DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/23/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3,6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over
Briscoe et al. (US 2022/0239206).
Regarding claim 1, Briscoe et al. disclose:
An apparatus for securing a rotor core (abstract, Fig 2), the apparatus comprising:
an upper plate (52, Fig 2); and
a lower plate (54) spaced apart from the upper plate and configured to support the rotor core (30) between the upper plate and the lower plate,
the lower plate (54) having an upper side facing in a first direction toward the upper plate (52) and a lower side facing in a second direction away from the upper plate,
the upper side comprising a pocket (by 84,85 Fig 5, paras 34-36) recessed in the second direction relative to an upper surface of the upper side,
wherein the upper side comprises a plurality of tabs (31, para 34) configured to engage the rotor core (30) and extending from an inner periphery of the lower plate into the pocket (para 34).
Briscoe et al. discloses the invention as discussed above, but in different embodiments.
However, a skilled artisan would readily recognize the benefits of combining Briscoe et al.’s teachings to make applicant’s above claimed invention, as it would permit one to achieve assembly efficiency for high volume production (para 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing of the invention to combine Briscoe et al.’s teachings to make applicant’s above claimed invention.
The motivation to do so is it would allow one to achieve assembly efficiency for high volume production (para 5 of Briscoe et al.).
Regarding claim 2/1, Briscoe et al. disclose further comprising a central mandrel (82) extending between the upper plate (52, Fig 4) and the lower plate (54) and configured to extend through the rotor core (30, para 34).
Regarding claim 3/1, Briscoe et al. disclose wherein the lower plate includes a plurality of openings (85, para 36) extending therethrough, the openings are circumferentially spaced apart around the lower plate (54, Fig 5), and wherein the openings are located within the pocket (84,85).
Regarding claim 6/1, Briscoe et al. disclose further comprising the rotor core, the rotor core comprising a plurality of stacked laminations secured to each other (paras 12-13, Figs 1-7).
Regarding claim 7/1, Briscoe et al. discloses the claimed invention except wherein the tabs have a triangular shape. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to make the tabs have a triangular shape, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component. A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955).
The motivation to do so would be based on cost, available space surrounding adjacent components and ease of manufacture.
Regarding claim 8/1, Briscoe et al. disclose wherein the tabs (31, para 34 – not shown in Fig 5) are positioned circumferentially around the upper side of the lower plate (based on para 34 and Fig 5).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9-20 are allowed.
In claim 9 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…each tab of the plurality of tabs engaging the rotor core at a location beneath a respective cavity of the plurality of cavities to cover the respective cavity.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claims 10-17 are also allowable for depending on claim 9.
In claim 18 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein the lower plate comprises a plurality of tabs engaging a lowermost lamination of the stack of laminations and extending from an inner periphery of the lower plate into the pocket, each tab engaging the lowermost lamination at a location beneath a respective cavity of the plurality of cavities to cover the respective cavity.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Claims 19-20 are also allowable for depending on claim 18.
Claims 4, 5 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: In claim 4/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein each tab includes a proximal end extending from the inner periphery of the lower plate and a distal end located within the pocket, and wherein the tab is tapered from the proximal end toward the distal end.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
In claim 5/1 inter alia, the specific limitations of “…wherein: the lower plate includes a plurality of openings extending therethrough, the openings are circumferentially spaced apart around the lower plate, and each tab includes a proximal end extending from the inner periphery of the lower plate and a distal end located between two openings of the plurality of openings.”, in the combination as claimed are neither anticipated nor made obvious over the prior art made of record.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see PTO-892 for details.
NAISHADH N. DESAI
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2834
/NAISHADH N DESAI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834