Status of claims
Claim 1 is amended.
Claim 5 is newly added.
Claims 1-5 are pending.
Applicant’s amendment and new claim are entered. Applicant’s remarks are also entered into the record. A new search was made necessitated by the applicant’s amendments and remarks.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s remarks and arguments are respectfully considered but not
persuasive. Examiner stands for the argument on page 6, “Kwon fails to remedy the above-discussed (“the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal do not go through authentication processing”) deficiencies in Kim” that Kwon teaches in the para[0070] that one of the suitable technologies for implementing such short-range communications include is Near Field Communication (NFC) which does not required authentication processing.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over KR 20170029477 A to Kim et al. (herein after “Kim”) in view of US20160381534A1 to Kwon et al. (herein after “Kwon”).
Regarding claim 1, Kim teaches A navigation system comprising (See Kim para [0002]In general, a service providing system and method according to conventional technology have provided various services to users through a location-based device; para[0015] Figure 3 is a block diagram showing a vehicle navigation system): a first mobile terminal (See Kim para[0008] a first mobile terminal for receiving destination information when a vehicle request menu is selected and transmitting the destination information and current location information through a communication network); a second mobile terminal (See Kim para[0008] a second mobile terminal for transmitting vehicle information and current location information of the vehicle to the first mobile terminal through the communication network when the destination information and the current location information are received through the communication network,) that establishes communication with the first mobile terminal by short-range wireless communication (see Kim a short-range communication module (114), )when a distance from the first mobile terminal becomes equal to or less than a predetermined value (See Kim para[0075]The navigation session (300) applied to the telematics terminal (200) displays a driving route on map data, and when the location of the mobile communication terminal (100) is within a preset distance from a blind spot included in the driving route) ; and an in-vehicle navigation device that is able to communicate with the first mobile terminal (See Kim para[0075] automatically forms a wireless network with a terminal (e.g., a vehicle navigation device) mounted on a surrounding vehicle ), wherein: when the communication between the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal is established (see Kim para[0009] a control unit for receiving destination information when a vehicle request menu is selected and outputting the destination information and the current location; ), the first mobile terminal receives destination information including a destination selected in the second mobile terminal, and transmits the destination information to the navigation device(See Kim para[0008] a first mobile terminal for receiving destination information when a vehicle request menu is selected and transmitting the destination information and current location information through a communication network); and when the navigation device receives the destination information from the first mobile terminal(See Kim para[0008] a second mobile terminal for transmitting vehicle information and current location information of the vehicle to the first mobile terminal through the communication network when the destination information and the current location information are received through the communication network,) ,
the navigation device sets a destination of route guidance using the received destination information (See Kim para [0061]As illustrated in FIG. 3, the vehicle navigation system comprises an information provision center (30) that provides traffic information and various data (e.g., programs, executable files, etc.); and a telematics terminal (200) that is installed in the vehicle and receives traffic information through a long-distance wireless communication network (20) and/or a short-distance wireless communication network, and provides a route guidance service based on GPS signals received through an artificial satellite (10) and the traffic information.).
However, Kim does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal do not go through authentication processing. Nevertheless, Kwon same field of endeavor teaches the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal do not go through authentication processing (see Kwon para[0070]The short-range communication module 114 is configured to facilitate short-range communications. Suitable technologies for implementing such short-range communications include BLUETOOTH™, Radio Frequency IDentification (RFID), Infrared Data Association (IrDA), Ultra-WideBand (UWB), ZigBee, Near Field Communication (NFC); NFC does not required authentication processing).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Kim’s service providing system and method with Kwon’s specific type of short-range wireless communication (near field communication (NFC)) in order to allow to facilitate short-range communications, simultaneously receiving of two or more broadcast channels, or to support switching among broadcast channels (see Kwon paras[0061],[0070]).
Regarding claim 2, Kim and Kwon remain applied as claim 1. Kim teaches wherein: when the communication between the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal is established, (see Kim para[0009] a control unit for receiving destination information when a vehicle request menu is selected and outputting the destination information and the current location; ), the first mobile terminal transmits predetermined software to the second mobile terminal; and the predetermined software includes software that enables the destination information to be transmitted to the first mobile terminal by the short-range wireless communication (See Kim para[0057] The functions of the components applied to the above mobile communication terminal (100) may be implemented in a computer-readable recording medium using software, hardware, or a combination thereof.; In a software implementation, embodiments such as procedures or functions may be implemented with separate software modules that perform at least one function or operation. Software code can be implemented by a software application written in a suitable programming language. Additionally, the software code may be stored in memory (160) and executed by the control unit (180).).
Regarding claim 3, Kim and Kwon remain applied as claim 1. Kim teaches wherein the second mobile terminal converts information including the destination selected using existing software (See Kim para[0057] as procedures or functions may be implemented with separate software modules ) of the second mobile terminal into the destination information that is able to be transmitted to the first mobile terminal by the short-range wireless communication (See Kim a short-distance wireless communication network), by using the predetermined software (See Kim para[0029] When in the above call mode, the processed voice data can be converted into a form that can be transmitted to a mobile communication base station through the mobile communication module (112) and output. The above microphone (122) can implement various noise removal algorithms to remove noise generated in the process of receiving an external sound signal.).
Regarding claim 4, Kim and Kwon remain applied as claim 1. However, Kim does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein each of the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal is configured to be able to perform near field communication-communication. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Kwon teaches wherein each of the first mobile terminal and the second mobile terminal is configured to be able to perform near field communication-communication. (See Kwon para[0070]The short-range communication module 114 is configured to facilitate short-range communications. Suitable technologies for implementing such short-range communications include BLUETOOTH™, Radio Frequency IDentification (RFID), Infrared Data Association (IrDA), Ultra-WideBand (UWB), ZigBee, Near Field Communication (NFC), Wireless-Fidelity (Wi-Fi), Wi-Fi Direct, Wireless USB (Wireless Universal Serial Bus), and the like).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Kim’s service providing system and method with Kwon’s specific type of short-range wireless communication (near field communication (NFC)) in order to allow to facilitate short-range communications, simultaneously receiving of two or more broadcast channels, or to support switching among broadcast channels (see Kwon paras[0061],[0070]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over KR 20170029477 A to Kim et al. (herein after “Kim”) in view of US20160381534A1 to Kwon et al. (herein after “Kwon”) and WO2022091704 to Yuki et al. (herein after “Yuki”).
Regarding claim 5, Kim and Kwon remain applied as claim 1. However, Kim does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the in-vehicle navigation device and the first mobile terminal are pre-paired. Nevertheless, Yuki same field of endeavor teaches wherein the in-vehicle navigation device and the first mobile terminal are pre-paired ( see Yuki para[0046] The second information processing terminal 200 is a terminal device used by a driver of a taxi or a ride-sharing vehicle. Specifically, the second information processing terminal 200 is a smartphone, a tablet computer, or the like used by the driver for business. Alternatively, the second information processing terminal 200 may be an in-vehicle car navigation system or the like).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Kim’s service providing system and method with Yuki’s second information processing unit (same as first mobile terminal in the invention) located at in-vehicle car navigation system in order to allow to provide a more user-friendly system (see Yuki para[0004]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666