DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 5, 9, 14 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
The term “substantially perpendicular” in claim 5 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ substantially perpendicular” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation is unclear what constitutes “substantially perpendicular”, the specification as originally filed discuss “substantially perpendicular” e.g., +/- 5 ° does not discuss the limitation as opposed to the second direction that is not well defined.
The term “substantially identical” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially identical” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation is unclear what constitutes “substantially identical”, the specification as originally filed does not disclose discuss “substantially identical” as opposed to the first bracket and second bracket that are not well defined.
The term “ substantially ” in claim 14 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “ substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation is unclear what constitutes “substantially”, the specification as originally filed does not disclose discuss “substantially” as opposed to the second bracket length that is not well defined.
The term “substantially parallel” in claim 18 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially parallel” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The limitation is unclear what constitutes “substantially parallel”, the specification as originally filed does not disclose discuss “substantially parallel” as opposed to a first bracket that is not well defined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11, 16-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (EP 4067956 A1), hereafter Sato in view of Dallmann (US 20210247002 A1), hereafter Dallmann.
With regard to claim 1, Sato teaches a bracket system (plurality of guide members 502A - 502H, guide member 502; Fig 5-8) for an equipment rack (first to fourth distribution racks 10A-10D; Fig. 1, distribution rack 10; Fig. 2) of a fiber optic network (cabling system 1, data center 2, optical fiber-containing cables C1 - C7; Fig. 1) for organizing a plurality of cables (bundle of cables 110; Fig. 4) that provide optical connections to network equipment (1, 2; Fig. 1) mounted in the equipment rack (10A-10D; Fig. 1, 10; Fig. 2), the bracket system (502, 502A - 502H; Fig. 5-8) comprising:
a first bracket (first guide member 502A; Fig. 5) configured to be mounted to the equipment rack (10A-10D; Fig. 1, 10; Fig. 2), wherein the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5) includes a plurality of elongate furcation slots (plurality of arm parts 510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) arranged along a first direction of the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5), and wherein each of the plurality of elongate furcation slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) extends along a second direction of the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5, 502; Fig. 6) transverse to the first direction; and
a second bracket (second guide member 502B; Fig. 5) configured to be mounted to the equipment rack (10A-10D; Fig. 1, 10; Fig. 2) in spaced relation to the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5), wherein the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) includes a plurality of elongate leg slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) arranged along a third direction of the second bracket (502B, Fig. 5, 502, Fig. 6), and wherein each of the plurality of elongate leg slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) extends along a fourth direction of the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) transverse to the third direction.
Sato does not teach the bracket holding a harness.
Dallmann does teach the bracket holding a cable harnesses (285; Fig. 2A, col.2, para. 1-10, col. 3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of cable harnesses taught by Dallmann into the bracket system taught by Sato to implement harnesses for cables to manage cable routing to provide thermal stability, space optimization, cable relief, and cable protection which can result in less network down time.
With regard to claim 2, Sato/Dallmann teaches the bracket system (502, 502A - 502H; Fig. 5-8) of claim 1, wherein the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5) comprises:
a base wall (base part 504, rear end area 504A, front end area 504B; Fig. 6) extending along the first direction; and
a plurality of elongate fingers (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6) extending from the base wall (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6), each of the plurality of elongate fingers (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6) extending in the second direction,
wherein each of the plurality of elongate furcation slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig 6-7) is formed by an adjacent pair of the plurality of elongate fingers (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig 6).
With regard to claim 3, Sato/Dallmann teaches the bracket system (502, 502A - 502H; Fig. 5-8) of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of fingers (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6) on the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5) extends from the base wall (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6) in a cantilevered manner.
With regard to claim 4, Sato/Dallmann teaches the bracket system (502, 502A - 502H; Fig. 5-8) of claim 2, wherein each of the plurality of elongate fingers (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) of the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5) includes a base end (504B; Fig. 6) connected to the base wall (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6) and a tip end (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7 ) spaced from the base wall (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6), wherein each of the plurality of elongate furcation slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) of the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5) includes a base end (504B; Fig. 6) closed off by the base wall (504, 504A, 504B, Fig. 6) and a tip end (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6) spaced from the base wall (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6), and wherein each of the plurality of elongate furcation slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) of the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5) is open at the tip end (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6).
