DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-30 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 16, 20-21, 26 and 29-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wikström; Gustav et al. US PGPUB 20200007270 A1, in view of Bhamri; Ankit et al. US PGPUB 20230396400 A1,
Regarding claim 1. Wikström teaches A user equipment (UE) for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, individually or collectively (Fig. 7, Memory and Processor) configured to cause the UE to:
determine that a discarding rate exceeds one or more discarding rate threshold. ([0130] Adapting a number of repetitions of downlink signals based on CQI. For example, if the reported CQI value corresponds to BLER target above the BLER threshold (e.g. 10.sup.−5), then the radio network node 130 may schedule downlink signals to the UE with certain number of repetitions to enhance the downlink signal quality at the UE.)
transmit, to a network node, a discarding rate report indicating the discarding rate. (Fig. 3, S210, [0124] The UE 110 then reports the determined CQI value to the radio network node 130 (action S210). In some embodiments, the UE may explicitly transmit an indication of the error rate level and/or an indication of the MCS corresponding to the determined CQI value.)
Wikstrom does not teach
determine that a discarding rate associated with redundant physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) retransmission exceeds one or more discarding rate threshold.
However, Bhamri teaches
determine that a discarding rate associated with redundant physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) retransmission ([0057] In a further implementation of the first embodiment, more than one SCSi value (e.g., as a range or multiple of specific values) may be indicated in the CSI report for different BLER … In one example, two values are indicated, where the first value is expected to be applied for a first transmission on a PDSCH and the second indicated value is expected to be applied for retransmissions and/or repetitions of the initial transmission on the PDSCH. )
in order to improve system performance by increasing subcarrier spacing based on BLER measurement.
Wikström and Bhamri are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the technique of error rate determination for retransmission PDSCH in Bhamri in order to improve system performance.
Regarding claim 2. Wikström and Bhamri teach The UE of claim 1, Wikström teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to receive, from the network node, a discarding rate configuration, wherein the one or more discarding rate thresholds are based at least in part on the discarding rate configuration. ([0131] FIG. 4 … the UE may receive CQI reporting configuration(s) and/or CQI reporting instruction(s) from the radio network node 130 (actions S302 and S304). In some embodiments, the CQI reporting configuration(s) may comprise the predetermined error rate level or levels to be used by the UE 110 when reporting CQI.)
Regarding claim 3. Wikström and Bhamri teach The UE of claim 2, Wikström teaches wherein the one or more discarding rate thresholds includes a first discarding rate threshold and a second discarding rate threshold, ([0039] In some embodiments, the method may comprise, or further comprise, receiving CQI reporting instructions from the radio network node prior to determining a CQI value corresponding to an error rate level among a plurality of error rate levels and to an MCS among a plurality of MCSs. In such embodiments, the CQI reporting instructions may be received from the radio network node via RRC signaling.) and wherein the discarding rate configuration includes one or more configurations for setting the first discarding rate threshold and the second discarding rate threshold. ([0037] In some embodiments, the plurality of error rate levels may be pre-defined at the UE and/or may be configured at the UE by the radio network node.)
Regarding claim 16. Wikström and Bhamri teach The UE of claim 1, Wikström teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the discarding rate report, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to transmit the discarding rate report in a resource for channel state information. ( [0031] A single Physical Downlink Share Channel (PDSCH) transport block with a combination of modulation scheme and transport block size corresponding to the CQI index, and occupying a group of downlink physical resource blocks termed the Channel State Information (CSI) reference resource, could be received with a transport block error probability not exceeding 0.1.)
