DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-19 are pending.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a data buffer storage a plurality of…instructions” should recite “a data buffer storing a plurality of…instructions”. Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-19 of U.S. Patent No. 12014214 (hereinafter ‘214). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘214 patent anticipates the claims of the instant application.
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-15 of U.S. Patent No. 11016810 (hereinafter ‘810). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘810 patent anticipates the claims of the instant application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rakib et al. (US 2010/0281483).
With respect to claim 1, Rakib discloses: A work queue of an accelerator, the work queue comprising: a data buffer storage a plurality of distinct fixed-length instructions ([0047], lines 1-3, “three slot instruction” corresponds to “fixed length instructions”);
an interface for receiving one or more signals from a task scheduler indicating that a task should be executed by one or more components of the accelerator ([0024], add thread to enable list base on token lookup table that identifies the thread); and
a controller that dispatches one or more of the plurality of distinct fixed-length instructions to the one or more components of the accelerator based on the received one or more signals thereby initiating task execution by the one or more components ([0045], [0049] [0052]).
With respect to claim 2, Rakib discloses: wherein the work queue is configured to store variable-length instructions by storing the variable-length instructions in partitions of fixed-length instructions ([0047]).
With respect to claim 3, Rakib discloses: wherein: the accelerator includes a plurality of distinct computing tiles, and each computing tile of the plurality of distinct computing tiles includes a distinct work queue (Fig. 4, cluster memory 308, Fig. 3, see e.g., the use case disclosed in paragraph [0039]).
With respect to claim 4, Rakib discloses: wherein the accelerator comprises a matrix multiply accelerator of a mixed-signal integrated circuit ([0003], [0006], Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 5, Rakib discloses: wherein the received one or more signals included token-induced signals produced by the task scheduler based on satisfying a token count condition or a token combination condition ([0063]).
With respect to claim 6, Rakib discloses: wherein the task scheduler: (a) tracks a state of one or more data transfer circuits, and (b) schedules an execution of a distinct data transfer task with the work queue based on identifying a plurality of distinct tokens emitted within the accelerator ([0024], when a thread finished executing/completes corresponds to “tracks…state…circuits”).
With respect to claim 7, Rakib discloses: the accelerator comprises an accelerator tile that is arranged among a plurality of accelerator tiles on a mixed-signal integrated circuit, and each of the plurality of accelerator tiles includes a distinct task scheduler (Fig. 4).
With respect to claim 8, Rakib discloses: wherein: each of the plurality of distinct fixed-length instructions stored by the work queue is associated with one or more of a plurality of distinct data transfer tasks, the work queue transmits one of the plurality of distinct fixed-length instructions associated with the one distinct data transfer task of the plurality of distinct data transfer tasks to one of the one or more data transfer circuits based on the one or more received signals comprising an identification of the one distinct data transfer task ([0024]).
With respect to claims 9-16, they recite similar limitations as claims 1-8, respectively, and are therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
With respect to claims 17-19, they recite similar limitations as claims 1, 5, and 6, respectively, and are therefore rejected under the same citations and rationale.
Conclusion
/WISSAM RASHID/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2195