With regard to claim 5, Sato/Dallmann teaches the bracket system (502, 502A - 502H; Fig. 5-8) of claim 1, wherein the second direction is substantially perpendicular to the first direction.
With regard to claim 6, Sato/Dallmann teaches the bracket system (502, 502A - 502H; Fig. 5-8) of claim 1, wherein the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) comprises:
a base wall (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6) extending along the third direction; and
a plurality of elongate fingers (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6) extending from the base wall (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6), each of the plurality of elongate fingers (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6- 7) extending in the fourth direction,
wherein each of the plurality of elongate leg slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) is formed by an adjacent pair of the plurality of elongate fingers (510A - 510D, 510Z, Fig 6, Fig. 7).
With regard to claim 7, Sato/Dallmann teaches the bracket system (502, 502A - 502H; Fig. 5-8) of claim 6, wherein each of the plurality of elongate fingers (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) of the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) extends from the base wall (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6) in a cantilevered manner.
With regard to claim 8, Sato/Dallmann teaches the bracket system (502, 502A - 502H; Fig. 5-8) of claim 6, wherein each of the plurality of elongate fingers (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6) of the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) includes a base end (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6) connected to the base wall (504, 504A, 504B; Fig 6) and a tip end (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6) spaced from the base wall (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6), wherein each of the plurality of elongate leg slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) of the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) includes a base end (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6) closed off by the base wall (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6) and a tip end (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6) spaced from the base wall (504, 504A, 504B; Fig. 6), and wherein each of the plurality of elongate leg slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) of the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) is open at the tip end (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6).
With regard to claim 9, Sato/Dallmann teaches the bracket system (502, 502A - 502H; Fig. 5-8) of claim 1, wherein the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5) and the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) are substantially identical to each other.
With regard to claim 10, Sato teaches an equipment rack (10, 10A-10D; Fig. 1-2) of a fiber optic network (1, 2, C1 - C7; Fig. 1), comprising:
a plurality of equipment patch panels (adapter retaining portion 322A; Figs. 9-11) mounted in the equipment rack (10, 10A-10D; Fig. 1-2), wherein each of the plurality of equipment patch panels (322A; Fig. 9 -11) includes a plurality of connector port (portion of adapters 322; see Fig. 10);
a plurality of cables (bundle of cables 110 and optical fiber cables 100; Fig. 4) arranged in the equipment rack (10; Fig. 2), wherein each of the plurality of cables (bundle of cables 110; Fig. 4) comprises:
a fiber optic cable (optical fiber cables 100; Fig. 4) carrying a plurality of optical fibers (120; Fig. 3) and having a network end and a rack end, the network end terminating the plurality of optical fibers (120; Fig. 8) and configured to be connected to the fiber optic network (1, 2, C1 - C7; Fig. 1),
wherein the rack end of each optical fiber (100; Fig. 4) is terminated by at least one secondary fiber optic connector (140A; Fig. 11), and
wherein the plurality of secondary fiber optic connectors (140A; Fig. 11) are configured to be connected to connector ports (ports of adapters 322; Fig. 11) in the plurality of equipment patch panels (322A; Fig. 10) mounted in the equipment rack (10; Fig. 2); and
a bracket system (502, 502A - 502H; Fig. 5-8) mounted to the equipment rack (10, 10A-10D; Fig 1- 2), wherein bracket system (502, 502A - 502H; Fig. 5-8) includes a first bracket (502A; Fig. 5) and a second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) mounted to the equipment rack (10, 10A-10D; Fig. 1-2) in spaced-apart relation to define a meshing region therebetween, and further wherein:
the first bracket (502A, Fig. 5) includes a plurality of elongate furcation slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig6-7) arranged along a first direction of the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5), and each of the plurality of elongate furcation slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6- 7) extends along a second direction of the first bracket (502A, Fig. 5) transverse to the first direction; and
the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) includes a plurality of elongate leg slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) arranged along a third direction of the second bracket (502B; Fig 5), and each of the plurality of elongate leg slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) extends along a fourth direction of the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) transverse to the third direction;
wherein the plurality of cables (100 and 110, Fig. 4) are received in the plurality of elongate furcation slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig 6- 7) in the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5).
