DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species A (Figure 1) in the reply filed on 3/16/2026 is acknowledged.
Status of Claims
The status of the claims as filed in the submission dated 9/8/2026 are as follows:
Claims 1-51, 60, and 61 are cancelled by the applicant;
Claims 71-72 are newly added;
Claims 52-59 and 62-72 are pending and are being examined.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Republic of India on 11/25/2021. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the IN202121054521 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 5/23/2024. These drawings are objected to.
The drawings are objected to because:
Figures 1-12C still contain faint and hazy lines. The features of the figures and numerical reference characters are both hard to decipher, thereby rendering them unsatisfactory for reproduction (See 37 CFR 1.84(l) which states: “(l) Character of lines, numbers, and letters. All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction. This requirement applies to all lines however fine, to shading, and to lines representing cut surfaces in sectional views. Lines and strokes of different thicknesses may be used in the same drawing where different thicknesses have a different meaning”);
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d)
Claims 67-69 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 67-69 recite limitations already recited in amended claim 64. Thus, since the limitations were already recited in the parent claim, dependent claims 67-69 fail to further limit the parent claim. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
The claims in this application are given their broadest reasonable interpretation using the plain meaning of the claim language in light of the specification as it would be understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. The broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim element (also commonly referred to as a claim limitation) is limited by the description in the specification when 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, is invoked. As explained in MPEP § 2181, subsection I, claim limitations that meet the three-prong test will be interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Currently, no claim limitations invoke 112(f).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 52, 54-59, 62, 64, 66-69, 71, and 72 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Katsuragi (US5024553, as previously cited).
Re Claim 52. Katsuragi teaches a geothermal apparatus (Figure 2) having a longitudinal axis (vertical in figure 2), the geothermal apparatus comprising (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68):
a heat exchanging fluid inlet (16) that is configured to receive heat exchanging fluid into the geothermal apparatus (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68);
a heat exchanging fluid outlet (15 or 11d) that is configured to conduct the heat exchanging fluid from the geothermal apparatus (Figures 1-3, 6; Column 3 lines 17-68); and
a plurality of heat exchangers (11 or 11c) fluidly positioned between the heat exchanging fluid inlet and the heat exchanging fluid outlet (Figures 1-3, 6; Column 3 lines 17-68);
a groundwater pump (9) that is configured to pump the groundwater by the plurality of heat exchangers (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68); and
a covering (Figures 1-2 illustrates a cover over the well 1), wherein the plurality of heat exchangers and the groundwater pump are received within the covering (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68);
wherein the geothermal apparatus is configured to be received within a borehole (1), and wherein the plurality of heat exchangers are configured to exchange heat between the heat exchanging fluid and groundwater in the borehole (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68).
Re Claim 64. Katsuragi teaches a geothermal apparatus (Figure 2) having a longitudinal axis (vertical in figure 2), the geothermal apparatus comprising (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68):
a heat exchangers unit (5) comprising a plurality of heat exchangers (11 or 11c), a groundwater pump (9) that is configured to pump the groundwater by the plurality of heat exchangers (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68); and a covering (Figures 1-2 illustrates a cover over the well 1), wherein the plurality of heat exchangers and the groundwater pump are received within the covering (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68); wherein the geothermal apparatus is configured to be received within a borehole (1), and wherein the plurality of heat exchangers are configured to exchange heat between a heat exchanging fluid flowing through the heat exchangers unit and groundwater in the borehole (Figures 1-3, 6; Column 3 lines 17-68).
Re Claim 54 &66. Katsuragi teaches the plurality of heat exchangers are configured to cooperate to provide a thermal capacity determined by a system requirement (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68; The heat exchangers will have a given designed thermal capacity).
Re Claim 55. Katsuragi teaches a groundwater pump (9) that is configured to pump the groundwater by the plurality of heat exchangers (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68).
Re Claim 56. Katsuragi teaches an inlet pipe (10) that is configured to communicate the groundwater between the groundwater pump and the plurality of heat exchangers, wherein the inlet pipe is received within the covering (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68; Pipe 10 is within the interior of the covering).
Re Claim 57. Katsuragi teaches the groundwater pump is spaced from the plurality of heat exchangers along the longitudinal axis (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68).
