DETAILED ACTION
1. This office action is in response to the filing of the application on May 23, 2024. Since the initial filing, no claims have been amended, added, or canceled. Therefore, claims 1-20 are pending in the application.
Specification Objections
2. The specification is objected to for the following informalities. Appropriate corrections are required. No new matter should be added.
(a) Incorrect reference numeral: "Pressure sensor 108 can be in communication with processor 126" ([0050])
In [0050], the pressure sensor is designated by numeral 108, which designates the pump or fluid source throughout the disclosure. The sentence should read "Pressure sensor 106 can be in communication with processor 126."
(b) Incorrect reference numeral: "the limb to which compression system 110 is affixed" ([0044])
In [0044], numeral 110 designates the variable orifice valve, and the compression system is designated 100. The phrase should read "the limb to which compression system 100 is affixed."
(c) Incorrect reference numeral: "controls the pressure transfer from accumulator to bladder 202" ([0061])
In [0061], numeral 202 designates the accumulator, and the bladder is designated 104. The phrase should read "controls the pressure transfer from accumulator 202 to bladder 104."
(d) Extraneous word: "compare each the current pressure" ([0045])
In [0045], the phrase "controller 124 is configured to compare each the current pressure of bladder 104" includes an extraneous word and should read "controller 124 is configured to compare the current pressure of bladder 104."
(e) Extraneous word: "indicates that the only a small amount of air" ([0046])
In [0046], the phrase includes an extraneous article and should read "indicates that only a small amount of air."
(f) Inconsistent values: "between approximately forty-six and fifty percent" ([0052])
In [0052], a cuff pressure between 65 mmHg and 75 mmHg with a limb occlusion pressure of 140 mmHg is described as between approximately forty-six and fifty percent of the limb occlusion pressure, whereas the same example is described in [0061] and [0066] as between approximately forty-six and fifty-four percent. Since 75 mmHg is approximately fifty-four percent of 140 mmHg, the phrase in [0052] should read "between approximately forty-six and fifty-four percent."
(g) Misspelled word: "processer 126" ([0054])
In [0054], "processer" should read "processor."
(h) Extraneous punctuation: "always-on state.." ([0047]); "fifty percent, plus or minus five percent)" ([0035]); "corresponding to 70 mmHg,)" ([0063])
In [0047] the sentence ends with two periods, in [0035] a closing parenthesis appears without an opening parenthesis, and in [0063] a comma precedes the closing parenthesis. Each extraneous mark should be deleted.
(i) Grammatical informality: "in accordance with another embodiment if is shown" and "making the compression 600 system" ([0070])
In [0070], the first phrase includes the extraneous word "if," and in the second phrase the numeral is misplaced. The phrases should read "in accordance with another embodiment is shown" and "making the compression system 600."
(j) Grammatical informality: "showing the operational of" ([0072]) and "cuff complete flexes a muscle" ([0074])
In [0072], "the operational of" should read "the operation of," and in [0074], "complete flexes" should read "completely flexes."
(k) Grammatical informality: "so that cuff limb occlusion cuff 102 exerts" and "on a user’s limb that between approximately thirty percent" ([0061])
In [0061], the word "cuff" is repeated before "limb occlusion cuff 102," and the verb "is" is omitted after "that." The phrases should read "so that limb occlusion cuff 102 exerts" and "on a user’s limb that is between approximately thirty percent."
(l) Description internally inconsistent: the operation of the pump and the valve during flexion and extension ([0016], [0051], [0053], [0062] and [0074])
Paragraph [0016] states that fluid is drawn in through the pump when the user flexes a muscle adjacent to the cuff and is vented through the variable orifice valve when the user extends the muscle. Paragraph [0051], however, states that flexion of the muscle causes the pressure in the cuff to rise and extension causes it to fall, [0053] states that upon flexure the pressure in the cuff can increase and the processor responsively signals the variable orifice valve to open, and [0074] describes the bladder pressure exceeding the target pressure, and the variable orifice valve opening, when the user flexes a muscle adjacent to the cuff. Paragraph [0062] states both that the first proportional valve 110 is opened to vent fluid when the user’s muscle expands and that the second proportional valve 210 provides fluid to increase the pressure in the bladder during user muscle contraction, although [0053] equates expansion of the muscle with flexure and [0071] equates contraction with flexing. The description must be reconciled. A corresponding rejection of claim 20 is set forth below.
Drawings
3. The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference signs mentioned in the description: 112, the solenoid or solenoids of the variable orifice valve 110 described at [0044]-[0046] and [0053], which appears in none of the figures; and 106, 126 and 128, the pressure sensor, processor and memory that [0070] describes as components of compression system 600, none of which is designated in FIG. 6. Correction is required.
CLAIM INTERPRETATION
Claim Interpretation- 35 USC § 112 – Sixth Paragraph/35 USC § 112(f)
Applying the foregoing, no claim limitation of claims 1-20 uses the term "means" or "step" or a generic placeholder coupled with functional language and unmodified by sufficient structure. Accordingly, at present no claim limitation is interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph.
