DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-11 and 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han et al. (US20230119122) in view of Lee et al. (US20180033540).
With respect to claim 1, Han teaches a multilayer ceramic capacitor (see FIG. 1, element 100) comprising: a ceramic body (see FIG. 1, element 110) including a first surface (see FIG. 1, element 3) and a second surface (see FIG. 1, element 4) facing each other in a first direction (see FIG. 1, second direction), a third surface (see FIG. 1, element 6) and a fourth surface (see FIG. 1, element 5) facing each other in a second direction (see FIG. 1, third direction) and connecting the first surface and the second surface, and a fifth surface (see FIG. 1, element 2) and a sixth surface (see FIG. 1, element 1) facing each other in a third direction (see FIG. 1, first direction) and connecting the first surface and the second surface; a plurality of first internal electrodes (see FIG. 2, element 121) and a plurality of second internal electrodes (see FIG. 2, element 122) disposed inside the ceramic body; and a first external electrode (see FIG. 2, element 130) and a second external electrode (see FIG. 2, element 140) disposed outside the ceramic body, wherein the first external electrode includes: a first end portion disposed on the first surface and electrically connected to the plurality of first internal electrodes (see FIG. 2, element 131), a first side portion extending from the first end portion to at least one of the third surface, the fourth surface, the fifth surface, and the sixth surface (see FIG. 2, element 131), and a first conductive resin layer covering at least a portion of the first side portion (see FIG. 2, element 133), where the first conductive resin layer includes a first conductive connection portion (see Han FIG. 4, element 132a, paragraph 50), wherein the second external electrode includes: a second end portion disposed on the second surface and electrically connected to the plurality of second internal electrodes (see FIG. 2, element 141), a second side portion extending from the second end portion to at least one of the third surface, the fourth surface, the fifth surface, and the sixth surface (see FIG. 2, element 141), and a second conductive resin layer covering at least a portion of the second side portion (see FIG. 2, element 143), where the second conductive resin layer includes a second conductive connection portion (see Han FIG. 2, element 143, paragraph 50).
Han does not expressly teach that the first conductive connection portion includes, based on a total weight of metals in the first conductive connection portion: tin (Sn) in an amount of 36 wt% or more and 50.4 wt% or less, and bismuth (Bi) in an amount of 14 wt% or more and 19.6 wt% or less, and the second conductive connection portion includes, based on a total weight of metals in the second conductive connection portion: tin (Sn) in an amount of 36 wt% or more and 50.4 wt% or less, and bismuth (Bi) in an amount of 14 wt% or more and 19.6 wt% or less.
Lee, on the other hand, teaches the first conductive connection portion includes (see FIG. 4, elements 131b, paragraphs 51), based on a total weight of metals in the first conductive connection portion: tin (Sn) in an amount of 36 wt% or more and 50.4 wt% or less, and bismuth (Bi) in an amount of 14 wt% or more and 19.6 wt% or less (see FIG. 3, elements 131, paragraphs 112-114), and the second conductive connection portion includes (see FIG. 4, elements 141b, paragraphs 51), based on a total weight of metals in the second conductive connection portion: tin (Sn) in an amount of 36 wt% or more and 50.4 wt% or less, and bismuth (Bi) in an amount of 14 wt% or more and 19.6 wt% or less (see FIG. 3, elements 131, paragraphs 112-114). Noting the external electrode structure for the coil component is very similar to that of capacitor component and as such one of ordinary skill in the art would look to that art to determine a way to improve conductivity (see Lee paragraph 75).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Han and Lee to form the claimed invention in order to increase the conductivity of the conductive resin layer (see paragraph 75).
With respect to claim 2, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the first conductive resin layer completely covers the first side portion (see Han FIG. 2, element 133), and the second conductive resin layer completely covers the second side portion (see Han FIG. 2, element 143).
With respect to claim 3, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that a length of the first conductive resin layer is greater than a length of the first side portion (see Han FIG. 2, element 133), and a length of the second conductive resin layer is greater than a length of the second side portion (see Han FIG. 2, element 143).
With respect to claim 4, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the first conductive resin layer further includes a resin (see Han FIG. 4, element 133b, paragraph 50), tin (Sn) in the first conductive connection portion is included in an intermetallic compound (see Lee FIG. 4, elements 131b, paragraphs 51), the second conductive resin layer further includes the resin, tin (Sn) in the second conductive connection portion is included in the intermetallic compound (see Lee FIG. 4, elements 141b, paragraphs 51).
With respect to claim 5, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the first conductive connection portion further includes copper (Cu) (see Lee FIG. 4, elements 131b, paragraphs 69), and the second conductive connection portion further includes cooper (Cu) (see Lee FIG. 4, elements 141b, paragraphs 69).
With respect to claim 6, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the intermetallic compound included in the first conductive resin layer and the intermetallic compound included in the second conductive resin layer include at least one of Cu6Sn5, Cu3Sn, Ni3Sn, and Ag3Sn (see Han paragraph 89, noting Cu.sub.3Sn).