Sato does not teach cables (bundle of cables 110; Fig. 4) in harnesses and breakout leg.
Dallmann teaches the rack harness (208; Fig 2A, col. 2, para. 25, lines 1-10) arrange, furcation housing (285; Fig. 2A, col. 3, para. 26, lines 1-7) including cable end (185; Fig 1D, col. 4, para. 41, lines 6-8) and breakout end (208; Fig 2A), a breakout leg (208; Fig 2A) having furcation end (175; Fig 1D).
a plurality of cable harnesses (cable harness trunks enclosing cables 208; Fig. 2B, col. 6, para. 50, lines 26-32), wherein each of the plurality of cable harnesses (208; Fig. 2B) comprises:
a fiber optical cable (208; Fig. 2A) carrying a plurality of optical fibers (col. 2, para. 25, lines 1-10) and having a network end and a furcation end (the fiber cables have two ends, one end being a trunk portion end, i.e. network end, and the other end being a plurality of legs forming furcated ends of individual fibers; see furcation housing (285; Fig. 2A) ) the network end including at least one primary fiber optic connector terminating the plurality of optical fibers and configured to be connect to the fiber optic network (although not explicitly taught by Dallman, it is generally considered elementary in the art to provide a primary optical connector to connect a network end of a fiber optical cable to a network for the purpose of connecting the cable to the network to transmit optical signals in a standard manner);
a furcation housing (285; Fig. 2A) including a cable end and a breakout end, the cable end (275; Fig. 2A) of the furcation housing (285; Fig. 2A) receiving the furcation end of the fiber optic cable (see Figure 2A);
a plurality of breakout legs (208; Fig. 2A) having a furcation end (extending into furcation housing 285; Fig. 2A) and a rack end (the opposing end), wherein each of the plurality of breakout legs is configured to carry at least one optical fiber (208; Fig. 2A) of the plurality of optical fibers, wherein the furcation end of each of the plurality of breakout legs is received in the breakout end of the furcation housing (285; Fig. 2A), wherein the rack end of the plurality of breakout legs is terminated by at least one secondary fiber optic connector (secondary optical fibers terminating breakout legs are known in the art, wherein secondary optical connectors for individual fibers are taught by Sato as discussed above), and wherein the plurality of secondary fiber optic connectors from the plurality of breakout legs is configured to be connected to connector ports in the plurality of equipment patch panels mounted in the equipment rack (connectors are configured for connection to adapter ports as understood by a person of ordinary skill in the art).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the plurality of cable harnesses, furcation housing, breakout legs taught by Dallmann into the equipment rack by Sato in place of the bundle of cables, to implement harnesses for cables to manage cable routing and to provide thermal stability, space optimization, cable relief, and cable protection which can result in less network down time, furcation housing improves fiber management, splicing, termination, trouble shooting, easier maintenance.
With regard to claim 11, Sato/Dallmann teaches the equipment rack (10, 10A-10D, Fig. 1-2) of claim 10, wherein the number of elongate leg slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) in the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) is no less than the number of equipment patch panels (322A; each cassette 320 in section 30 includes a patch panel 322A; Figures 2, 3, and 9-10) in the equipment rack (10, 10A-10D, Fig. 1-2).
With regard to claim 16, Sato teaches the equipment rack (10, 10A-10D, Fig 1-2) of claim 10, wherein the plurality of cables (bundle of cables 110; Fig. 4) are arranged in rows in the plurality of elongate furcation slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) in the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5), and wherein cable (100 and 110; Fig. 4) in each row is meshed to the plurality of elongate leg slots (510A - 510D, 510Z, Fig. 6-7) in the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5) so as to reside in a common meshing plane.
Sato does not teach furcation housing forming harness, breakout legs forming harnesses.
