Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: “sitetube” should read “sight tube”.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 4-13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2: “sitetube” should read “sight tube”
Claim 4: “the filtered water” should read “the filtered waste water
Claims 5-8 and 10, “stainer” should read “strainer”
Claim 9 and 11: “is polypropylene micro fiber filter element” should read “is a polypropylene micro fiber filter element”
Claim 11, line 6 and 11: “the filter element” should read “the removable filter element”.
Claim 11, line 8: “shelf then” should read “shelf when”.
Claims 11 and 13: “O-Ring” should read “O-ring”
Claim 12: “is step” should read “is a step”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “element” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “strainer element” and “filter element” in claims 6-11 and 13, and are not being interpreted because strainer and filter both provide structure.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 11, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the untreated waste water" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 4 contains the law name “the federal clean water act”. The claim scope is uncertain since the law cannot be used properly to identify any particular material or product. In the present case, the law name is used to identify/describe the current set of rules that meet the clean water act, but those rules can be changed, and there is no clear language as to what specific parts of the federal clean water act the invention is designed to uphold, and, accordingly, the identification/description is indefinite.
Claim 11 recites the limitation "the step" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 12 recites the limitation "the circumferential opening" in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 13 recites the limitation "the filter element" in line 9. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 7, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sanchez (7459074).
Regarding claim 1, Sanchez discloses a Fire Sprinkler System Discharge Filter System (FSSDFS) comprising: a valve (13, fig 1) configured to connect to a sprinkler system to receive raw waste water; a strainer (18, fig 1) in fluid communication with the valve to receive the raw waste water from the valve and release strained waste water; a filter (21, fig 1) in fluid communication with the strainer to receive the strained waste water from the strainer and release filtered waste water; and an outlet pipe (26, fig 1) connected directly to the filter to receive the filtered waste water and to release the filtered waste water for disposal directly into storm drains (col 5, lines 64-67).
Regarding claim 2, Sanchez discloses a site tube (16, fig 1) residing serially with the strainer and filter between the valve and the outlet pipe.
Regarding claim 3, Sanchez discloses wherein: the strainer receives the untreated waste water directly from the valve; and the filter receives the strained waste water directly from the strainer (fig 1, the only parts between the two are connectors and hoses similar to applicants invention, thus they are directly connected via said hoses and connectors).
Regarding claim 4, Sanchez discloses wherein the filter releases the filtered water satisfying the Federal Clean Water Act (col 4, lines 1-5).
Regarding claim 7, Sanchez discloses wherein the filter element is a 10 micron or less stainer element (col 6, lines 15-25, the filter is a 1 micron filter, thus it is less than 10).
Regarding claim 12, Sanchez discloses wherein a circumferential opening is a step (see annotated fig below).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5, 6, and 8 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez in view of Hensley (US-Pub 2003/0000895).
Regarding claims 5, 6, and 8 Sanchez does not disclose wherein the strainer element is an about (note, applicant states in par. 0027 of the specification that about refers to within 10%, so for all claims about will refer to a margin of 10%) 40 micron or less stainer element, or wherein the filter element is about a 10 micron stainer element.
Hensley teaches a system for cleaning wastewater (301, fig 2a) with a first strainer element (310, fig 2a) having a first element of about 40 microns or less (par. 0034) and a second filter element (320, fig 2a) having a 10 micron (par. 0034) strainer element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the straining and filtering elements disclosed by Sanchez by having the first be about 40 microns and the second be about 10 microns based on the teachings of Hensley. Doing so would allow for an acceptable run time between cleanings, as suggested by Hensley (par. 0035).
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez in view of Lengerich (US-Pub 2017/0217790).
Regarding claim 9, Sanchez does not disclose wherein the filter element is polypropylene micro fiber filter element.
Lengerich teaches a system for removing contaminants from water (par. 003) comprising a filter made of a polypropylene microfiber filter (par. 0034).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the filter element disclosed by Sanchez by having it be a polypropylene micro fiber filter based on the teachings of Lengerich, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416. See also Ballas Liquidating Co. v. Allied industries of Kansas, Inc. (DC Kans) 205 USPQ 331.
