DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 7, 9, 11, 17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liang et al. (US 20220120867 A1, hereinafter “Liang”).
Regarding claim 1, Liang teaches a light emitting device comprising:
a light emitting unit that has a first light source irradiating a first irradiation region with light and a second light source irradiating a second irradiation region with light in a turned-on state and that arranges the first irradiation region and the second irradiation region to be parallel to each other or superimposed on each other at a reference distance and irradiates the first irradiation region and the second irradiation region with light (Liang; Figs. 2-4, [0045], an emitting unit 100 includes a laser emitter array 101 (a plurality of laser emitters) and an emitting controller 102; Figs. 4A-4B, [0049], different laser beams of the lidar are radially emitted in Fig. 4A. Therefore, during the detection of the target object at a long distance (equivalent to a reference distance), light sports scanning on the target object can be clearly separated due to a relatively long distance); and
a drive unit that drives the light emitting unit such that one of the first light source and the second light source is in a turned-on state and the other is in a turned-off state in a case where the light emitting unit irradiates a target object at a first distance different from the reference distance with light (Liang; [0050], the emitting controller 102 configured to emit light in a first mode by using a higher number of laser emitters, to improve the resolution of the target object at a long distance. In a second mode, a small quantity of channels (implies some of the light is in the turn off state and some of the light is in the turn on state) are used to measure the target object at a short distance (equivalent to the first distance which is different from the long (reference) distance), and the channels that simultaneously emit light during short-distance measurement are as few as possible.
Regarding claim 7, Liang teaches the light emitting device as recited in claim 1,
wherein the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that one of the first light source or the second light source is in a turned-on state and the other is in a turned-off state in a case where the target object is detected at the first distance (Liang; [0050], the emitting controller 102 configured to emit light in a first mode by using a higher number of laser emitters, to improve the resolution of the target object at a long distance. In a second mode, a small quantity of channels (implies some of the light is in the turn off state and some of the light is in the turn on state) are used to measure the target object at a short distance (equivalent to the first distance which is different from the long (reference) distance), and the channels that simultaneously emit light during short-distance measurement are as few as possible.
Regarding claim 9, Liang teaches a light emitting device comprising:
a light emitting unit that has a first light source irradiating a first irradiation region with light and a second light source irradiating a second irradiation region with light in a turned-on state and that arranges the first irradiation region and the second irradiation region to be parallel to each other or superimposed on each other at a reference distance and irradiates the first irradiation region and the second irradiation region with light (Liang; Figs. 2-4, [0045], an emitting unit 100 includes a laser emitter array 101 (a plurality of laser emitters) and an emitting controller 102; Figs. 4A-4B, [0049], different laser beams of the lidar are radially emitted in Fig. 4A. Therefore, during the detection of the target object at a long distance (equivalent to a reference distance), light sports scanning on the target object can be clearly separated due to a relatively long distance); and
a drive unit that is capable of driving the light emitting unit by switching, via the light emitting unit, a first mode to irradiate a target object at a first distance different from the reference distance and a second mode for irradiating the target object at a distance longer than the first distance with light and that drives the light emitting unit such that one of the first light source and the second light source is in a turned-on state and the other is in a turned-off state in the first mode, and drives the light emitting unit such that both the first light source and the second light source are in a turned-on state in the second mode (Liang; [0050], the emitting controller 102 configured to emit light in a first mode by using a higher number of laser emitters, to improve the resolution of the target object at a long distance (here the first mode is equivalent to the second mode on the current case). In a second mode (here the second mode is equivalent to the first mode on the current case), a small quantity of channels (implies some of the light is in the turn off state and some of the light is in the turn on state) are used to measure the target object at a short distance (equivalent to the first distance which is different from the long (reference) distance), and the channels that simultaneously emit light during short-distance measurement are as few as possible.
Regarding claim 11, Liang teaches a distance measurement apparatus (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], lidar 10 (emitting unit 100, receiving unit 120 and processing unit 130) comprising:
the light emitting device according to claim 1 (please see claim 1 mapping above);
a light receiving unit that receives light emitted from the light emitting device and reflected by the target object (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the first detection light beam and the second detection light beam generate diffuse reflection on a target object OB, and light echoes L1’/L2’ are returned to the lidar and are received by the receiving unit 120); and
a calculation unit that calculates a distance to the target object based on a result of the light reception in the light receiving unit (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the processing unit 130 is coupled to the detector array and is configured to read the electrical signals output by the detector array, calculate distances to the target object according to the electrical signals).
