DETAILED ACTION
Applicant presents Claims 1-11 for examination. The Office rejects Claims 1-11 as detailed below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
+_+_+ Claims 1-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinberg et al. - U.S. Pub. 20190227175 - in view of O'Keeffe - U.S. Pub. 20180088214 +_+_+
As for Claim 1, Steinberg teaches a light emitting unit that irradiates different irradiation regions with light beams from a plurality of light sources in parallel (Fig. 2B, light sources 112 emitting in parallel); and a control unit that turns off a part of the plurality of light sources that irradiate, with light beams, an overlapping region where the irradiation regions by the respective light sources overlap each other (¶129|1: “FIG. 6B illustrates overlap region 600 between field of view 120A and field of view 120B. In the depicted example, the overlap region is associated with 24 portions 122 from field of view 120A and 24 portions 122 from field of view 120B. Given that the overlap region is defined and known by processors 118A and 118B, each processor may be designed to limit the amount of light emitted in overlap region 600 in order to conform with an eye safety limit that spans multiple source lights, or for other reasons such as maintaining an optical budget. In addition, processors 118A and 118B may avoid interferences between the light emitted by the two light sources by loose synchronization between the scanning unit 104A and scanning unit 104B, and/or by control of the laser transmission timing, and/or the detection circuit enabling timing.”) Steinberg doesn’t explicitly teach reducing the intensity based on a detected target.
But O'Keeffe teaches in a case where an entry of a target object into the overlapping region is detected (¶82|1: “Turning to FIG. 10A, laser range finder 810 can generate a set of high-intensity laser pulses (e.g. pulse 850) within an adaptive-intensity region of a FOV 820. Laser range finder 810 can further generate a guard set of lower intensity laser pulses in one or more guard regions 1065a and 1065b. The guard regions (e.g. 1065a and 1065b) can encompass at least some of the perimeter of the adaptive-intensity region, thereby providing that objects ( e.g. person 780) on one of several trajectories (e.g. trajectory 1030) must first pass through a guard region before entering the adaptive-intensity region. In the embodiment of FIG. 10A important locations for guard regions can be on either side of adaptive-intensity region 855.” Further, (¶83|1) “[i]n FIG. 10B laser range finder 810 can determine the person 780 has a trajectory 1030 that will intersect the adaptive-intensity region. In the embodiment of FIG. 10B laser range finder 810 can react by reducing the intensity of some or all of the laser pulses subsequently generated in the adaptive-intensity region (e.g. laser pulse 1050).”)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine Steinberg and O'Keeffe because one of the reasons to reduce light intensity in a region is to avoid subjecting a pedestrian, for instance, to a level of laser light harmful to the eyes. Triggering the intensity reduction based on a target detected in the region allows the intensities to be changed only when necessary.
As for Claim 2, which depends on Claim 1, O'Keeffe teaches wherein the light emitting unit is disposed such that the overlapping region extends in a direction intersecting an entry direction of the target object (Fig. 10A, showing target approaching overlap region, ¶82|1: “Turning to FIG. 10A, laser range finder 810 can generate a set of high-intensity laser pulses (e.g. pulse 850) within an adaptive-intensity region of a FOV 820. Laser range finder 810 can further generate a guard set of lower intensity laser pulses in one or more guard regions 1065a and 1065b. The guard regions (e.g. 1065a and 1065b) can encompass at least some of the perimeter of the adaptive-intensity region, thereby providing that objects (e.g. person 780) on one of several trajectories (e.g. trajectory 1030) must first pass through a guard region before entering the adaptive-intensity region. In the embodiment of FIG. 10A important locations for guard regions can be on either side of adaptive-intensity region 855.”)
As for Claim 3, which depends on Claim 2, O'Keeffe teaches wherein the control unit determines the part of the plurality of light sources to be turned off according to the entry direction of the target object (Fig. 10A, showing target approaching overlap region, ¶82|1: “Turning to FIG. 10A, laser range finder 810 can generate a set of high-intensity laser pulses (e.g. pulse 850) within an adaptive-intensity region of a FOV 820. Laser range finder 810 can further generate a guard set of lower intensity laser pulses in one or more guard regions 1065a and 1065b. The guard regions (e.g. 1065a and 1065b) can encompass at least some of the perimeter of the adaptive-intensity region, thereby providing that objects (e.g. person 780) on one of several trajectories (e.g. trajectory 1030) must first pass through a guard region before entering the adaptive-intensity region. In the embodiment of FIG. 10A important locations for guard regions can be on either side of adaptive-intensity region 855.”)