Claim Objections
6. Claims 5, 8-10 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 5, the phrase "until the current pressure of the bladder is substantially equal to the target pressure" should read "until the current pressure of the inflatable bladder is substantially equal to the target pressure".
Regarding claims 8 and 9, the phrase "the limb occlusion pressure of the limb of the user" should read "the occlusion pressure of the limb of the user", for consistency with claim 7.
Regarding claim 10, the phrase "a limb occlusion pressure of the limb of the user" should read "the occlusion pressure of the limb of the user", for consistency with claim 7.
Regarding claim 20, the phrase "venting fluid out through the valve" should read "venting fluid out through the variable orifice valve".
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b)
8. Claims 5-10, 12 and 14-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 5, the recitation "by simultaneously controlling the variable orifice valve to release fluid and/or controlling the pump to intake fluid" is indefinite. The term "simultaneously" requires the valve and the pump to be controlled at the same time, whereas the term "and/or", which the specification defines as meaning "A alone, B alone, or A and B together" ([0077]), permits either one to be controlled alone, and it cannot be determined whether the claim requires control of both. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted to be met by controlling the variable orifice valve to release fluid, the pump to intake fluid, or both, until the current pressure is substantially equal to the target pressure.
Regarding claims 6 and 17, the recitations "the proportional valve is coupled bi-directionally to the inflatable bladder" (claim 6) and "the proportional valve being bi-directionally coupled to the inflatable bladder" (claim 17) are indefinite. The specification repeats the phrase at [0009] and [0015] without explaining it. Paragraph [0058] states that the proportional valves may be any of several types of directional valve, including bi-directional valves, but in each embodiment described the proportional valve 110 releases fluid from the bladder ([0046], [0048], [0059]) and, where a second proportional valve 210 is present, that valve supplies fluid to the bladder ([0059]), so that it cannot be determined what relationship between the proportional valve and the inflatable bladder the term "bi-directionally" requires. For purposes of examination, the limitation is interpreted to require that the proportional valve be connected to the inflatable bladder by a passage through which fluid can pass in either direction.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is further indefinite because it recites "a proportional valve" without indicating whether the proportional valve is the variable orifice valve of claims 14 and 15 or an additional valve. For purposes of examination, the proportional valve of claim 17 is interpreted to be the variable orifice valve.
Regarding claims 7 and 12, the term "the target pressure" lacks antecedent basis, claim 1, from which each claim depends, not having recited a target pressure. For purposes of examination, claims 7 and 12 are each interpreted as newly introducing a target pressure of the inflatable bladder. Applicant may amend the dependency of the claims or otherwise provide proper antecedent basis.
Regarding claim 14, it cannot be determined whether the structure of the limb occlusion cuff recited in the preamble is part of the claimed method. The preamble recites a method of actively regulating pressure in a limb occlusion cuff, "the cuff comprising an inflatable bladder, a variable orifice valve coupled to the inflatable bladder via a fluid pathway, a pump coupled to the inflatable bladder via the fluid pathway, a pressure sensor disposed along the fluid pathway, and a controller," but the steps of the method are only determining a target pressure, receiving a signal from the pressure sensor, and comparing the current pressure to the target pressure, and no step provides, uses or operates the variable orifice valve or the pump or regulates the pressure in the bladder. It is therefore unclear whether the claim requires the recited cuff structure or only the recited steps. For purposes of examination, claim 14 is interpreted to require only the steps of determining, receiving and comparing, together with the inflatable bladder, the pressure sensor and the processor of the controller that those steps recite, and the remainder of the cuff structure recited in the preamble, including the variable orifice valve and the pump, is not interpreted as a limitation of the claimed method.
Regarding claim 18, the recitation "further comprising comparing, via the processor of the controller, the current pressure in the inflatable bladder to the target pressure" is indefinite, because claim 14 already recites that comparison and it cannot be determined whether claim 18 requires a second comparing step. For purposes of examination, the comparing of claim 18 is interpreted to be the comparing step of claim 14.
Regarding claim 20, the claim recites drawing fluid in through the pump "when a user of the limb occlusion cuff flexes a muscle adjacent to the cuff" and venting fluid "when the user of the limb occlusion cuff extends the muscle adjacent to the cuff." The detailed description states that flexion of the muscle causes the pressure in the cuff to rise and extension causes it to fall ([0051]), and that upon flexure the processor signals the variable orifice valve to open ([0053]; see also [0074]), although other passages describe drawing fluid in during flexion or contraction of the muscle ([0016], [0062]). Because the claim assigns pumping and venting to the phases of muscle movement opposite to those in which the detailed description describes the cuff pressure as rising and falling, and the description is itself inconsistent on the point, it cannot be determined what operation the claim requires. For purposes of examination, claim 20 is interpreted to require drawing fluid in through the pump and venting fluid through the variable orifice valve in response to the changes in cuff pressure caused by flexion and extension of the muscle adjacent to the cuff.
