DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 4-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu et al. (Joint Classification and Regression via Deep Multi-Task Multi-Channel Learning for Alzheimer’s Disease Diagnosis, May 2019, IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering, Vol. 66, No. 5, Pages 1195-1206), hereinafter “Liu”.
Regarding claim 1, Liu teaches:
An information processing apparatus comprising (See the Abstract.):
a processor, wherein the processor acquires a medical image showing an organ of a subject (See input MR image of a brain in Figs. 1 and 4.) and disease-related data of the subject (See the demographic information (age, gender, education) in Figs. 1 and 4.),
subdivides the medical image into a plurality of patch images (See the patch extraction in Fig. 1.),
uses a prediction model (See Fig. 4.) including a feature amount extraction unit that extracts a feature amount from the patch images (See page 1196, left column: “First, we propose to automatically extract discriminative image patches from MR images, based on the anatomical landmarks identified in a data-driven manner.”) and the disease-related data (See page 1196, right column: “Finally, we can take advantage of multiple demographic factors of studied subjects via the proposed framework, with the demographic information (i.e., age, gender, and education) embedded into the process of model training.”) and a correlation information extraction unit that extracts at least correlation information between the plurality of patch images (See page 1200, left column, regarding obtaining global information from local information of L patches/landmarks: “To model the global information of MRI, we concatenate the outputs of L FC8 layers and further add two additional FC layers (i.e., FC9, and FC10) to the network.” The examiner asserts that correlations between patches are obtained with the fully connected layers FC9 and FC10 to model the global information.) and correlation information between the plurality of patch images and the disease-related data (See page 1200, left column: “Moreover, we feed a concatenated representation comprising the output of FC10 and three demographic factors (i.e., age, gender, and education) into two FC layers (i.e., FC11, and FC12).”), and
inputs the patch images and the disease-related data to the prediction model and outputs a prediction result regarding a disease from the prediction model (See the input of patch images and demographic information to the model and output of disease class and clinical score in Fig. 4.).
Regarding claim 4, Liu teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the disease is dementia (See the classes in Fig. 4, Alzheimer’s disease.), the medical image is an image showing a brain of the subject (See Figs. 1 and 4.), and the processor extracts a first region image including a hippocampus, an amygdala, and an entorhinal cortex and a second region image including a temporal lobe and a frontal lobe from the medical image, and subdivides the first region image and the second region image into the plurality of patch images (See Fig. 3 anatomy and selection of landmarks for patch extraction.).
Regarding claim 5, Liu teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the disease is dementia (See the classes in Fig. 4, Alzheimer’s disease.), the medical image is morphological image test data (See MRI images in Figs. 1-4.), and the disease-related data includes at least one of an age, a sex, blood/cerebrospinal fluid test data, genetic test data, or cognitive function test data of the subject (See age/gender in Figs. 1 and 4.).
Regarding claim 6, Liu teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 5, wherein the morphological image test data is a tomographic image obtained by a nuclear magnetic resonance imaging method (See the MR image in Figs. 1-4.).
Regarding claim 7, Liu teaches:
An operation method of an information processing apparatus, the operation method comprising (See the Abstract.):
acquiring a medical image showing an organ of a subject (See input MR image of a brain in Figs. 1 and 4.) and disease-related data of the subject (See the demographic information (age, gender, education) in Figs. 1 and 4.);
subdividing the medical image into a plurality of patch images (See the patch extraction in Fig. 1.);
using a prediction model (See Fig. 4.) including a feature amount extraction unit that extracts a feature amount from the patch images (See page 1196, left column: “First, we propose to automatically extract discriminative image patches from MR images, based on the anatomical landmarks identified in a data-driven manner.”) and the disease-related data (See page 1196, right column: “Finally, we can take advantage of multiple demographic factors of studied subjects via the proposed framework, with the demographic information (i.e., age, gender, and education) embedded into the process of model training.”) and a correlation information extraction unit that extracts at least correlation information between the plurality of patch images (See page 1200, left column, regarding obtaining global information from local information of L patches/landmarks: “To model the global information of MRI, we concatenate the outputs of L FC8 layers and further add two additional FC layers (i.e., FC9, and FC10) to the network.” The examiner asserts that correlations between patches are obtained with the fully connected layers FC9 and FC10 to model the global information.) and correlation information between the plurality of patch images and the disease-related data (See page 1200, left column: “Moreover, we feed a concatenated representation comprising the output of FC10 and three demographic factors (i.e., age, gender, and education) into two FC layers (i.e., FC11, and FC12).”); and
inputting the patch images and the disease-related data to the prediction model and outputting a prediction result regarding a disease from the prediction model (See the input of patch images and demographic information to the model and output of disease class and clinical score in Fig. 4.).