Regarding claim 20. Wikström A network node for wireless communication, comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, coupled to the one or more memories, (Fig. 7, Processors and Memory) individually or collectively configured to cause the network node to:
transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a discarding rate configuration including one or more configurations ([0131] FIG. 4 … the UE may receive CQI reporting configuration(s) and/or CQI reporting instruction(s) from the radio network node 130 (actions S302 and S304). In some embodiments, the CQI reporting configuration(s) may comprise the predetermined error rate level or levels to be used by the UE 110 when reporting CQI.)
for configuring the UE to determine that a discarding rate exceeds one or more discarding rate thresholds; ([0102] In the multi-level error rate CQI reporting mechanism, the UE is configured to report a CQI value corresponding to one out of at least two different error rate levels (e.g. CQI.sub.1 and CQI.sub.2 correspond to BLER.sub.1 and BLER.sub.2 respectively). Hence, in the multi-level error rate CQI reporting mechanism, for the same channel quality, the UE can report a CQI value that would meet a first error rate level or a different CQI value that would meet a second and different error rate level.) and
receive a discarding rate report indicating the discarding rate. (Fig. 3, S210, [0124] The UE 110 then reports the determined CQI value to the radio network node 130 (action S210). In some embodiments, the UE may explicitly transmit an indication of the error rate level and/or an indication of the MCS corresponding to the determined CQI value.)
Wikström do not teach
determine that discarding rate associated with redundant physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) retransmission
However, Bhamri teaches
determine that a discarding rate associated with redundant physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) retransmission ([0057] In a further implementation of the first embodiment, more than one SCSi value (e.g., as a range or multiple of specific values) may be indicated in the CSI report for different BLER … In one example, two values are indicated, where the first value is expected to be applied for a first transmission on a PDSCH and the second indicated value is expected to be applied for retransmissions and/or repetitions of the initial transmission on the PDSCH. )
in order to improve system performance by increasing subcarrier spacing based on BLER measurement.
Wikström and Bhamri are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the technique of error rate determination for retransmission PDSCH in Bhamri in order to improve system performance.
Regarding claim 21. Wikström and Bhamri teach The network node of claim 20, Wikström teaches wherein the one or more discarding rate thresholds includes a first discarding rate threshold and a second discarding rate threshold, ([0039] In some embodiments, the method may comprise, or further comprise, receiving CQI reporting instructions from the radio network node prior to determining a CQI value corresponding to an error rate level among a plurality of error rate levels and to an MCS among a plurality of MCSs. In such embodiments, the CQI reporting instructions may be received from the radio network node via RRC signaling.) and wherein the discarding rate configuration includes one or more configurations for setting the first discarding rate threshold and the second discarding rate threshold. ([0037] In some embodiments, the plurality of error rate levels may be pre-defined at the UE and/or may be configured at the UE by the radio network node.)
Regarding claim 26. Wikström and Bhamri teach The network node of claim 20, Wikström teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to receive the discarding rate report, are individually and collectively configured to cause the network node to receive the discarding rate report in a resource for channel state information. ( [0031] A single Physical Downlink Share Channel (PDSCH) transport block with a combination of modulation scheme and transport block size corresponding to the CQI index, and occupying a group of downlink physical resource blocks termed the Channel State Information (CSI) reference resource, could be received with a transport block error probability not exceeding 0.1.)
Regarding claim 29 and 30. Wikström and Bhamri teach A method of wireless communication performed by a user equipment (UE) and a network node, comprising steps recited in claim 1 and 20. They are rejected for the same reasons.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4, 15 and 25 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wikström and Bhamri as applied to claim 1 and 20 above, and further in view of Cheng; Fang-Chen et al. US PGPUB 20090196238 A1.
Regarding claim 4. Wikström and Bhamri teach The UE of claim 3, Wikström teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the discarding rate report, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to transmit the discarding rate report to indicate that the discarding rate exceeds one or more of the first discarding rate threshold or the second discarding rate threshold. ([0124] The UE 110 then reports the determined CQI value to the radio network node 130 (action S210). In some embodiments, the UE may explicitly transmit an indication of the error rate level and/or an indication of the MCS corresponding to the determined CQI value. In some other embodiments, the error rate level and/or the MCS corresponding to the determined CQI value may be implicit, e.g., the error rate level and/or the MCS may be indicated by the actual reported CQI value.)