Regarding claim 17, Liang teaches a distance measurement apparatus (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], lidar 10 (emitting unit 100, receiving unit 120 and processing unit 130) comprising:
the light emitting device according to claim 7 (please see claim 7 mapping above);
a light receiving unit that receives light emitted from the light emitting device and reflected by the target object (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the first detection light beam and the second detection light beam generate diffuse reflection on a target object OB, and light echoes L1’/L2’ are returned to the lidar and are received by the receiving unit 120); and
a calculation unit that calculates a distance to the target object based on a result of the light reception in the light receiving unit (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the processing unit 130 is coupled to the detector array and is configured to read the electrical signals output by the detector array, calculate distances to the target object according to the electrical signals).
Regarding claim 19, Liang teaches a distance measurement apparatus (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], lidar 10 (emitting unit 100, receiving unit 120 and processing unit 130) comprising:
the light emitting device according to claim 9 (please see claim 9 mapping above);
a light receiving unit that receives light emitted from the light emitting device and reflected by the target object (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the first detection light beam and the second detection light beam generate diffuse reflection on a target object OB, and light echoes L1’/L2’ are returned to the lidar and are received by the receiving unit 120); and
a calculation unit that calculates a distance to the target object based on a result of the light reception in the light receiving unit (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the processing unit 130 is coupled to the detector array and is configured to read the electrical signals output by the detector array, calculate distances to the target object according to the electrical signals).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 and 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang, modified in view of Kondo et al. (US 20210305773 A1, hereinafter “Kondo”).
Regarding claim 2, Liang teaches the light emitting device as recited in claim 1.
Liang does not teach,
wherein the first light source includes a plurality of light emitting sections that emit light toward each of a plurality of irradiation sections obtained by dividing the first irradiation region,
the second light source includes a plurality of light emitting sections that emit light toward each of a plurality of irradiation sections obtained by dividing the second irradiation region, and
the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that the light emitting sections, which emit light toward the irradiation sections adjacent to each other, emit light at different timings in each of the first light source and the second light source.
Kondo teaches,
wherein the first light source includes a plurality of light emitting sections that emit light toward each of a plurality of irradiation sections obtained by dividing the first irradiation region (Kondo; Fig. 10, [0224], illustrating an example of controlling the lighted (ON state)/unlighted (OFF) state of the laser diodes LD in the light source 22 provided with 4x4 laser diodes LD. Because the light source is divided into 4x4 section, each light emitting section will have related irradiation section as expected),
the second light source includes a plurality of light emitting sections that emit light toward each of a plurality of irradiation sections obtained by dividing the second irradiation region (same as above), and
the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that the light emitting sections, which emit light toward the irradiation sections adjacent to each other, emit light at different timings in each of the first light source and the second light source (Kondo; Fig. 10, [0224], disclosed the controlling the lighted/unlighted state of the laser diodes in the light source 22. Clearly seen that it can be designed such that the adjacent LDs emit light at different timing. For instance, LD23 is in ON state and the adjacent diode LD33, LD24, LD13, LD22 are all in the OFF state).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Liang to include wherein the first/second light source includes a plurality of light emitting sections that emit light toward each of a plurality of irradiation sections obtained by dividing the first/second irradiation region, and the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that the light emitting sections, which emit light toward the irradiation sections adjacent to each other, emit light at different timings in each of the first light source and the second light source taught by Kondo with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using timing controller to control a switching between a successive lighting operation that causes the light-emitting elements to light up successively and a simultaneous lighting operation that causes the light-emitting elements to light up simultaneously in parallel for different control of laser light-emission application (Kondo; [0009], [0224]).
Regarding claim 12, Liang as modified above teaches a distance measurement apparatus (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], lidar 10 (emitting unit 100, receiving unit 120 and processing unit 130) comprising:
the light emitting device according to claim 2 (please see claim 2 mapping above);
a light receiving unit that receives light emitted from the light emitting device and reflected by the target object (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the first detection light beam and the second detection light beam generate diffuse reflection on a target object OB, and light echoes L1’/L2’ are returned to the lidar and are received by the receiving unit 120); and
a calculation unit that calculates a distance to the target object based on a result of the light reception in the light receiving unit (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the processing unit 130 is coupled to the detector array and is configured to read the electrical signals output by the detector array, calculate distances to the target object according to the electrical signals).
