DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Double Patenting Rejection
The Examiner agrees to Applicant’s request to hold the double patenting rejection in abeyance until allowable subject matter is indicated.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
First of all, Applicant argues the following: “Suzuki teaches secure temporary transfer links and one-time access, which protects documents in transit, not at rest in an encrypted repository. Suzuki focuses on generating time- limited access links, secure delivery or transfer of files, and temporary access windows. Even if Suzuki is combined with Lane or Pang, the result would at most be document collection and temporary secure transfer. It would still lack persistent encrypted storage repository, user- controlled authorization enforcement at rest, and vault-like account-bound document custody. Transmission security is not equivalent to storage architecture security.”
(Remarks, page 2, last ¶)
Applicant’s arguments filed on 2/23/2026, directed at the amended claims submitted on 2/23/2026 were considered, but are moot in view of new rejections made below using Walker (US Patent No. 10,108,811) in response to the latest amendments by applicant.
Next, Applicant argues the following: “Further, the claims do not stop at storage. They require displaying the vital document in a view-only mode and sharing the vital document via a one-time, password-encrypted, time- limited link. These limitations reflect a controlled-release architecture layered on top of the encrypted repository. The Office Action does not identify a reference that discloses applying both view-only restrictions and time-limited encrypted sharing mechanisms to documents maintained within an authorization-gated encrypted repository tied to a specific user account.”
(Remarks, page 3, ¶ 3)
The Examiner respectfully responds: In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Additionally, Applicant argues the following: “The claims also require "applying for at least one additional vital document chosen from a birth certificate, passport, and driver's license." Thus, the stored document is not merely archived but is integrated into a workflow involving acquisition of government-issued identity documents. The rejection does not demonstrate that the cited references teach or suggest integrating an authorization-gated encrypted repository with a government vital-document application workflow as claimed. The combination of identity-centric storage, repository-level access enforcement, controlled document rendering, time-limited encrypted sharing, and government application workflow is not shown in the prior art.”
(Remarks, page 3, ¶ 4)
The Examiner respectfully responds: the above arguments by Applicant were considered, but are moot in view of new rejections made below using Walker (US Patent No. 10,108,811) in response to the latest amendments by applicant. Additionally, in response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Also, Applicant argues the following: “Claims 19 and 20 require that access to the encrypted cloud document repository further requires a second authentication factor selected from biometric authentication, device authentication, or one-time authorization token validation. The Office Action does not identify any reference applying second-factor authentication specifically to access control at the repository level in the manner claimed.”
(Remarks, page 4, ¶ 1)
Applicant’s arguments filed on 2/23/2026, directed at the new claims submitted on 2/23/2026 were considered, but are moot in view of new rejections made below using Walker (US Patent No. 10,108,811).
Next, Applicant argues the following: “The rejection effectively reconstructs Applicant's invention by extracting isolated features from multiple unrelated systems-cloud storage from one reference, encryption from another, sharing links from another, and document workflows from yet another. However, there is no articulated reasoning grounded in the cited references themselves that would have led a person of ordinary skill in the art to redesign a generic cloud storage system into the claimed account-bound, encryption-persistent, authorization-gated repository integrated with identity verification and government document workflows. Absent such reasoning, the rejection relies on impermissible hindsight.”
(Remarks, page 4, ¶ 2)
The Examiner respectfully responds: A claimed invention is likely to be obvious if it is a combination of known prior art elements that would reasonably have been expected to maintain their respective properties or functions after they have been combined. Additionally, "[a]ny judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based on hindsight reasoning, but so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill in the art at the time the claimed invention was made and does not include knowledge gleaned only from applicant’s disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper." In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 1395, 170 USPQ 209, 212 (CCPA 1971).
Next, Applicant argues the following: “Badger does not teach or suggest a processor-based determination of whether a user account exists and subsequent conditional processing of login or account creation steps, as recited in claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 13, and 14. Specifically, Badger focuses on controlling access to documents generally via permissions and access control lists, rather than implementing dynamic, processor-controlled account verification logic that checks for the existence of an account and either processes the login further or proposes the creation of a new account based on that determination.”
