DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: Applicant needs to add the “Related Application” to the Specification, that is now abandoned.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In regard to claim 1, line 4, there is no antecedent basis for “the first end” and “the second end”.
In claim 4, line 2, there is no antecedent basis for “the buttocks” and “labia”.
In regard to claims 7 and 19, lines 1-2, the terms “puffy” and “thin” are relative terms and the metes and bounds o f the terms are not clear. IT is not clear as to what “puffy” encompasses and how “Thin the outer layer is or as to what “thin material” encompasses. In claim 9, line 2. “are” appears to be a typo for “area” . Correction is needed.
In claim 9, line 3 “buttocks or labia” have no antecedent basis.
In claim 11, line 5, there is no antecedent basis for “The pocket”.
In claim 20, line 2, applicant tis claiming a human body part that I s non -statutory subject matter. The claim needs to be amended to state that the “Tubular member is constructed of a flexible material and is configured to conform to the crotch of an individual wearing the undergarment”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1- 5, 7-10,19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a2 as being anticiapted by O’Leary (US 20110023216 A1).
In regard to claims 1 and 11, O’Leary discloses an undergarment 200 comprising a body portion having a front portion, a back portion and a crotch portion positioned between the front portion and back portion wherein the crotch portion has a first end and a second end as in figure 18 B; a pocket 202 as in claim 1 and channel 202 as in claim 11, extending between a first end and a second end of the crotch portion (0137); and a tubular member 162 positioned in the channel of the crotch portion of the body portion of the undergarment as set forth in (0137) and as shown in figure 18B. In regard to claim 11, O’Leary discloses the pocket as being a channel (202).
In regard to claim 2, O’Leary discloses the undergarment wherein the crotch portion has an outer surface and an inner surface wherein the pocket is formed on the inner surface of the crotch portion as shown in figure 18B where the dotted line of the crotch portion represents the inner crotch side where the pocket 202 is formed.
In regard to claim 3, O’Leary discloses the undergarment of figure 18b and in para. (0037) with the pocket 202 that has a first end and a second end of an opening 206 as in (0034) with an open end.
In regard to claims 4 and 9 , O’Leary discloses the tubular member as being positioned as claimed as seen in the figures.
In regard to claim 5 O’Leary discloses the top end of the pocket 202 as being a closure in that it can be pressed closed. No specific sealing structure has been claimed.
IN regard to claim 8, O’Leary discloses the undergarment wherein the pocket 202 is configured to be larger than the tubular member that is positioned with the pocket and movable therein. As in (0133).
In regard to claims 10 and 20, O’Leary discloses an undergarment wherein the tubular member is constructed of a flexible material s set forth in (0133).
The material of O’Leary is antibacterial – microbial as claimed in claims 7 and 19 as disclosed in O’Leary in claim 43
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) s 6,7 and 12-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over O’Leary in view of Wilson (US 6023789).
In regard to claims 6, 7 and 12-20, O’Leary discloses the undergarment substantially as claimed except for the tubular member as having an inner and outer layer that envelops the inner layer as in claims 6 and 18; the inner layer of the material as claimed in claims 7 and 19, and the v-shaped narrowing channel as in claims 12, 13, 16 and 17. O’Leary discloses the tubular member within the channel as claimed. However, “O’Leary does not disclose the v-shaped structure. Wilson discloses the undergarment with a crotch portion including a channel with the v-shaped ends as in col. 4, lines 36-37.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to provide an open ended pouch or pocket of O’Leary with the partial, substantially v-shape as taught by Wilson in order to regulate discharge and/or to improve comfort of the article as taught by Wilson in col. 4, lines 36-41.
In regard to claims 6 and 18 it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to moody the ends of the O’Leary pocket with the v-shape of Wilson in order to help regulate discharge and to improve comfort of the article as taught by Wilson in col. 4, lines 16-41.
Also shaping the pocket as in Wilson also helps to retain the insert within the pocket as in col. 5, lines 5-6 of Wilson.
.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/GLORIA M HALE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732