminal information to the car navigation apparatus S in accordance with an instruction of the system controller 41.)
However, Sato does not expressly mentioned or otherwise teach by short-range wireless communication, the communication between the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal being established without going through authentication processing, when the communication between the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal is established, the first mobile terminal transmits predetermined software to the second mobile terminal, the predetermined software enabling the destination information to be transmitted to the first mobile terminal by the short-range wireless communication;. Nevertheless, Ye same field of endeavor teaches by short-range wireless communication (with Ye para[0036] The near field communication (NFC), also called short range wireless communication, is a high frequency wireless communication technology for a short distance, allowing contactless point-to-point data transmission and data exchanges within 10 cm (3.9 inches) between electronic devices. )
the communication between the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal being established without going through authentication processing (see Ye para [0036] In a further embodiment, the near-end communication module 32 can be implemented with Bluetooth® chips, near field communication chips or USB transmission control chips. The near field communication (NFC), also called short range wireless communication, is a high frequency wireless communication technology for a short distance, allowing contactless point-to-point data transmission and data exchanges within 10 cm (3.9 inches) between electronic devices. NFC technology traces its roots back to contactless radio-frequency identification)
when the communication between the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal is established, the first mobile terminal transmits predetermined software to the second mobile terminal, the predetermined software enabling the destination information to be transmitted to the first mobile terminal by the short-range wireless communication; (see Ye claim 3, a mobile terminal send a shared software to another mobile terminal by the way of a short range transmission).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Sato’s navigation system with first and second mobile terminal (similar to second and first mobile terminal of the invention) with Yu’s Short range wireless communication and transmitting predetermined software from one terminal to another terminal and convert the destination data using that predetermined software in order to allow to ease the control a distribution process of the software, and the software in the digital application store is not allowed to be transmitted to or installed on other terminals after being downloaded (See para[0003]).
Regarding claim 4, Sato and Ye remain applied as claim 1. However, Sato does not expressly mention or otherwise teach wherein each of the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal is configured to be able to perform near field communication-communication. Nevertheless, Ye same field of endeavor teaches wherein each of the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal is configured to be able to perform near field communication-communication. (See Ye para[0009] a near-end communication module for sending the shared software to another mobile terminal according to the software sharing request by way of short range transmission).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Sato’s navigation system with first and second mobile terminal (similar to second and first mobile terminal of the invention) with Yu’s Short range wireless communication and transmitting predetermined software from one terminal to another terminal and convert the destination data using that predetermined software in order to allow to ease the control a distribution process of the software, and the software in the digital application store is not allowed to be transmitted to or installed on other terminals after being downloaded (See para[0003]).
Conclusion
/NAZIA AFRIN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666