(Remarks, page 4, last ¶)
The Examiner respectfully responds: Badger clearly discloses determining whether the account exists and wherein if the account exists, the processor processes the login further (see page 2, lines 19-26: “the processing module determines if a record of the person already exists, then proceeds to provide the person with one or more options to obtain a ticket when it is determined that a record of the person exists. When it is determined that a record of the person does not exist, the processing module proceeds to request the person to create a record and register a personal identification document. The determination of whether a record of the person exists may simply involve directing the person to a login page of an online account, and allowing the person to select between logging into an existing account or creating a new account.”). Additionally, Badger clearly discloses wherein, if the account does not exist, the processor proposes to the user to create a new account (see page 2, lines 19-26: “the processing module determines if a record of the person already exists, then proceeds to provide the person with one or more options to obtain a ticket when it is determined that a record of the person exists. When it is determined that a record of the person does not exist, the processing module proceeds to request the person to create a record and register a personal identification document. The determination of whether a record of the person exists may simply involve directing the person to a login page of an online account, and allowing the person to select between logging into an existing account or creating a new account.”).
Next, Applicant argues the following: “Piratla discloses user interfaces for accessing stored digital content. However, it does not teach or suggest displaying a user's vital documents on a Personal Account Dashboard, as recited in claims 5, 10, and 15. Piratla focuses primarily on general content management and remote access of digital files, without providing the concept of a centralized, user-specific dashboard that aggregates vital documents for easy viewing and interaction. Furthermore, Piratla does not address the security, encryption, or view-only restrictions associated with vital documents maintained in a cloud-based repository, which are central to the claimed invention.”
(Remarks, page 5, ¶ 3)
Applicant’s arguments filed on 2/23/2026, directed at the amended claims submitted on 2/23/2026 were considered, but are moot in view of new rejections made below using Walker (US Patent No. 10,108,811) in response to the latest amendments by applicant.
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of copending Application No. 17/807,285 in view of Walker (US Patent No. 10,108,811).
Regarding claim 1, claim 2 of Application No. 17/807,285 recites A computerized method for storing a vital document, the method comprising the steps of (“A computerized method for storing a vital document, the method comprising the steps of:”):
logging, by a user, into an account (“logging, by a user, into an account”);
displaying, on a display of a computer, the vital document in a view-only mode (“displaying, on a display of a computer, the at least one vital document in a view-only mode”);
sharing the vital document via email to a third-party recipient or via download to a local device using a one-time, password-encrypted, time-limited link (“sharing the at least one vital document via email to a third-party recipient or via download to a local device using a one-time, password-encrypted, time-limited link”); and
applying for at least one additional vital document chosen from a birth certificate, passport, and driver's license (“The method of claim 1 further comprising applying for the at least one vital document.”).
Claim 2 of Application No. 17/807,285 fails to recite receiving, via a user device, a vital document from a user; associating the vital document with a user account.
However, Walker teaches receiving, via a user device, a vital document from a user (see col. 18, lines 53-62: “a task that requires the user ensure his family's passports are in order might have links to the Passport item in each of their Identification containers. Tasks created using the Checklist Template wizard can contain links to placeholders for items that are not yet in the user's STORESECURE. By clicking on these links, the user will be prompted to upload an image of each item and provide basic information about them (e.g., a placeholder link to a driver's license would ask for the user's license number and expiration date).”);
associating the vital document with a user account (see col. 9, lines 49-52: “The dashboard event log shows the last 25 actions/events that occurred in the member SmartVault account. Events include additions, modification or deletions of items, uploaded files, tasks, notes, etc.”).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to improve the computerized method recited by claim 2 of Application No. 17/807,285 by including the steps of receiving, via a user device, a vital document from a user and associating the vital document with a user account taught by Walker. It would have been obvious because Walker explicitly discloses that doing so achieves the following benefit: a system for enabling secure data storage into a third party managed electronic vault … provides users with a secure location to store important documents, information, and data including but not limited to various forms of personal identifiable information (Walker, Abstract).
Claim 2 of Application No. 17/807,285 fails to disclose encrypting the vital document; storing the encrypted vital document in an encrypted cloud document repository associated with the user account and accessible only upon user authorization, the encrypted cloud document repository being configured to maintain the vital document in encrypted form and to prevent access to the vital document absent user authorization.
In the same field of endeavor, Walker teaches encrypting the vital document (see col. 31, lines 1-4: “All documents that are uploaded into SECURESTORE are encrypted with military grade encryption and are stored in a simple content management system called Simple File Archive (SFA)”);
storing the encrypted vital document in an encrypted cloud document repository (see col. 22, lines 17-20: “All documents that are uploaded into SECURESTORE are encrypted with military grade encryption and are stored in a simple content management system called Simple File Archive (SFA) on a cloud storage device”) associated with the user account and accessible only upon user authorization, the encrypted cloud document repository being configured to maintain the vital document in encrypted form and to prevent access to the vital document absent user authorization (see col. 3, lines 35-43: “An EV system may also allow the customer to designate third party delegates to access all or a portion of the contents with the ESDB on the customer's behalf. The delegates may only have specific permissions such as viewing or printing specific documents but have no ability to modify or delete such documents, depending on the specific access permissions granted to the delegate by the customer for the specific document”. And see col. 33, lines 7-14: “One of the advantages of this approach is the ability to share files with other family members and authorized users. If a user shares a document with his spouse, an Access Control List (ACL) is setup granting permission to the other user to access the encrypted document. When the spouse accesses the document, the document owner's system managed key is retrieved and is used to proxy decrypt the document and display the document to the spouse.”).
