DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9 December 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claims 1, 16, and 17, Applicant argues that there is not mention in Inoue of the feature: “wherein the larger second incident light redirecting region corresponds to the second transmission filter having higher transparency than the first transmission filter, and wherein the smaller first incident light redirecting region corresponds to the first transmission filter.”
However, Examiner respectfully disagrees. Inoue teaches in paragraphs 0181-0182: wherein the larger second incident light redirecting region (micro-lens 406 of NC pixel; paragraph 0181) corresponds to the second transmission filter having higher transparency than the first transmission filter (NC pixel has a transparent filter 405NC having higher transparency than a red transmitting filter 405R which filters out all but red light; see paragraph 0044, 0182), and wherein the smaller first incident light redirecting region corresponds to the first transmission filter (micro-lens 406 of red color pixel R; paragraph 0181) having the predetermined transparency that is lower than the second transmission filter (red transmitting filter 405R transmits less light than transparent filter 405NC). Thus, the claims remain rejected as being anticipated by Inoue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 5, 6, and 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Inoue (US 2007/0257998 A1).
Claim 1, Inoue teaches a solid-state imaging device (imaging apparatus; paragraph 0070) comprising a pixel part having an array of pixels arranged therein (pixel array; paragraph 0049), each of the pixels including a photoelectric conversion part and being configured to perform photoelectric conversion on light incident thereon (photodiode PD; paragraph 0052 and Fig. 3), wherein, in the pixel part, at least two adjacent pixels of the pixels form a pixel unit (see repeating pixel units of Fig. 25), wherein a first pixel of the pixel unit includes:
a first transmission filter having a predetermined transparency (red transmitting filter 405R; paragraph 0182 and Fig. 25), the first transmission filter being provided on a light incidence path leading to a light incidence surface of a corresponding photoelectric conversion part (see paragraph 0061, Fig. 4); and
a first microlens for redirecting incident light toward the light incidence surface of the corresponding photoelectric conversion part via the first transmission filter (micro-lens 406 of red color pixel R; paragraph 0181 and Fig. 25),
wherein a second pixel of the pixel unit includes:
a second transmission filter having a higher transparency than the first transmission filter (transparent filter 405NC of non-color pixel NC; paragraph 0181 and Fig. 25), the second transmission filter being provided on a light incidence path leading to a light incidence surface of a corresponding photoelectric conversion part (see paragraph 0061, Fig. 4);
a second microlens for redirecting incident light toward the light incidence surface of the corresponding photoelectric conversion part via the second transmission filter, and wherein a second incident light redirecting region handled by the second microlens is larger than a first incident light redirecting region handled by the first microlens (size of micro-lens 406 of non-color pixel NC are larger than the micro-lens 406 of the red color pixel R; paragraph 0181),
wherein the larger second incident light redirecting region (micro-lens 406 of NC pixel; paragraph 0181) corresponds to the second transmission filter having higher transparency than the first transmission filter (NC pixel has a transparent filter 405NC having higher transparency than a red transmitting filter 405R which filters out all but red light; see paragraph 0044, 0182), and
wherein the smaller first incident light redirecting region corresponds to the first transmission filter (micro-lens 406 of red color pixel R; paragraph 0181) having the predetermined transparency that is lower than the second transmission filter (red transmitting filter 405R transmits less light than transparent filter 405NC).
Claim 2, Inoue further teaches wherein the second microlens has a greater diameter than the first microlens in a direction parallel to the light incidence surface of the photoelectric conversion part (micro-lens 406 of non-color pixel NC is larger than micro-lens 406 of red color pixel R; paragraph 0165).
Claim 5, Inoue further teaches wherein a unit color matrix is formed by pixels of at least two adjacent pixel units (see pixel group comprising R,B,G,NC pixels; Fig. 23) .
Claim 6, Inoue further teaches wherein the unit color matrix includes, as the second transmission filters, W (clear, mono) filters that are highly transparent for enhanced responsiveness (NC pixels have a transparent filter 405 NC; paragraph 0164).
Claim 16 is analyzed and rejected as a method for manufacturing the device of claim 1 (see manufacturing steps of Figs. 8-15 and paragraph 0064).
Claim 17 is analyzed and rejected as a electronic apparatus comprising the solid-state imaging device of claim 1 (see camera, paragraph 0005, 0167).
Claim 18, Inoue further teaches wherein the second transmission filter underlying the larger second incident light redirecting region, handled by the second microlens, is made from a highly transparent material (transparent filter 405NC may be formed using a transparent resin; paragraph 0060).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Okigawa (US 2014/0204249 A1).
Claim 3, Inoue teaches the solid-state imaging device of claim 2, but is silent regarding wherein the second microlens of the second pixel extends radially beyond a region of the second pixel over a region of the first pixel adjacent to the second pixel adjacent to the second pixel.
Okigawa teaches wherein a second microlens of a second pixel extends radially beyond a region of the second pixel over a region of the first pixel adjacent to the second pixel adjacent to the second pixel (a part of microlenses 57R,57B gets into an area of an adjacent pixel; see Fig. 8 and paragraph 0083).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teaching of Okigawa with that of Inoue in order to more effectively use an open area of an adjacent pixel and to increase the sensitivity of the corresponding pixel (see paragraph 0084 of Okigawa).
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Kuo (US 2023/0154956 A1).
Claim 4, Inoue in view of Okigawa teaches the solid-state imaging device of claim 3, but is silent regarding wherein the second microlens is shaped like a polyhedron having extended portions that are equally extended in respective extending directions.
Kuo teaches wherein a microlens is shaped like a polyhedron having extended portions that are equally extended in respective extending directions (see polyhedron structure 110; paragraph 0044 and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teaching of Kuo with that of Inoue in order to improve the performance of photodiodes by focusing light beams to be more correlated with the positions of photodiodes (see paragraph 0007 of Kuo).
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Inoue in view of Iwata (US 2021/0358983 A1).
Claim 7, Inoue teaches the solid-state imaging device of claim 5, but is silent regarding wherein the unit color matrix includes, as the first transmission filters, IR filters for background light subtraction and/or specific optical imaging.
Iwata teaches a solid-state imaging device (Fig. 1) wherein a unit color matrix includes, as the first transmission filters, IR filters for background light subtraction and/or specific optical imaging (infrared cut-off filter 13 layer for a red pixel; paragraph 0047 and Fig. 3).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the teaching of Iwata with that of Inoue in order to prevent infrared light from reaching photoelectric conversion elements and to improve accuracy of detection of visible light (see paragraph 0047 of Iwata).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-15 are allowed.
The reasons for allowance can be found in the Office Action of 10 September 2025.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHIAWEI CHEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2637