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez in view of Lengerich and Hensley.
Regarding claim 10, Sanchez as modified by Hensley in claims 6 and 8 and Lengerich in claim 9 discloses wherein: the strainer element is a 40 micron or less stainer element; the filter element is a 10 micron or less stainer element (see modification of claim 6 and 8 above); and the filter element is polypropylene micro fiber filter element (see modification of claim 9 above).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez in view of Knopke (US-Pub 2021-0323839).
Regarding claim 11, Sanchez discloses wherein: the filter includes a filter body (22, fig 4) and a removable filter lid (62, fig 5); the filter body includes an internal shelf (where top part of filter 60 rests, fig 5); the shelf includes a circumferential opening (opening where bag 56 fits through, fig 5); a removable filter element (56, fig 5) resides inside the filter body; the filter element includes a flared top (60, fig 5) for seating against the step.
Sanchez does not disclose wherein the flared top includes a circumferential groove; and an O-Ring resides in the circumferential groove and seats against the shelf then the filter element is seated in the filter body.
Knopke teaches a cartridge filter (10, fig 3) including a flared top (18, fig 3) including a circumferential groove (36, fig 3); and an O-Ring (34, fig 3) resides in the circumferential groove and when combined with Sanchez would seat against the shelf when the filter element is seated in the filter body.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the filter top disclosed by Sanchez by having a groove with an O ring in said groove seat against the shelf based on the teachings of Knopke. Doing so would prevent unfiltered water from leaking around the filter (par. 0044), as suggested by Knopke.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sanchez in view of Knopke and Hensley.
Regarding claim 13, Sanchez discloses a Fire Sprinkler System Discharge Filter System (FSSDFS) comprising: a valve (13, fig 1) configured to connect to a sprinkler system to receive raw waste water; a strainer (18, fig 1) in fluid communication with the valve to receive the raw waste water from the valve and release strained waste water; a strainer element (48, fig 3) residing in the strainer, a filter (21, fig 1) in fluid communication with the strainer to receive the strained waste water from the strainer and release filtered waste water; a filter element (58, fig 5) residing on a circumferential shelf (shelf holding top part 60 in place, fig 5) inside the filter; and an outlet pipe (26, fig 1) connected to the filter to receive the filtered waste water from the filter and to release the filtered waste water for disposal into storm drains (col 5, lines 64-67), and a riser (vertical portion going from the step to the entrance 54, fig 5) rising from the circumferential shelf.
Sanchez does not disclose a 40 micron strainer element residing in the strainer, a 10 micron filter element, an O-Ring resided in a groove in a top of the filter element and seals against a riser rising from the circumferential shelf.
Knopke teaches a cartridge filter (10, fig 3) including a flared top (18, fig 3) including a circumferential groove (36, fig 3); and an O-Ring (34, fig 3) resides in the circumferential groove and seals against a riser (outer wall rising from its shelf, since the O-ring would sit in the outside of the shelf it would be placed against the shelf and riser).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the filter top disclosed by Sanchez by having a groove with an O ring in said groove seat against the shelf based on the teachings of Knopke. Doing so would prevent unfiltered water from leaking around the filter (par. 0044), as suggested by Knopke.
Hensley teaches a system for cleaning wastewater (301, fig 2a) with a first strainer element (310, fig 2a) having a first element of about 40 microns or less (par. 0034) and a second filter element (320, fig 2a) having a 10 micron (par. 0034) strainer element.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the straining and filtering elements disclosed by Sanchez by having the first be about 40 microns and the second be about 10 microns based on the teachings of Hensley. Doing so would allow for an acceptable run time between cleanings, as suggested by Hensley (par. 0035).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Sanchez (US-Pub 2020-0385284) teaches a waste water treatment system similar to applicants invention.
/SEAN V MEILLER/Examiner, Art Unit 3741
/DEVON C KRAMER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3741