DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 7 recites “the at least one bypass valve includes an anti-rotation feature”. It is unclear what portion of the bypass valve includes an anti-rotation feature. Is it the housing in relation to the manifold body? Is it the valve member in relation to the housing? Is it the valve positioning assembly in relation to the housing? Also, what claimed structure would require an anti-rotation feature
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 14 recites “the at least one bypass valve includes an anti-rotation feature,…”.
It is unclear what claimed structure requires an anti-rotation feature?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, 5, 8, 9, 11-13 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1)(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kapur, U.S. Patent Publication 2003/0127384 .
As per claims 1 and 17, Kapur discloses an engine oil system for an aircraft propulsion system (paras [0001, 0002]), the engine oil system comprising:
a filter assembly (9) including a filter manifold (fig. E-1) and at least one bypass valve (30, 21, 13) [bypass valve, tubular extension, cover];
the filter manifold (fig. E-1) including a manifold body (fig. E-1), an oil inlet (fig. E-1), and an oil outlet (fig. E-1), the manifold body forming an inlet passage (3), an outlet passage (4), and a valve cavity (fig. E-1), the inlet passage disposed at the oil inlet, the outlet passage disposed at the oil outlet, the valve cavity (fig. E-1) disposed at the outlet passage, the manifold body including a wall portion (fig. E-1) (wall portion includes all wall surfaces of module housing 2 and tubular extension 21) extending between and to an inlet passage side surface (fig. E-1) and an outlet passage side surface (fig. E-1), the inlet passage side surface forming the inlet passage, the outlet passage side surface forming the outlet passage, the wall portion forming a bypass channel (10) extending between and to the inlet passage side surface and the outlet passage side surface; and
the at least one bypass valve (30, 21, 13) including a housing (fig. E-1), a valve member (fig. E-1), and a valve positioning assembly (18),
the housing (fig. E-1) disposed on the manifold body within the valve cavity (fig. E-1), the housing (fig. E-1) extending circumferentially about a valve axis to form a valve chamber,
the valve member (fig. E-1) positioned within the valve chamber, the valve member including a valve body forming a valve plug end (fig. E-1), the valve member positionable along the valve axis in a closed position (fig. 1) and an open position (fig. 2), in the closed position of the valve member the valve plug end is seated on the wall portion obstructing the bypass channel (10), in the open position of the valve member (fig. E-1) the valve plug end (fig. E-1) is separated from the wall portion, and
the valve position assembly (18) disposed at the housing (fig. E-1), the valve position assembly (18) configured to control a position of the valve member in the closed position (fig. 1) or the open position (fig. 2).
As per claims 4 and 12, Kapur as set forth above, discloses the inlet passage (3) extends along an inlet passage centerline axis, the outlet passage (4) extends along an outlet passage centerline axis, and the inlet passage centerline axis is substantially parallel to the outlet passage centerline axis (fig. 1).
As per claims 5 and 13, Kapur as set forth above, discloses the inlet passage (3) extends along an inlet passage centerline axis, the outlet passage (4) extends along an outlet passage centerline axis, and the valve axis is substantially orthogonal to the inlet passage centerline axis and the outlet passage centerline axis (fig. 1).
As per claims 8 and 15, Kapur as set forth above, discloses the valve body (30) (fig. E-1, valve plug end) extends longitudinally between and to a first longitudinal end and a second longitudinal end, the valve body includes a first semi-circular end portion at the first longitudinal end, a second semi-circular end portion at the second longitudinal end, and an intermediate portion connecting the first semi-circular end portion and the second semi-circular end portion.
There is no claimed feature that defines a delineation between the first and second semi-circular portions, therefore the intermediate portion can be defined as any portion between the first and second ends.
As per claims 9 and 16, Kapur as set forth above, discloses the first semi-circular end portion and the second semi-circular end portion have a diameter, the intermediate portion has a length extending between and to the first semi-circular end portion and the second semi-circular end portion, and a ratio of the length to the diameter is less than or equal to 1.75.