Claims 8-10, which depend, directly or indirectly, from claim 7, and claims 15-19, which depend, directly or indirectly, from claim 14, are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
10. Claims 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1: Claims 14 and 18 recite a method and are therefore directed to a process, one of the statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One: Claim 14 recites determining a target pressure in the inflatable bladder and comparing the current pressure in the inflatable bladder to the target pressure. Determining a target value and comparing a measured value to it are observations, evaluations and judgments that can be performed in the human mind or with pen and paper, as by a clinician who reads a pressure gauge and compares the reading with a prescribed pressure. The claim therefore recites a mental process, which is an abstract idea. Claim 18 adds only that the target pressure is chosen so that the cuff exerts a pressure below the occlusion pressure of the limb, which is part of the same mental determination.
Step 2A, Prong Two: The additional elements are receiving, from the pressure sensor, a signal indicative of the current pressure, and performing the comparing via a processor of the controller. Receiving the signal is data gathering needed to perform the comparison, which is insignificant extra-solution activity, and the processor is a generic computing element used as a tool to perform the comparison. As interpreted above, the variable orifice valve and the pump recited in the preamble are not limitations of the claimed method, the pressure sensor serves only as the source of the received data, and no step of claim 14 or claim 18 operates the valve or the pump on the basis of the comparison. The claims therefore do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
Step 2B: The additional elements, considered individually and in combination, do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea. Receiving data and processing it with a generic processor are well-understood, routine and conventional computer functions, and the specification describes the pressure sensor 106, which can be a transducer, and the processor 126 of the controller 124 only by the functions they perform, without any particulars ([0037], [0041], [0050]), indicating that these elements are sufficiently well known that the specification need not describe their particulars.
Claims 15-17, 19 and 20 are not rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101, because each recites operating the variable orifice valve or the pump of the cuff, in response to the comparison (claims 15-17) or during use of the cuff (claims 19 and 20), which applies the determination and comparison in the practical application of regulating the pressure in the bladder.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
12. Claims 1 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kamens et al. (US 4,567,899 A; hereinafter "Kamens").
Regarding claim 1, Kamens discloses a limb occlusion cuff for use in a compression system (FIG. 1, blood pressure cuff 1; col. 3, ll. 21-29), the cuff comprising:
(a) an inflatable bladder (FIG. 1, cuff 1; col. 3, ll. 21-24);
(b) a variable orifice valve (FIG. 1, variable opening bleed valve 4; col. 5, ll. 1-8) coupled to the inflatable bladder via a fluid pathway (FIG. 1, hose 3; col. 3, ll. 24-26);
(c) a pump (FIG. 1, pump 2) coupled to the inflatable bladder via the fluid pathway (hose 3; col. 3, ll. 23-25);
(d) a pressure sensor (FIG. 1, pressure transducer 5) disposed along the fluid pathway (hose 3; col. 3, ll. 26-29); and
(e) a controller (FIG. 1, microcomputer 9 with cuff pressure controller 18 and logic circuit 19; col. 3, l. 37; col. 4, ll. 2-32), the controller comprising a processor (microcomputer 9) configured to actively regulate a current pressure in the inflatable bladder (col. 4, ll. 12-32; col. 7, ll. 48-54; col. 7, l. 66 - col. 8, l. 1; claim 1; Abstract).
Kamens, FIG. 1 (annotated). The pump 2, the pressure transducer 5 and the variable opening bleed valve 4 are each connected to the hose 3 leading to the cuff 1, and the microcomputer 9, through the logic circuit 19 of the cuff pressure controller 18, controls the pump 2 and the valve 4.
The cuff of Kamens is inflated above the point of occluding the underlying artery (col. 3, ll. 47-50) and is therefore a limb occlusion cuff, the specification itself acknowledging that traditional pressure cuffs operate by inflating to a pressure sufficient to partially or completely occlude the arterial blood flow of the user ([0004]). The recitation "for use in a compression system" is a statement of intended use. An apparatus claim covers what a device is, not what it does, and a prior art apparatus that is capable of performing the recited function meets the limitation. The cuff of Kamens is capable of use in a compression system.
13. Regarding claim 13, Kamens discloses the processor configured to actively regulate the current pressure by closed-loop control, a first amplifier means connected to the pressure transducer providing a signal representative of the actual cuff pressure and a second amplifier means continuously varying the opening of the variable opening valve so that the actual cuff pressure follows the reference signal (col. 7, l. 66 - col. 8, l. 1; claim 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 1-5, 7, 12-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McEwen et al. (WO 2016/011538 A1; hereinafter "McEwen") in view of Kamens.
