DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1 – 10 are pending.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by SHENZHEN (CN117328716 A).
Regarding Independent Claim 1, SHENZHEN teaches a wall-climbing robot (pool cleaning robot, 100) for cleaning a swimming pool (Paragraph [n0001]), comprising a machine body (body, 190), walking assemblies (Annotated Fig. 1) located on both sides of the machine body (190; Fig. 2), and a roller brush assembly (roller brush, 161) located at a front side (Fig. 2) of the machine body (190; Fig. 2), wherein the roller brush assembly (161) comprises a support shaft (rotating shaft, 1611), and two sections (Fig. 2) of roller brush bodies (161) are rotatably arranged on the support shaft (1611; Paragraph [n0065]), wherein the support shaft (1611) is connected to the machine body (190; Fig. 2) each of the walking assemblies (Annotated Fig. 1) comprises a walking motor (transmission assembly, 130; which is a drive motor; Paragraph [n0079]), and a first output end and a second output end connected to the walking motor (Paragraph [n0040]), the first output end (Figs. 2 and 3) is connected to a walking crawler belt (track, 140; Paragraph [n0072]), and the second output end is connected to a corresponding one of the two sections of roller brush bodies (Paragraph [n0040]); and the walking motor on each of different sides of the machine body is able to control a rotating speed (Paragraph [n0079]), and the walking crawler belt (140) and the corresponding one of the two sections of roller brush bodies (161) on the same side of the machine body (190) are able to accelerate and decelerate synchronously (Paragraph [n0017]).
Regarding Claim 2, SHENZHEN teaches the wall-climbing robot (pool cleaning robot, 100) wherein the walking motor is connected to a driving gear (first transmission wheel, 131), the driving gear is connected to a first driven gear (drive wheel, 120) and a second driven gear (driven wheel, 150), the first driven gear (120) is meshed with the walking crawler belt (track, 140), the walking crawler belt (140) is driven by a rotation of the first driven gear (120) to run (Fig. 4), and the second driven gear (150) is connected to the corresponding one of the two sections of roller brush bodies (161) through a power transmission structure (Paragraph [n0066]), and the corresponding one of the two sections of roller brush bodies (161) is driven by a rotation of the second driven gear (150) to run (Paragraph [n0066]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENZHEN (CN117328716 A) in view of Wang (CN117822956 A).
Regarding Claim 3, SHENZHEN teaches the wall-climbing robot (pool cleaning robot, 100) for cleaning a swimming pool, wherein the power transmission structure (Paragraph [n0066]) comprises a large number of transmission gears (Paragraph [n0002]), the gear is coaxially connected to the corresponding one of the two sections of roller brush bodies (Paragraph [n0020]) but does not explicitly teach a first bevel gear, a second bevel gear, a third bevel gear, a fourth bevel gear, and a transmission rod, the first bevel gear is coaxially connected to the second driven gear, the second bevel gear and the third bevel gear are coaxially connected to both ends of the transmission rod, the fourth bevel gear is coaxially connected to the corresponding one of the two sections of roller brush bodies, the first bevel gear is meshed with the second bevel gear, and the third bevel gear is meshed with the fourth bevel gear.
Wang, however, teaches a first bevel gear (Paragraph [n0089] – helical gears), a second bevel gear (Paragraph [n0089]), a third bevel gear (Paragraph [n0089]), a fourth bevel gear (Paragraph [n0089]), and a transmission rod (rotating shaft, 1841), the first bevel gear (Paragraph [n0089]) is coaxially connected to the second driven gear (Paragraph [n0089]), the second bevel gear and the third bevel gear are coaxially connected to both ends of the transmission rod (Paragraph [n0089]), , the first bevel gear is meshed with the second bevel gear (Paragraph [n0089]), and the third bevel gear is meshed with the fourth bevel gear (Paragraph [n0089]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot of SHENZHEN to further include a first bevel gear, a second bevel gear, a third bevel gear, a fourth bevel gear, and a transmission rod, the first bevel gear is coaxially connected to the second driven gear, the second bevel gear and the third bevel gear are coaxially connected to both ends of the transmission rod, the fourth bevel gear is coaxially connected to the corresponding one of the two sections of roller brush bodies, the first bevel gear is meshed with the second bevel gear, and the third bevel gear is meshed with the fourth bevel gear, as taught by Wang, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material/component on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the robot (MPEP 2144.07).
Claims 4 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENZHEN (CN117328716 A) in view of Zhang (CN213015625 U).