There is no claimed feature that defines a delineation between the first and second semi-circular portions, therefore the intermediate portion can be defined as any portion between the first and second ends. In this case, the intermediate portion has 0 length. Therefore, the ratio of the length to the diameter is 0/diameter of semi-circular end portion = 0. Zero is less than 1.75
As per claim 11, Kapur discloses an engine oil system for an aircraft propulsion system (paras [0001, 0002]), the engine oil system comprising:
a pump (abstract) configured to circulate oil along an oil flow path through one or more engine oil loads (para [0002]); and
a filter assembly (9) forming a portion of the oil flow path (paras [0002-0004]), the filter assembly including a filter manifold (fig. E-1), a filter (12), and at least one bypass valve (30, 21, 13) [bypass valve, tubular extension, cover];
the filter manifold (fig. E-1) including a manifold body (fig. E-1), an oil inlet (fig. E-1), and an oil outlet (fig. E-1), the manifold body forming an inlet passage (3), an outlet passage (4), and a valve cavity (fig. E-1), the inlet passage extending between and to the oil inlet and the filter, the outlet passage extending between and to the oil outlet and the filter, the manifold body including a wall portion (fig. E-1) (wall portion includes all wall surfaces of module housing 2 and tubular extension 21) forming the inlet passage (3) and the outlet passage (4), the wall portion forming a bypass channel (10) extending between and to the inlet passage (3)and the outlet passage (4); and
the at least one bypass valve (30, 21, 13) including a housing (fig. E-1), a valve member (fig. E-1), and a valve positioning assembly (18),
the housing (fig. E-1) mounted on the manifold body, the housing extending circumferentially about a valve axis to form a valve chamber,
the valve member (fig. E-1) positioned within the valve chamber, the valve member including a valve body forming a valve plug end (fig. E-1), the valve member translatable along the valve axis in a closed position (fig. 1) and an open position (fig. 2), in the closed position of the valve member the valve plug end is seated on the wall portion obstructing the bypass channel (10), in the open position of the valve member (fig. E-1) the valve plug end (fig. E-1) is separated from the wall portion, and
the valve position assembly (18) disposed at the housing (fig. E-1), the valve position assembly (18) including a spring (18) biasing the valve member (fig. E-1) in the closed position (fig. 1).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3 and17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapur, U.S. Patent Publication 2003/0127384 in view of Kane, U.S. Patent 7,290,562.
As per claims 2 and 17, Kapur as set for above, Kapur does not disclose the valve member further includes a piston, stem and a valve body, the piston is disposed within the valve chamber, and the stem extends along the valve axis between and to the piston and the valve body; the valve body forming a valve plug end, the valve member positionable along the valve axis in a closed position and an open position, in the closed position of the valve member the valve plug end is seated on the wall portion obstructing the bypass channel, in the open position of the valve member the valve plug end is separated from the wall portion.
However, Kane in his Non-return Valve invention teaches the use of a non-return valve including a piston (4) (fig. 2), a stem (portion of 4 with bores 52) and a valve body (56). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Kapur with a plastics based non-return return valve, as taught by Kane, for the purpose of increasing response times due to a lighter weight piston and/or reduced cost.
As per claims 3 and 18, Kapur and Kane as set forth above, Kapur as modified, Kane discloses the valve position assembly (fig. 2, Kane) includes a spring (16) disposed within the valve chamber (24, Kane) [reception bore], the spring (16) is positioned between and contacting the housing (22) (spring cup 22 is part of the valve chamber and housing) and the piston (4), and the spring biases the valve member in the closed position (fig. 2).
As per claim 19, Kapur and Kane as set forth above, Kane discloses the valve body (56) (fig. 2) extends longitudinally between and to a first longitudinal end and a second longitudinal end, the valve body includes a first semi-circular end portion at the first longitudinal end, a second semi-circular end portion at the second longitudinal end, and an intermediate portion connecting the first semi-circular end portion and the second semi-circular end portion.