Regarding claim 1, McEwen discloses a limb occlusion cuff for use in a compression system, McEwen disclosing a tourniquet cuff 2 encircling a patient limb 4 to restrict blood flow during blood flow restricted physical activity (McEwen [0009]-[0010]), the cuff comprising:
(a) an inflatable bladder, McEwen disclosing the inflatable bladder of cuff 2, which has a length sufficient to surround the limb 4 (McEwen [0010], [0012]);
(b) a valve coupled to the inflatable bladder via a fluid pathway, McEwen disclosing a pressure regulator 36 that communicates pneumatically with the inflatable bladder of cuff 2 through the pneumatic passageway formed by cuff port 8, connectors 10 and 12 and flexible tubing 14 (McEwen [0013], [0028]) and that "includes a combination of valves and a pressure source" (McEwen [0028]; FIG. 3);
(c) a pump coupled to the inflatable bladder via the fluid pathway, McEwen disclosing the pressure source of the pressure regulator 36 and, alternatively, a manually controllable pump and valve used in place of the pressure regulator 36 to control the pressure in cuff 2 (McEwen [0028]);
(d) a pressure sensor disposed along the fluid pathway, McEwen disclosing a pulsation sensor 42 in pneumatic communication with the inflatable bladder of cuff 2 (McEwen [0032]), the level of pressure within cuff 2 being measured by the instrument 6 (McEwen [0018]); and
(e) a controller comprising a processor configured to actively regulate a current pressure in the inflatable bladder, McEwen disclosing a controller 18 that is a microcontroller with associated memory executing software programs that control the operation of the instrument 6 (McEwen [0020]), the pressure regulator 36 regulating the pressure in the bladder near a reference pressure level communicated from the controller 18 (McEwen [0028]) while the cuff is operated as an effector during the activity time period (McEwen [0017]).
McEwen, FIG. 3 (annotated). The pressure regulator 36 of the effector module 20, which includes a combination of valves and a pressure source, communicates pneumatically with the inflatable bladder of the cuff 2 through the passageway formed by the cuff port 8, the connectors 10 and 12 and the tubing 14.
McEwen does not disclose that the valves of the pressure regulator 36 include a variable orifice valve.
However, Kamens teaches a cuff pressure controller having "a variable opening valve connected to bleed air from said blood pressure cuff" and amplifier means that continuously vary the opening of that valve in response to a reference signal, so as to cause the actual cuff pressure sensed by a pressure transducer to follow the reference signal (Kamens, claim 1; col. 7, l. 66 - col. 8, l. 1), the valve having a plunger 34 that cooperates with a flow control orifice 36 "to form a variable opening," a greater current in the coil 33 producing a greater constriction of the air escaping from the orifice 36, so that the rate of bleed of air pressure from the hose 3 communicating with the cuff is varied by controlling the current in the coil (Kamens, col. 4, l. 59 - col. 5, l. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to form the valve of the pressure regulator 36 of McEwen through which air is released from the bladder as a variable orifice valve whose opening is continuously varied in response to the sensed cuff pressure, as taught by Kamens, in order to release air from the bladder at a rate matched to the deviation of the cuff pressure from the reference pressure level, so that the cuff pressure follows the reference smoothly rather than in the steps produced by opening and closing a valve, with a reasonable expectation of success. The cuff of McEwen as so modified is referred to below as the modified cuff of McEwen.
16. Regarding claim 2, the modified cuff of McEwen has the pressure sensor configured to generate a signal indicative of the current pressure of the inflatable bladder and the processor configured to perform a comparison between the current pressure and a target pressure of the inflatable bladder, McEwen disclosing that the instrument 6 measures the level of pressure within cuff 2 (McEwen [0018]), that the pressure regulator 36 maintains the bladder pressure near the reference pressure level communicated from the controller 18 (McEwen [0028]), and that bladder pressure levels too far below or too far above the desired reference pressure level are detected (McEwen [0029]), the effector module 20, which includes the pressure regulator 36 and the alarm condition detector 38, being one of the functional blocks through which the controller 18 performs its functions (McEwen [0020], [0028]), and Kamens disclosing a pressure transducer continuously providing a signal proportional to the cuff pressure and a controller that varies the valve opening so that the actual cuff pressure follows the reference signal (Kamens, claim 1).
17. Regarding claim 3, the modified cuff of McEwen has the processor configured to actively regulate the current pressure by controlling the variable orifice valve to release fluid to deflate the inflatable bladder if the result of the comparison indicates that the current pressure is greater than the target pressure, Kamens disclosing that the variable opening valve bleeds air from the hose 3 leading to the cuff (Kamens, col. 3, ll. 24-26), with its opening continuously varied so that the actual cuff pressure follows the reference signal (Kamens, claim 1), and McEwen disclosing regulation of the bladder pressure toward the reference pressure level, with detection of a bladder pressure level too far above that level (McEwen [0028]-[0029]).
18. Regarding claim 4, the modified cuff of McEwen has the processor configured to actively regulate the current pressure by controlling the pump to intake fluid to inflate the inflatable bladder if the result of the comparison indicates that the current pressure is lower than the target pressure, McEwen disclosing that the combination of valves and a pressure source of the pressure regulator 36 maintains the pressure level within the bladder near the reference pressure level (McEwen [0028]) and that a bladder pressure level too far below the reference pressure level is detected as a low pressure alarm condition (McEwen [0029]), and Kamens disclosing that the microcomputer 9, through the logic circuit 19, directly controls the pump 2 (Kamens, col. 4, ll. 19-32).
