DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the applicant's amendment submitted on 12/03/2025. In virtue of this amendment:
Claims 4-7 and 10-13 were previously canceled;
Claim 2 is canceled;
Claims 1, 3, 8 and 9 are currently amended; and thus,
Claims 1, 3 and 8-9 are pending;
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection to claims 3 and 9 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph is withdrawn in view of the amendment made to the claim.
The rejection to claims 3 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph is withdrawn in view of the amendment made to the claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US2014/0132159A1 hereinafter “Huang”
Regarding claim 8, Huang discloses a lighting control system, comprising:
a switch-mode power supply (¶27L1-32: a power supply provided; the second circuit includes a first transistor) (Note: since the power supply include switching transistor, it can be considered as a switch-mode power supply), comprising
an input terminal for connection to a power source (as shown in Fig.1 for example, the resistor [3] is connected to the 5V power supply) and an output terminal for connection to a light-emitting diode (LED) light source (as shown in Fig.1 for example, node B is connected to the luminous apparatus) (Note: ¶8 discloses luminous apparatus may be an LED light), wherein the switch-mode power supply further comprises
a linear dimming (LD) pin (as shown in Fig.1 for example, node A); and
a control circuit (¶27L8-10: the first circuit), comprising
a photosensor and a resistor connected in series (¶27L8-10: a first resistor [1] connected with the power supply and a negative coefficient photoresistor [2] in series with the first resistor [1]), wherein the control circuit is connected at one end to a DC voltage and grounded at the other end (as shown in Fig.1 for example, photoresistor [2] is grounded and first resistor [1] is connected to the 5V input) to convert the DC voltage into a control voltage (¶27L25: a decreased voltage; ¶28L4: an increase voltage), with the resistor serially connected to the DC voltage and the photosensor serially connected between the resistor and the ground (as shown in Fig.1 for example), and
the LD pin is connected to a junction between the photosensor and the resistor, allowing the control voltage to be directly applied to the LD pin (as shown in Fig.1 for example, node A is connected to the gate of transistor [4]), and wherein
the photosensor is adapted to sense the ambient light intensity and vary its electrical resistance in response to a change in the ambient light intensity; and
wherein in the case where the ambient light intensity increases, the electrical resistance of the photosensor is decreased, whereby the control voltage converted by the control circuit is decreased and transmitted to the switch-mode power supply through the LD pin, causing the LED light source to turn off (¶27L22-32: an increasing environmental light intensity, a decreased resistance of photoresistor cause a decreased voltage is divided and the point that the base of first transistor is in a low level, therefore the luminous apparatus is disconnected and does not illuminate), and
when the ambient light intensity decreases, the electrical resistance of the photosensor is increased, whereby the control voltage is increased and transmitted to the switch-mode power supply via the LD pin, thereby turning the LED light source on. (¶28L1-11: a decreasing light intensity, an increased resistance of photoresistor and thus an increased voltage is divided for photoresistor, the point that the based of first transistor is connected is in a high level, thus the luminous apparatus is turn on)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over YouTube Video Title: Arduino Basics – Lesson 16 – Using a photoresistor to contorl and LED published on Mar 3, 202 hereinafter “Conner” in view of Huang in view of YouTube Video Title: How to Use a Photoreisistor (Light Sensor) with Arduino (Lesson #27) published on Nov.8 2023 hereinafter “Science Buddies”
Regarding claim 1, Conner discloses a lighting control system, comprising:
a switch-mode power supply (Conner @1:23 Arduino UNO board), comprising
an input terminal for connection to a power source (5V pin) and an output terminal for connection to a light-emitting diode (LED) light source (pin 6 is connected to the LED via resistor) (as shown in screen grab of video @ 1:23), wherein the switch-mode power supply further comprises a pulse-width modulation dimming (PWMD) pin (pin A0) (as shown in screen grab of video @ 1:23); and
a control circuit, comprising a photosensor and a resistor connected in series (as shown in screen grab of video @ 1:23 above), wherein
the control circuit is connected at one end to a DC voltage and grounded at the other end to convert the DC voltage into a control voltage (as shown in screen grab of video @ 1:23), and the PWMD pin is connected to a junction between the photosensor and the resistor, allowing the control voltage to be directly applied to the PWMD pin, and wherein the photosensor is adapted to sense the ambient light intensity and vary its electrical resistance in response to a change in the ambient light intensity (inherently disclosed, as the function of the photosensor is to change the electrical resistance of based upon light intensity)
Conner does not expclitly disclose:
the resistor serially connected to the DC voltage and the photosensor serially connected between the resistor and the ground, and
in the case where the ambient light intensity increases, the electrical resistance of the photosensor is decreased, whereby the control voltage converted by the control circuit is decreased and transmitted to the switch-mode power supply through the PWMD pin, causing the LED light source to turn off, and
when the ambient light intensity is decreased, the electrical resistance of the photosensor is increased, whereby the control voltage is increased and transmitted to the switch-mode power supply via the PWMD pin, thereby turning the LED light source on.