Regarding claim 8, Liu teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing an operation program of an information processing apparatus, the program causing a computer to execute (See the Abstract.):
acquiring a medical image showing an organ of a subject (See input MR image of a brain in Figs. 1 and 4.) and disease-related data of the subject (See the demographic information (age, gender, education) in Figs. 1 and 4.);
subdividing the medical image into a plurality of patch images (See the patch extraction in Fig. 1.);
using a prediction model (See Fig. 4.) including a feature amount extraction unit that extracts a feature amount from the patch images (See page 1196, left column: “First, we propose to automatically extract discriminative image patches from MR images, based on the anatomical landmarks identified in a data-driven manner.”) and the disease-related data (See page 1196, right column: “Finally, we can take advantage of multiple demographic factors of studied subjects via the proposed framework, with the demographic information (i.e., age, gender, and education) embedded into the process of model training.”) and a correlation information extraction unit that extracts at least correlation information between the plurality of patch images (See page 1200, left column, regarding obtaining global information from local information of L patches/landmarks: “To model the global information of MRI, we concatenate the outputs of L FC8 layers and further add two additional FC layers (i.e., FC9, and FC10) to the network.” The examiner asserts that correlations between patches are obtained with the fully connected layers FC9 and FC10 to model the global information.) and correlation information between the plurality of patch images and the disease-related data (See page 1200, left column: “Moreover, we feed a concatenated representation comprising the output of FC10 and three demographic factors (i.e., age, gender, and education) into two FC layers (i.e., FC11, and FC12).”); and
inputting the patch images and the disease-related data to the prediction model and outputting a prediction result regarding a disease from the prediction model (See the input of patch images and demographic information to the model and output of disease class and clinical score in Fig. 4.).
Regarding claim 9, Liu teaches:
A non-transitory computer-readable storage medium storing a prediction model for causing a computer to function to output a prediction result regarding a disease in response to an input of a plurality of patch images obtained by subdividing a medical image showing an organ of a subject and disease-related data of the subject, the prediction model comprising (See the Abstract.):
a feature amount extraction unit that extracts a feature amount from the patch images (See page 1196, left column: “First, we propose to automatically extract discriminative image patches from MR images, based on the anatomical landmarks identified in a data-driven manner.”) and the disease-related data (See page 1196, right column: “Finally, we can take advantage of multiple demographic factors of studied subjects via the proposed framework, with the demographic information (i.e., age, gender, and education) embedded into the process of model training.”); and
a correlation information extraction unit that extracts at least correlation information between the plurality of patch images (See page 1200, left column, regarding obtaining global information from local information of L patches/landmarks: “To model the global information of MRI, we concatenate the outputs of L FC8 layers and further add two additional FC layers (i.e., FC9, and FC10) to the network.” The examiner asserts that correlations between patches are obtained with the fully connected layers FC9 and FC10 to model the global information.) and correlation information between the plurality of patch images and the disease-related data (See page 1200, left column: “Moreover, we feed a concatenated representation comprising the output of FC10 and three demographic factors (i.e., age, gender, and education) into two FC layers (i.e., FC11, and FC12).”).
Regarding claim 10, Liu teaches:
A learning apparatus that provides a prediction model with a learning medical image and a learning disease-related data as learning data, and trains the prediction model to obtain a prediction result regarding a disease as an output in response to an input of a plurality of patch images obtained by subdividing a medical image showing an organ of a subject and disease-related data of the subject (See the Abstract.),
wherein the prediction model includes a feature amount extraction unit that extracts a feature amount from the patch images (See page 1196, left column: “First, we propose to automatically extract discriminative image patches from MR images, based on the anatomical landmarks identified in a data-driven manner.”) and the disease-related data (See page 1196, right column: “Finally, we can take advantage of multiple demographic factors of studied subjects via the proposed framework, with the demographic information (i.e., age, gender, and education) embedded into the process of model training.”), and
a correlation information extraction unit that extracts at least correlation information between the plurality of patch images (See page 1200, left column, regarding obtaining global information from local information of L patches/landmarks: “To model the global information of MRI, we concatenate the outputs of L FC8 layers and further add two additional FC layers (i.e., FC9, and FC10) to the network.” The examiner asserts that correlations between patches are obtained with the fully connected layers FC9 and FC10 to model the global information.) and correlation information between the plurality of patch images and the disease-related data (See page 1200, left column: “Moreover, we feed a concatenated representation comprising the output of FC10 and three demographic factors (i.e., age, gender, and education) into two FC layers (i.e., FC11, and FC12).”).