Claim(s) 3 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang, modified in view of Kondo, in view of Goren et al. (US 20220171031 A1, hereinafter “Goren”).
Regarding claim 3, Liang as modified above teaches the light emitting device as recited in claim 2, the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that one of the first light source and the second light source is in a turned-on state and the other is in a turned-off state at the first distance at which the first irradiation section and the fourth irradiation section are superimposed on each other (Liang; [0049], Figs. 4A-4B, angular resolutions along a vertical and horizontal direction are redundant if all channels of the lidar having a high number of lines emit light for range when detecting the target object at a short distance [0050], the emitting controller 102 configured to emit light in a first mode by using a higher number of laser emitters, to improve the resolution of the target object at a long distance. In a second mode, a small quantity of channels (implies some of the light is in the turn off state and some of the light is in the turn on state) are used to measure the target object at a short distance (equivalent to the first distance which is different from the long (reference) distance).
Liang does not teach, wherein the first light source has a first light emitting section that irradiates a first irradiation section with light and a third light emitting section that irradiates a third irradiation section adjacent to the first irradiation section with light,
the second light source has a second light emitting section that irradiates a second irradiation section with light and a fourth light emitting section that irradiates a fourth irradiation section adjacent to the second irradiation section with light,
at the reference distance, the first irradiation section and the second irradiation section are superimposed on each other, and the third irradiation section and the fourth irradiation section are superimposed on each other, and
Kondo teaches,
wherein the first light source has a first light emitting section that irradiates a first irradiation section with light and a third light emitting section that irradiates a third irradiation section adjacent to the first irradiation section with light (Kondo; Fig. 10, [0224], illustrating an example of controlling the lighted (ON)/unlighted (OFF) state of the laser diodes LD in the light source 22 provided with 4x4 laser diodes LD. Because the light source is divided into 4x4 section, each light emitting section will have related irradiation section as expected. First irradiation section will be related to the section which LD23 irradiated and third irradiation will be related to the section which LD33/LD24/LD22/LD13 irradiated. Furthermore, since the LD23 and LD33/LD24/LD22/LD13 are adjacent to each other, the irradiated section will be adjacent to each other, too),
the second light source has a second light emitting section that irradiates a second irradiation section with light and a fourth light emitting section that irradiates a fourth irradiation section adjacent to the second irradiation section with light (same as above),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Liang to include wherein the first/second light source includes a plurality of light emitting sections that emit light toward each of a plurality of irradiation sections obtained by dividing the first/second irradiation region, and the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that the light emitting sections, which emit light toward the irradiation sections adjacent to each other, emit light at different timings in each of the first light source and the second light source taught by Kondo with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using timing controller to control a switching between a successive lighting operation that causes the light-emitting elements to light up successively and a simultaneous lighting operation that causes the light-emitting elements to light up simultaneously in parallel for different application (Kondo; [0009], [0224]).
However, Liang modified in view of Kondo still not teach,
at the reference distance, the first irradiation section and the second irradiation section are superimposed on each other, and the third irradiation section and the fourth irradiation section are superimposed on each other, and
Goren disclosed in Fig. 7A, [0141], because of the divergence of beams 730 and 732 from the direction of chief rays 734 and 736, respectively, at least portions of beams 730 may overlap with portions of beam 732, creating an overlap zone 760. Beam 730 begin overlapping with beam 732 at a distance “L” from optical system 720 in a direction toward FOV 770. It will be understood that at very large distance (equivalent to reference distance), two light beams 730 and 732 may completely overlap with each other at very large distances from optical system 720 in the direction towards FOV 770. This implies that in the reference distance, two light sources can completely overlap. In combine with Liang’s invention modified in view of Kondo’s invention such that the 1st/2nd irradiation and 3rd/4th irradiation are superimposed on each other.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Liang to include wherein the first/second light source includes a plurality of light emitting sections that emit light toward each of a plurality of irradiation sections obtained by dividing the first/second irradiation region, and the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that the light emitting sections, which emit light toward the irradiation sections adjacent to each other, emit light at different timings in each of the first light source and the second light source taught by Kondo, include at the reference distance, the first irradiation section and the second irradiation section are superimposed on each other, and the third irradiation section and the fourth irradiation section are superimposed on each other taught by Goren with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that at the long distance, two beams started to overlap with each which contributes to improve detection of the objects or leverage to increase the effective detection range in overlap zone (Goren; [0122], [0141]).
