DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites, in line 6, “wherein anchor plate” lacking antecedent basis and should be “wherein said anchor plate”. Claims 2-10 are rejected for depending from claim 1.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,421,433 in view of U.S. Patent No. 1,761,800 to Preis et al.
Regarding claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 12 and 13 are substantially similar to claim 17 of ‘433 as it claims a wall with anchor plate with central connection, an anchor tether (tensioning element) connected to the plate at the central location, and at the other end, connected to a joist. However, the connection between plate and tensioning element does not enable the plate to incline. Preis discloses a construction anchor having a ball and a rounded socket joint (fig. 1: 13 & 20) for walls (line 5) which allows for inclined, or angled, anchoring. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify ‘433 by using such a joint in order to compensate for old buildings with walls not at 90 degrees.
Regarding claims 6, 7 and 16, the ball of Preis is a rounded nut (20) that is threaded to a tensioning element (23) of Preis.
Regarding claims 8, 17 and 18, the tensioning element (23) passes through the rounded element (20) nut of Preis.
Claim 9 is substantially similar to claims 8 and 17, using multiple joists.
Regarding claim 10, the limitation of a two course brick wall, this is not claimed. The Examiner takes official notice that it is well known in the art of construction to use brick for walls, one or two course, as brick is well known as being a sturdy material for walls.
Claims 11 is substantially similar to claim 1.
Regarding claim 14, a relief is in the anchor plate (18) of Preis.
Regarding claim 15, the ball and socket of Preis has a rounded joint element (20) to engage the socket relief.
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 is substantially similar to claim 1 of ‘433.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9, 11 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 0,377,940 to Hevner.
Regarding claim 1, Hevner discloses a building (fig. 2) with joists and walls (lines 44-50 and fig. 2: see walls and joists), an anchor plate (large washer, lines 44-50, fig. 8: M), a tensioning element (rod (fig. 8, lines 44-50) through the wall and is anchored to joists, fig. 8, lines 44-50), the plate and tensioning element are interconnected by a joint (fig. 8: see fastener on outside of M), allowing the plate to incline independently of the tensioning element (see inclined plate in fig. 8, and squared plate M in fig. 1).
Regarding claim 9, the tensioning element is anchored to a beam (fig. 1: N) which extends between joists (upper and lower).
Regarding claim 11, claim 11 is rejected for reasons cited in the rejection of claim 1 as the claimed components are disclosed. By Hevner.
Regarding claim 19, the tensioning element is anchored to a beam (fig. 1: N) in the building.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-8 and 12-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 0,377,940 to Hevner in view of U.S. Patent No. 1,761,800 to Preis et al.
Regarding claims 2 and 12, a ball and joint is not disclosed by Hevner. Preis discloses a construction anchor having a ball and a rounded socket joint (fig. 1: 13 & 20) for walls (line 5) which allows for inclined, or angled, anchoring. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hevner by using such a joint in order to compensate for old buildings with walls not at 90 degrees.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, a geometric center is not disclosed by Hevner. However, Hevner discloses the use of a large washer (lines 44-50). The Examiner takes official notice that it is well known, and very common, that washers are of uniform construction with an anchoring hole in the center, such as a circular washer. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hevner, by using such a washer/plate since a typical washer is uniform with a central hole and would be a standard item
Regarding claims 4 and 14, Hevner in view of Preis discloses a relief (opening 18) formed into the plate (Preis fig. 1: 16).
Regarding claims 5 and 15, the ball and socket joint of Preis is rounded (20)and engages the relief (opening 18).
Regarding claims 6, 7, 8, 16, 17 and 18, the rounded element is a nut with threads in the center to engage the tensioning element therethrough.
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent No. 0,377,940 to Hevner.
Regarding claim 10, a brick wall is disclosed by Hevner, but not a two course brick wall. The Examiner takes official notice that it is well known to use two course walls of brick in order to add a central layer of insulation or matting to protect from moisture. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Hevner by adding an extra course of brick to better insulate the interior of the building.
Conclusion
/BASIL S KATCHEVES/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3633