DETAILED ACTION
Summary
This Office Action is in response to reply dated December 29, 2025. Claims 1-11 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 7 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yliaho (US 2016/0004311 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Yliaho discloses an auditory tactile sense presentation device (see at least Figures 1-3 | [0001]) comprising:
a receptor configured to receive an input of a drive signal (see at least Figure 3 | [0091] note the audio source/audio driver 201, of the control unit shown in Figure 3, receives a master signal that corresponds to a drive signal from a transceiver (not labeled)); and
an output unit configured to perform an output based on the drive signal (see at least Figure 2 | [0089] note the display 12 generates tactile effects across the display area and operates as an air displacement piston generating acoustic waves of defined amplitude, frequency and direction), wherein
the output unit is configured by a vibrator including a diaphragm (see at least Figure 2, item 12 | [0089] note the display 12 operates as an air displacement piston generating acoustic waves of defined amplitude, frequency and direction) and a piezoelectric element (see at least Figures 2, 3 and 5, items 103 and 209 | [0089] note the piezoelectric actuator 103 | [0101-0102] note the piezoelectric actuator 209 receives the audio/acoustic (high frequency) stream signal and a tactile/haptic (low frequency) stream signal | [0133]) disposed on one surface of the diaphragm (see at least Figure 2, items 12 and 103 | [0089]), and
the vibrator outputs, in the drive signal, a signal component having a frequency higher than a predetermined frequency as audio (see at least [0094] note the master signal or drive signal is separated into an audio/acoustic stream signal and a tactile/haptic stream signal via high and low pass filters | [0101-0102] | [0133]) and
outputs a signal component having a frequency equal to or lower than the predetermined frequency as vibration (see at least [0094] note the tactile/haptic stream signal has a frequency lower than the frequency used for the high pass filter).
Regarding claim 3, Yliaho discloses wherein the drive signal is a digital signal (see at least [0101] note the DAC performs digital-to-analogue conversion).
Regarding claim 7, Yliaho discloses an amplifier configured to amplify the drive signal and output the amplified drive signal to the output unit (see at least [0101] note the DAC/Amplifier amplifies the drive signal).
Regarding claim 10, Yliaho discloses an auditory tactile sense presentation method (see at least Figures 1-3 | [0001]) comprising:
receiving an input of a drive signal in a receptor (see at least Figure 3 | [0091] note the audio source/audio driver 201, of the control unit shown in Figure 3, receives a master signal that corresponds to a drive signal from a transceiver (not labeled)); and
outputting based on the drive signal in an output unit configured by a vibrator including a diaphragm and a piezoelectric element disposed on one surface of the diaphragm (see at least Figures 2, 3 and 5, items 12, 103, 209 | [0089] note the display 12 generates tactile effects across the display area and operates as an air displacement piston generating acoustic waves of defined amplitude, frequency and direction | [0101-0102] note the piezoelectric actuator 209, receives the audio/acoustic (high frequency) stream signal and a tactile/haptic (low frequency) stream signal | [0133]), wherein
in the outputting, in the drive signal, a signal component having a frequency higher than a predetermined frequency is output as audio (see at least [0094] note the master signal or drive signal is separated into an audio/acoustic stream signal and a tactile/haptic stream signal via high and low pass filters | [0101-0102] | [0133]), and
a signal component having a frequency equal to or lower than the predetermined frequency is output as vibration (see at least [0094] note the tactile/haptic stream signal has a frequency lower than the frequency used for the high pass filter).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yliaho (US 2016/0004311 A1) in view of Jeong (US 2025/0021162 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Yliaho does not specifically disclose wherein the predetermined frequency is 200 Hz.
It is known to separate audio and haptic signals in different ways. For example, Jeong teaches a system wherein the predetermined frequency is 200 Hz (see at least Figure 2 | [0002] | [0153] | [0155] | [0160] | [0173] | [0177] note 200 Hz separates the bands).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Jeong into Yliaho. This provides a frequency that can separate Yliaho’s audio/acoustic stream signal and a tactile/haptic stream signal. In addition, discovering an optimum value involves routine skill in the art.
