DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claim 6 recites the limitation "the chassis”. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, “the chassis” will be interpreted as “a chassis”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Gavrielov (US 2017/0042227).
Gavrielov [Fig. 1-4] teaches an apparatus for receiving smokable material to enable at least one component of the smokable material to be volatilized [0045], the apparatus comprising: a housing (70 and 72 as a unitary device) [0028], the housing having a first compartment (portion of apparatus above seal 35/40) and a second compartment (portion of apparatus below seal 35/40), the first compartment being a heating compartment for receiving smokable material in use, including a heater 14 for heating smokable material received in the first compartment in use [0045], and the second compartment being an electronics compartment and containing control circuitry 45 and power source [0030-0032], the first compartment and the second compartment being hermetically sealed from each other to minimize or prevent air or vapor flowing between the first compartment and the second compartment [0036]. Component 40 is interpreted as a divider wall and component 35 is interpreted as a seal for sealing at least a portion of the divider wall to the housing [0039].
Claims 1, 2, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Monsees (US 2015/0208729).
Monsees [Fig. 2] teaches an apparatus for receiving smokable material to enable at least one component of the smokable material to be volatilized [0111], the apparatus comprising: a housing 201, the housing having a first compartment and a second compartment, the first compartment being a heating compartment for receiving smokable material in use, including a heater 205 for heating smokable material 206 received in the first compartment in use, and the second compartment being an electronics compartment and containing control circuitry 212 and power source 211, the first compartment and the second compartment being hermetically sealed from each other to minimize or prevent air or vapor flowing between the first compartment and the second compartment [0112]. The wall of 214 is interpreted as a divider wall.
Claims 1, 2, 7, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Liu (US 2015/0189915).
Liu [Fig. 6-7; 0067-0076] teaches an apparatus for receiving smokable material to enable at least one component of the smokable material to be volatilized, the apparatus comprising: a housing, the housing having a first compartment 2 and a second compartment 1/8, and a divider wall between the first compartment and the second compartment, the first compartment being a heating compartment for receiving smokable material in use, comprising a heater 6 in the first compartment for heating smokable material received in the first compartment in use, wherein the heater is tubular, having a first end and a second end and a hollow central portion providing a heating chamber in which smokable material is received in use, air being able to flow through one end of the tubular heater and out of the other end of the tubular heater, and the second compartment being an electronics compartment and containing a power source, the first compartment and the second compartment being isolated from each other. It is evident that via the divider wall between the first compartment 2 and the second compartment 8, the first compartment and the second compartment are hermetically sealed from each other to minimize or prevent air or vapor flowing between the first compartment and the second compartment.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsees as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Gavrielov.
Monsees does not specifically teach at least one seal for sealing at least a portion of the divider wall to the house. However, this configuration is known in the art as taught by Gavrielov [0039] and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply to the apparatus of Monsees to achieve predictable results, i.e. sealing between the compartments.
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Monsees as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Griffith (US 2013/0255702).
The housing of Monsees is interpreted to read on the claimed chassis. The claims do not require a separate housing and chassis. A recess is not disclosed. Griffith teaches an e-cigarette wherein a component edge is received in a groove (recess) of a chassis to facilitate placement [Fig. 7F; 0160]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure an edge of the divider wall Monsees to be received in a recess of the chassis to facilitate placement.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gavrielov as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Wu (US 2015/0208724).
Gavrielov as applied above teaches a seal between the divider wall and the housing (a chassis). A groove is not disclosed. However, providing a seal within a groove is well known in the art as taught by Wu [0024]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the seal of Gavrielov in a groove of the divider wall to achieve the predictable result of more securely connecting the seal to the divider wall and subsequently providing a seal between the divider wall and the housing.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gavrielov as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Qiuming (WO 2015/165083).
Gavrielov as applied above teaches a seal between the compartments but does not specify the remaining limitations. Qiuming teaches an e-cigarette wherein the heating wire (heater tail) connecting to heater 31 passes through the seal 51 in order to connect to the batter, as shown in Fig. 6-7. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure Gavrielov such that a heater tail passes through the seal between the first compartment and the second compartment and is connected to the power source within the second compartment to achieve the predictable result of electrically connecting the heater to the power source for vaporization of the smokable material.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gavrielov as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Alima (US 9,451,792).
Gavrielov does not teach the claimed configuration. Alima teaches a vaporizing device comprising a heat insulator 80 surrounding the heater for reducing heat loss from the heater to an exterior of the apparatus [Fig. 2-4]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply this configuration to the device of Gavrielov for an improved vaporization as suggested by Alima [abstract].
Claims 3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Wu (US 2015/0208724).
Liu as applied above teaches a divider wall and hermetically sealing the compartments from each other. A groove is not disclosed. However, providing a seal within a groove for sealing compartments from each other is well known in the art as taught by Wu [0024]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange a seal in a groove of the divider wall of Liu to achieve the predictable result providing a seal between the divider wall and the housing (chassis).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Griffith (US 2013/0255702).
Liu teaches the housing comprises a chassis [Liu Fig. 6] but a recess is not disclosed. Griffith teaches an e-cigarette wherein a component edge is received in a groove (recess) of a chassis to facilitate placement [Fig. 7F; 0160]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure an edge of the divider wall of Liu to be received in a recess of the chassis to facilitate placement.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Qiuming (WO 2015/165083).
Liu as applied above teaches a seal between the compartments but does not specify the remaining limitations. Qiuming teaches an e-cigarette wherein the heating wire (heater tail) connecting to heater 31 passes through the seal 51 in order to connect to the batter, as shown in Fig. 6-7. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure Liu such that a heater tail passes through the seal between the first compartment and the second compartment and is connected to the power source within the second compartment to achieve the predictable result of electrically connecting the heater to the power source for vaporization of the smokable material.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Goggin (US 2016/0198771).
Liu teaches the housing has a first opening 3 to a heating chamber 5 through which smokable material can pass so as to be received within and removed from the heating chamber; the housing has a second opening 17 to the heating chamber; and the housing comprises a seal 10 for selectively covering the second opening [Fig 6]. A door is not disclosed. Goggin teaches a vaporizer wherein an outer body comprises a door to seal a cartridge within the device [0045]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to replace the plug of Liu with a door for the housing, the door being movable between a first position in which the second opening is closed by the door and a second position in which the second opening is open, to achieve the predictable result of selectively covering and sealing the second opening.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Alima.
Liu does not teach the claimed configuration. Alima teaches a vaporizing device wherein a heat insulator 80 surrounds the heater 60 for reducing heat loss from the heater to an exterior of the apparatus [Fig. 2-4; col. 5, l. 21-24], which would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply to Liu for the same reason.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-12 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-7 of U.S. Patent No. 12,268,240. Although the claims at issue are not identical as the ‘240 patent claims contain additional limitations not recited in the instant claims, they are not patentably distinct from each other because all of the instant limitations are recited in the ‘240 claims. All of the limitations of instant claim 1 are recited in claim 1 of the ‘240 patent. All of the limitations of instant claims 2-12 are further recited in claims 1-7 of the 849 patent.
Conclusion
/ERIC YAARY/ Examiner, Art Unit 1755