Dallmann teaches furcation housing (285; Fig. 2A) forming cable harness (208; Fig. 2A), breakout legs forming cable harnesses (208; Fig. 2A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have incorporate the plurality of cable harnesses, breakout legs and furcation housing taught by Dallmann into the bracket system taught by Sato incorporation harnesses improves airflow, thermal management, maintenance, scalable, wherein breakout legs optimize cable management, simplifying installation, multiple fiber cable into a single cable.
With regard to claim 17, Sato teaches the equipment rack (10, 10A-10D, Fig. 1-2) of claim 16, wherein the common meshing plane from each of the respective rows of cable (100 and 110; Fig. 4) in the first bracket (502A, Fig. 5) do not intersect each other.
Sato does not teach bracket hold harness.
Dallmann teaches bracket hold cable harnesses (208; Fig. 2A) in the rack (system 299A).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have incorporate the plurality of cable harnesses taught by Dallmann into the bracket system taught by Sato to implement harnesses for cables to manage, cable routing to provide thermal stability, space optimization, cable relief, correctly identifying problems, cable protection which can result in less network down time
With regard to claim 18, Sato teaches the equipment rack (10, 10A-10D; Fig. 1-2) of claim 17, wherein the meshing plane from respective rows of cables (100 and 110; Fig.4) in the first bracket (502A; Fig. 5) are substantially parallel to each other.
Sato does not teach bracket hold harness.
Dallmann teaches bracket hold cable harnesses (208; Fig. 2A) in the rack.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have incorporate the cable harnesses taught by Dallmann into the bracket system taught by Sato to implement harnesses for cables to manage, cable routing to provide thermal stability, space optimization, cable relief, correctly identifying problems, cable protection which can result in less network down time.
With regard to claim 20, Sato teaches a method of installing a cable (100 and 110; Fig. 4) in an equipment rack (10, 10A-10D Fig 1-2) of a fiber optic network (1, 2, C1-7; Fig. 1), the cable (100 and 110; Fig. 4) comprising:
a fiber optic cable (100; Fig. 4) carrying a plurality of optical fibers (120; Fig. 8) and at least one primary fiber optic connector (140; Fig. 11) terminating the plurality of optical fibers (100 and 110; Fig. 4) and configured to be connected to the fiber optic network (1, 2, and C1 - C7, Fig. 1);
the fiber optic cable (100 and 110; Fig. 4); and
configured to carry at least one optical fiber (100 and 110; Fig 4) of the plurality of optical fiber (110 and 100; Fig.4), at least one secondary fiber optic connector (140; Fig. 11),
the equipment rack (10, 10A-10D; Fig. 1-2) comprising a bracket system (502, 502A - 502H; Fig. 5-8) mounted to the equipment rack (10, 10A-10D; Fig. 1-2), wherein bracket system (502,502A-502H; Fig. 5-6) includes a first bracket (502A; Fig 5) and a second bracket (502B; Fig 5) mounted to the equipment rack (10, 10A-10D; Fig 1-2) in spaced-apart relation to define a meshing region therebetween, and further wherein:
the first bracket (502A; Fig 5) includes a plurality of elongate furcation slots (510A - 510D, 510Z, Fig 6-7) arranged along a first direction of the first bracket (502A Fig 5), and each of the plurality of elongate furcation slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig 6-7) extends along a second direction of the first bracket (502A; Fig 5) transverse to the first direction, and
the second bracket (502B; Fig 5) includes a plurality of elongate leg slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig 6- 7) arranged along a third direction of the second bracket (502B; Fig 5), and each of the plurality of elongate leg slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig. 6-7) extends along a fourth direction of the second bracket (502B; Fig 5) transverse to the third direction,
the method comprising:
i) one of the plurality of elongate furcation slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig 6-7) in the first bracket (502A Fig 5);
ii) one or more of the plurality of elongate leg slots (510A - 510D, 510Z; Fig 6-7) in the second bracket (502B; Fig 5); and
iii) connecting the plurality of secondary connectors (100 and 110; Fig. 4) more of the plurality of equipment patch panels (10A-10D; Fig. 1) mounted in the equipment rack (10, 10A-10D, Fig. 1-2).
