DETAILED ACTION
Remarks
Claims 1, 4-14, and 17-20 have been examined and rejected. This Office action is responsive to the amendment filed on 06/12/2026, which has been entered in the above identified application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-14, and 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fagan et al. (US 20180281990 A1, published 10/04/2018), hereinafter Fagan, in view of Canal et al. (US 20110004832 A1, published 01/06/2011), hereinafter Canal.
Regarding claim 1, Fagan teaches the claim comprising:
A method comprising: receiving, from a user device and by one or more processors of a media control device of a vehicle, media data comprising one or more of: (i) one or more songs, (ii) one or more advertisements, and (iii) one or more announcements (Fagan Figs. 1-64; abs, a controller operatively connected to a processor; displaying, on the crew IO node, (i) a graphical user interface (GUI) component; [0193], It is contemplated that the crew IO node of the present technology will be used in conjunction with a distributed architecture 10, one embodiment of which is illustrated in FIG. 1; [0199], As illustrated in FIG. 1, the processor 14 may connect to one or more databases 18. The database 18 may be a memory storage device, an IO device such as an MP3 player, a compact disc (“CD”) player, a digital video disk (“DVD”) player, or any other suitable storage and playback device; [0234], The crew IO node 22 also is contemplated to be a mobile device, such as a portable computer, tablet, or smartphone; [0245], FIG. 5 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a main menu 136 that is contemplated to be displayed, as a root menu, on the crew IO node 22; [0247], media submenu 138 includes four options: (1) a video icon 142, (2) a music icon 144; [0276], FIG. 7 illustrates a search GUI 182 that may appear if the user wishes to access the search bar section 178. The search GUI 182 displays a touch-sensitive keyboard 184 so that the user may input key words for initiation of a search of the video library, a portion of which may remain visible in the library section 180; [0278], FIG. 9 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of an audio submenu 192; [0282], The audio submenu 192 also includes an available devices section 176, a search bar section 178, and a library section 180; [0375], If the user enters search parameters, the method 306 proceeds to step 448 where the method 306 displays search control(s). In this step 448, the search controls and search terms may be entered, for example, in the search GUI 192. Searching is contemplated to be performed based on words, phrases, or other suitable search parameters; [0355], The video files may be stored in the database 18; [0378], After the search results are displayed, the method returns to step 442, where the user is permitted to select one of the results from the results that are displayed at step 452);
displaying, via a portion of a first region of a user interface of the media control device, a plurality of selectable category icons representative of a plurality of data categories for the media data, the plurality of data categories comprising (a) a song category, (b) an advertisement category (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0234], The crew IO node 22 also is contemplated to be a mobile device, such as a portable computer, tablet, or smartphone; [0245], FIG. 5 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a main menu 136 that is contemplated to be displayed, as a root menu, on the crew IO node 22; [0247], media submenu 138 includes four options: (1) a video icon 142, (2) a music icon 144; [0248], The cabin submenu 136 includes nine options; [0253], The audio icon 144 provides access to a listing of the audio (i.e., music) entertainment available to the passenger on board the aircraft 36; [0262], The audio icon 156 is similar to the audio icon 144; [0264], The video icon 160 is similar to the video icon 142; [0288], FIG. 12 depicts a local map GUI 200. The local map GUI 200 is contemplated to provide interactive access to any selected geographic location, such as the destination of the aircraft 36. It is contemplated that the local map GUI 200 will include a search bar that permits the user to look for desired landmarks, restaurants, shops, etc);
receiving, by the one or more processors, a control signal that initiates a media presentation, the media presentation based at least in part on the media data; adjusting, on the user interface and based at least in part on receiving the control signal that initiates the media presentation, a location of the plurality of selectable category icons from the portion of the first region of the user interface to a portion of a second region of the user interface (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0262], The audio icon 156 is similar to the audio icon 144; [0264], The video icon 160 is similar to the video icon 142; [0269], FIG. 6 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a video submenu 172 according to the present technology. If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136; [0271], the video submenu 172 includes a media bar 174 that provides access to the different types of media that are available to the user. Since the user originally selected the video icon 142, the video submenu 172 defaults to the video programming available to the user; [0277], FIG. 8 is a viewing options GUI 186 that may be presented to the user after specific video content has been selected for viewing. The viewing options GUI 186 includes a viewing area submenu 188 and a sound options submenu 190; The sound options submenu 190 permits the audio portion of the video content to be played via headphone on the armrest of the seat 74 or via speakers on the tablet 132 or speakers within the cabin 48 of the aircraft 36; [0278], FIG. 9 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of an audio submenu 192; [0279], If the user accesses the audio icon 144 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the audio submenu 192; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above; [0284], FIG. 10 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a television submenu 194; [0303], FIG. 20 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a scheduling GUI 266 that is presented to the crew member after pressing the scheduling icon 256);