19. Regarding claim 5, as interpreted above, the modified cuff of McEwen has the processor configured to actively regulate the current pressure by controlling the variable orifice valve to release fluid until the current pressure is substantially equal to the target pressure, Kamens disclosing that the opening of the valve is continuously varied so that the actual cuff pressure follows the reference signal (Kamens, claim 1; col. 7, l. 66 - col. 8, l. 1), and McEwen disclosing that the pressure regulator 36 maintains the pressure level within the bladder near the reference pressure level (McEwen [0028]).
20. Regarding claim 7, as interpreted above, the modified cuff of McEwen has a target pressure chosen such that the pressure exerted by the cuff on the limb of the user is below an occlusion pressure of the limb, McEwen disclosing that the personalized restrictive pressure maintained in the bladder is "typically less than the Limb Occlusion Pressure (LOP)" and restricts but does not stop arterial blood flow past the cuff (McEwen [0011]), the predetermined percentage of the LOP being typically less than 100% (McEwen [0043]).
21. Regarding claim 12, as interpreted above, the modified cuff of McEwen has the controller further comprising a memory in which the target pressure is stored, McEwen disclosing that the controller 18 is a microcontroller with associated memory (McEwen [0020]), that the reference pressure level is communicated from the controller 18 to the pressure regulator 36 (McEwen [0028]), and that the estimated personalized restrictive pressure is selected as the level of pressure to be maintained in the bladder during the activity time period (McEwen [0055]), so that the level is retained by the controller for use as the reference pressure level.
22. Regarding claim 13, the modified cuff of McEwen has the processor configured to actively regulate the current pressure by closed-loop control, Kamens disclosing first amplifier means connected to the pressure transducer that provides a signal representative of the actual cuff pressure and second amplifier means that continuously varies the opening of the variable opening valve so that the actual cuff pressure follows the reference signal (Kamens, col. 7, l. 66 - col. 8, l. 1; claim 1), and McEwen disclosing regulation of the bladder pressure near the reference pressure level with detection of pressure levels too far above or below that level (McEwen [0028]-[0029]).
23. Regarding claim 14, McEwen discloses a method of actively regulating pressure in a limb occlusion cuff of a compression system (McEwen [0009]-[0010], [0028]), the cuff comprising an inflatable bladder (McEwen [0012]), a valve and a pump coupled to the inflatable bladder via a fluid pathway (McEwen [0013], [0028]; FIG. 3), a pressure sensor disposed along the fluid pathway (McEwen [0018], [0032]), and a controller (McEwen [0020]), the method performed by the controller and comprising:
(a) determining a target pressure in the inflatable bladder, McEwen disclosing that the instrument estimates the LOP and establishes the personalized restrictive pressure as a predetermined percentage of the LOP (McEwen [0043]), which is selected as the level of pressure to be maintained in the bladder (McEwen [0055]);
(b) receiving, from the pressure sensor, a signal indicative of a current pressure in the inflatable bladder, McEwen disclosing that the level of pressure within cuff 2 is measured by the instrument 6 (McEwen [0018]) and that the level of pressure in the bladder is recorded with each pulsation sensed by the pulsation sensor 42 (McEwen [0036]); and
(c) comparing, via a processor of the controller, the current pressure in the inflatable bladder to the target pressure, McEwen disclosing that the pressure regulator 36 maintains the bladder pressure near the reference pressure level communicated from the controller 18 (McEwen [0028]) and that bladder pressure levels too far below or too far above the desired reference pressure level are detected (McEwen [0029]), the effector module 20, which includes the pressure regulator 36 and the alarm condition detector 38, being one of the functional blocks through which the controller 18 performs its functions (McEwen [0020], [0028]).
As interpreted above, claim 14 requires only the steps of determining, receiving and comparing, each of which McEwen discloses. To the extent the cuff structure recited in the preamble is given limiting effect, McEwen does not disclose that the valve of the cuff is a variable orifice valve.
However, Kamens teaches a cuff pressure controller having "a variable opening valve connected to bleed air from said blood pressure cuff" and amplifier means that continuously vary the opening of that valve in response to a reference signal, so as to cause the actual cuff pressure sensed by a pressure transducer to follow the reference signal (Kamens, claim 1; col. 7, l. 66 - col. 8, l. 1), the valve having a plunger 34 that cooperates with a flow control orifice 36 "to form a variable opening," a greater current in the coil 33 producing a greater constriction of the air escaping from the orifice 36, so that the rate of bleed of air pressure from the hose 3 communicating with the cuff is varied by controlling the current in the coil (Kamens, col. 4, l. 59 - col. 5, l. 8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the method of McEwen with a cuff whose valve through which air is released from the bladder is a variable orifice valve, the opening of which is continuously varied in response to the sensed cuff pressure, as taught by Kamens, in order to release air from the bladder at a rate matched to the deviation of the cuff pressure from the reference pressure level, with a reasonable expectation of success. The method of McEwen as so modified is referred to below as the modified method of McEwen.