There is no claimed feature that defines a delineation between the first and second semi-circular portions, therefore the intermediate portion can be defined as any portion between the first and second ends.
As per claim 20, Kapur and Kane as set forth above, Kane discloses the first semi-circular end portion and the second semi-circular end portion have a diameter, the intermediate portion has a length extending between and to the first semi-circular end portion and the second semi-circular end portion, and a ratio of the length to the diameter is less than or equal to 1.75.
There is no claimed feature that defines a delineation between the first and second semi-circular portions, therefore the intermediate portion can be defined as any portion between the first and second ends. In this case, the intermediate portion has 0 length. Therefore, the ratio of the length to the diameter is 0/diameter of semi-circular end portion = 0. Zero is less than 1.75
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapur, U.S. Patent Publication 2003/0127384 in view of Egan, U.S. Patent 4,512,299.
As per claim 6, Kapur as set forth above, does not disclose the at least one bypass valve includes a plurality of bypass valves. However, Egan et al. in their Automotive Engine with Improved Multifilter Lubrication System invention teaches the use of multiple oil filter assemblies (fig) (col. 2, lines 14-59).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the engine oil system of Kapur with multiple filter modules (each containing a bypass valve), as taught by Egan et al., for the purpose of filtering different oil flows with varying micron filter media for optimized performance with more critical loads in the lubrication circuit (col. 2, lines 14-59).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kapur, U.S. Patent Publication 2003/0127384.
As per claims 7 and 14, Kapur as set forth above, discloses the claimed invention except for the at least one bypass valve includes an anti-rotation feature, the anti-rotation feature includes a slot and a protrusion disposed in the slot, the slot is formed by the valve member and the protrusion is formed by the housing. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to ensure features of a bypass valve requiring orientation use an anti-rotation feature since examiner takes Official Notice that the use of keys or cooperating tabs/protrusions, geometric shapes, or other mechanisms to resist rotational motion are well known in the art.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 10 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: the prior art of record fails teach or suggest An engine oil system for an aircraft propulsion system, the engine oil system comprising: a filter assembly including a filter manifold and at least one bypass valve; the filter manifold including a manifold body, an oil inlet, and an oil outlet, the manifold body forming an inlet passage, an outlet passage, and a valve cavity, the inlet passage disposed at the oil inlet, the outlet passage disposed at the oil outlet, the valve cavity disposed at the outlet passage, the manifold body including a wall portion extending between and to an inlet passage side surface and an outlet passage side surface, the inlet passage side surface forming the inlet passage, the outlet passage side surface forming the outlet passage, the wall portion forming a bypass channel extending between and to the inlet passage side surface and the outlet passage side surface; and the at least one bypass valve including a housing, a valve member, and a valve positioning assembly, the housing disposed on the manifold body within the valve cavity, the housing extending circumferentially about a valve axis to form a valve chamber, the valve member positioned within the valve chamber, the valve member including a valve body forming a valve plug end, the valve member positionable along the valve axis in a closed position and an open position, in the closed position of the valve member the valve plug end is seated on the wall portion obstructing the bypass channel, in the open position of the valve member the valve plug end is separated from the wall portion, and the valve position assembly disposed at the housing, the valve position assembly configured to control a position of the valve member in the closed position or the open position; wherein the valve body extends longitudinally between and to a first longitudinal end and a second longitudinal end, the valve body includes a first semi-circular end portion at the first longitudinal end, a second semi-circular end portion at the second longitudinal end, and an intermediate portion connecting the first semi-circular end portion and the second semi-circular end portion; wherein the first semi-circular end portion and the second semi-circular end portion have a diameter, the intermediate portion has a length extending between and to the first semi-circular end portion and the second semi-circular end portion, and a ratio of the length to the diameter is between 0.25 and 1.75.
/M.K.B/Examiner, Art Unit 3654
/ANNA M MOMPER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3619