and outputting, to one or more media presentation devices and based at least in part on receiving the control signal that initiates the media presentation, the media presentation (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0273], The available devices section 176 provides a listing of the various video devices (i.e., the monitors 96) that are accessible on the aircraft. By selecting one or more of the icons associated with the available video devices 96, the user may select which of the monitors 96 will display the selected video content. For example, the user may elect to have a selected movie played on a nearby monitor 96 as well as a remote monitor in one of the bedrooms 64, 66. In this manner, the user may watch a movie from the user's seat 74 while his or her children watch the same movie in their bedroom 64; [0277], FIG. 8 is a viewing options GUI 186 that may be presented to the user after specific video content has been selected for viewing. The viewing options GUI 186 includes a viewing area submenu 188 and a sound options submenu 190. The viewing area submenu 188 allows the user to select one or more devices (i.e., one or more tablets 130 and/or one or more monitors 96) where the selected video is to be shown; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above)
displaying the plurality of selectable category icons via the portion of the second region and displaying an indication of the media presentation via a portion of a third region of the user interface, wherein the second region of the user interface comprises a first half of the user interface and the third region of the user interface comprises a second half of the user interface (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0269], FIG. 6 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a video submenu 172 according to the present technology. If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136; [0271], the video submenu 172 includes a media bar 174 that provides access to the different types of media that are available to the user. Since the user originally selected the video icon 142, the video submenu 172 defaults to the video programming available to the user; [0273], The available devices section 176 provides a listing of the various video devices (i.e., the monitors 96) that are accessible on the aircraft. By selecting one or more of the icons associated with the available video devices 96, the user may select which of the monitors 96 will display the selected video content. For example, the user may elect to have a selected movie played on a nearby monitor 96 as well as a remote monitor in one of the bedrooms 64, 66. In this manner, the user may watch a movie from the user's seat 74 while his or her children watch the same movie in their bedroom 64; [0277], FIG. 8 is a viewing options GUI 186 that may be presented to the user after specific video content has been selected for viewing. The viewing options GUI 186 includes a viewing area submenu 188 and a sound options submenu 190. The viewing area submenu 188 allows the user to select one or more devices (i.e., one or more tablets 130 and/or one or more monitors 96) where the selected video is to be shown; The sound options submenu 190 permits the audio portion of the video content to be played via headphone on the armrest of the seat 74 or via speakers on the tablet 132 or speakers within the cabin 48 of the aircraft 36; [0278], FIG. 9 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of an audio submenu 192; [0279], If the user accesses the audio icon 144 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the audio submenu 192; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above; [0284], FIG. 10 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a television submenu 194; [0303], FIG. 20 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a scheduling GUI 266 that is presented to the crew member after pressing the scheduling icon 256);
and displaying, via a second portion of the second region, a plurality of selectable presentation icons corresponding to a selected category icon of the plurality of selectable category icons (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0269], FIG. 6 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a video submenu 172 according to the present technology. If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136; [0271], the video submenu 172 includes a media bar 174 that provides access to the different types of media that are available to the user. Since the user originally selected the video icon 142, the video submenu 172 defaults to the video programming available to the user; [0273], The available devices section 176 provides a listing of the various video devices (i.e., the monitors 96) that are accessible on the aircraft. By selecting one or more of the icons associated with the available video devices 96, the user may select which of the monitors 96 will display the selected video content. For example, the user may elect to have a selected movie played on a nearby monitor 96 as well as a remote monitor in one of the bedrooms 64, 66. In this manner, the user may watch a movie from the user's seat 74 while his or her children watch the same movie in