24. Regarding claim 15, the modified method of McEwen further comprises, when the comparing indicates that the current pressure in the inflatable bladder exceeds the target pressure, signaling, via the controller, the variable orifice valve to vent fluid from the inflatable bladder, Kamens disclosing that the microcomputer 9, through the logic circuit 19, directly controls the valve 4 (Kamens, col. 4, ll. 19-32), the opening of which is continuously varied by a control signal so that air is bled from the cuff to bring the actual cuff pressure to the reference (Kamens, claim 1), and McEwen disclosing regulation of the bladder pressure toward the reference pressure level with detection of a bladder pressure level too far above that level (McEwen [0028]-[0029]).
25. Regarding claim 16, the modified method of McEwen further comprises, when the comparing indicates that the current pressure in the inflatable bladder is less than the target pressure, signaling, via the controller, the pump to draw fluid into the inflatable bladder, McEwen disclosing that the pressure source of the pressure regulator 36 maintains the bladder pressure near the reference pressure level communicated from the controller 18 (McEwen [0028]) and that a bladder pressure level too far below that level is detected (McEwen [0029]), and Kamens disclosing that the microcomputer 9, through the logic circuit 19, directly controls the pump 2 (Kamens, col. 4, ll. 19-32).
26. Regarding claim 18, as interpreted above, in the modified method of McEwen the target pressure is chosen so that the cuff exerts a pressure on the limb of the user that is below an occlusion pressure of the limb, McEwen disclosing that the personalized restrictive pressure is typically less than the LOP and restricts but does not stop arterial blood flow past the cuff (McEwen [0011], [0043]).
27. Claims 6, 11, 17 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McEwen in view of Kamens, as applied to claims 1, 14 and 15 above, and further in view of Levinson (US 4,924,862 A; hereinafter "Levinson").
Regarding claim 6, the modified cuff of McEwen has the variable orifice valve being a proportional valve, Kamens teaching a valve whose opening is varied by the current supplied to its coil, a greater current in the coil 33 producing a greater constriction of the air escaping from the flow control orifice 36, so that the rate of bleed of air pressure from the hose 3 leading to the cuff is varied by controlling the current in the coil (Kamens, col. 4, l. 59 - col. 5, l. 8), which is the arrangement the specification describes for its proportional valve, a solenoid moving a piston relative to the orifice of the valve ([0032]), but does not have the proportional valve coupled bi-directionally to the inflatable bladder.
However, Levinson teaches adjustable valves connected with their inlets and outlets in series in the inflation line of an inflatable cuff which, "because of the bi-directional nature of this control system," hold the cuff pressure at exactly the preset point whether the cuff pressure begins above or below that point and "can instantaneously either supply extra volume to, or accept extra volume from the cuff" (Levinson, col. 4, ll. 2-14), the system thereby offering "automatic bidirectional control of the cuff inflation line" (Levinson, col. 7, ll. 32-34).
Levinson is analogous art. Although Levinson is directed to the cuff of a tracheal tube rather than to a limb cuff, Levinson is reasonably pertinent to the particular problem with which the inventor was concerned, namely holding the pressure of an inflatable cuff at a set level while external forces act on the cuff, Levinson explaining that movement of the patient moves the cuff into tighter and looser positions, causing the pressure in the cuff to increase and decrease (Levinson, col. 1, ll. 57-60); the specification itself identifies the cuffs of endotracheal tubes as an application of pressure cuffs ([0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to couple the proportional valve of the modified cuff of McEwen bi-directionally to the inflatable bladder, so that air passes through that valve, which remains a variable orifice valve, both to and from the bladder, as taught by Levinson, in order that the bladder pressure is returned to the reference pressure level whether it begins above or below that level, each pressure fluctuation produced by a movement of the limb (McEwen [0048]) being corrected through the same valve, with a reasonable expectation of success.
28. Regarding claim 11, the modified cuff of McEwen does not have the variable orifice valve configured to always be at least partially open during use of the cuff and the pump configured to always be on during use of the cuff.
However, Levinson teaches an inflation control system in which a cuff inflation line substantially continuously connects adjustable relief valves, each having a valved exhaust port urged toward the closed condition, in series between the cuff and "a substantially continuous source of pressurized gas" throughout the inspiration and exhalation cycles of the ventilator (Levinson, claim 1), the valves being connected with their inlets and outlets in series with the cuff inflation line (Levinson, col. 4, ll. 6-9), so that the cuff remains in substantially continuous communication with the gas source through the valves. Levinson explains that because the cuff line is always connected to the source, volume can be continuously supplied if there is a leak, irrespective of the respiratory phase (Levinson, col. 7, ll. 43-46), and that the relief valves hold the cuff pressure at the preset point by bleeding off volume when that pressure is exceeded, instantaneously supplying extra volume to or accepting extra volume from the cuff (Levinson, col. 4, ll. 3-14).