Regarding Claim 4, SHENZHEN teaches the wall-climbing robot (pool cleaning robot, 100) wherein each of the two sections (Fig. 1) of roller brush bodies (161) comprises a cylinder (Fig. 1), and brushes and flexible rubber sheets (Fig. 4) arranged on a surface of the cylinder (Fig. 1), wherein the brushes (161) and the flexible rubber sheets (Fig. 4) are respectively arranged at intervals in an axial direction of the cylinder (Fig. 1), and meanwhile, the brushes and the flexible rubber sheets are distributed at intervals in a circumferential direction of the cylinder.
SHENZHEN does not teach a cylinder having flexible rubber sheets arranged on a surface of the cylinder , wherein the flexible rubber sheets are respectively arranged at intervals in an axial direction of the cylinder, and meanwhile, the flexible rubber sheets are distributed at intervals in a circumferential direction of the cylinder.
Zhang, however, teaches roller brush bodies (cleaner roller brush, 8) comprising a cylinder (Fig. 1) having flexible rubber (Fig. 1) sheets (Fig. 1) arranged on a surface of the cylinder (Fig. 6), wherein the flexible rubber sheets (Fig. 1) are respectively arranged at intervals (Fig. 1) in an axial direction of the cylinder (Fig. 1), and meanwhile, the flexible rubber sheets (Fig. 1) are distributed at intervals in a circumferential direction of the cylinder (Fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot of SHENZHEN to further include a cylinder having flexible rubber sheets arranged on a surface of the cylinder , wherein the flexible rubber sheets are respectively arranged at intervals in an axial direction of the cylinder, and meanwhile, the flexible rubber sheets are distributed at intervals in a circumferential direction of the cylinder, as taught by Li, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its
suitability for the intended use of the robot (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 5, SHENZHEN teaches the wall-climbing robot for cleaning a swimming pool according to claim 1, as discussed above.
SHENZHEN does not explicitly teach a filter basket, and an impeller, wherein a bottom of the machine body is provided with a water inlet, and the water inlet is connected to an inlet of the filter basket, a top of the machine body is provided with a water outlet, and the water outlet is connected to an outlet of the impeller; the water outlet is inclined towards a rear side of the machine body, and the water inlet is closer to the rear side of the machine body than the water outlet.
Zhang, however, teaches a filter basket (filter box, 7), and an impeller (Paragraph [n0066]), wherein a bottom of the machine body (Fig. 1) is provided with a water inlet (Paragraph [n0067]), and the water inlet is connected to an inlet of the filter basket (Paragraph [n0067]), a top of the machine body is provided with a water outlet (Paragraph [n0067]), and the water outlet (Paragraph [n0067]) is connected to an outlet of the impeller (Paragraph [n0066]); the water outlet (Fig. 2) is inclined towards a rear side of the machine body (Fig. 2), and the water inlet (Paragraph [n0067])is closer to the rear side of the machine body (Figs. 1 and 2) than the water outlet (Paragraph [n0067]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot of SHENZHEN to further include a filter basket, and an impeller, wherein a bottom of the machine body is provided with a water inlet, and the water inlet is connected to an inlet of the filter basket, a top of the machine body is provided with a water outlet, and the water outlet is connected to an outlet of the impeller; the water outlet is inclined towards a rear side of the machine body, and the water inlet is closer to the rear side of the machine body than the water outlet, as taught by 366’, since it has been held that omission of an element and its function in a combination where the remaining elements perform the same functions as before involves only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04).
Regarding Claim 6, SHENZHEN, as modified, teaches the wall-climbing robot for cleaning a swimming pool according to claim 5, as discussed above.
SHENZHEN, as modified by Zhang, does not explicitly teach the inlet of the filter basket is provided with a rubber baffle, one end of the rubber baffle is connected to the filter basket, and another end of the rubber baffle extends freely, and one side of the rubber baffle is provided with a groove which facilitates the rubber baffle to be folded to an inside the filter basket.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot of SHENZHEN to further include a rubber baffle, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the robot (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding Claim 7, SHENZHEN teaches the wall-climbing robot for cleaning a swimming pool according to claim 1, as discussed above.
SHENZHEN further teaches the integrated assembly (Fig. 1) comprises a control cabin (internal cabin of 190).
SHENZHEN does not teach the wall-climbing robot for cleaning a swimming pool wherein the machine body is internally provided with an integrated assembly, the integrated assembly comprises a bottom plate, and a battery module, the control cabin is installed on the bottom plate in a form of a door opening, the battery module is arranged in the door opening of the control cabin, and the walking motor, a water pumping motor and a control module are arranged in the control cabin.
