DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to the references as used in the current rejection.
In response to amendments of claim 1, which incorporate limitations from claims 2 and 3 reference Schilling is looked to concerning the limitations of “disengagement controller comprises a bulk capacitor.”
Concerning the limitation “the driver circuit is configured to discharge an electric charge held within the bulk capacitor through the plurality of disengagement coils simultaneously” newly found reference Welle is looked to.
Concerning the limitation “each disengagement coil provides a repulsive force between the satellite and an adjacent satellite in a different translational degree of freedom” Denham is looked to. As seen in Fig. 6 the flow arrow indicates the presence of magnetic coupling on sides of the satellites. These sides providing faces through which translational degrees of freedom present.
Concerning the limitation “the three sides of the satellite are mutually perpendicular and configured to face respective sides of adjacent satellites during a launch of the satellite assembly and prior to the separation of the satellite from the adjacent satellites” Denham is looked to. As seen in Figure 6, at least a central satellite of the satellite lattice has flow arrows and thus magnetic couplings along mutually perpendicular sides.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1, 4, 6, 20, 21 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. The claims will be examined as best understood.
Claim 1 and 20 recite the limitation “such that each disengagement coil provides a repulsive force between the satellite and an adjacent satellite in a different translational degree of freedom”. Does this mean the translation degrees of freedom are oriented from different faces of the satellite? Or different directions from a single face of the satellite?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4, 6 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denham (US 20190385774) in views of Schilling (US 11104456) in view of Welle (US 20220033111).
In regards to claim 1, Denham discloses a satellite ([0044] discloses satellites) for inclusion in a satellite assembly comprising a plurality of satellites for deployment in space, to orbit a given planet with a gaseous atmosphere,
the satellite comprising a satellite disengagement mechanism configured to separate the satellite from one or more adjacent satellites of the satellite assembly (abstract “An electromagnetic mooring system (MMS) that includes a first object and a second object”, [0044] “This tri-state device may then reject (or push) an adjacent satellite, essentially launching the adjacent satellite”),
wherein the satellite disengagement mechanism comprises
wherein each of the three disengagement coils is disposed on a different side of the satellite (Denham as seen at least in Fig. 9),
wherein the three sides of the satellite are mutually perpendicular and configured to face respective sides of adjacent satellites during a launch of the satellite assembly and prior to the separation of the satellite from the adjacent satellites (Denham Fig. 6 and 9, [0039] disclose use of magnetic couplers to transfer heat, arrows indicate heat movement and presence of magnetic coupling on 3 perpendicular sides),
such that each disengagement coil provides a repulsive force between the satellite and an adjacent satellite in a different translational degree of freedom (Denham [0039] discloses “satellite lattice” and magnetic couplers between satellites, arrows indicate heat movement and presence of magnetic coupling on 3 perpendicular sides of at least the central satellite, the 3 sides each representing a face for a translation degree of freedom), and
wherein the satellite disengagement mechanism further comprises a disengagement controller (Denham [0022] “an electronic processor may be used to switch the magnetic coupler from an OFF state to an ON state or vice versa”),
Denham does not expressly disclose:
wherein the disengagement controller comprises a bulk capacitor,
Schilling teaches a capacitor/accumulator for use in a satellite using magnetic field generating coils (C12:5 "additionally inside an energy storage is arranged, for example as rechargeable accumulator"),
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Denham with Schilling by providing a capacitor/accumulator for use in a satellite using magnetic field generating coils as these devices are well known in the art for space satellites.
Denham as combined further discloses:
a driver circuit configured to discharge an electric charge held within the bulk capacitor through the plurality of disengagement coils simultaneously to induce a magnetic field in the plurality of disengagement coils (Denham [0021], [0022] "The state change is accomplished by applying a pulse of current through a coil in the direction that causes an external magnetic field that permanently switches the magnetic polarity").
Denham does not expressly disclose: the driver circuit is configured to discharge an electric charge held within the bulk capacitor through the plurality of disengagement coils simultaneously.
Welle teaches the simultaneous release of adjacent satellites ([0100] “latch 1342 operated as instructed, thereby simultaneously releasing the connection between satellites 1330 and 1340 and the connection between satellites 1340 and 1324”)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Denham with Welle by providing the means for the driver circuit to discharge an electric charge held within the bulk capacitor through the plurality of disengagement coils simultaneously in order to more quickly release the satellites.
In regards to claim 4, Denham as combined discloses the satellite of claim 3, further comprising at least one connection pin configured to provide an electrical connection between the satellite and the one or more adjacent satellites (Denham Fig. 8 ref. 806, [0047] discloses electrical connection via pin),
In regards to claim 6, Denham discloses the satellite of claim 1, but does not expressly disclose: wherein one or more of the disengagement coils is configured to contribute to attitude control of the satellite using magnetic torque.
Schilling teaches a magnet coil for a satellite used in attitude adjustment ([0034] “…magnetorquer device for the combined attitude control in any direction”).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify, with the reasonable expectation of success, Denham with Schilling by providing one or more of the disengagement coils is configured to contribute to attitude control of the satellite using magnetic torque in order to adjust the satellite by using a minimum amount of power.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 7-15, 18, 19, 22-27 allowed.
Claim 1, 4, 6, 20, 21 would be allowable if rewritten or amended to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action.
Conclusion
/V.R./ Examiner, Art Unit 3642
/MEDHAT BADAWI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642