Levinson is analogous art for the reasons given above for claim 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to keep the pump of the modified cuff of McEwen on throughout use as a substantially continuous source of pressurized fluid, and to keep its variable orifice valve at least partially open throughout use, so that the bladder remains in substantially continuous communication with that source while the opening of the valve is continuously varied (Kamens, claim 1), as taught by Levinson, in order that each rise and fall of bladder pressure caused by limb movement (McEwen [0048]) is corrected as it occurs, without first starting a stopped pump or opening a closed valve, with a reasonable expectation of success.
29. Regarding claim 17, the modified method of McEwen comprises venting fluid from the inflatable bladder via the variable orifice valve, as set forth for claim 15 above, the variable orifice valve being a proportional valve, Kamens teaching a valve whose opening is varied by the current supplied to its coil, a greater current in the coil 33 producing a greater constriction of the air escaping from the flow control orifice 36, so that the rate of bleed of air pressure from the hose 3 leading to the cuff is varied by controlling the current in the coil (Kamens, col. 4, l. 59 - col. 5, l. 8), which is the arrangement the specification describes for its proportional valve, a solenoid moving a piston relative to the orifice of the valve ([0032]), but does not comprise the proportional valve being bi-directionally coupled to the inflatable bladder.
However, Levinson teaches valves connected in series in the inflation line of an inflatable cuff that, because of the bi-directional nature of the control system, can either supply extra volume to, or accept extra volume from, the cuff (Levinson, col. 4, ll. 2-14), providing automatic bidirectional control of the cuff inflation line (Levinson, col. 7, ll. 32-34).
Levinson is analogous art for the reasons given above for claim 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vent fluid from the inflatable bladder in the modified method of McEwen through the proportional valve bi-directionally coupled to the bladder, so that air passes through that valve, which remains a variable orifice valve, both to and from the bladder, as taught by Levinson, in order that the bladder pressure is returned to the reference pressure level whether it begins above or below that level, with a reasonable expectation of success.
30. Regarding claim 19, the modified method of McEwen does not comprise keeping the variable orifice valve always at least partially open and/or keeping the pump always on during use of the cuff.
However, Levinson teaches holding the pressure of an inflatable cuff by connecting the cuff, through adjustable relief valves whose inlets and outlets are connected in series with the cuff inflation line (Levinson, col. 4, ll. 6-9), to "a substantially continuous source of pressurized gas" throughout the inspiration and exhalation cycles of the ventilator (Levinson, claim 1), the cuff line being always connected to the source so that volume can be continuously supplied if there is a leak, irrespective of the respiratory phase (Levinson, col. 7, ll. 43-46).
Levinson is analogous art for the reasons given above for claim 6.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to keep the pump on throughout use of the cuff in the modified method of McEwen, as a substantially continuous source of pressurized fluid, and to keep the variable orifice valve at least partially open, as taught by Levinson, in order that each rise and fall of bladder pressure caused by limb movement (McEwen [0048]) is corrected as it occurs, without first starting a stopped pump or opening a closed valve, with a reasonable expectation of success.
31. Claims 8-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McEwen in view of Kamens, as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Colosi (US 2020/0237606 A1; hereinafter "Colosi").
Regarding claim 8, McEwen discloses that the personalized restrictive pressure is established as a predetermined percentage of the LOP, which may be a value selected by the user (McEwen [0043], [0049]), and discloses calculating the personalized restrictive pressure as 80% of the LOP in one example (McEwen [0055]), a value at the upper end point of the claimed range. McEwen does not disclose any other value of the pressure exerted on the limb between thirty percent and eighty percent of the limb occlusion pressure.
However, Colosi teaches a blood flow restriction training system in which the user selects a desired percentage of the limb occlusion pressure, generally 20%-80% and all values therebetween, for example 50% or 75%, the cuff being inflated to the selected percentage and the limb being exercised while the cuff is at the selected pressure (Colosi [0040]-[0041], [0081]), Colosi explaining that blood flow restriction training is used to improve muscle strength, size and functional aerobic capacity (Colosi [0003]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select the personalized restrictive pressure of the modified cuff of McEwen within the range of 20% to 80% of the limb occlusion pressure, for example 50% or 75%, as taught by Colosi, in order to restrict the blood flow during the activity at a percentage of the limb occlusion pressure that is an effective cuff pressure for blood flow restriction training, with a reasonable expectation of success. The claimed range lies inside the range of 20% to 80% taught by Colosi, and Colosi discloses specific values within the claimed range; where a claimed range overlaps or lies inside a range disclosed by the prior art, a prima facie case of obviousness exists. The cuff so modified is referred to below as the further modified cuff of McEwen.