their bedroom 64; [0277], FIG. 8 is a viewing options GUI 186 that may be presented to the user after specific video content has been selected for viewing. The viewing options GUI 186 includes a viewing area submenu 188 and a sound options submenu 190. The viewing area submenu 188 allows the user to select one or more devices (i.e., one or more tablets 130 and/or one or more monitors 96) where the selected video is to be shown; The sound options submenu 190 permits the audio portion of the video content to be played via headphone on the armrest of the seat 74 or via speakers on the tablet 132 or speakers within the cabin 48 of the aircraft 36; [0278], FIG. 9 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of an audio submenu 192; [0279], If the user accesses the audio icon 144 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the audio submenu 192; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above; [0284], FIG. 10 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a television submenu 194; [0303], FIG. 20 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a scheduling GUI 266 that is presented to the crew member after pressing the scheduling icon 256)
However, Fagan fails to expressly disclose the plurality of data categories comprising (a) a song category, (b) an advertisement category, and (c) an announcement category. In the same field of endeavor, Canal teaches:
the plurality of data categories comprising (a) a song category, (b) an advertisement category, and (c) an announcement category (Canal Figs. 1-13; [0027], As illustrated in FIG. 2, the crew user interface 102 displays a graphic 200; [0035], icons on the selectable areas of the LOPA graphical element 300 may indicate that services including, but not limited to, the following are already in progress: public announcement, video announcement, theme music or video override; The LOPA graphical element 300 may also indicate other services (e.g. public announcement, video announcement, video override etc.); as illustrated in FIG. 8, if the LOPA graphical element 300 indicates that a service 306, theme music, is in progress, it may also indicate that the type 308 of service is "classical" and the amount of time that it has been in progress; [0045], Selection of the Cabin Services 226 in the navigation area 210 provides a menu of cabin service functions configured for the aircraft. FIG. 6 illustrates cabin services such as those shown in on the cabin services menu 400: Pre-recorded Announcements and Music (PRAM) 402, Video Announcement 404, Boarding Music 406, Video Override 408, Theme Music 410, Overhead Video 412, Map Control 414, Camera Control 416, Audio/Video Control 418, and Script 420; [0047], A Video Announcement is a high-priority source, such as a safety video, displayed on the overhead monitors and the in-seat displays of the aircraft cabin; [0051], FIG. 8 illustrates an exemplary theme music screen that may be displayed when Theme Music 410 element is selected from the Cabin Services Menu 400. As illustrated in FIG. 8, the theme music screen 360 allows the user to select from a set of music categories defined in the Screen Configuration Data 116 and to play or stop the theme music for the aircraft or a portion or the aircraft using the LOPA graphical element; [0053], FIG. 12 illustrates an exemplary audio/video control screen 430 that may be displayed when the Audio/Video Control element 418 is selected from the Cabin Services Menu 400. In an embodiment, the audio/video control screen 430 allows the crew to view the status of and control DVDs or other external audio and video players. In another embodiment, the audio/video control screen 430 may allow the crew to view the status of and control internal sources that may be used in broadcast services (e.g. video broadcasts on channels that passengers may chose to tune to, video overhead broadcasts that are displayed on the overhead video displays, video overrides that are displayed on both the overhead video displays and the in-seat passenger video displays etc.). As illustrated by the exemplary embodiment in FIG. 12, this screen provides information related to the current status of audio/video and the section of the aircraft for which the audio/video is enabled/in use (advertisement shown))
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated the plurality of data categories comprising (a) a song category, (b) an advertisement category, and (c) an announcement category as suggested in Canal into Fagan. Doing so would be desirable because commercial passenger airlines and transportation vehicles continuously try to make travel as enjoyable as possible for their customers. Airlines often provide in-flight entertainment systems that provide access to various entertainment and services for passengers on the aircraft (see Canal [0002]). It is desirable for the crew and maintenance personnel to be able to centrally control and monitor the provision of and availability of services to passengers on the aircraft, in portions of the aircraft or in particular seats on the aircraft. In addition, new services may be added or existing services may need to be modified from time to time. It is desirable to be able to modify the availability of services, the types of services, and the display of information provided to the crew and maintenance personnel about those services. Therefore, it would be beneficial to be able to adapt the control logic for the display of such information and the navigation among menu screens without requiring changes in executable code (see Canal [0003]). The system of Canal would improve the system of Fagan by adding additional desired functionality via an easy to use menu, such as songs, advertisements, announcements, and music, thereby increasing the usefulness and desirability of the system.