It would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to improve the computerized method recited by claim 2 of Application No. 17/807,285 by including the steps of encrypting the vital document and storing the encrypted vital document in an encrypted cloud document repository associated with the user account and accessible only upon user authorization, the encrypted cloud document repository being configured to maintain the vital document in encrypted form and to prevent access to the vital document absent user authorization taught by Walker. It would have been obvious because doing so predictably achieves the commonly understood benefits of ensuring the confidentiality of vital documents in a cloud document repository and securing the access to vital documents through user authorization.
Similarly, the following claims are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the following corresponding claims of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/807,285 in view of Walker (US Patent No. 10,108,811).
Claims of the Instant Application
Claims of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/807,285
Claims of the Instant Application
Claims of U.S. Patent Application No. 17/807,285
1
2
9
9
3
3
10
10
4
4
11
12
5
5
13
13
6
7
14
14
8
8
15
15
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. New claims 19-21 recite “wherein access to the encrypted cloud document repository requires a second authentication factor selected from … device authentication, or one-time authorization token validation”. These are new matter because the originally filed specification does not support these amendments. Applicant asserted in Remarks that support for the amendments to the claims can be found in paragraphs [0015]-[0018], [0027]-[0030], and [0052]-[0054]. Among these, only paragraph [0016] discloses two-factor authentication. Paragraph [0016] discloses the following: “Suitable examples of 2FA include, but are not limited to, passwords, one-time codes sent to another device, biometrics (fingerprint, rental scan, voice signature), JKS key, or digital token.” Therefore, paragraph [0016] does not support device authentication or one-time authorization token validation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 6, 10, 11 and 15-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US Patent No. 10,108,811), further in view of Lane (US 2004/0216039), and further in view of Suzuki (JP 6088102 B1).
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 11, Walker teaches A computerized method for storing a vital document (see Abstract: “Disclosed herein is a system for enabling secure data storage into a third party managed electronic vault that provides users with a secure location to store important documents, information, and data including but not limited to various forms of personal identifiable information.” And see col. 12, lines 63-66: “The Identification aggregate container will capture all important documents related to the user's identification. Default item categories are: Birth Certificate; Passport; SSN; Military ID; Driver's License”), the method comprising the steps of:
logging, by a user, into an account (see col. 7, lines 44-46: “If the SmartVault portal is accessed directly, the user will need to authenticate by entering their credentials into a logon page.”);
receiving, via a user device, a vital document from a user (see col. 29, lines 29-37: “Storing documents in STORESECURE is easy. The user selects the type of document from a dropdown list, fills in the appropriate metadata and then uploads the associated document file. For example, if a user wishes to add their Texas driver's license they would start by scanning or photographing their physical issued driver's license. They would then go into STORESECURE, select the “Driver's License” category and then select “Driver's License US-TX” to specify a Texas driver's license.” And see col. 18, lines 53-62);
associating the vital document with a user account (see col. 9, lines 49-52: “The dashboard event log shows the last 25 actions/events that occurred in the member SmartVault account. Events include additions, modification or deletions of items, uploaded files, tasks, notes, etc.” And see col. 31, lines 1-4: “All documents that are uploaded into SECURESTORE are encrypted with military grade encryption and are stored in a simple content management system called Simple File Archive (SFA)”. And see col. 31, lines 30-36: “The SFA Content Manager is a simple document storage and retrieval system that: … Stores encrypted documents as standard files on a standard file system; Each user has their own repository partition that is separate from other users (useful for disabling, deleting, backing up or restoring of a user's account files)”);
encrypting the vital document (see col. 31, lines 1-4: “All documents that are uploaded into SECURESTORE are encrypted with military grade encryption and are stored in a simple content management system called Simple File Archive (SFA)”);
storing the encrypted vital document in an encrypted cloud document repository (see col. 22, lines 17-20: “All documents that are uploaded into SECURESTORE are encrypted with military grade encryption and are stored in a simple content management system called Simple File Archive (SFA) on a cloud storage device”) associated with the user account and accessible only upon user authorization, the encrypted cloud document repository being configured to maintain the vital document in encrypted form and to prevent access to the vital document absent user authorization (see col. 3, lines 35-43: “An EV system may also allow the customer to designate third party delegates to access all or a portion of the contents with the ESDB on the customer's behalf. The delegates may only have specific permissions such as viewing or printing specific documents but have no ability to modify or delete such documents, depending on the specific access permissions granted to the delegate by the customer for the specific document”. And see col. 33, lines 7-14: “One of the advantages of this approach is the ability to share files with other family members and authorized users. If a user shares a document with his spouse, an Access Control List (ACL) is setup granting permission to the other user to access the encrypted document. When the spouse accesses the document, the document owner's system managed key is retrieved and is used to proxy decrypt the document and display the document to the spouse.”);