32. Regarding claim 9, the further modified cuff of McEwen has the pressure exerted on the limb between thirty percent and fifty percent of the limb occlusion pressure, the range of 20% to 80% taught by Colosi (Colosi [0040]) encompassing the claimed range, Colosi disclosing in particular a selected percentage of 50% of the limb occlusion pressure (Colosi [0040], [0081]), and a prima facie case of obviousness existing where a claimed range overlaps or lies inside a range disclosed by the prior art.
33. Regarding claim 10, the further modified cuff of McEwen has the pressure exerted on the limb between fifty percent and eighty percent of the limb occlusion pressure, the range of 20% to 80% taught by Colosi (Colosi [0040]) encompassing the claimed range, Colosi disclosing selected percentages of 50% and 75% of the limb occlusion pressure (Colosi [0040], [0081]), McEwen disclosing a pressure of 80% of the LOP (McEwen [0055]), at the upper end point of the claimed range, and a prima facie case of obviousness existing where a claimed range overlaps or lies inside a range disclosed by the prior art.
34. Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McEwen in view of Kamens, as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Bowman et al. (US 2023/0255642 A1; hereinafter "Bowman"). Bowman qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2), having been effectively filed on July 6, 2021, as International Application No. PCT/US2021/040565, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and having been published on August 17, 2023.
Regarding claim 20, as interpreted above, McEwen does not disclose that the pressure fluctuations to which the pump and the valve respond are caused by flexion and extension of the muscle adjacent to the cuff, McEwen disclosing that each movement of the limb during the activity produces a pressure fluctuation in the bladder (McEwen [0048]) while the pressure regulator 36 maintains the bladder pressure near the reference pressure level (McEwen [0017], [0028]).
However, Bowman teaches a wearable blood flow restriction compression system that actively regulates the pressure applied to an extremity during exercise (Bowman [0048]), the system having a pressure relief valve that releases pressure from the bladder when the user contracts the muscle, on instruction from the processor when the sensed pressure exceeds a programmed pressure threshold, and a controller reservoir that regulates the pressure in the inflatable band when the user relaxes or contracts the associated muscle, returning some of the expelled air when the pressure drops (Bowman [0082]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to vent fluid through the variable orifice valve in the modified method of McEwen when the user contracts the muscle adjacent to the cuff, and to supply fluid to the bladder through the pump when the user relaxes the muscle, as taught by Bowman, in order to keep the applied pressure within the desired range throughout each repetition of the exercise, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Conclusion
35. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. The following references were located during the search and are made of record, but are not applied in a rejection:
(a) Wesseling (US 4,510,940 A) discloses a finger cuff whose pressure is set in closed-loop operation by an electric pressure valve supplied with air by a compressor, under the control of a PID circuit, with a pressure transducer connected to the output of the valve. Wesseling is pertinent to the continuously supplied, servo-regulated cuff pressure recited in claims 11 and 19.
(b) Krahwinkel et al. (US 10,123,806 B2) discloses a control apparatus for a tourniquet device in which a compressor supplies pressurized air through a pressure means storage unit and a pressure means conduit to a connection for a compression cuff, a proportional valve in the conduit regulates the pressure available at the connection, a venting valve releases the pressure built up in the cuff, pressure gauges detect the pressure supplied by the compressor and the pressure after the proportional valve, and parameter sets for compression cuffs of different sizes, each including an inflation profile and the end pressure to which the cuff is inflated, are stored in a data storage unit. Krahwinkel is pertinent to the variable orifice valve, pump, pressure sensor and controller recited in claims 1 and 14 and to the target pressure stored in a memory recited in claim 12.
(c) Dye (US 5,383,894 A) discloses a compression device for a limb in which a microprocessor compares the signal of a pressure transducer with a preselected pressure value and sends pulses to a stepper motor that automatically adjusts a flow control valve to maintain the preselected pressure applied to the limb. Dye is pertinent to the variable orifice valve recited in claim 1, the target pressure stored in a memory recited in claim 12, and the closed-loop control recited in claim 13.
(d) McEwen et al. (US 8,083,763 B2) discloses the tourniquet pressure regulator that McEwen [0028] identifies as similar in design and operation to its pressure regulator 36. The regulator keeps the cuff pressure near a reference pressure level by a proportional integral control algorithm, setting a pressure increase signal for a pressure increase valve that may be configured as an electrically operated proportional valve and is supplied from a reservoir pressurized by a pneumatic pump, and a pressure decrease signal that controls the opening of a pressure decrease valve venting the cuff to atmosphere. McEwen et al. (US 8,083,763 B2) also discloses a variable orifice valve and is pertinent to the variable orifice valve, pump and closed-loop control recited in claims 1-6 and 13-17.
36. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to JAVAUN L HARRIOTT whose email is jharriott@uspto.gov. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon - Fri 9:00-6:00. If attempts to reach the examiner are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, TIMOTHY A STANIS, can be reached at (571)272-5139. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAVAUN L HARRIOTT/
Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/TIMOTHY A STANIS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3785