Wikström does not teach in accordance with one or more of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) sequence or a PUCCH orthogonal cover code
However, Cheng teaches
in accordance with one or more of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) sequence or a PUCCH orthogonal cover code ([0033] In one example, each user or mobile station is assigned a pair of two consecutive CAZAC sequence indexes on PUCCH frame format for CQI transmission. )
in order to improve HARQ performance by multiplexing with CQI reporting.
Wikström and Cheng are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the CQI multiplexing in Cheng in order to improve HARQ performance.
Regarding claim 15. Wikström and Bhamri teach The UE of claim 1, but they do not teach wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to determine that the discarding rate associated with the redundant PDSCH retransmission exceeds a discarding rate threshold, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to determine the discarding rate associated with one or more of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) format, a PUCCH payload size, a PUCCH coding rate, or a PUCCH type.
However, Cheng teaches
determine the discarding rate associated with one or more of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) format, a PUCCH payload size, a PUCCH coding rate, or a PUCCH type. (0026] As shown in Table 1, the PUSCH BLER performance has essentially no difference between the next-to-RS and uniform PUCCH distribution shown in FIG. 2 for all hopping cases in all channel conditions considered in Table 1. It is clear, however, that the uniform PUCCH distribution outperforms the next-to-RS PUCCH mapping in ACK/NAK bit error rate (BER) performance for all hopping patterns in all channel conditions.)
in order to improve HARQ performance by multiplexing with CQI reporting.
Wikström and Cheng are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the CQI multiplexing in Cheng in order to improve HARQ performance.
Regarding claim 25. Wikström and Bhamri teach The network node of claim 20, but they do not teach wherein the discarding rate configuration includes one or more configurations for the UE to determine that the discarding rate is associated with one or more of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) format, a PUCCH payload size, a PUCCH coding rate, or a PUCCH type, and
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to receive the discarding rate report, are individually and collectively configured to cause the network node to receive the discarding rate associated with the one or more of the PUCCH format, the PUCCH payload size, the PUCCH coding rate, or the PUCCH type.
However, Cheng teaches
the discarding rate configuration includes one or more configurations for the UE to determine that the discarding rate is associated with one or more of a physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) format, a PUCCH payload size, a PUCCH coding rate, or a PUCCH type, (0026] As shown in Table 1, the PUSCH BLER performance has essentially no difference between the next-to-RS and uniform PUCCH distribution shown in FIG. 2 for all hopping cases in all channel conditions considered in Table 1. It is clear, however, that the uniform PUCCH distribution outperforms the next-to-RS PUCCH mapping in ACK/NAK bit error rate (BER) performance for all hopping patterns in all channel conditions.)
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to receive the discarding rate report, are individually and collectively configured to cause the network node to receive the discarding rate associated with the one or more of the PUCCH format, the PUCCH payload size, the PUCCH coding rate, or the PUCCH type. (Id.)
in order to improve HARQ performance by multiplexing with CQI reporting.
Wikström and Cheng are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the CQI multiplexing in Cheng in order to improve HARQ performance.
Claims 5, 7, 8, 10, 12, 13, and 22-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wikström and Bhamri as applied to claim 1 and 20 above, and further in view of Yang; Suck Chel et al. US PGPUB 20120106495 A1.
Regarding claim 5. Wikström and Bhamri teach The UE of claim 2, but they do not teach wherein the discarding rate configuration includes one or more configurations for determining the discarding rate in accordance with a time period.
However, Yang teaches
the discarding rate configuration includes one or more configurations for determining the discarding rate in accordance with a time period. ([0130] Referring to FIG. 13, the user equipment receives. CQI configuration information related to a system basic band or a legacy band (hereinafter referred to as an LTE band) from the base station (S1301). … the CQI configuration information may include at least any one of CQI report cycle period/offset,.)
in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with CQI configuration in Yang in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Regarding claim 7. Wikström and Bhamri and Yang teaches The UE of claim 5, and Yang teaches wherein the discarding rate configuration includes a configuration for the time period. ([0130] Referring to FIG. 13, the user equipment receives. CQI configuration information related to a system basic band or a legacy band (hereinafter referred to as an LTE band) from the base station (S1301). … the CQI configuration information may include at least any one of CQI report cycle period/offset,.)
