DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-12 and 14-20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauer et al. (11,267,254) in view of Hayashi (2008/0238957), Takano et al. (7,036,906) and Iijima et al. (10,717,309).
Regarding claim 1, Sauer teaches an apparatus for manufacturing a display device, the apparatus comprising:
a stage (fig. 1, note that print engine 118 necessarily prints on a substrate on a stage) on which a display substrate (fig. 1, note that any substrate can be called a “display substrate”) is arranged;
an ink discharge module (fig. 1, item 118) which discharges ink onto the display substrate (see fig. 1); and
an ink supply module (fig. 1, all components other than engine 118) which supplies ink to the ink discharge module (see fig. 1), wherein the ink supply module comprises:
a storage portion (fig. 1, item 110/102) in which ink is stored;
a first flow path (fig. 1, item 114/126/128) connecting the storage portion to the ink discharge module in a way such that ink stored in the storage portion flows into the ink discharge module (see fig. 1); and
a second flow path (fig. 1, item 130/132) connecting the storage portion to the ink discharge module in a way such that ink supplied to the ink discharge module flows into the storage portion (see fig. 1), and
wherein the first flow path comprises:
a supply flow path (fig. 1, item 114/126) having a first end connected to the storage portion and a second end connected to the ink discharge module in a way such that ink introduced from the storage portion is supplied to the ink discharge module (see fig. 1); and
a recovery flow path (fig. 1, item 128 on both sides of item 122) having a first end connected to the supply flow path and a second end connected to the storage portion in a way such that ink introduced into the supply flow path is recovered into the storage portion (see fig. 1),
wherein a portion of the recovery flow path (fig. 1, item 128 on both sides of 122) is elongate and extends in an elongate direction (fig. 1, left/right on page), a corresponding portion of the supply flow path (fig. 1, item 114) is elongate and extends in the elongate direction (see fig. 1, note that item 114 is elongate and extends in the left-right direction) and the portion of the recovery flow path extends alongside the corresponding portion of the supply flow path in the elongate direction (see fig. 1, note parallel portions of 128 and 114 extending alongside each other in the elongate direction).
Sauer does not teach wherein the supply flow path comprises a first supply flow path through which ink is introduced from the storage portion and a second supply flow path branched into 2 parts from the first supply flow path. Hayashi teaches this general arrangement (Hayashi, see figs. 6, 8, Note number of heads and number of branched flow paths meeting the limitation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to equip the printing device of Sauer with multiple print heads and the fluid distribution system, as disclosed by Hayashi, because doing so would allow for printing with multiple materials, thereby allowing for greater versatility in printing.
Note that, for purposes of all rejections, the branching arrangement of Hayashi’s tubes is being applied to all of Sauer’s second flow path, supply flow path and recovery flow path as would be required upon adapting Sauer’s single print engine arrangement to an arrangement with multiple print engines and a single storage portion. Upon combination, an arrangement identical to that shown in Figure 2 of the present application would be obtained.
Sauer in view of Hayashi does not teach wherein the first supply flow path portion includes a flexible material. Takano teaches using flexible silicone tubes for ink supply and recovery flow paths (Takano, see fig. 5, Note flexible silicone tubes 55). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date to use flexible silicone tubes, as disclosed by Takano, for the flow paths of Sauer in view of Hayashi because doing so would amount to combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results. In other words, because Sauer in view of Hayashi does not go into detail about the material of its flow paths, it would have been obvious to one of skill in the art to look to Takano for such a teaching. Upon combination of the references, the resultant device would have a flexible tubing corresponding to Hayashi’s tubes 162 solid, rigid joints corresponding to Hayashi’s joints 161, thereby meeting the limitation: the first supply flow path comprises a first first supply flow path portion including a flexible material and connected to the storage portion and a second first supply flow path portion including a solid material and connecting the first first supply flow path portion to the second supply flow path.
While Examiner maintains the amended claim language is disclosed by the existing prior art combination as detailed above, Iijima is now incorporated to teach supply and recovery lines from a storage portion to a ink discharge module extending alongside each other in an elongate direction (Iijima, see fig. 1, Note supply 52 and return 53 lines). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to orient the supply and recovery lines alongside and parallel to each other, as disclosed by Iijima, in the device disclosed by Sauer in view of Hayashi and Takano because such an arrangement was an obvious arrangement of supply and recovery tubes at the time of invention. Further, it serves to reason at that all portions of all branches of supply and recovery lines would be matched up and traveling in the same direction as corresponding portions of the other of the supply and recovery lines.
Regarding claim 2, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 1. Sauer does not teach wherein the ink discharge module comprises a plurality of head portions configured to spray ink, wherein the number of the plurality of head portions is 2n+1, wherein n is a natural number, and the supply flow path comprises: a first supply flow path through which ink is introduced from the storage portion; a second supply flow path branched into 2 parts from the first supply flow path; and a third supply flow path connecting the second supply flow path to the plurality of head portions. Hayashi teaches this general arrangement (Hayashi, see figs. 6, 8, Note number of heads and number of branched flow paths meeting the limitation). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of invention to equip the printing device of Sauer with multiple print heads and the fluid distribution system, as disclosed by Hayashi, because doing so would allow for printing with multiple materials, thereby allowing for greater versatility in printing.