Regarding claim 14, claim 14 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1, except for A system comprising: a user interface; and one or more processors in communication with the user interface, the one or more processors configured to (Fagan Figs. 1-64; abs, a controller operatively connected to a processor; displaying, on the crew IO node, (i) a graphical user interface (GUI) component; [0141], various implementations of the present technology provide a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program instructions, the program instructions being executable by a processor of a computer-based system to carry out one or more of the above-recited methods; [0193], The distributed architecture includes a central processing unit 12 (“CPU”) that includes a processor 14; [0234], The crew IO node 22 also is contemplated to be a mobile device, such as a portable computer, tablet, or smartphone. As with the passenger IO node 20, the crew IO node 22 is contemplated to be provided with a suitable app (or resident software) for interface with the CPU 12). Consequently, claim 14 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 20, claim 20 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 1, except for An apparatus comprising: one or more processors; and a memory storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the apparatus to (Fagan Figs. 1-64; abs, a controller operatively connected to a processor; displaying, on the crew IO node, (i) a graphical user interface (GUI) component; [0141], various implementations of the present technology provide a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing program instructions, the program instructions being executable by a processor of a computer-based system to carry out one or more of the above-recited methods; [0193], The distributed architecture includes a central processing unit 12 (“CPU”) that includes a processor 14; [0234], The crew IO node 22 also is contemplated to be a mobile device, such as a portable computer, tablet, or smartphone. As with the passenger IO node 20, the crew IO node 22 is contemplated to be provided with a suitable app (or resident software) for interface with the CPU 12). Consequently, claim 20 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 15, claim 15 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 2. Consequently, claim 15 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 4, Fagan in view of Canal teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein receiving the media data from the user device comprises receiving the media data via a secure communication network associated with the vehicle (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0202], The passenger IO node 20 is contemplated to encompass any suitable input/output device that may be available to a passenger. Similarly, the crew IO node 22 is intended to encompass any suitable input/output device that may be available to a member of the flight crew; [0204], As illustrated in FIG. 1, the various components of the distributed architecture 10 connect to one another via communication lines 24. The communication lines 24 may be wired or wireless communication lines, as should be apparent to those skilled in the art. Wired communication lines encompass, but are not limited to, wired connections and docking stations (for one or more of the IO nodes). Wireless communication lines may be provided via any suitable data format including, but not limited to, a Bluetooth™ connection (where appropriate); [0269], FIG. 6 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a video submenu 172 according to the present technology. If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136; [0271-0279], If the user accesses the audio icon 144 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the audio submenu 192; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above; [0284], FIG. 10 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a television submenu 194; [0303], FIG. 20 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a scheduling GUI 266 that is presented to the crew member after pressing the scheduling icon 256)
Regarding claim 17, claim 17 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 4. Consequently, claim 17 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 5, Fagan in view of Canal teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the user device comprises (i) a wearable device, (ii) a tablet, or (iii) a cell phone (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0202], the crew IO node 22 is intended to encompass any suitable input/output device that may be available to a member of the flight crew; [0234], The crew IO node 22 also is contemplated to be a mobile device, such as a portable computer, tablet, or smartphone; [0269], FIG. 6 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a video submenu 172 according to the present technology. If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136; [0271-0279], If the user accesses the audio icon 144 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the audio submenu 192; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above; [0284], FIG. 10 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a television submenu 194; [0303], FIG. 20 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a scheduling GUI 266 that is presented to the crew member after pressing the scheduling icon 256)