Regarding claim 13, Liang as modified above teaches a distance measurement apparatus (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], lidar 10 (emitting unit 100, receiving unit 120 and processing unit 130) comprising:
the light emitting device according to claim 3 (please see mapping claim 3 above);
a light receiving unit that receives light emitted from the light emitting device and reflected by the target object (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the first detection light beam and the second detection light beam generate diffuse reflection on a target object OB, and light echoes L1’/L2’ are returned to the lidar and are received by the receiving unit 120); and
a calculation unit that calculates a distance to the target object based on a result of the light reception in the light receiving unit (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the processing unit 130 is coupled to the detector array and is configured to read the electrical signals output by the detector array, calculate distances to the target object according to the electrical signals).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 14-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang, modified in view of Hosokawa et al. (CN 1151665 A, hereinafter “Hosokawa”).
Regarding claim 4, Liang teaches the light emitting device as recited in claim 1.
Liang does not teach,
wherein determination as to which one is to be put into the turned-on state and which one is to be put into the turned-off state is made based on a turning-on history of the first light source and the second light source.
Hosokawa disclosed in [0007]-[0008], sets up a means of measuring the cumulative lighting time of each of the multiple light sources, and when only some light sources are selected to be lit, it sequentially selects the light sources with the shortest cumulative lighting time to be lit (equivalent to put the light source into the turned-on/turned-off state based on the turning-on history); [0009], utilizing a fault detection means to provide in each of the plurality of light sources, and when some light sources are selected to be lit, the light source with the shortest cumulative lighting time is selected sequentially from the light sources other than the faulty light sources.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Liang to include wherein determination as to which one is to be put into the turned-on state and which one is to be put into the turned-off state is made based on a turning-on history of the first light source and the second light source taught by Hosokawa with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is when some light sources are selected to be lit, the light source with shortest cumulative lighting time is selected sequentially from the light sources to make the cumulative lighting time of light source more even. With this configuration, the invention can extend the lifespan of the light source used in the system by equalizing the cumulative lighting time of each light source such that the light sources that have reached the end of their lifespan can be replaced at the same time (Hosokawa; [0007]-[0011], [0022]).
Regarding claim 5, Liang as modified above teaches the light emitting device as recited in claim 4.
Liang does not teach,
wherein the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that one of the first light source and the second light source, which has a shorter total turning-on time, is in a turned-on state and the other, which has a longer total turning-on time, is in a turned-off state in a case where the target object at the first distance is irradiated with light.
Hosokawa disclosed in [0007]-[0008], sets up a means of measuring the cumulative lighting time of each of the multiple light sources, and when only some light sources are selected to be lit, it sequentially selects the light sources with the shortest cumulative lighting time to be lit (equivalent to put the light source into the turned-on/turned-off state based on the turning-on history); [0009], utilizing a fault detection means to provide in each of the plurality of light sources, and when some light sources are selected to be lit, the light source with the shortest cumulative lighting time is selected sequentially from the light sources other than the faulty light sources.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Liang to include wherein determination as to which one is to be put into the turned-on state and which one is to be put into the turned-off state is made based on a turning-on history of the first light source and the second light source; wherein the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that one of the first light source and the second light source, which has a shorter total turning-on time, is in a turned-on state and the other, which has a longer total turning-on time, is in a turned-off state in a case where the target object at the first distance is irradiated with light taught by Hosokawa with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is when some light sources are selected to be lit, the light source with shortest cumulative lighting time is selected sequentially from the light sources to make the cumulative lighting time of light source more even. With this configuration, the invention can extend the lifespan of the light source used in the system by equalizing the cumulative lighting time of each light source such that the light sources that have reached the end of their lifespan can be replaced at the same time (Hosokawa; [0007]-[0011], [0022]).
Regarding claim 14, Liang as modified above teaches a distance measurement apparatus (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], lidar 10 (emitting unit 100, receiving unit 120 and processing unit 130) comprising:
the light emitting device according to claim 4 (please see mapping claim 4 above);
a light receiving unit that receives light emitted from the light emitting device and reflected by the target object (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the first detection light beam and the second detection light beam generate diffuse reflection on a target object OB, and light echoes L1’/L2’ are returned to the lidar and are received by the receiving unit 120); and
a calculation unit that calculates a distance to the target object based on a result of the light reception in the light receiving unit (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the processing unit 130 is coupled to the detector array and is configured to read the electrical signals output by the detector array, calculate distances to the target object according to the electrical signals).