Claims 4, 5, 6 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yliaho (US 2016/0004311 A1) in view of Bhatia (US 2012/0206247 A1).
Regarding claim 4, Yliaho discloses wherein the drive signal is a signal obtained by superimposing an audio signal and a vibration signal (see at least [0091-0094]).
However, Yliaho does not specifically disclose set for a period during which an amplitude of the audio signal exceeds a predetermined threshold.
It is known to generate a vibration signal in different ways. For example, Bhatia teaches a system wherein a vibration signal set for a period during which an amplitude of the audio signal exceeds a predetermined threshold (see at least [0028-0031] | [0039-0040] | [0050]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Bhatia into Yliaho. This provides the steps to generate at least the tactile/haptic stream signal of Yliaho’s mixed signal at the audio source/audio driver 201 in the event it is not received/receivable or retrievable (see [0091] of Yliaho).
Regarding claim 5, Yliaho in view of Bhatia, as addressed above, teach wherein the vibration signal is a sine wave (see at least [0029] of Bhatia | [0039] of Bhatia).
Regarding claim 6, Yliaho in view of Bhatia, as addressed above, teach wherein the vibration signal has a plurality of frequency components (see at least [0039] of Bhatia | [0050] of Bhatia).
Regarding claim 11, Yliaho discloses an auditory tactile sense presentation device (see at least Figures 1-3 | [0001]) comprising:
a receptor configured to receive an input of a drive signal (see at least Figure 3 | [0091] note the audio source/audio driver 201, of the control unit shown in Figure 3, receives a master signal that corresponds to a drive signal from a transceiver (not labeled)); and
an output unit configured to perform an output based on the drive signal (see at least Figure 2 | [0089] note the display 12 generates tactile effects across the display area and operates as an air displacement piston generating acoustic waves of defined amplitude, frequency and direction), wherein
the output unit is configured by a vibrator including a piezoelectric element (see at least Figures 2, 3 and 5, items 12 and 103 | [0089] note the display 12 operates as an air displacement piston generating acoustic waves of defined amplitude, frequency and direction via a piezoelectric actuator 103 | [0101-0102] note the piezoelectric actuator 209 receives the audio/acoustic (high frequency) stream signal and a tactile/haptic (low frequency) stream signal | [0133]),
the vibrator outputs, in the drive signal, a signal component having a frequency higher than a predetermined frequency as audio (see at least [0094] note the master signal or drive signal is separated into an audio/acoustic stream signal and a tactile/haptic stream signal via high and low pass filters | [0101-0102] | [0133]) and
outputs a signal component having a frequency equal to or lower than the predetermined frequency as vibration (see at least [0094] note the tactile/haptic stream signal has a frequency lower than the frequency used for the high pass filter), and
wherein the drive signal is a signal obtained by superimposing an audio signal and a vibration signal (see at least [0091-0094]).
However, Yliaho does not specifically disclose set for a period during which an amplitude of the audio signal exceeds a predetermined threshold.
It is known to generate a vibration signal in different ways. For example, Bhatia teaches a system wherein a vibration signal set for a period during which an amplitude of the audio signal exceeds a predetermined threshold (see at least [0028-0031] | [0039-0040] | [0050]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Bhatia into Yliaho. This provides the steps to generate at least the tactile/haptic stream signal of Yliaho’s mixed signal at the audio source/audio driver 201 in the event it is not received/receivable or retrievable (see [0091] of Yliaho).
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yliaho (US 2016/0004311 A1) in view of Lacroix (US 2014/0300454 A1).
Regarding claim 8, Yliaho does not specifically disclose a signal generator configured by a vibrator including a piezoelectric element and configured to generate, as the drive signal, a signal based on a voltage generated according to a pressing force applied to the piezoelectric element.