in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with CQI configuration in Yang in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Regarding claim 8. Wikström and Bhamri and Yang teach The UE of claim 5, and Yang teaches wherein the time period is a predetermined value. ([0130] Referring to FIG. 13, the user equipment receives. CQI configuration information related to a system basic band or a legacy band (hereinafter referred to as an LTE band) from the base station (S1301). … the CQI configuration information may include at least any one of CQI report cycle period/offset,.)
in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with CQI configuration in Yang in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Regarding claim 10. Wikström and Bhamri teach The UE of claim 2, but they not teach wherein the discarding rate configuration includes one or more configurations for one or more periodic physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources.
However, Yang teaches
wherein the discarding rate configuration includes one or more configurations for one or more periodic physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources. ([0080] In case of the periodic reporting, a cycle period and an offset during the corresponding cycle period are signaled in subframe units through a higher layer signal for each user equipment by using a semi-static method. Each user equipment delivers channel information, which is based upon its own transmission mode, to the base station through an uplink control channel (PUCCH) in accordance with a decided cycle period.)
in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with CQI configuration in Yang in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Regarding claim 12. Wikström and Bhamri and Yang teaches The UE of claim 10, and Yang teaches wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the discarding rate report indicating the discarding rate, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to transmit the discarding rate report to the network node in the one or more periodic PUCCH resources. ([0080] In case of the periodic reporting, a cycle period and an offset during the corresponding cycle period are signaled in subframe units through a higher layer signal for each user equipment by using a semi-static method. Each user equipment delivers channel information, which is based upon its own transmission mode, to the base station through an uplink control channel (PUCCH) in accordance with a decided cycle period.)
in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with CQI configuration in Yang in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Regarding claim 13. Wikström and Bhamri teach The UE of claim 1, and Wikström teaches
wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: transmit a discarding rate indication to the network node; and receive an uplink grant in response to transmitting the discarding rate indication, wherein the discarding rate indication indicates that the discarding rate exceeds the one or more discarding rate thresholds, ([0040] In some embodiments, the method may comprise, or further comprise, determining that a target quality value is below a threshold prior to determining a CQI value corresponding to an error rate level among a plurality of error rate levels and to an MCS among a plurality of MCSs. The target quality value may be a block error rate, BLER, target. In such embodiments, the method may comprise, or further comprise, receiving CQI reporting instructions from the radio network node prior to determining that a target quality value is below a threshold.) and
Wikström does not teach
transmit the discarding rate report in accordance with the uplink grant.
However, Yang teaches
transmit the discarding rate report in accordance with the uplink grant.
([0115] By configuring a CQI request bit from an uplink resource grant delivered from the base station through the PDCCH, the base station schedules the aperiodic CQI reporting method. Each user equipment uses the RRC signaling, which is transmitted from the base station, so as to configure the CQI reporting type.)
in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with CQI configuration in Yang in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Regarding claim 22. Wikström and Bhamri teach The network node of claim 20, but they do not teach wherein the discarding rate configuration includes one or more configurations for configuring the UE to determine the discarding rate in accordance with a time period.
However, Yang teaches
the discarding rate configuration includes one or more configurations for determining the discarding rate in accordance with a time period. ([0130] Referring to FIG. 13, the user equipment receives. CQI configuration information related to a system basic band or a legacy band (hereinafter referred to as an LTE band) from the base station (S1301). … the CQI configuration information may include at least any one of CQI report cycle period/offset,.)
in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with CQI configuration in Yang in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Regarding claim 23. Wikström and Bhamri teach The network node of claim 20, but they does not teach wherein the discarding rate configuration configures the UE with one or more periodic physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources.