Regarding claim 15, Liang as modified above teaches a distance measurement apparatus (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], lidar 10 (emitting unit 100, receiving unit 120 and processing unit 130) comprising:
the light emitting device according to claim 5 (please see mapping claim 5 above);
a light receiving unit that receives light emitted from the light emitting device and reflected by the target object (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the first detection light beam and the second detection light beam generate diffuse reflection on a target object OB, and light echoes L1’/L2’ are returned to the lidar and are received by the receiving unit 120); and
a calculation unit that calculates a distance to the target object based on a result of the light reception in the light receiving unit (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the processing unit 130 is coupled to the detector array and is configured to read the electrical signals output by the detector array, calculate distances to the target object according to the electrical signals).
Claim(s) 6 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang, modified in view of Hosokawa, in view of Kondo, in view of Onoda et al. (US 20230184902 A1, hereinafter “Onoda”).
Regarding claim 6, Liang as modified above teaches the light emitting device as recited in claim 4.
Liang does not teach,
wherein each of the first light source and the second light source has a plurality of light emitting sections that emit light toward the first irradiation region and the second irradiation region, and is driven to emit light at a different timing for each group including at least one light emitting section, and
the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that one of the first light source and the second light source, which has a smaller influence of heat generated by light emission of a previous group on light emission of a next group is in a turned-on state and the other, which has a larger influence, is in a turned-off state in a case where the target object at the first distance is irradiated with light.
Kondo teaches,
wherein each of the first light source and the second light source has a plurality of light emitting sections that emit light toward the first irradiation region (Kondo; Fig. 10, [0224], illustrating an example of controlling the lighted (ON state)/unlighted (OFF) state of the laser diodes LD in the light source 22 provided with 4x4 laser diodes LD. Because the light source is divided into 4x4 section, each light emitting section will have related irradiation section as expected), and the second irradiation region (same as above), and is driven to emit light at a different timing for each group including at least one light emitting section (Kondo; Fig. 10, [0224], disclosed the controlling the lighted/unlighted state of the laser diodes in the light source 22. Clearly seen that it can be designed such that the adjacent LDs emit light at different timing. For instance, LD23 is in ON state and the adjacent diode LD33, LD24, LD13, LD22 are all in the OFF state), and
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Liang to include wherein determination as to which one is to be put into the turned-on state and which one is to be put into the turned-off state is made based on a turning-on history of the first light source and the second light source taught by Hosokawa, include wherein each of the first light source and the second light source has a plurality of light emitting sections that emit light toward the first irradiation region and the second irradiation region, and is driven to emit light at a different timing for each group including at least one light emitting section taught by Kondo with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is using timing controller to control a switching between a successive lighting operation that cases the light-emitting elements to light up successively and a simultaneous lighting operation that causes the light-emitting elements to light up simultaneously in parallel for different application (Kondo; [0009], [0224]).
However, Liang modified in view of Hosokawa, in view of Kondo still not teach,
the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that one of the first light source and the second light source, which has a smaller influence of heat generated by light emission of a previous group on light emission of a next group is in a turned-on state and the other, which has a larger influence, is in a turned-off state in a case where the target object at the first distance is irradiated with light.
Onoda disclosed in Fig. 11, Fig. 13, [0100]-[0102], the light source system 122F includes first laser emitter 321F and the second laser emitter 323F wherein the turned on and turned off state of the laser emitter 321F and 323F are based on the peripheral temperature T. For instance, step S21-S22, measure and compare peripheral temperature with the threshold temperature, if the temperature is lower than threshold, turn on 1st laser emitter and turn off 2nd laser emitter (S23). If the temperature is higher than threshold, turn off 1st laser emitter and turn on 2nd laser emitter (S24).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Liang to include wherein determination as to which one is to be put into the turned-on state and which one is to be put into the turned-off state is made based on a turning-on history of the first light source and the second light source taught by Hosokawa, include wherein each of the first light source and the second light source has a plurality of light emitting sections that emit light toward the first irradiation region and the second irradiation region, and is driven to emit light at a different timing for each group including at least one light emitting section taught by Kondo, include the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that one of the first light source and the second light source, which has a smaller influence of heat generated by light emission of a previous group on light emission of a next group is in a turned-on state and the other, which has a larger influence, is in a turned-off state in a case where the target object at the first distance is irradiated with light taught by Onoda with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that measure and compare peripheral temperature with the threshold temperature and determine which light source to turn-on/turn-off to avoid the infrared laser fluctuate due to temperature variation which can cause the distance measurement failure (Onoda; [0007], [0100]-[0102], [0114]).