With respect to claim 7, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the first external electrode further includes a first interface layer including an intermetallic compound and disposed between the first conductive resin layer and the first side portion (see Han FIG. 2 and FIG. 4, element 132, paragraph 50), and the second external electrode further includes a second interface layer including the intermetallic compound and disposed between the second conductive resin layer and the second side portion (see Han FIG. 2, element 142, paragraph 50).
With respect to claim 8, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the intermetallic compound included in the first interface layer and the intermetallic compound included in the second interface layer include Cu3Sn (see Han paragraph 89, noting Cu.sub.3Sn).
With respect to claim 9, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that a first plating layer covering the first external electrode (see Han FIG. 2, elements 134 and 135) and a second plating layer covering the second external electrode (see Han FIG. 2, elements 144 and 145).
With respect to claim 10, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the first plating layer includes a first layer (see Han FIG. 2, element 134) disposed on the first external electrode and a second layer disposed on the first layer (see Han FIG. 2, element 135), and the second plating layer includes a third layer (see Han FIG. 2, element 144) disposed on the second external electrode and a fourth layer disposed on the third layer (see Han FIG. 2, element 145).
With respect to claim 11, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the first layer and the third layer include nickel (Ni) (see Han paragraph 140, noting 134 maybe a Ni plating layer), and the second layer and the fourth layer include tin (Sn) (see Han paragraph 143 in combination with paragraph 145).
With respect to claim 16, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the resin includes epoxy (see Han paragraph 95).
With respect to claim 17, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the first end portion includes glass and a conductive metal (see Han paragraph 133).
With respect to claim 18, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the ceramic body includes barium titanate (see Han paragraph 73), wherein the plurality of first internal electrodes and the plurality of second internal electrodes include nickel (Ni) (see Han paragraph 73), and wherein the conductive metal includes copper (Cu) (see Han paragraph 89).
With respect to claim 19, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that further comprising: a first plating layer (see Han FIG. 2, elements 134 and 135) covering the first external electrode (see Han FIG. 2, element 130), wherein the first plating layer includes a first layer (see Han FIG. 2, elements 134) disposed on the first external electrode and a second layer (see Han FIG. 2, elements 135) disposed on the first layer, and a second plating layer (see Han FIG. 2, elements 144 and 145) covering the second external electrode (see Han FIG. 2, element 140), wherein the second plating layer includes a third layer (see Han FIG. 2, elements 144) disposed on the second external electrode and a fourth layer (see Han FIG. 2, elements 145) disposed on the third layer, wherein the first layer and the third layer include nickel (Ni) (see Han paragraph 140), and the second layer and the fourth layer include tin (Sn) (see Han paragraph 144 ).
With respect to claim 20, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that wherein the first conductive resin layer is directly disposed on first side portion (see Han FIG. 2, element 133).
Claim 12-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han and Lee, as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kang et al. (US20220139618).
With respect to claim 12, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the multilayer ceramic capacitor (see Han FIG. 1, element 100) of claim 9.
Han and Lee do not teach a third conductive resin layer discontinuously disposed between the first end portion and the first plating layer, and a fourth conductive resin layer discontinuously disposed between the second end portion and the second plating layer.
Kang, on the other hand, teaches a third conductive resin layer discontinuously disposed between the first end portion and the first plating layer (see FIG. 8, element 131b’), and a fourth conductive resin layer discontinuously disposed between the second end portion and the second plating layer (see FIG. 8, element 132b’).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Han, Lee and Kang to form the claimed invention in order to improve the flexural strength characteristics (see Kang paragraph 80).
With respect to claim 13, the combined teachings of Han and Lee teach that the multilayer ceramic capacitor (see Han FIG. 1, element 100) of claim 9.
Han and Lee do not teach the first plating layer directly contacts the first end portion, and the second plating layer directly contacts the second end portion.
Kang, on the other hand, teaches the first plating layer directly contacts the first end portion (see FIG. 8, element 131a’ and 131c’), and the second plating layer directly contacts the second end portion (see FIG. 8, element 132a’ and 132c’).
Accordingly, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains to combine the teachings of Han, Lee and Kang to form the claimed invention in order to improve the flexural strength characteristics (see paragraph 80).
With respect to claim 14, the combined teachings of Han, Lee and Kang teach that the first conductive resin layer includes a resin (see Han FIG. 4, element 133b, paragraph 50) and a first conductive connection portion including an intermetallic compound (see Han FIG. 4, element 132a, paragraph 50), and the second conductive resin layer includes the resin and a second conductive connection portion including the intermetallic compound (see Han FIG. 2, element 143, paragraph 50).
With respect to claim 15, the combined teachings of Han, Lee and Kang teach that the first conductive connection portion includes: tin (Sn) in an amount of 36 wt% or more and 50.4 wt% or less, and bismuth (Bi) in an amount of 14 wt% or more and 19.6 wt% or less (see Lee FIG. 4, elements 131b, paragraphs 112-114).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ESTHER N LIAN/Examiner, Art Unit 2847
/Timothy J. Dole/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2847