DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Durtsch US 2021/0176433 in view of Johannesmann et al. EP 4122849 A1 (included in the IDS, attached translation).
Durtsch discloses an unloading station for a conveyor facility, the station comprising:
(Re claim 1) “an overhead conveyor system including a conveyor rail deviating from the horizontal in an inclined section” (20 figure 2). “a conveyor drive, and a plurality of overhead adapters for conveying along the conveyor rail via the conveyor drive” (22 figure 2, para 0135) “a plurality of conveying containers, each container of which is conveyable in a suspended manner on one of the overhead adapters” (10 figure 2). “a goods discharge surface arranged below the conveyor rail for discharging goods discharged from the conveying containers, wherein the goods discharge surface slopes downwards relative to the horizontal at the opening position” (55 figure 2).
Durtsch does not disclose an operable opener with which an underside of the conveying container is openable nor an opening unit for opening the conveying container, wherein the opening unit is arranged along the inclined section at an opening position.
Johannesmann teaches an operable opener with which an underside of the conveying container is openable and an opening unit for opening the conveying container, wherein the opening unit is arranged along the inclined section at an opening position (105,55 figure 3,4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Durtsch to include an operable opener with which an underside of the conveying container is openable and an opening unit for opening the conveying container, wherein the opening unit is arranged along the inclined section at an opening position because it allows for more controlled release of the contained goods and it allows for less spacing between goods carriers if Durtsch is modified to release from the bottom of a conveying container instead of the top.
(Re claim 2) “the goods discharge surface is inclined downwards at the opening position with respect to the horizontal at a first angle of inclination (n₁), wherein n₁ ≥ 45°” (55 figure 2, ).
(Re claim 3) “goods discharge surface is arranged at a vertical distance (Av) below the conveyor rail such that the conveying containers touch the goods discharge surface in the unopened state” (10,55 figure 2).
(Re claim 4) “wherein the vertical distance (Av) is constant along a parallel section of the conveyor rail” (52,55 figure 2).
(Re claim 5) “wherein the goods discharge surface is a sliding surface” (5,55,31 figure 2)
(Re claim 6) “the sliding surface has a transfer section which is at least one of arranged to be inclined at a second angle of inclination (n₂) relative to the horizontal, wherein n2 < n₁, or curved at least in sections” (55,31 figure 2).
(Re claim 7) “the goods discharge surface has a downward conveyor” (54,55,56 figure 2).
(Re claim 8) “the downward conveyor is one of a cleated belt and a conveyor belt with at least one of stopping members or an adhesive surface” (5,56 figure 2).
(Re claim 9) “the downward conveyor has a drive with a variably adjustable conveying speed” (para 0061, ‘depending on the speed’ para 0091). “Depending on the speed” implies that the speed of the conveyors can be varied.
(Re claim 10) Durtsch does not disclose that the opening unit is switchable such that in response to a control signal the opening unit one of opens a conveying container arranged at the opening position and allows it to pass unopened.
Johannesmann teaches that the opening unit is switchable such that in response to a control signal the opening unit one of opens a conveying container arranged at the opening position and allows it to pass unopened (‘triggering mechanism … a separate drive’ para 9 page 12).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Durstch to include that the opening unit is switchable such that in response to a control signal the opening unit one of opens a conveying container arranged at the opening position and allows it to pass unopened because it allows for better timing and control of the release.
(Re claim 11) “a side guide for the conveying containers is arranged at the goods discharge surface” (76 figure 2).
(Re claim 12) “the inclined section slopes downwards in relation to the horizontal” (54, 55 figure 2).
(Re claim 13) “a conveyor facility comprising an unloading station according to claim 1 and a
horizontal conveyor” (54,55,32 figure 2).
(Re claim 14) “the horizontal conveyor adjoins the goods discharge surface” (31,32,54,55 figure 2).
Durtsch discloses a method for the automated unloading of conveying containers in a conveyor facility, the method comprising:
(Re claim 15) “conveying the conveying containers via overhead adapters along a conveyor rail that slopes downwards at least in sections relative to the horizontal” (51,52,12 figure 2). “gravity-induced discharging of goods from the conveying containers onto a goods discharge surface arranged below the conveyor rail, wherein the goods discharge surface slopes downwards relative to the horizontal at the opening position” (10,5,55 figure 2).
Durstch does not disclose opening at least one conveying container of the conveying containers at an opening position via an opening unit
Johannesmann teaches opening at least one conveying container of the conveying containers at an opening position via an opening unit (105,55 figure 3,4).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Durstch to include opening at least one conveying container of the conveying containers at an opening position via an opening unit because it allows for more controlled release of the contained goods and it allows for less spacing between goods carriers if Durtsch is modified to release from the bottom of a conveying container instead of the top.
(Re claim 16) “the conveying containers are guided to abut against the goods discharge surface upstream of the opening position” (10, 54 figure 2).
(Re claim 17) Durstch does not disclose that the conveying containers are opened in dependence on the conveyed goods.
Johannesmann teaches that the conveying containers are opened in dependence on the conveyed goods (‘triggering mechanism … a separate drive’ para 9 page 12).
It would have been obvious to one skilled in the art to modify the system of Durstch to include conveying containers are opened in dependence on the conveyed goods because it allows for better timing and control of the release.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 2019/0375527 discloses a container being openable over a specific unloading area. US 2017/0369248 discloses a container supported by an overhead conveyor coming in contact with a conveyor belt before opening the container.
TIMOTHY R. WAGGONER
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3655 B
/TIMOTHY R WAGGONER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3655