It is known to receive an audio signal in different ways. For example, Lacroix teaches a presentation system with a signal generator configured by a vibrator including a piezoelectric element and configured to generate, as the drive signal, a signal based on a voltage generated according to a pressing force applied to the piezoelectric element (see at least [0027] note the sensor detects a form of energy, or other physical property, such as, but not limited to, sound, movement, acceleration, bio signals, distance, flow, force/pressure/strain/bend, etc. | [0029] note the input signal can be a multimedia signal comprising an audio signal, a video signal and/or sensor signals captured with a sensor | [0031] note in alternate embodiments, a user can select another type of signal contained within the multimedia signal, such as the sensor signal | [0032] note the system converts the selected signals, such as the sensor signal, into one or more haptic signals including a waveform in a pulse-coded modulation ("PCM") format, that is a digital format, to be sent to a haptic output device, such as a piezoelectric element with a receptor | [0023] note the network allows transmission for the haptic signal | [0048-0050] | [0052]).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the features of Lacroix into Yliaho. This provides the ability to capture vibrations associated with audio, thus providing a more immersive listening experience.
Regarding claim 9, Yliaho in view of Lacroix, as addressed above, teach a converter configured to convert the signal from the signal generator into a digital signal and transmit the digital signal to the receptor via a network; and a restorer configured to restore the digital signal received by the receptor via the network to a signal before conversion (see at least [0027] of Lacroix, note the sensor detects a form of energy, or other physical property, such as, but not limited to, sound, movement, acceleration, bio signals, distance, flow, force/pressure/strain/bend, etc. | [0029] of Lacroix, note the input signal can be a multimedia signal comprising an audio signal, a video signal and/or sensor signals captured with a sensor | [0031] of Lacroix, note in alternate embodiments, a user can select another type of signal contained within the multimedia signal, such as the sensor signal | [0032] of Lacroix, note the system converts the selected signals, such as the sensor signal, into one or more haptic signals including a waveform in a pulse-coded modulation ("PCM") format, that is a digital format, to be sent to a haptic output device, such as a piezoelectric element with a receptor | [0023] of Lacroix, note the network allows transmission for the haptic signal | [0048-0050] of Lacroix | [0052] of Lacroix).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “Yliaho only discloses a piezoelectric element but does not disclose a diaphragm on which the piezoelectric element is disposed. Thus, amended claims 1 and 10 are patentable over the applied references.”
In response, Figure 2 of Yliaho shows a piezoelectric element 103 disposed on one surface of the diaphragm 12. Paragraph [0089] of Yliaho describes that the motion of the piezoelectric element 103 can then be passed to the display 12 which can then be felt by the user. This allows the display to operate as an air displacement piston that generates acoustic waves of defined amplitude, frequency and direction. For at least this reason, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Applicant argues “In Bhatia, waveform reproduction is performed by distinguishing between the audio signal and vibration signal, based on the threshold. Bhatia does not disclose generating the vibration signal based on a threshold of the amplitude of an audio signal that has been input, then superimposing the generated vibration signal and the original audio signal. Thus, contrary to the Office Action assertions, Bhatia does not disclose the subject matter recited in claim 4, now incorporated into claim 11. As such, claim 11 is also patentable.”
In response, Yliaho already discloses that the drive signal is a signal obtained by superimposing an audio signal and a vibration signal (see [0091]). Bhatia is used to illustrate that haptic effects can simply be output when an audio signal exceeds a predetermined threshold, otherwise a haptic effect is not deemed necessary. This allows Yliaho’s drive signal would simply mix a vibration signal with an audio signal when the audio signal exceeds a predetermined threshold (e.g., to provide a level of synchronization). Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
In addition, in response to Applicant’s argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “Bhatia does not disclose generating the vibration signal based on a threshold of the amplitude of an audio signal that has been input, then superimposing the generated vibration signal and the original audio signal”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/BRIAN WILSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2689