DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-8 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amato (US 5918611) in view of Egan (US 11116179).
Regarding claim 1, Amato teaches a portable animal shelter comprising: (a) a base configured to receive an animal (saddle 30, col. 4, ll. 51-60, fig. 1); (b) a cover having a first portion (drape 106) and a second portion (canopy 38, fig. 1), wherein said first portion is coupled to said second portion (drape 106 is attached to canopy 38 via drape snaps 108, col. 7, ll. 63-66); and a frame assembly that is configured to support at least a portion of said cover above said base (pivoting arms 53 and vertical shank 32 supports drape 106 above saddle 30, fig. 1) but fails to teach (c) one or more thermodynamic elements configured to contact the animal, wherein said one or more thermodynamic elements are housed within a pocket that is coupled to an inner surface of said cover. However, Egan teaches one or more thermodynamic elements configured to contact the animal (heating pad 50, col. 7, ll. 39-42), wherein said one or more thermodynamic elements are housed within a pocket (pocket 23) that is coupled to an inner surface of said cover (col. 7, ll. 31-34). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Amato’s system with a material layer, the thermodynamic elements and pocket as taught by Egan to maintain an animal’s body temperature during various types of inclement weather.
Regarding claim 2, Amato as modified by Egan teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Amato further teaches wherein one or more securing members are coupled to a bottom side of said base, wherein said one or more securing members are configured to secure said base to a predetermined surface (harness 28, col. 4, ll. 64-67).
Regarding claim 3, Amato as modified by Egan teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Egan further teaches comprising one or more pieces of liquid-wicking material configured to contact the animal, wherein said one or more pieces of liquid-wicking material are coupled to said inner surface of said cover (col. 7, ll. 15-18).
Regarding claim 5, Amato as modified by Egan teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Egan further teaches wherein said one or more thermodynamic elements are packs, gel-packs, blocks, pads, mats, or combinations thereof capable of heating, cooling, or heating and cooling (heating pad, col. 7, ll. 39-40).
Regarding claim 6, Amato as modified by Egan teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Amato further teaches wherein first portion is releasably coupled to said second portion by one or more coupling members (drape 106 is attached to canopy 38 via drape snaps 108, col. 7, ll. 63-66), wherein said one or more coupling members are formed within said first portion and said second portion (fig. 1).
Regarding claim 7, Amato as modified by Egan teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Egan further teaches further comprising a towel configured to contact the animal, wherein said towel is at least partially coupled to said pocket (a material layer capable of wicking or moving moisture from the body, col. 7, ll. 15-19).
Regarding claim 8, Amato as modified by Egan teaches the invention substantially as claimed but fails to teach comprising a second pocket coupled to said inner surface of said cover, wherein said second pocket is configured to receive a second one or more thermodynamic elements. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have a plurality of pocket, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co.
Regarding claim 14, Amato as modified by Egan teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Amato further teaches wherein said base is separate from said cover (saddle 30 is separate from drape 106 and canopy 38, fig. 1).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Amato in view of Egan, as applied to claim 1 above, further in view of Beeghly et al. (US 5537954 henceforth Beeghly).
Regarding claim 4, Amato as modified by Egan teaches the invention substantially as claimed and Egan further teaches wherein said pocket comprises: (a) one or more compartments that are configured to receive said one or more thermodynamic elements (pocket 23, col. 7, ll. 31-34) but fails to teach (b) a flap extending a length of said pocket, wherein said flap is transitionable between an open position and a closed position; and (c) one or more coupling members that releasably secure said flap in said closed position, thereby retaining said one or more thermodynamic elements in said one or more compartments. However, Beeghly teaches a flap extending a length of said pocket (flap 32, fig. 5), wherein said flap is transitionable between an open position and a closed position (col. 5, ll. 45-46); and (c) one or more coupling members that releasably secure said flap in said closed position, thereby retaining said one or more thermodynamic elements in said one or more compartments (snaps 32, col. 5, ll. 46-50). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Amato’s system with a flap and snap as taught by Beeghly to prevent unwanted disposition of the thermodynamic element during use.
Allowable Subject Matter.
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claims 10-13 and 16-28 are allowed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 12, filed 10/29/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-28 under 103 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Amato and Egan as disclosed in the above office action.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EBONY E EVANS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3647