Huang discloses a lighting circuit wherein:
the resistor serially connected to the DC voltage and the photosensor serially connected between the resistor and the ground (as shown in Fig.1 for example)
wherein in the case where the ambient light intensity increases, the electrical resistance of the photosensor is decreased, whereby the control voltage converted by the control circuit is decreased and transmitted to the switch-mode power supply through the LD pin, causing the LED light source to turn off (¶27L22-32: an increasing environmental light intensity, a decreased resistance of photoresistor cause a decreased voltage is divided and the point that the based of first transistor is in a low level, therefore the luminous apparatus is disconnected and does not illuminate), and
when the ambient light intensity decreases, the electrical resistance of the photosensor is increased, whereby the control voltage is increased and transmitted to the switch-mode power supply via the LD pin, thereby turning the LED light source on. (¶28L1-11: a decreasing light intensity, an increased resistance of photoresistor and thus an increased voltage is divided for photoresistor, the point that the based of first transistor is connected is in a high level, thus the luminous apparatus is turn on)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to rearrange the resistor of Conner to be connected to DC voltage and the photodetector to be connected between the resistor and ground as disclosed by Huang.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because prior art Science Buddy recognizes the two different configurations are equivalent (transcript @ 3:35: you could reverse the order here connect this resistor to 5 volts and that would still work)
Regarding claim 3, Conner discloses a lighting control system, comprising:
a switch-mode power supply (Conner @1:23 Arduino UNO board), comprising
an input terminal for connection to a power source (5V pin) and an output terminal for connection to a light-emitting diode (LED) light source (pin 6 is connected to the LED via resistor) (as shown in screen grab of video @ 1:23), wherein the switch-mode power supply further comprises a pulse-width modulation dimming (PWMD) pin (pin A0) (as shown in screen grab of video @ 1:23); and
a control circuit, comprising a photosensor and a resistor connected in series (as shown in screen grab of video @ 1:23 above), wherein
the control circuit is connected at one end to a DC voltage and grounded at the other end to convert the DC voltage into a control voltage (as shown in screen grab of video @ 1:23), with the photosensor serially connected to the DC volage and the resistor serially connected between the photosensor and the ground (as shown in screen grab of video @ 1:23), and the PWMD pin is connected to a junction between the photosensor and the resistor, and wherein the photosensor is adapted to sense the ambient light intensity and vary its electrical resistance in response to a change in the ambient light intensity (inherently disclosed, as the function of the photosensor is to change the electrical resistance of based upon light intensity)
Conner does not expclitly disclose:
the PWMD pin is connected to a junction between the photosensor and the resistor through an inverter
in the case where the ambient light intensity increases, the electrical resistance of the photosensor is decreased, whereby the control voltage converted by the control circuit is decreased and transmitted to the switch-mode power supply through the PWMD pin, causing the LED light source to turn off, and
when the ambient light intensity is decreased, the electrical resistance of the photosensor is increased, whereby the control voltage is increased and transmitted to the switch-mode power supply via the PWMD pin, thereby turning the LED light source on.