displaying, on a display of a computer, the vital document (see col. 17, lines 13-19: “When a review/renew task is created from STORESECURE, all of the associated item's attachments will be copied into the new task. The user can add one or more attachments to the task by using the bulk upload dialog launched by clicking the “Add Attachment” button. Clicking on an image's filename in the attachment table displays a large sized image in a light box widget.”);
sharing the vital document (see col. 23, lines 43-51: “This approach provides an excellent balance of security and convenience, and provides a number of features such as the ability to share documents with other family members”)
applying for at least one additional vital document chosen from a birth certificate, passport, and driver's license (see col. 11, lines 59-67: “If the Item Type defines an Expire Date property, such as passport expiry date, the Review Date common to all items will not be displayed. The Expire Date is rendered as a date picker followed by a “Create Renewal Task” button. Clicking the Renewal Task button will create and associate a new task with the item. This task will automatically be scheduled using the item's expire date, and populated with information about the item to make renewing the item a snap.” And see col. 7, lines 5-7: “we at SmartVault using our own special processes within our integrated product suite will provide effortless renew, review, and reminders of our expiring documentation”).
Walker fails to explicitly teach that the vital document is displayed in a view-only mode.
In the same field of endeavor, Lane discloses displaying, on a display of a computer, the vital document in a view-only mode (see [0151] and Fig. 5: “For example, the employment/right-to-work document system 68 may store an I-9 record with an appended digital image file of a birth certificate in the data base 22, and the collaboraitive work environment 66 may allow the identity verification system 70 to access the stored birth certificate digital image file in order to request the identity verification system 70 to either (1) confirm the authenticity of, or (2) deny verification of the authenticity of the birth certificate. In this birth certificate example, the identity verification system is permitted only to view, but not to alter or append to, the stored digital image of the birth certificate, whereas the document system 68 may store and edit the I-9 record and the digital image file.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to improve the method of Walker by letting the display mode of the vital document taught by Walker be a view-only mode as taught by Lane. It would have been obvious because doing so predictably achieves the commonly understood benefit of ensuring that the vital document stored in the document repository is not tampered with.
Walker modified in view of Lane fails to teach that the sharing of the vital document is via email to a third-party recipient or via download to a local device using a one-time, password-encrypted, time-limited link.
In the same field of endeavor, Suzuki teaches sharing the (see Abstract: “An E-mail which selects a mail address of an application candidate corresponding to discernment information, and includes information relevant to the whereabouts of a document corresponding to discernment information in selected addressing to a mail address is transmitted.”) or via download to a local device using a one-time, password-encrypted, time-limited link (see Machine Translation [0084]: “the location information creation means 55 A creates location information including access information which is information on a URL (Uniform Resource Locator) related to the location of the document and a password associated with the access information. The access information is information on a URL for accessing the authentication screen, and the password associated with the access information is a password requested to be input on the authentication screen.” And see Machine Translation [0085]: “The access information may be, for example, a one-time URL that is information of a URL whose expiration date is set to 30 days and the number of accesses is limited to one. The password associated with the access information may be a one-time password that is valid only once. However, the expiration date of the onetime URL as the access information may be set shorter than 30 days or longer than 30 days.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to improve the method of Walker modified in view of Lane by letting the sharing of the vital document taught by Walker be via email to a third-party recipient or via download to a local device using a one-time, password-encrypted, time-limited link as taught by Suzuki. It would have been obvious because Suzuki teaches that doing so achieves the following benefit: “It is possible to reduce artificial processing, so that documents transmitted from public institutions in response to electronic applications can be transferred to each application subject under a highly secure environment Can be efficiently provided” (see Suzuki Machine Translation [0010]). Because Walker discloses a computerized method for storing a vital document, Walker modified in view of Lane and Suzuki as described above would teach sharing the vital document via email to a third-party recipient or via download to a local device using a one-time, password-encrypted, time-limited link, as recited in claims 1, 6 and 11.