However, Yang teaches
wherein the discarding rate configuration includes one or more configurations for one or more periodic physical uplink control channel (PUCCH) resources. ([0080] In case of the periodic reporting, a cycle period and an offset during the corresponding cycle period are signaled in subframe units through a higher layer signal for each user equipment by using a semi-static method. Each user equipment delivers channel information, which is based upon its own transmission mode, to the base station through an uplink control channel (PUCCH) in accordance with a decided cycle period.)
in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with CQI configuration in Yang in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Regarding claim 24. Wikström and Bhamri teach The network node of claim 20, Wikström teaches wherein the one or more processors are individually and collectively further configured to cause the network node to: receive a discarding rate indication; and transmit an uplink grant in response to receiving the discarding rate indication, wherein the discarding rate indication indicates that the discarding rate exceeds the one or more discarding rate thresholds, ([0040] In some embodiments, the method may comprise, or further comprise, determining that a target quality value is below a threshold prior to determining a CQI value corresponding to an error rate level among a plurality of error rate levels and to an MCS among a plurality of MCSs. The target quality value may be a block error rate, BLER, target. In such embodiments, the method may comprise, or further comprise, receiving CQI reporting instructions from the radio network node prior to determining that a target quality value is below a threshold.)
But it does not teach receive the discarding rate report in accordance with the uplink grant.
However, Yang teaches
receive the discarding rate report in accordance with the uplink grant. ([0115] By configuring a CQI request bit from an uplink resource grant delivered from the base station through the PDCCH, the base station schedules the aperiodic CQI reporting method. Each user equipment uses the RRC signaling, which is transmitted from the base station, so as to configure the CQI reporting type.)
in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with CQI configuration in Yang in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wikström and Bhamri as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Wang, Carl et al. US PGPUB 20040116142 A1.
Regarding claim 6. Wikström and Bhamri and Yang teaches The UE of claim 5, Wikström and Bhamri do not teach wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to determine that the discarding rate associated with the redundant PDSCH retransmission exceeds the one or more discarding rate thresholds, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to
determine that a quantity of the redundant PDSCH retransmissions were discarded within the time period; and compare the quantity of the redundant PDSCH retransmissions that were discarded within the time period to the one or more discarding rate thresholds.
However, Wang teaches determine that a quantity of the redundant PDSCH retransmission were discarded within the time period; and compare the quantity of the redundant PDSCH retransmission that were discarded within the time period to the one or more discarding rate thresholds. ([0041] Next at step 103, error checking of the received TBs is performed, preferably using CRC error codes. In step 104, TB count value i is incremented by the number of received TBs during the current TTI in step 102, and error count value S(i) is incremented by the number of erroneous TBs received during the current TTI. An estimate of the BLER is calculated in step 105, which is the ratio of the i and S(i) values of step 104:)
In order to reduce redundant BLER reporting ([0040])
Wikström and Wang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the technique of error rate determination in Wang in order to reduce redundant BLER reporting.
Regarding claim 9. Wikström and Bhamri and Yang teach The UE of claim 5, and Yang teaches wherein the time period is associated with a time unit of one or more of a symbol, slot, or frame. ([0082] FIG. 7 illustrates an example of transmitting-channel information, when the user equipment is signaled with information indicating {Cycle Period `5`, Offset `1`}. Referring to FIG. 7, when information indicating that the cycle period is `5` and that the offset is `1` is received, the user equipment transmits channel information in units of 5 subframes with an offset of one subframe along an increasing direction of the subframe index starting from the 0.sup.th subframe. The channel information is basically transmitted through PUCCH. However, if a PUSCH for transmitting data exists at the same time period,)
In order to reduce redundant BLER reporting ([0040])
Wikström and Wang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the technique of error rate determination in Wang in order to reduce redundant BLER reporting.
Claims 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wikström and Bhamri and Yang as applied to claim 10 above, and further in view of Akkarakaran; Sony et al. US 20180302895 A1
Regarding claim 11. Wikström and Bhamri and Yang teaches The UE of claim 10, but they don’t teach wherein the one or more periodic PUCCH resources includes one or more resources for transmitting a scheduling request.