Zhang, however, teaches the machine body (Fig. 2) is internally provided with an integrated assembly (Fig. 2), the integrated assembly (Fig. 2) comprises a bottom plate (Fig. 2), a control cabin (sealing box assembly, 4), and a battery module (Paragraph [n0066]), the control cabin (4) is installed on the bottom plate in a form of a door opening, the battery module is arranged in the door opening (Paragraph [n0075]) of the control cabin (4), and the walking motor (Paragraph [n0027]), a water pumping motor (Paragraph [n0027]) and a control module (Paragraph [n0066]) are arranged in the control cabin (4).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot of SHENZHEN to further include the integrated assembly comprises a bottom plate, a control cabin, and a battery module, the control cabin is installed on the bottom plate in a form of a door opening, the battery module is arranged in the door opening of the control cabin, and the walking motor, a water pumping motor and a control module are arranged in the control cabin, as taught by Zhang, to provide a closed configuration for the internal components, thus proving a water-tight seal for said components.
Regarding Claim 8, SHENZHEN, as modified, teaches the wall-climbing robot for cleaning a swimming pool according to claim 7, as discussed above.
SHENZHEN does not teach a top of the control cabin is provided with a knob switch and a power interface, the knob switch and the power interface pass through a housing of the machine body from bottom to top, and the knob switch and the power interface are provided with a waterproof cover.
Zhang, however, teaches a top of the control cabin (4) is provided with a knob switch (Fig. 2) , the knob switch (Fig. 2) through a housing of the machine body from bottom to top (Fig. 2), and the knob switch is provided with a waterproof cover (Paragraph [0075].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot of SHENZHEN to further include a top of the control cabin is provided with a knob switch, the knob switch pass through a housing of the machine body from bottom to top, and the knob switch is provided with a waterproof cover, as taught by Zhang, to provide a closed configuration for the internal components, thus proving a water-tight seal for said components.
Zhang does not explicitly teach a power interface, however, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot of SHENZHEN to further include a power interface, as claimed, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material/component on the basis of its suitability for the intended use of the robot (MPEP 2144.07).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENZHEN (CN117328716 A) in view of Zhang (CN213015625 U) and van der Meijden (U. S. Patent Publication No. 20210277678 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, SHENZHEN, as modified, teaches the wall-climbing robot for cleaning a swimming pool according to claim 7, as discussed above.
SHENZHEN does not teach wherein the control cabin is provided with a water input detection device, and the water input detection device is electrically connected to the control module, when the water input detection device detects that the wall-climbing robot is in water, the wall-climbing robot starts running, and when the water input detection device detects that the wall-climbing robot is out of the water, the wall-climbing robot stops running.
van der Meijden, however, teaches the control cabin (body, 14) is provided with a water input detection device (Paragraph [0032]), and the water input detection device is electrically connected to the control module (Paragraph [0034]), when the water input detection device detects that the wall-climbing robot is in water (Paragraph [0003]), the wall-climbing robot starts running, (Paragraph [0003]) and when the water input detection device detects that the wall-climbing robot is out of the water, the wall-climbing robot stops running (Paragraph [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot of SHENZHEN to further include the control cabin is provided with a water input detection device, and the water input detection device is electrically connected to the control module, when the water input detection device detects that the wall-climbing robot is in water, the wall-climbing robot starts running, and when the water input detection device detects that the wall-climbing robot is out of the water, the wall-climbing robot stops running, as taught by van der Meijden , to provide a robot capable of autonomous movement within water-containing vessels may be utilized to provide enhanced cleaning of sections of the vessels containing stairs or other angled surfaces.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHENZHEN (CN117328716 A) in view of Yang (CN112049475 A).
Regarding Claim 10, SHENZHEN, as modified, teaches the wall-climbing robot for cleaning a swimming pool according to claim 1, as discussed above.
SHENZHEN does not teach a swimming pool wherein a front side of a top of the machine body is provided with a handle, and a rear side of the machine body is provided with a discharge opening.
Yang, however, teaches a swimming pool (Fig. 1) wherein a front side of a top of the machine body (Fig. 1) is provided with a handle (handle, 7), and a rear side of the machine body (Fig. 1) is provided with a discharge opening (discharge port, 8).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the robot of SHENZHEN to further include a front side of a top of the machine body is provided with a handle, and a rear side of the machine body is provided with a discharge opening, as taught by Yang, to provide a carrying option for the robot, thus preventing damage due to falling.
Conclusion
Art made of record, however, not relied upon for the current rejection is as follows: U. S. Patent Publication No. 20230108168 A1 to Latierre teaches An automatic swimming pool cleaner system includes an automatic swimming pool cleaner and optionally a control box. The automatic swimming pool cleaner and/or the control box may display a temperature measurement of a swimming pool determined by the automatic swimming pool cleaner within the swimming pool on the control box associated with the automatic swimming pool cleaner and/or on the automatic swimming pool cleaner. A method includes displaying on an automatic swimming pool cleaner or on the control box associated with the automatic swimming pool cleaner a temperature measurement of a swimming pool determined by the automatic swimming pool cleaner within the swimming pool.
Contact Information
/KATINA N. HENSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3723