Regarding claims 5, 10 and 15, Walker further teaches wherein the vital document is available on a Personal Account Dashboard (see col. 9, lines 66 and 67: “The STORESECURE screen is split vertically into three window panes.” And see col. 10, line 20-col. 11, line 8: “The middle pane is the Container Contents pane which displays the items found within the selected container. There are two basic types of containers: aggregate and collection. …Aggregate containers contain many different item types that share a common theme. The items are grouped by category to make managing all these items easier. …Each of the actual category boxes contains an “image stack” and the category name. … If the category contains multiple items, the stack will appear as a stack of images and it will display the thumbnail for one of these items. If the category contains only one item, it will appear as a single image stack…. All other boxes represent items in the category. These boxes contain a thumbnail image for the item, followed by the item's description. If the item does not have an attachment, the system will use a generic document icon. Otherwise, the thumbnail will be that of the attachment that is flagged as being the item's primary attachment. Double clicking on an item will open the primary attachment. If the attachment is an image, it will open in a modal dialog.” The Examiner interprets the STORESECURE screen as a Personal Account Dashboard. Also see col. 9, lines 13-16: “The dashboard home page is the first page that a member sees once they have logged in. The page provides useful information, targeted promotions and advertising, usage statistics and event log”. And see col. 9, lines 30-40: “One of the most useful sections of the portal is the user statics section where the member can see all of their usage statistics “at a glance”. The usage information includes: … Files uploaded this year; Files uploaded this month; Files uploaded this week; Files uploaded today; Total files uploaded”. Also see col. 9, lines 49-52: “The dashboard event log shows the last 25 actions/events that occurred in the member SmartVault account. Events include … uploaded files”).
Regarding claims 16-18, Walker further teaches wherein the vital document is saved in an encrypted cloud drive (see col. 22, lines 17-20: “All documents that are uploaded into SECURESTORE are encrypted with military grade encryption and are stored in a simple content management system called Simple File Archive (SFA) on a cloud storage device”).
Regarding claims 19-21, Walker further teaches wherein access to the encrypted cloud document repository requires a second authentication factor selected from biometric authentication, device authentication, or one-time authorization token validation (see col. 7, lines 57-61: “Users who manage all of their sensitive life documents will log in using two-factor authentication, which consists of the base username/password authentication (something the user knows) with a physical authentication device (something the user has) that generates a One Time Password (OTP).”).
Claims 3, 4, 8, 9, 13 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Walker (US Patent No. 10,108,811), further in view of Lane (US 2004/0216039), further in view of Suzuki (JP 6088102 B1), and further in view of Badger (GB 2552849 A).
Regarding claims 3, 8 and 13, Walker modified in view of Lane and Suzuki fails to teach determining whether the account exists and wherein if the account exists, the processor processes the login further.
However, Badger discloses determining whether the account exists and wherein if the account exists, the processor processes the login further (see page 2, lines 19-26: “the processing module determines if a record of the person already exists, then proceeds to provide the person with one or more options to obtain a ticket when it is determined that a record of the person exists. When it is determined that a record of the person does not exist, the processing module proceeds to request the person to create a record and register a personal identification document. The determination of whether a record of the person exists may simply involve directing the person to a login page of an online account, and allowing the person to select between logging into an existing account or creating a new account.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to improve the computerized method of Walker modified in view of Lane and Suzuki by adding the step of determining whether the account exists and wherein if the account exists, the processor processes the login further taught by Badger. It would have been obvious because doing so predictably achieves the commonly understood benefit of making a user login more efficient by only attempting to log a user into an existing account.
Regarding claims 4, 9 and 14, Walker modified in view of Lane and Suzuki fails to teach wherein, if the account does not exist, the processor proposes to the user to create a new account.
However, Badger discloses wherein, if the account does not exist, the processor proposes to the user to create a new account (see page 2, lines 19-26: “the processing module determines if a record of the person already exists, then proceeds to provide the person with one or more options to obtain a ticket when it is determined that a record of the person exists. When it is determined that a record of the person does not exist, the processing module proceeds to request the person to create a record and register a personal identification document. The determination of whether a record of the person exists may simply involve directing the person to a login page of an online account, and allowing the person to select between logging into an existing account or creating a new account.”).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to improve the computerized method of Walker modified in view of Lane and Suzuki by letting the processor propose to the user to create a new account if the account does not exist, as taught by Badger. It would have been obvious because doing so predictably achieves the commonly understood benefit of automating the creation of user accounts.
Conclusion
/ZHIMEI ZHU/Examiner, Art Unit 2495