Note that, for purposes of all rejections, the branching arrangement of Hayashi’s tubes is being applied to all of Sauer’s second flow path, supply flow path and recovery flow path as would be required upon adapting Sauer’s single print engine arrangement to an arrangement with multiple print engines and a single storage portion. Upon combination, an arrangement identical to that shown in Figure 2 of the present application would be obtained.
Regarding claim 3, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein shapes of cross-sections of the second supply flow path branched into 2 parts are identical to each other (Hayashi, see fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 4, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 3, wherein a sum of areas of cross-sections of the second supply flow path branched into 2 parts is identical to an area of a cross-section of the first supply flow path (Hayashi, see fig. 8A, Note that the cross-sectional diameter of each of the branched flow paths is approximately half of its parent flow path).
Regarding claim 6, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the second first supply flow path portion has a straight line shape (Hayashi, see fig. 8A, Note that vertical portions of joints 161 have straight line shapes).
Regarding claim 7, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein each part of the second supply flow path branched into 2 parts comprises: a first second supply flow path portion connected to the first supply flow path and having a curved shape; and a second second supply flow path portion connecting the first second supply flow path portion to the third supply flow path and having a straight line shape (Hayashi, fig. 8A, Note curved portion of tubes and vertical straight portions of joints).
Regarding claim 8, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the ink supply module further comprises a first pump arranged on the first supply flow path in a way such that ink introduced into the supply flow path flows into the ink discharge module (Sauer, fig. 1, Note pump 120).
Regarding claim 9, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the recovery flow path connects the storage portion to the third supply flow path (Note that, upon combination of Hayashi with Sauer, the limitation would be met. In other words, the recovery flow path of Sauer would connect to the most downstream tube shown in Hayashi’s Figure 8A).
Regarding claim 10, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 9, wherein the recovery flow path comprises: a first recovery flow path connected to the storage portion; a second recovery flow path branched into 2 parts from the first recovery flow path; and a third recovery flow path connecting the second recovery flow path to the third supply flow path (Note that, upon combination of Hayashi with Sauer, the limitation would be met. In other words, the recovery flow path of Sauer would connect to the most downstream tube shown in Hayashi’s Figure 8A).
Regarding claim 11, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein shapes of cross-sections of the second recovery flow path branched into 2 parts are identical to each other (Hayashi, see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 12, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 11, wherein a sum of areas of cross-sections of the second recovery flow path branched into 2 parts is identical to an area of a cross-section of the first recovery flow path (Hayashi, see fig. 8A, Note that the cross-sectional diameter of each of the branched flow paths is approximately half of its parent flow path).
Regarding claim 14, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the second first supply flow path portion has a straight line shape (Hayashi, see fig. 8A, Note that vertical portions of joints 161 have straight line shapes).
Regarding claim 15, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein each part of the second recovery flow path branched into 2 parts comprises: a first second recovery flow path portion connected to the first recovery flow path and having a curved shape; and a second second recovery flow path portion connecting the first second recovery flow path portion to the third recovery flow path and having a straight line shape (Hayashi, fig. 8A, Note curved portion of tubes and vertical straight portions of joints).
Regarding claim 16, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 10, wherein the ink supply module further comprises a second pump arranged on the first recovery flow path in a way such that ink introduced into the recovery flow path flows into the storage portion (Sauer, fig. 1, Note second pump 106).
Regarding claim 17, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 2, wherein the second flow path comprises: a first second flow path connected to the storage portion; a second second flow path branched into 2 parts from the first second flow path; and a third second flow path connecting the second second flow path to the plurality of head portions (Hayashi, see figs. 6, 8, Note number of heads and number of branched flow paths meeting the limitation)..
Regarding claim 18, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 17, wherein shapes of cross-sections of the second second flow path branched into 2 parts are identical to each other (Hayashi, see fig. 8).
Regarding claim 19, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 18, wherein a sum of area of cross-sections of the second second flow path branched into 2 parts is identical to an area of a cross-section of the first second flow path (Hayashi, see fig. 8A, Note that the cross-sectional diameter of each of the branched flow paths is approximately half of its parent flow path).
Regarding claim 20, Sauer in view of Hayashi, Takano and Iijima teaches the apparatus of claim 19, wherein the first second flow path comprises: a first sub supply flow path portion including a flexible material and connected to the storage portion; and a second sub supply flow path portion including a solid material and connecting the first sub flow path portion to the second second flow path (Hayashi, see fig. 8A, Note that Hayashi’s tubes correspond to the first first flow path portions and Hayashi’s joints correspond to second first supply flow path portions. Takano, see claim 1 rejection).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Conclusion
/ALEJANDRO VALENCIA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2853