Sato does not teach method of installing harnesses in the rack, furcation housing having furcation end, breakout legs
Dallmann does teach method of installing harness (285; Fig. 2A, col. 2, para. 25, lines 1-3) in the rack, furcation housing (285; Fig. 2A, col. 2, para. 25, lines 3-6) having furcation end (175; Fig 1D) and breakout legs (208; Fig 2A, col. 2, para. 26, lines 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to have incorporate the plurality of cable harnesses, breakout leg taught by Dallmann into the bracket system taught by Sato incorporate harnesses for cables to manage cable routing to provide thermal stability, cable relief, correctly identifying problems, cable protection which can result in less network down time, furcation housing manageable bundle legs, space optimization, cable relief, safe bend radius control, improve ventilation, easier debugging, breakout legs optimize bandwidth, lower latency, reduce clutter, improve thermal temperature.
Claims 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sato et al. (EP 4067956 A1), hereafter Sato in view of Dallmann (US 20210247002 A1), hereafter Dallmann and in further view of Carter et al. (US 8750669 B2), hereafter Carter and Hoffer et al. (US 20090266607 A1), hereafter Hoffer.
With regard to claim 12, Sato/Dallmann teaches the equipment rack (distribution rack 10; Fig. 2) of claim 10, wherein each of the plurality of cables (plurality of bundle 110; Fig. 4) include optical fiber cables (optical fiber cable 100; Fig. 4) in the equipment rack (distribution rack 10; Fig. 2).
Sato/Dallman does not teach harness including breakout leg that is connected to the patch panels in the equipment rack (distribution rack 10; Fig. 2).
Carter teaches the equipment rack (100; Fig. 2, 1100; Fig. 6A) having plurality cable harnesses (cable harnesses 241-244; Fig. 3A, cable harnesses 1241-1244; Fig. 8A, 1245a-d; Fig. 6B) includes breakout legs (fiber cable 256; Fig. 3C, fiber cable 1256; Fig. 8B) that is connect (col. 10, lines 10-15) to patch panel (patch panel housing 300; Fig. 4A, patch panel 1300; Fig. 6A and 9A)
Hoffer teaches the equipment rack (equipment rack 106; Fig. 1, col. 2, para. 25, lines 1-8) includes plurality of cable (plurality of cable 114; FIG. 9-11) connected (col. 2, para. 23, lines 1-8) to each of the plurality of patch panels (plurality of patch panels 108; Fig. 1-3) in the equipment rack (equipment rack 106; Fig. 1-2 and 9-11).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate a plurality of cable harnesses and breakout legs taught by Carter and plurality patch panels taught by Hoffer into the equipment rack suggested by the teachings of Sato/Dallmann to implement harnesses for cables branching out via breakout legs connecting to their respective patch panel in the rack to manage and simplify cable routing to provide thermal stability, space optimization, cable relief, correctly identifying problems, cable protection, optimize cable space, improve plug and play expansion, which can result in less network down time, breakout leg improves port density, provides modular platform, scalable.
With regard to claim 13, Sato/Dallmann teaches the equipment rack (distribution rack 10; Fig. 2, distribution racks 10A-D; Fig. 1) of claim 10, wherein the second bracket (502B; Fig. 5, 502; Fig. 6) is arranged (Arrangement; see annotation in Fig. 4) in the equipment rack (distribution rack 10; Fig. 2, distribution racks 10A-D; Fig. 1) with plurality of elongate leg slots (plurality of arm parts 510A-D, 510Z; Fig. 6) in the second bracket (second guide member 502B; Fig. 5) that receives optical fiber (optical fiber cables 100; Fig. 4) couple within their respective plurality of distribution racks (10A-10D; Fig. 1, 10; Fig. 2).
Sato/Dallmann does not teach break out legs connecting to their respective patch panels.
Carter teaches the breakout legs (fiber cable 256; Fig. 3C, fiber cable 1256; Fig. 8B) that are optically connected (col. 2, lines 26-33) to the respective one of the plurality of equipment patch panels (patch panel housing 300; Fig. 4A, patch panel 1300; Fig. 6A).