Regarding claim 11, Liu teaches:
A learning method of providing a prediction model with a learning medical image and a learning disease-related data as learning data, and training the prediction model to obtain a prediction result regarding a disease as an output in response to an input of a plurality of patch images obtained by subdividing a medical image showing an organ of a subject and disease-related data of the subject (See the Abstract.),
wherein the prediction model includes a feature amount extraction unit that extracts a feature amount from the patch images (See page 1196, left column: “First, we propose to automatically extract discriminative image patches from MR images, based on the anatomical landmarks identified in a data-driven manner.”) and the disease-related data (See page 1196, right column: “Finally, we can take advantage of multiple demographic factors of studied subjects via the proposed framework, with the demographic information (i.e., age, gender, and education) embedded into the process of model training.”), and
a correlation information extraction unit that extracts at least correlation information between the plurality of patch images (See page 1200, left column, regarding obtaining global information from local information of L patches/landmarks: “To model the global information of MRI, we concatenate the outputs of L FC8 layers and further add two additional FC layers (i.e., FC9, and FC10) to the network.” The examiner asserts that correlations between patches are obtained with the fully connected layers FC9 and FC10 to model the global information.) and correlation information between the plurality of patch images and the disease-related data (See page 1200, left column: “Moreover, we feed a concatenated representation comprising the output of FC10 and three demographic factors (i.e., age, gender, and education) into two FC layers (i.e., FC11, and FC12).”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Joint Classification and Regression via Deep Multi-Task Multi-Channel Learning for Alzheimer’s Disease Diagnosis, May 2019, IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering, Vol. 66, No. 5, Pages 1195-1206) in view of Li et al. (A Method for Predicting Alzheimer’s Disease Based on the Fusion of Single Nucleotide Polymorphisms and Magnetic Resonance Feature Extraction, 2021, ML-CDS 2021, Pages 105-115), hereinafter “Li”.
Claim 2 is met by the combination of Liu and Li, wherein
Liu teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 1, wherein
Liu does not disclose the following; however, Li discloses:
the prediction model includes a transformer encoder that takes in input data in which the patch images and the disease-related data are mixed and extracts the feature amount (See Fig. 1, concatenation of genetic data and MRI data, and page 106: “The current research has not yet found a suitable paradigm for extracting features from genetic data, and our study provides a novel way of extracting features from genetic data, i.e., using the multi-headed attention mechanism of transformer [17] to extract features from genetic data. In addition, in our experiments, we also apply the soft thresholding to extract features from MRI data.”).
Liu and Li together disclose the limitations of claim 2. Li is directed to a similar field of art (multimodal Alzheimer’s disease prediction model). Therefore, Liu and Li are combinable. Modifying the system and method of Liu by adding “a transformer encoder that takes in input data in which the patch images and the disease-related data are mixed and extracts the feature amount”, as taught by Li, would yield the expected and predictable result of improved capture of global information by the transformer. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Liu and Li in this way.
Claim 3 is met by the combination of Liu and Li, wherein
The combination of Liu and Li teaches:
The information processing apparatus according to claim 2, wherein
And Li further discloses:
the feature amount extraction unit includes a self-attention mechanism layer of the transformer encoder (See page 106: “The current research has not yet found a suitable paradigm for extracting features from genetic data, and our study provides a novel way of extracting features from genetic data, i.e., using the multi-headed attention mechanism of transformer [17] to extract features from genetic data.), and the correlation information extraction unit includes a linear transformation layer that linearly transforms the input data to the self-attention mechanism layer to obtain first transformation data, an activation function application layer that applies an activation function to the first transformation data to obtain second transformation data (See Fig. 2.), and a calculation unit that calculates a product of output data from the self-attention mechanism layer and the second transformation data for each element as the correlation information (See Fig. 1.).
See the motivation to combine in the treatment of claim 2.
Contact
/Jonathan S Lee/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2677