However, Akkarakaran teaches wherein the one or more periodic PUCCH resources includes one or more resources for transmitting a scheduling request. ([0088] Semi-statically granted PUCCH resources may carry, for example, periodic UCI, such as periodic scheduling requests, CQI, and HARQ feedback transmissions for periodic or semi-persistent downlink transmissions.)
In order to improve the communication reliability by reducing correction errors ([0060])
Wikström and Akkarakaran are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the technique of periodic PUCCH resources allocation in Akkarakaran in order to improve communication reliability
Claims 14, 17 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wikström and Bhamri and Yang as applied to claim 10 and 20 above, and further in view of LIN; Tse-Wei et al. US PGPUB 20240357578 A1.
Regarding claim 14. Wikström and Bhamri teach The UE of claim 1, but they not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to transmit a request for a new uplink grant in a scheduling resource as a result of determining that the discarding rate exceeds a discarding rate threshold, and transmit the discarding rate report indicating the discarding rate, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the discarding rate report via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) communication.
However, Yang teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the discarding rate report indicating the discarding rate, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to transmit the discarding rate report via a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) communication. ([0112] Generally, in an LTE system, channel information includes CQI, PMI (Precoding Matrix Indicator), RI (Rank Indicator), and so on. In case of a 3GPP LTE system, depending upon the transmission mode, each user equipment may transmit the control channel, such as CQI, PMI, RI, and so on, through a PUSCH or a PUCCH.)
in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with CQI configuration in Yang in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang does not teach
the UE to transmit a request for a new uplink grant in a scheduling resource as a result of determining that the discarding rate exceeds a discarding rate threshold,
However, Lin teaches
the UE to transmit a request for a new uplink grant in a scheduling resource as a result of determining that the discarding rate exceeds a discarding rate threshold, ([0052] Please refer to FIG. 15, which shows a flowchart of the controlling method for the user equipment UE to select some of the SR occasions SRO according to one embodiment of the present disclosure. The controlling method in the FIG. 15 includes step S210 to S230. In the S210, the modem chip MD determines whether a block error rate (BLER) is larger than a pre-defined threshold. If the BLER is larger than the pre-defined threshold, the process proceeds to the step S220; if the BLER is not larger than the pre-defined threshold, the process proceeds to the step S230.)
in order to optimize power consumption by regulating how often SR is transmitted ([0003])
Wikström and Lin are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the technique of SR transmission regulation in Lin in order to optimize power consumption.
Regarding claim 17. Wikström and Bhamri teach The UE of claim 1, but they do not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further configured to cause the UE to: transmit a scheduling request; and receive an uplink grant in response to the scheduling request, and transmit the discarding rate report, are configured to cause the UE to transmit the discarding rate report in accordance with the uplink grant.
However, Lin teaches
transmit a scheduling request; and receive an uplink grant in response to the scheduling request, ([0031] Please refer to FIG. 3, which illustrates the data transmission for the data packet P_d according to one embodiment of the present disclosure. During a scheduling request period SRP, the user equipment UE would transmits a scheduling request signal S_sr to the network NW, and then the network may return an uplink grant signal S_upg.)
in order to optimize power consumption by regulating how often SR is transmitted ([0003])
Wikström and Lin are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the technique of SR transmission regulation in Lin in order to optimize power consumption.
Wikström and Lin do not teach
receive an uplink grant in response to the scheduling request, and
transmit the discarding rate report in accordance with the uplink grant.
However, Yang teaches
receive an uplink grant in response to the scheduling request, and transmit the discarding rate report in accordance with the uplink grant. ([0115] By configuring a CQI request bit from an uplink resource grant delivered from the base station through the PDCCH, the base station schedules the aperiodic CQI reporting method.)
in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with CQI configuration in Yang in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Regarding claim 27. Wikström and Bhamri teach The network node of claim 20, but they do not teach wherein the one or more processors are individually and collectively further configured to cause the network node to: receive a scheduling request; and transmit an uplink grant in response to receiving the scheduling request, receive the discarding rate report in accordance with the uplink grant.