As for Claim 4, which depends on Claim 2, O'Keeffe teaches wherein the plurality of light sources each have a plurality of light emitting sections, and the control unit determines a portion of the plurality of light emitting sections to be turned off (¶45|1: “FIG. 1A illustrates a laser range finder system 110 (e.g. a LIDAR) that comprises a steerable laser assembly 120. Steerable laser assembly 120 scans one or more lasers (e.g. steerable laser 121) within a field of view FOV 130.” Further, (¶82|1) “[t]urning to FIG. 10A, laser range finder 810 can generate a set of high-intensity laser pulses (e.g. pulse 850) within an adaptive-intensity region of a FOV 820.” That is, the lasers emitting pulses into the adaptive-intensity region can be altered to reduce the intensity [including turning off some light emitting sections] in the FOV.)
As for Claim 5, Steinberg teaches a distance measurement apparatus comprising: the light emitting device according to claim 1 (<< this limitation is rejected on the same basis as Claim 1 above); a light receiving unit that receives light beams emitted from the light emitting unit and reflected by the target object; and a distance measurement unit that measures a distance to the target object based on a result of the light reception by the light receiving unit (¶30|1: “The LIDAR system may determine the distance between a pair of tangible objects based on reflected light. In one embodiment, the LIDAR system may process detection results of a sensor which creates temporal information indicative of a period of time between the emission of a light signal and the time of its detection by the sensor. The period of time is occasionally referred to as "time of flight" of the light signal.”)
As for Claim 6, which depends on Claim 5, Steinberg teaches wherein the control unit turns off a part of the light sources based on the result of the light reception by the light receiving unit (¶129|1: “FIG. 6B illustrates overlap region 600 between field of view 120A and field of view 120B. In the depicted example, the overlap region is associated with 24 portions 122 from field of view 120A and 24 portions 122 from field of view 120B. Given that the overlap region is defined and known by processors 118A and 118B, each processor may be designed to limit [i.e., turn of part of] the amount of light emitted in overlap region 600 in order to conform with an eye safety limit that spans multiple source lights, or for other reasons such as maintaining an optical budget. In addition, processors 118A and 118B may avoid interferences between the light emitted by the two light sources by loose synchronization between the scanning unit 104A and scanning unit 104B, and/or by control of the laser transmission timing, and/or the detection circuit enabling timing.”)
As for Claim 7, which depends on Claim 6, Steinberg teaches wherein the control unit detects the entry of the target object into the overlapping region based on the result of the light reception by the light receiving unit, and turns off a part of the light sources in a case where an intensity of light received by the light receiving unit exceeds a predetermined value (¶129|1: “FIG. 6B illustrates overlap region 600 between field of view 120A and field of view 120B. In the depicted example, the overlap region is associated with 24 portions 122 from field of view 120A and 24 portions 122 from field of view 120B. Given that the overlap region is defined and known by processors 118A and 118B, each processor may be designed to limit [i.e., turn of part of] the amount of light emitted in overlap region 600 in order to conform with an eye safety limit that spans multiple source lights, or for other reasons such as maintaining an optical budget. In addition, processors 118A and 118B may avoid interferences between the light emitted by the two light sources by loose synchronization between the scanning unit 104A and scanning unit 104B, and/or by control of the laser transmission timing, and/or the detection circuit enabling timing.”)
As for Claim 8, which depends on Claim 6, O'Keeffe teaches wherein the control unit turns off a part of the light sources in a case where the distance to the target object is shorter than a predetermined distance (¶82|1: “Turning to FIG. 10A, laser range finder 810 can generate a set of high-intensity laser pulses (e.g. pulse 850) within an adaptive-intensity region of a FOV 820. Laser range finder 810 can further generate a guard set of lower intensity laser pulses in one or more guard regions 1065a and 1065b. The guard regions (e.g. 1065a and 1065b) can encompass at least some of the perimeter of the adaptive-intensity region, thereby providing that objects ( e.g. person 780) on one of several trajectories (e.g. trajectory 1030) must first pass through a guard region before entering the adaptive-intensity region. In the embodiment of FIG. 10A important locations for guard regions can be on either side of adaptive-intensity region 855.” Further, (¶83|1) “[i]n FIG. 10B laser range finder 810 can determine the person 780 has a trajectory 1030 that will intersect the adaptive-intensity region. In the embodiment of FIG. 10B laser range finder 810 can react by reducing the intensity of some or all of the laser pulses subsequently generated in the adaptive-intensity region (e.g. laser pulse 1050).”)