Regarding claim 16, Liang as modified above teaches a distance measurement apparatus (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], lidar 10 (emitting unit 100, receiving unit 120 and processing unit 130) comprising:
the light emitting device according to claim 6 (please see mapping claim 6 above);
a light receiving unit that receives light emitted from the light emitting device and reflected by the target object (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the first detection light beam and the second detection light beam generate diffuse reflection on a target object OB, and light echoes L1’/L2’ are returned to the lidar and are received by the receiving unit 120); and
a calculation unit that calculates a distance to the target object based on a result of the light reception in the light receiving unit (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the processing unit 130 is coupled to the detector array and is configured to read the electrical signals output by the detector array, calculate distances to the target object according to the electrical signals).
Claim(s) 8 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang, modified in view of Goren.
Regarding claim 8, Liang teaches the light emitting device as recited in claim 1, the first distance is shorter than the reference distance (Liang; [0050], the emitting controller 102 configured to emit light in a first mode by using a higher number of laser emitters, to improve the resolution of the target object at a long distance (equivalent to reference distance). In a second mode, a small quantity of channels (implies some of the light is in the turn off state and some of the light is in the turn on state) are used to measure the target object at a short distance (equivalent to the first distance which is different from the long (reference) distance).
Liang does not teach,
wherein the first irradiation region and the second irradiation region are superimposed on each other at the reference distance.
Goren disclosed in Fig. 7A, [0141], because of the divergence of beams 730 and 732 from the direction of chief rays 734 and 736, respectively, at least portions of beams 730 may overlap with portions of beam 732, creating an overlap zone 760. Beam 730 begin overlapping with beam 732 at a distance “L” from optical system 720 in a direction toward FOV 770. It will be understood that at very large distance (equivalent to reference distance), two light beams 730 and 732 may completely overlap with each other at very large distances from optical system 720 in the direction towards FOV 770. This implies that in the reference distance, two light sources can completely overlap.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Liang to include wherein the first irradiation region and the second irradiation region are superimposed on each other at the reference distance taught by Goren with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is that at the long distance, two beams started to overlap with each which contributes to improve detection of the objects or leverage to increase the effective detection range in overlap zone (Goren; [0122], [0141]).
Regarding claim 18, Liang teaches the distance measurement apparatus (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], lidar 10 (emitting unit 100, receiving unit 120 and processing unit 130) comprising:
the light emitting device according to claim 8 (please see claim 8 mapping above above);
a light receiving unit that receives light emitted from the light emitting device and reflected by the target object (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the first detection light beam and the second detection light beam generate diffuse reflection on a target object OB, and light echoes L1’/L2’ are returned to the lidar and are received by the receiving unit 120); and
a calculation unit that calculates a distance to the target object based on a result of the light reception in the light receiving unit (Liang; Fig. 9, [0072], the processing unit 130 is coupled to the detector array and is configured to read the electrical signals output by the detector array, calculate distances to the target object according to the electrical signals).
Claim(s) 10 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liang, modified in view of O'Keeffe (US 20180088214 A1, hereinafter “O'Keeffe”).
Regarding claim 10, Liang teaches the light emitting device as recited in claim 9, wherein the drive unit drives the light emitting unit in the first mode (Liang; [0050], the emitting controller 102 configured to emit light in a first mode by using a higher number of laser emitters, to improve the resolution of the target object at a long distance (equivalent to reference distance). In a second mode, a small quantity of channels (implies some of the light is in the turn off state and some of the light is in the turn on state) are used to measure the target object at a short distance (equivalent to the first distance which is different from the long (reference) distance).
Liang does not teach,
in a case where arrival of the target object at the first distance is predicted.