Huang discloses a lighting circuit wherein:
the resistor serially connected to the DC voltage and the photosensor serially connected between the resistor and the ground (as shown in Fig.1 for example)
wherein in the case where the ambient light intensity increases, the electrical resistance of the photosensor is decreased, whereby the control voltage converted by the control circuit is decreased and transmitted to the switch-mode power supply through the LD pin, causing the LED light source to turn off (¶27L22-32: an increasing environmental light intensity, a decreased resistance of photoresistor cause a decreased voltage is divided and the point that the based of first transistor is in a low level, therefore the luminous apparatus is disconnected and does not illuminate), and
when the ambient light intensity decreases, the electrical resistance of the photosensor is increased, whereby the control voltage is increased and transmitted to the switch-mode power supply via the LD pin, thereby turning the LED light source on. (¶28L1-11: a decreasing light intensity, an increased resistance of photoresistor and thus an increased voltage is divided for photoresistor, the point that the based of first transistor is connected is in a high level, thus the luminous apparatus is turn on)
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to rearrange the resistor of Conner to be connected to DC voltage and the photodetector to be connected between the resistor and ground as disclosed by Huang and incorporate an inverter to reverse the output.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because prior art Science Buddy recognizes the two different configurations are equivalent (transcript @ 3:35: you could reverse the order here connect this resistor to 5 volts and that would still work) and that the reverse order would just reverse the behavior.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Huang in view of US2018/0035506A1 hereinafter “Bendtsen”
Regarding claim 9, Huang discloses a lighting control system, comprising:
a switch-mode power supply (¶27L1-32: a power supply provided; the second circuit includes a first transistor) (Note: since the power supply include switching transistor, it can be considered as a switch-mode power supply), comprising
an input terminal for connection to a power source (as shown in Fig.1 for example, the resistor [3] is connected to the 5V power supply) and an output terminal for connection to a light-emitting diode (LED) light source (as shown in Fig.1 for example, node B is connected to the luminous apparatus) (Note: ¶8 discloses luminous apparatus may be an LED light), wherein the switch-mode power supply further comprises
a linear dimming (LD) pin (as shown in Fig.1 for example, node A); and
a control circuit (¶27L8-10: the first circuit), comprising
a photosensor and a resistor connected in series (¶27L8-10: a first resistor [1] connected with the power supply and a negative coefficient photoresistor [2] in series with the first resistor [1]), wherein the control circuit is connected at one end to a DC voltage and grounded at the other end (as shown in Fig.1 for example, photoresistor [2] is grounded and first resistor [1] is connected to the 5V input) to convert the DC voltage into a control voltage (¶27L25: a decreased voltage; ¶28L4: an increase voltage), with the resistor serially connected to the DC voltage and the photosensor serially connected between the resistor and the ground (as shown in Fig.1 for example), and
the photosensor is adapted to sense the ambient light intensity and vary its electrical resistance in response to a change in the ambient light intensity; and
wherein in the case where the ambient light intensity increases, the electrical resistance of the photosensor is decreased, whereby the control voltage converted by the control circuit is decreased and transmitted to the switch-mode power supply through the LD pin, causing the LED light source to turn off (¶27L22-32: an increasing environmental light intensity, a decreased resistance of photoresistor cause a decreased voltage is divided and the point that the base of first transistor is in a low level, therefore the luminous apparatus is disconnected and does not illuminate), and
when the ambient light intensity decreases, the electrical resistance of the photosensor is increased, whereby the control voltage is increased and transmitted to the switch-mode power supply via the LD pin, thereby turning the LED light source on. (¶28L1-11: a decreasing light intensity, an increased resistance of photoresistor and thus an increased voltage is divided for photoresistor, the point that the based of first transistor is connected is in a high level, thus the luminous apparatus is turn on)
the LD pin is connected to a junction between the photosensor and the resistor through a diode
It would have been obvious to one ordinarily skilled in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to modify the circuitry of to include a diode at the intermediate node of the sensor circuit.
One of ordinary skill in the art would’ve been motivated because adding a diode at the output of a circuit provides protection against reverse flow, preventing damage to the circuit by ensuring current only low in one direction as seen in ¶27 of Bendtsen.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Raymond R Chai/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2844