As for Claim 9, which depends on Claim 1, O'Keeffe teaches wherein the plurality of light sources each have a plurality of light emitting sections, and in a case where a first target object exists in the irradiation regions and an entry of a second target object into the overlapping region satisfying a predetermined requirement is detected, the control unit turns off a part of the plurality of light emitting sections so as to eliminate an overlap of the overlapping region into which the second target object has entered while maintaining irradiation of the first target object with light beams (¶89|1: “FIG. 11D-F illustrates an embodiment in which a flash LIDAR generates laser pulses in a plurality of directions at once with multidirectional laser flashes. In the embodiment of FIG. 11D-F a flash laser range finder (e.g. similar to the TigerEye Lidar available from Advanced Scientific Concepts Inc. of Santa Barbara, Calif.) can generate laser flashes in a plurality of zones and with various intensities. In FIG. 11D laser range finder 1120 can begin by generating a first laser flash in a plurality of directions ( e.g. 1125a and 1125b) with an intensity at or below a first threshold, thereby forming guard zones 1130a and 1130b. The first guard zones can extend towards the edge of the FOV of laser range finder 1120, thereby operating to identify objects moving into the FOY from an edge. In FIG. 11E laser reflections from objects (e.g. person 780) can be used to determine the intensity or angular range for a second laser flash in zone 1130c. The second laser flash can have a higher laser intensity than the first laser flash and may have a threshold distance 1140 beyond which the laser intensity drops below a safety threshold. One advantage of this approach is that reflections from the first flash can act to guard against unannounced intrusion into the path of the second flash within the threshold distance 1140.”)
As for Claim 10, which depends on Claim 1, O'Keeffe teaches wherein, in a case where the entry of the target object into the overlapping region is detected, the control unit sequentially turns on the plurality of light sources that irradiate, with light beams, the overlapping region while eliminating an overlap of the overlapping region (¶89|1: “FIG. 11D-F illustrates an embodiment in which a flash LIDAR generates laser pulses in a plurality of directions at once with multidirectional laser flashes. In the embodiment of FIG. 11D-F a flash laser range finder (e.g. similar to the TigerEye Lidar available from Advanced Scientific Concepts Inc. of Santa Barbara, Calif.) can generate laser flashes in a plurality of zones and with various intensities. In FIG. 11D laser range finder 1120 can begin by generating a first laser flash in a plurality of directions ( e.g. 1125a and 1125b) with an intensity at or below a first threshold, thereby forming guard zones 1130a and 1130b. The first guard zones can extend towards the edge of the FOV of laser range finder 1120, thereby operating to identify objects moving into the FOY from an edge. In FIG. 11E laser reflections from objects (e.g. person 780) can be used to determine the intensity or angular range for a second laser flash in zone 1130c. The second laser flash can have a higher laser intensity than the first laser flash and may have a threshold distance 1140 beyond which the laser intensity drops below a safety threshold. One advantage of this approach is that reflections from the first flash can act to guard against unannounced intrusion into the path of the second flash within the threshold distance 1140.”)
As for Claim 11, which depends on Claim 5, O'Keeffe teaches wherein the distance measurement unit measures, after the plurality of light sources that irradiate, with light beams, the overlapping region are sequentially turned on, the distance to the target object based on the result of the light reception by the light receiving unit during a period in which the light sources are sequentially turned on (¶89|1: “FIG. 11D-F illustrates an embodiment in which a flash LIDAR generates laser pulses in a plurality of directions at once with multidirectional laser flashes. In the embodiment of FIG. 11D-F a flash laser range finder (e.g. similar to the TigerEye Lidar available from Advanced Scientific Concepts Inc. of Santa Barbara, Calif.) can generate laser flashes in a plurality of zones and with various intensities. In FIG. 11D laser range finder 1120 can begin by generating a first laser flash in a plurality of directions ( e.g. 1125a and 1125b) with an intensity at or below a first threshold, thereby forming guard zones 1130a and 1130b. The first guard zones can extend towards the edge of the FOV of laser range finder 1120, thereby operating to identify objects moving into the FOY from an edge. In FIG. 11E laser reflections from objects (e.g. person 780) can be used to determine the intensity or angular range for a second laser flash in zone 1130c. The second laser flash can have a higher laser intensity than the first laser flash and may have a threshold distance 1140 beyond which the laser intensity drops below a safety threshold. One advantage of this approach is that reflections from the first flash can act to guard against unannounced intrusion into the path of the second flash within the threshold distance 1140.”)
Conclusion
Though not relied on, the Office considers the additional prior art listed in the Notice of Reference Cited form (PTO-892) pertinent to Applicant's disclosure.
/Clint Thatcher/
Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/YUQING XIAO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3645