DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to claims filed on 05/24/2024. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/07/2024 was filed after the filing date of the application. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-12, 14-15, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kulkarni et al. US 20190186480 A1 (hereinafter “Kulkarni”).
Regarding Claim 1, Kulkarni teaches a method of torque ripple compensation ([0031], Torque compensation may be performed to extract the ripple in an estimation of speed at a given mechanical frequency. A PI loop may be performed over the extracted ripple in the DQ domain) comprising:
receiving a speed difference signal (Fig. 1, ∑ ), wherein the speed difference signal is associated with a difference between a motor speed (Fig. 1, ω) and a reference speed (Fig. 1, ωref);
generating a torque compensation signal by:
generating, via an α-β construct, one or more α-β signals based speed difference signal (Fig. 1, V α);
converting, via a Park transform, the one or more α-β signals to one or more transformed signals (Fig. 1, α,β/ a,b,c);
filtering the one or more transformed signals with one or more low pass filters to provide one or more filtered signals ([0024], Furthermore, this speed, as applied to a high-pass, low-pass filter at mechanical frequency may yield the ripple or mechanical frequency);
regulating, via one or more PI regulators (Fig. 1, PI), the one or more filtered signals to provide one or more regulated signals;
converting, with an inverse Park transform, the one or more regulated signals to a torque compensation signal (Fig. 1, space vector modulation); and
controlling a motor based at least on the torque compensation signal (Fig. 1, 106; [0026]).
Regarding Claim 3, Kulkarni teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the speed difference signal is received based on a speed signal determined by one or more 3D accelerometers, an encoder, or a sensorless algorithm (Fig. 1, 112).
Regarding Claim 4, Kulkarni teaches the method of claim 1, wherein generating the torque compensation signal occurs when the motor speed is above a first threshold ([0043], resonance may occur at higher speeds. Thus, in some embodiments the torque compensation algorithm might only be applied at a lower speed. At the resonance frequency, the torque compensation may have amplified the vibration rather than suppressing it. Thus, motor controller 106 may be configured to selectively shut off torque compensation above a speed threshold, within a speed range, or at a resonant frequency or resonant frequency range).
Regarding Claim 5, Kulkarni teaches the method of claim 1, wherein generating the torque compensation signal occurs when a speed signal is in a range above a first threshold and below a second threshold ([0043], resonance may occur at higher speeds. Thus, in some embodiments the torque compensation algorithm might only be applied at a lower speed. At the resonance frequency, the torque compensation may have amplified the vibration rather than suppressing it. Thus, motor controller 106 may be configured to selectively shut off torque compensation above a speed threshold, within a speed range, or at a resonant frequency or resonant frequency range).
Regarding Claim 6, Kulkarni teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the method is performed by a motor controller (Fig. 1, 106).
Regarding Claim 7, Kulkarni teaches the method of claim 1, wherein the motor is a compressor motor for an air conditioner or a refrigerator ([0001] and [0027-0028]).
Regarding Claim 8, Kulkarni teaches an apparatus (Fig. 1, 100) for torque ripple compensation comprising:
a memory ([0016] & [0026]);
a processor (claim 1);
a motor controller (Fig. 1, 106) configured to control a motor and communicable with the processor and the memory, wherein the motor controller is further configured to:
receive a speed difference signal (Fig. 1, ∑ ), wherein the speed difference signal is associated with a difference between a motor speed (Fig. 1, ω) and a reference speed (Fig. 1, ωref);
generate a torque compensation signal by:
generate, via an α-β construct, one or more α-β signals based speed difference signal (Fig. 1, V α);
convert, via a Park transform, the one or more α-β signals to one or more transformed signals (Fig. 1, α,β/ a,b,c);
filter the one or more transformed signals with one or more low pass filters to provide one or more filtered signals ([0024], Furthermore, this speed, as applied to a high-pass, low-pass filter at mechanical frequency may yield the ripple or mechanical frequency);
regulate, via one or more PI regulators (Fig. 1, PI), the one or more filtered signals to provide one or more regulated signals;
convert, with an inverse Park transform, the one or more regulated signals to a torque compensation signal (Fig. 1, space vector modulation); and
control a motor based at least on the torque compensation signal (Fig. 1, 106; [0026]).