Hoffer teaches the equipment rack (equipment rack 106; Fig. 1-2 and 9-11) of claim 10, wherein the second bracket (support brackets 130; Fig. 10-11) is arranged (col. 2, para. 23, lines 1-3) such that for each of the plurality of the equipment patch panels (patch panel 108; Fig. 1-3) in the equipment rack (equipment rack 106; Fig. 1-2 and 9-11) connected (interface 118; Fig. 1-3 and 9-11) to the respective one of the plurality of equipment patch panels (patch panel 108; Fig. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate breakout legs taught by Carter that optically connected to their respective patch panels taught by Hoffer into the bracket system taught by Sato/Dallmann to optimize temperature, cable relief, easy debugging, low maintenance, improve cable routing.
With regard to claim 14, Sato/Dallmann/Carter/Hoffer teaches the equipment rack (distribution rack 10; Fig. 2) of claim 13, wherein the plurality of elongate leg slots (plurality of guide members 502A to 502H; Fig. 5) in the second bracket (second guide member 502B; Fig. 5) have substantially the same length.
Sato does not teach breakout legs.
Carter further teaches the plurality breakout legs (individual fiber cables 256; Fig. 3C, individual fiber cables 1256; Fig. 8B).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the breakout legs taught by Carter into the bracket system taught by Sato to optimize temperature, improve airflow, cable relief, easy debugging, low maintenance, improve cable routing.
With regard to claim 15, Sato/Dallmann/Carter/Hoffer teaches the equipment rack (distribution rack 10; Fig. 2) of claim 13, wherein the plurality of elongate leg slots (plurality of guide members 502A to 502H; Fig. 5) in the second bracket (502C-H; Fig. 5) has different lengths.
Sato does not teach the breakout legs.
Carter further teaches plurality breakout leg (individual fiber cables 256 and first end 251; Fig. 3C).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention, to incorporate the breakout legs taught by Carter into the bracket system taught by Sato to optimize temperature, cable relief, easy debugging, low maintenance, improve cable routing, properly identify all cables to ensure adequate ventilation for thermal stability.
Claims 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over European Patent Office to Sato et al. (EP 4067956 A1), hereafter Sato in view of Dallmann (US20210247002 A1), hereafter Dallmann and in further view of Baldassano et al. (US 8655137 B2), hereafter Baldassano in further view of Carter et al. (US 8750669 B2), hereafter Carter and in further view Hoffer et al. (US 20090266607 A1), hereafter Hoffer.
With regard to claim 19, Sato/Dallmann teaches the equipment rack (distribution rack 10; Fig.2) of claim 10, wherein the equipment rack (distribution rack 10; Fig.2) comprise of the plurality of cable (bundle 110; Fig. 2, optical fiber cables 100; Fig. 4) insert into the frame (frame 90; Fig. 2)
Sato/Dallmann does not teach that one connector from harnesses is connected to respective connector ports in the main patch panel.
Baldassano teaches a main patch panel (overhead patch panel 5; Fig. 7A) includes cord bundle (cord bundle 44; Fig. 7A, col. 5, lines 43-46) that includes patch cord (patch cords 36; Fig. 7A) include connectors (connectors 38; Fig. 4A) connecting to cabinet (cabinet 10; Fig. 2).
Carter teaches the cable harnesses (cable harnesses 241-244, cable harnesses 1241-1244, 1245a-d; Fig. 6B) is connected to a respective connector (connector 260; Fig. 3C) port in the patch panel (patch panel housing 300; Fig. 3A).
Hoffer teaches a plurality of cables (plurality of cables, cable 114; Fig. 9) connect to plurality of patch panel (patch panel 108; Fig. 1-3).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to incorporate the connector(s) from plurality harnesses taught by Carter, alternatively connector(s) from plurality harnesses taught by Hoffer connected by main patch panel connector ports taught by Baldassano mounted to the frame taught by Sato to implement a plug and play modular design, centralize cable management, optimize troubleshooting, easier maintenance, scalable, streamline cable management, optimize airflow.
Conclusion
/JOSIMAR D COLINDREZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2874
/THOMAS A HOLLWEG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2874