DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Japan on 5/23/2023. It is noted, however, that applicant has not filed a certified copy of the 2023-001871 application as required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3 and 5-14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(a) as being anticipated by Umezawa et al (2013/0196790). Claim 1, Umezawa discloses a golf ball comprising a spherical core, an inner cover layer (applicant’s intermediate layer) positioned outside the spherical core , and an outermost cover positioned outside the inner cover layer and having a plurality of dimples (fig 1), wherein a material hardness Hm (Shore D hardness) of the inner cover layer is 62, a material hardness Hc (Shore D hardness) of the outermost cover is 48, a thickness Tc (mm) of the outermost cover is 1.0 mm (table 9, ex 1), and a total lower volume Vi (mm3) of the plurality of dimples satisfy, Vi>365 and (Hc/Tc)×(Hm/Vi)≤7.5. The total lower dimple volume Vi (fig 2) is 464.4 mm3 (table 3) [(40x1.53) + (184x1.31) + (96x0.73) + (32x1.72) + (16x1.45) + (16x0.62) + (8x0.49)]. Solving the equation [(48/1) x (62/464.4) = 6.4 ≤7.5]. Claims 2-3, Vi = 464.4 mm3 (table 3). Claim 5, the outermost cover contains a polyurethane as a resin component (table 2). Claim 6, the value (Hc/Tc) (48/1= 48) is 30 or more and 75 or less (table 9, ex. 1). Claim 7, the value (Hm/Vi) (62/464.4= 0.13) is 0.08 or more and 0.22 or less (table 9, ex. 1). Claim 8, a surface hardness Hs of the spherical core is 57 Shore D or 86 Shore C (table 9, ex 1). Claim 9, a center hardness Ho of the spherical core is 42 Shore D hardness or 66 Shore C hardness (table 9, ex. 1). Claim 10, the material hardness Hm of the inner cover layer ranges from 50 to 80 in Shore D hardness [0050]. Claim 11, a thickness Tm of the inner cover layer ranges from 1.0 mm to 3.0 mm [0051]. Claim 12, the material hardness Hc of the outermost cover ranges from 35 to 60 in Shore D hardness [0053]. Claim 13, the thickness Tc of the outermost cover ranges from 0.5 mm to 3.0 mm [0054]. Claim 14, Vi = 464.4 mm3 (table 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Watanabe et al. (2023/0082849) in view of Umezawa et al. (2013/0196790). Claim 1, Watanabe discloses a golf ball comprising a spherical core, an intermediate layer positioned outside the spherical core, and an outermost cover positioned outside the intermediate layer and having a plurality of dimples (fig 1). Watanabe further discloses a material hardness Hm (Shore D hardness) of the intermediate layer of 60 [0078], a material hardness Hc (Shore D hardness) of the outermost cover of 35 [0089], and a thickness Tc (mm) of the outermost cover is 1.0 mm [0091]. Watanabe does not disclose a dimple volume greater than 365. Umezawa teaches a three-layer golf ball comprising a total lower dimple volume (fig 2) of 464.4 mm^3 (table 3) [(40x1.53) + (184x1.31) + (96x0.73) + (32x1.72) + (16x1.45) + (16x0.62) + (8x0.49)]. Solving for the equation using the values of Watanabe, as shown above, in view of the total dimple volume of Umezawa, the value is 4.5. (Hc/Tc)×(Hm/Vi)≤7.5 [(35÷1) x (60 ÷ 464.4)= 4.5]. One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the dimple volume for the desired flight performance. Claims 2-3, Umezawa teaches a total lower dimple volume (fig 2) of 464.4 mm3 (table 3). Claim 4, Watanabe discloses the surface hardness (Shore C hardness) of the spherical core < a surface hardness (Shore C hardness) of the intermediate layer > a surface hardness (Shore C hardness) of the golf ball is satisfied (87.4 < 98 >87) (table 6, ex. 1). Claim 5, Watanabe discloses the outermost cover contains a polyurethane as a resin component [0093]. Claim 6, Watanabe discloses the value (Hc/Tc) is 35 (35/1) (see above). Claim 7, Watanabe discloses the value (Hm/Vi) is 0.13 (60/464.4) (see above). Claim 8, Watanabe discloses the surface hardness H100 of the spherical core ranges from 83-94 in Shore C hardness [0056]. Claim 9, Watanabe discloses the center hardness H0 of the spherical core ranges from 62-72 in Shore C hardness [0064]. Claim 10, Watanabe discloses the material hardness Hm of the intermediate layer ranges from 60-72 in Shore D hardness [0078]. Claim 11, Watanabe discloses a thickness Tm of the intermediate layer ranges from 0.9 mm to 1.5 mm [0080]. Claim 12, Watanabe discloses the material hardness Hc of the outermost cover ranges from 35-60 in Shore D hardness [0089]. Claim 13, Watanabe discloses the thickness Tc of the outermost cover ranges from 0.3 mm to 1.2 mm [0091]. Claim 14, Umezawa teaches a total lower dimple volume (fig 2) of 464.4 mm3 (table 3). Claim 15, Watanabe discloses a difference (Hms-Hcs) between a surface hardness Hms of the intermediate layer and a surface hardness Hcs of the golf ball is more than 0; (98-87) (table 6, ex. 1). Claim 16, Watanabe discloses a difference (Hms-Hs) between a surface hardness Hms of the intermediate layer and a surface hardness Hs of the spherical core is more than 0; (98-87.4) (table 6, ex. 1). One of ordinary skill in the art would have modified the dimple volume for the desired flight performance.
Conclusion
/RAEANN GORDEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3711
December 22, 2025