Regarding Claim 10, Kulkarni teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the speed difference signal is to be received based on a speed signal determined by one or more 3D accelerometers, an encoder, or a sensorless algorithm (Fig. 1, 112).
Regarding Claim 11, Kulkarni teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein to generate the torque compensation signal occurs when the motor speed is above a first threshold ([0043], resonance may occur at higher speeds. Thus, in some embodiments the torque compensation algorithm might only be applied at a lower speed. At the resonance frequency, the torque compensation may have amplified the vibration rather than suppressing it. Thus, motor controller 106 may be configured to selectively shut off torque compensation above a speed threshold, within a speed range, or at a resonant frequency or resonant frequency range).
Regarding Claim 12, Kulkarni teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein to generate the torque compensation signal occurs when a speed signal is in a range above a first threshold and below a second threshold ([0043], resonance may occur at higher speeds. Thus, in some embodiments the torque compensation algorithm might only be applied at a lower speed. At the resonance frequency, the torque compensation may have amplified the vibration rather than suppressing it. Thus, motor controller 106 may be configured to selectively shut off torque compensation above a speed threshold, within a speed range, or at a resonant frequency or resonant frequency range).
Regarding Claim 14, Kulkarni teaches the apparatus of claim 8, wherein the motor is a compressor motor for an air conditioner or a refrigerator ([0001] and [0027-0028]).
Regarding Claim 15, Kulkarni teaches a system (Fig. 1, 100) for torque ripple compensation comprising:
a motor (Fig. 1, 102);
a memory ([0016] & [0026]);
a processor (claim 1);
a motor controller (Fig. 1, 106) configured to control the motor and communicable with the processor and the memory, wherein the motor controller is further configured to:
receive a speed difference signal (Fig. 1, ∑ ), wherein the speed difference signal is associated with a difference between a motor speed (Fig. 1, ω) and a reference speed (Fig. 1, ωref);
generate a torque compensation signal by:
generate, via an α-β construct, one or more α-β signals based speed difference signal (Fig. 1, V α);
convert, via a Park transform, the one or more α-β signals to one or more transformed signals (Fig. 1, α,β/ a,b,c);
filter the one or more transformed signals with one or more low pass filters to provide one or more filtered signals ([0024], Furthermore, this speed, as applied to a high-pass, low-pass filter at mechanical frequency may yield the ripple or mechanical frequency);
regulate, via one or more PI regulators (Fig. 1, PI), the one or more filtered signals to provide one or more regulated signals;
convert, with an inverse Park transform, the one or more regulated signals to a torque compensation signal (Fig. 1, space vector modulation); and
control a motor based at least on the torque compensation signal (Fig. 1, 106; [0026]).
Regarding Claim 17, Kulkarni teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the speed difference signal is to be received based on a speed signal determined by one or more 3D accelerometers, an encoder, or a sensorless algorithm (Fig. 1, 112).
Regarding Claim 18, Kulkarni teaches the system of claim 15, wherein to generate the torque compensation signal occurs when the motor speed is above a first threshold ([0043], resonance may occur at higher speeds. Thus, in some embodiments the torque compensation algorithm might only be applied at a lower speed. At the resonance frequency, the torque compensation may have amplified the vibration rather than suppressing it. Thus, motor controller 106 may be configured to selectively shut off torque compensation above a speed threshold, within a speed range, or at a resonant frequency or resonant frequency range).
Regarding Claim 19, Kulkarni teaches the system of claim 15, wherein to generate the torque compensation signal occurs when a speed signal is in a range above a first threshold and below a second threshold ([0043], resonance may occur at higher speeds. Thus, in some embodiments the torque compensation algorithm might only be applied at a lower speed. At the resonance frequency, the torque compensation may have amplified the vibration rather than suppressing it. Thus, motor controller 106 may be configured to selectively shut off torque compensation above a speed threshold, within a speed range, or at a resonant frequency or resonant frequency range).
Regarding Claim 20, Kulkarni teaches the system of claim 15, wherein the motor is a compressor motor for an air conditioner or a refrigerator ([0001] and [0027-0028]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2, 9, 13, and 16 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Spenninger et al. US 20170047872 A1 teaches smooth compensation signal 25 that is available during operation of the motor for the compensation of the torque ripples is available as a result.
/CORTEZ M COOK/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2846