O'Keeffe disclosed in Fig. 10A, [0082], using laser range finder 810 to generate a guard set of low intensity laser pulses in guard regions 1065a/1065b which encompass at least some of the perimeter of the adaptive-intensity region to provide that objects on one of several trajectories must first pass through a guard region before entering the adaptive-intensity region; Fig. 10B, [0083], laser range finder 810 can determine the person 780 has a trajectory 1030 that will intersect the adaptive-intensity region. Laser range finder 810 can react by reducing the intensity of some or all of the laser pulses subsequently generated in the adaptive-intensity region (e.g. laser pulse 1050). In combine with Liang’s invention to alternately turned-on/turned-off different light sources which reducing the intensity of the laser pulses generated in the adaptive intensity region when predict a person will arrival in the area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Liang to include in a case where arrival of the target object at the first distance is predicted taught by O'Keeffe with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is when a person are predicted to arrive in the first distance, using alternately turned-on and turned-off the light sources to reduce the intensity to provide an eye-safe system and method to predict future ingress of object into the adaptive-intensity region while limiting false positive warnings (O'Keeffe; [0081]-[0083]).
Regarding claim 20, Liang teaches the distance measurement apparatus as recited in claim 11,
wherein the drive unit drives the light emitting unit such that one of the first light source and the second light source is in a turned-on state and the other is in a turned-off state in a case where the target object is detected at the first distance (Liang; [0050], the emitting controller 102 configured to emit light in a first mode by using a higher number of laser emitters, to improve the resolution of the target object at a long distance (equivalent to reference distance). In a second mode, a small quantity of channels (implies some of the light is in the turn off state and some of the light is in the turn on state) are used to measure the target object at a short distance (equivalent to the first distance which is different from the long (reference) distance) or
Liang does not teach,
in a case where arrival of the target object at the first distance is predicted, based on the result of the light reception in the light receiving unit or a result of the calculation in the calculation unit.
O'Keeffe disclosed in Fig. 10A, [0082], using laser range finder 810 to generate a guard set of low intensity laser pulses in guard regions 1065a/1065b which encompass at least some of the perimeter of the adaptive-intensity region to provide that objects on one of several trajectories must first pass through a guard region before entering the adaptive-intensity region; Fig. 10B, [0083], laser range finder 810 can determine the person 780 has a trajectory 1030 that will intersect the adaptive-intensity region. Laser range finder 810 can react by reducing the intensity of some or all of the laser pulses subsequently generated in the adaptive-intensity region (e.g. laser pulse 1050). In combine with Liang’s invention to alternately turned-on/turned-off different light sources which reducing the intensity of the laser pulses generated in the adaptive intensity region when predict a person will arrival in the area.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filling date of this invention to modify the device taught by Liang to in a case where arrival of the target object at the first distance is predicted, based on the result of the light reception in the light receiving unit or a result of the calculation in the calculation unit taught by O'Keeffe with a reasonable expectation of success. The reasoning for this is when a person are predicted to arrive in the first distance, using alternately turned-on and turned-off the light sources to reduce the intensity to provide an eye-safe system and method to predict future ingress of object into the adaptive-intensity region while limiting false positive warnings (O'Keeffe; [0081]-[0083]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wang et al. (US 20220349999 A1) disclosed in Fig. 17, [0020], the control device of the LIDAR is configured to control on-off of the first emission device and the second emission device such that the first receiving device receives the laser beam emitted by the first emission device to the first detection subregion and the second receiving device receives the laser beam emitted by the second emission device to the second detection subregion.
Pacala et al. (US 20190011561 A1) disclosed in Fig. 8E, [0136]-[0139], with emitter array 852a, 852b are co-aligned such that each of the discrete beams 874a, 874b have identical field of view 880 beyond a threshold distance. In this manner the amount of light focused on the discrete spot represented by the FOV 880 can be increased as compared to a single beam and the multiple beams of light provide redundant illumination at each photosensor FOV.
Liu et al. (US 20210208249 A1) disclosed in Fig. 6, [0080], a MOS dive 210 drives a MOS transistor 220, and the one MOS driver 210 is connected to at least two laser diode 230 in a time-sharing manner via switches 240 to achieve control of on or off of the at least two laser diodes in a time-sharing manner.
Suzuki et al. (US 20230204732 A1) disclosed in Fig. 1, [0063], the light projection unit 2 includes a light source unit 5 which emits the laser beam from two channels (left and right). The laser beam source of each channel can individually control light emission timing and lights out timing; [0074], the linear beam 5a and 5b emitted from the two light projection units 2 partially overlap each other.
/CHIA-LING CHEN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645 /HOVHANNES BAGHDASARYAN/Examiner, Art Unit 3645