DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 5-31-2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 2023-001874 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (2023/0082849) in view of Umezawa et al. (2013/0196790). Claim 1, Watanabe discloses a golf ball comprising a spherical core, an intermediate layer positioned outside the spherical core, and an outermost cover positioned outside the intermediate layer and having a plurality of dimples (fig 1). Watanabe further discloses a center hardness H0 (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core, a surface hardness H100 (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core, a hardness difference S=H100-H0, a material hardness Hm (Shore D hardness) of the intermediate layer, a material hardness Hc (Shore D hardness) of the outermost cover, and a thickness Tc (mm) of the outermost cover. Watanabe does not disclose a dimple volume greater than 365. Umezawa teaches a three-layer golf ball comprising a total lower dimple volume (fig 2) of 464.4 mm^3 (table 3) [(40x1.53) + (184x1.31) + (96x0.73) + (32x1.72) + (16x1.45) + (16x0.62) + (8x0.49)]. Solving for the equation using Watanabe Table 6, comp ex 4 in view of the total dimple volume of Umezawa, the value is 130. (Hc/Tc)×(S×Hm/Vi)≤130 [(47÷0.82) x 16 x (66 ÷ 464.4)]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the dimple volume for the desired flight performance. Claim 2, Watanabe discloses the range for H50 (~H10) is from 65-74 ([0060] (fig 5) and H0 is from 62-72 [0064], using the first number for each range the difference would be 3 (65-62). 0.35<(H10-H0)/S<0.6 or (65-62)/16 = 0.19 (table 6, comp ex 4). Claim 3, Watanabe discloses the hardness difference S<20 is S=16 (table 6, comp 4). Claims 4-5, Umezawa teaches a total lower dimple volume (fig 2) of 464.4 mm^3 (table 3). Claim 6, Watanabe discloses the surface hardness (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core < a surface hardness (Shore C hardness) of the intermediate layer > a surface hardness (Shore C hardness) of the golf ball is satisfied (86.9 < 98 >87) (table 6, comp ex 4). Claim 7, Watanabe discloses the outermost cover contains a polyurethane as a resin component [0093]. Claim 8, Watanabe discloses the surface hardness H100 of the spherical core ranges from 83-94 in Shore C hardness [0056]. Claim 9, Watanabe discloses the center hardness H0 of the spherical core ranges from 62-72 in Shore C hardness [0064]. Claim 10, Watanabe discloses the material hardness Hm of the intermediate layer ranges from 60-72 in Shore D hardness [0078]. Claim 11, Watanabe discloses a thickness Tm of the intermediate layer ranges from 0.9 mm to 1.5 mm [0080]. Claim 12, Watanabe discloses the material hardness Hc of the outermost cover ranges from 35-60 in Shore D hardness [0089]. Claim 13, Watanabe discloses the thickness Tc of the outermost cover ranges from 0.3 mm to 1.2 mm [0091]. Claim 14, Watanabe discloses wherein the hardness H50 (~H10) ([0060] (fig 5) ranges from 65-76 in Shore C hardness [0060] (fig 5). Claim 15, Watanabe discloses the value (Hc/Tc) ranges from 57.3 (47/0.82) (table 6, comp ex 4). Claim 16, Watanabe discloses the value (Hm/Vi) ranges from 0.14 (66/464.4) (table 6, comp ex 4). One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the dimple volume for the desired flight performance.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
December 17, 2025