Re Claim 58. Katsuragi teaches in a use configuration, the geothermal apparatus has a top end (top of 1), and wherein the plurality of heat exchangers are positioned between the groundwater pump and the top end along the longitudinal axis (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68).
Re Claim 59. Katsuragi teaches the geothermal apparatus is configured to be submerged within the groundwater in the borehole (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68).
Re Claim 62. Katsuragi teaches a first conduit (16) having: a first end (top of 16 within 1 in Figure 6) that defines the heat exchanging fluid inlet; and a second end (portion of 16 connected to 20a) in fluid communication with the plurality of heat exchangers; and a second conduit (11d) having: a first end (bottom of 11d) in fluid communication with the plurality of heat exchangers (11c); and a second end (top of 11d) that defines the heat exchanging fluid outlet (11d leads to the outlet of the geothermal apparatus, and thus defines the heat exchanging fluid outlet), wherein the second end of the first conduit is spaced from the first end of the second conduit along the longitudinal axis (Figures 4, 6; Column 5 lines 8-50).
Re Claim 67 Katsuragi teaches a covering (Figures 1-2 illustrates a cover over the well 1), wherein the plurality of heat exchangers are received within the covering (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68).
Re Claim 68, & 69. Katsuragi teaches a groundwater pump (9) that is configured to pump the groundwater across the plurality of heat exchangers, wherein the groundwater pump is received within the covering (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68).
Re Claim 71. Katsuragi teaches the covering surrounds the groundwater pump and the plurality of heat exchangers (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68; The well wall and the cover form the covering, wherein the pump and heat exchanger are contained within the covering).
Re Claim 72. Katsuragi teaches the covering surrounds the plurality of heat exchangers at a first position along the longitudinal axis, wherein the covering surrounds the groundwater pump at a second position along the longitudinal axis that is different from the first position, wherein, the covering has a first radial dimension perpendicular to the longitudinal axis at each of the first and second positions (Figures 1-3; Column 3 lines 17-68; The well wall and the cover form the covering, wherein the pump and heat exchanger are contained within the covering).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 53 & 65 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuragi (US5024553, as previously cited) in view of Gordon (US2018/0209694A1, as previously cited).
Re Claim 53 & 65. Katsuragi teaches the plurality of heat exchangers (11) but fails to specifically teach the plurality of heat exchangers are provided in a stacked arrangement.
However, Gordon teaches the plurality of heat exchangers (206, 208) are provided in a stacked arrangement (Figure 2; Paragraphs 73-74).
Therefore, in view of Gordon's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a stacked arrangement of the heat exchangers in Katsuragi in order to provide a modular system to achieve a desired thermal exchange capacity, thereby providing an adaptable system that potentially saves in manufacturing and assembly costs (Gordon Paragraph 74). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a stacked arrangement of the heat exchangers, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI, B). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to provide a stacked arrangement of the heat exchangers, since it has been held that rearranging parts of an invention involves only routine skill in the art. See MPEP 2144.04 (VI, C).
Claims 63 and 70 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Katsuragi (US5024553, as previously cited) in view of Viernickel (US8434554B2, as previously cited).
Re Claim 63 & 70. Katsuragi teaches the geothermal apparatus (see above) but fails to specifically teach a filtration unit configured to filter the groundwater at the geothermal apparatus.
However, Viernickel teaches a filtration unit (“filter section) configured to filter the groundwater at the geothermal apparatus (Figure 3; Column 6 lines 7-18).
Therefore, in view of Viernickel's teaching, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to add a filtration unit to Katsuragi in order to filter out suspended matter and pollutants, thereby preventing clogging of the system and damage to the pump (Viernickel Column 6 lines 7-18). Additionally, the use of filters is well-known and understood in the art, and thus would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to implement as desired.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/8/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues on pages 7-9 of the reply that Katsuragi fails to teach a covering that receives the heat exchanger and groundwater pump. Katsuragi illustrates a cover over the well, wherein the groundwater pump and heat exchangers are within the well. Thus, Katsuragi teaches a covering that receives the heat exchanger and groundwater pump. Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Applicant argues on page 9 of the reply that Katsuragi fails to teach the inlet pipe is received within the covering. Katsuragi illustrates the inlet pipe 10 within the interior of the covering, and thus reads on the claimed limitation. Therefore, the applicants’ argument is not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TRAVIS RUBY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3763