However, Lin teaches
wherein the one or more processors are individually and collectively further configured to cause the network node to: receive a scheduling request; ([0031] Please refer to FIG. 3, which illustrates the data transmission for the data packet P_d according to one embodiment of the present disclosure. During a scheduling request period SRP, the user equipment UE would transmits a scheduling request signal S_sr to the network NW, and then the network may return an uplink grant signal S_upg.)
in order to optimize power consumption by regulating how often SR is transmitted ([0003])
Wikström and Lin are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the technique of SR transmission regulation in Lin in order to optimize power consumption.
Wikström and Lin do not teach
transmit an uplink grant in response to receiving the scheduling request, receive the discarding rate report in accordance with the uplink grant.
However Yang teaches transmit an uplink grant in response to receiving the scheduling request, receive the discarding rate report in accordance with the uplink grant. . ([0115] By configuring a CQI request bit from an uplink resource grant delivered from the base station through the PDCCH, the base station schedules the aperiodic CQI reporting method.)
in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Wikström and Yang are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with CQI configuration in Yang in order to reduce the interference resulting from the inter-signal contention with specially configured CQI parameters in Yang.
Claims 18, 19 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wikström and Bhamri as applied to claim 1 and 20 above, and further in view of LEI; Jing et al. US PGPUB 20230156807 A1.
Regarding claim 18. Wikström and Bhamri teach The UE of claim 1, but they do not teach wherein the one or more processors, to cause the UE to transmit the discarding rate report, are individually or collectively configured to cause the UE to transmit the discarding rate report via a random access channel (RACH) communication.
However, LEI teaches transmit the discarding rate report via a random access channel (RACH) communication. ([0112] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating signaling 1100 between a scheduled entity 1104 and scheduling entity 1102 during a RACH procedure when CSI/CQI reporting is multiplexed in an RA (msgA) payload according to some aspects.)
In order to improves the efficiency of both the UE and the network, since the number of mobility messages that need to be exchanged between the UE and the network may be reduced. ([0057])
Wikström and LEI are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the technique of MsgA CQI report in LEI in order to improves the efficiency of both the UE and the network, since the number of mobility messages that need to be exchanged between the UE and the network may be reduced.
Regarding claim 19. Wikström and Bhamri teach The UE of claim 18, but they do not teach wherein the RACH communication is a two-step RACH message A.
However, LEI teaches wherein the RACH communication is a two-step RACH message A. ([0112] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating signaling 1100 between a scheduled entity 1104 and scheduling entity 1102 during a RACH procedure when CSI/CQI reporting is multiplexed in an RA (msgA) payload according to some aspects.)
In order to improves the efficiency of both the UE and the network, since the number of mobility messages that need to be exchanged between the UE and the network may be reduced. ([0057])
Wikström and LEI are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the technique of MsgA CQI report in LEI in order to improves the efficiency of both the UE and the network, since the number of mobility messages that need to be exchanged between the UE and the network may be reduced.
Regarding claim 28. Wikström and Bhamri teach The network node of claim 20, but they do not teach wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to receive the discarding rate report, are individually and collectively configured to cause the network node to receive the discarding rate report via a random access channel (RACH) communication.
However, LEI teaches
wherein the one or more processors, to cause the network node to receive the discarding rate report, are individually and collectively configured to cause the network node to receive the discarding rate report via a random access channel (RACH) communication. ([0112] FIG. 11 is a diagram illustrating signaling 1100 between a scheduled entity 1104 and scheduling entity 1102 during a RACH procedure when CSI/CQI reporting is multiplexed in an RA (msgA) payload according to some aspects.)
In order to improves the efficiency of both the UE and the network, since the number of mobility messages that need to be exchanged between the UE and the network may be reduced. ([0057])
Wikström and LEI are analogous art in the same field of endeavor of wireless communication. It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person with ordinary skill in the art to modify the method in Wikström with the technique of MsgA CQI report in LEI in order to improves the efficiency of both the UE and the network, since the number of mobility messages that need to be exchanged between the UE and the network may be reduced.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ZHAOHUI YANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468