Regarding claim 18, claim 18 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 5. Consequently, claim 18 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 6, Fagan in view of Canal teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the control signal is received from the user device, and wherein the user device is operated by a first occupant of the vehicle (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0002], a mobile computing device that is assignable to a member of a crew (i.e., an attendant) in a vehicle cabin (also referred to herein as a “crew GUI,” “crew input/output node,” or “crew IO node”); [0189], reference is made to members of the flight crew on board the aircraft. The term “flight crew” is intended to be generic to any member of the flight crew, including the pilot, co-pilot, and/or flight attendants; [0202], the crew IO node 22 is intended to encompass any suitable input/output device that may be available to a member of the flight crew; [0234], The crew IO node 22 also is contemplated to be a mobile device, such as a portable computer, tablet, or smartphone; [0269], FIG. 6 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a video submenu 172 according to the present technology. If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136; [0271], the video submenu 172 includes a media bar 174 that provides access to the different types of media that are available to the user. Since the user originally selected the video icon 142, the video submenu 172 defaults to the video programming available to the user; [0277], FIG. 8 is a viewing options GUI 186 that may be presented to the user after specific video content has been selected for viewing. The viewing options GUI 186 includes a viewing area submenu 188 and a sound options submenu 190; The sound options submenu 190 permits the audio portion of the video content to be played via headphone on the armrest of the seat 74 or via speakers on the tablet 132 or speakers within the cabin 48 of the aircraft 36; [0278], FIG. 9 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of an audio submenu 192; [0279], If the user accesses the audio icon 144 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the audio submenu 192; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above; [0284], FIG. 10 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a television submenu 194; [0303], FIG. 20 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a scheduling GUI 266 that is presented to the crew member after pressing the scheduling icon 256)
Regarding claim 19, claim 19 contains substantially similar limitations to those found in claim 6. Consequently, claim 19 is rejected for the same reasons.
Regarding claim 7, Fagan in view of Canal teaches all the limitations of claim 6, further comprising:
receiving a second control signal from a second user device operated by a second occupant of the vehicle, wherein the second control signal initiates a second media presentation (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0002], a mobile computing device that is assignable to a member of a crew (i.e., an attendant) in a vehicle cabin (also referred to herein as a “crew GUI,” “crew input/output node,” or “crew IO node”); [0189], reference is made to members of the flight crew on board the aircraft. The term “flight crew” is intended to be generic to any member of the flight crew, including the pilot, co-pilot, and/or flight attendants; [0201], The crew IO node 22 receives input from and provides output to members of the flight crew; [0202], the crew IO node 22 is intended to encompass any suitable input/output device that may be available to a member of the flight crew; [0203], the discussion of a particular functionality with respect to one IO node 20, 22 does not preclude the same functionality from being provided via the other of the IO nodes 20, 22; [0234], The crew IO node 22 also is contemplated to be a mobile device, such as a portable computer, tablet, or smartphone; [0269], FIG. 6 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a video submenu 172 according to the present technology. If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136; [0271], the video submenu 172 includes a media bar 174 that provides access to the different types of media that are available to the user. Since the user originally selected the video icon 142, the video submenu 172 defaults to the video programming available to the user; [0277], FIG. 8 is a viewing options GUI 186 that may be presented to the user after specific video content has been selected for viewing. The viewing options GUI 186 includes a viewing area submenu 188 and a sound options submenu 190; The sound options submenu 190 permits the audio portion of the video content to be played via headphone on the armrest of the seat 74 or via speakers on the tablet 132 or speakers within the cabin 48 of the aircraft 36; [0278], FIG. 9 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of an audio submenu 192; [0279], If the user accesses the audio icon 144 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the audio submenu 192; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above; [0284], FIG. 10 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a television submenu 194; [0303], FIG. 20 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a scheduling GUI 266 that is presented to the crew member after pressing the scheduling icon 256)
Regarding claim 8, Fagan in view of Canal teaches all the limitations of claim 7. While Fagan does not expressly disclose that the first occupant of the vehicle is a crew member and the second occupant of the vehicle is a pilot, Fagan does disclose that crew refers to the pilot, co-pilot, and flight attendants ([0189]). Fagan further discloses that the IO node 22 receives input and output from multiple members of the flight crew ([0201]), and that the same functionality (such as receiving control signals) can be provided by multiple io nodes 22 ([0203]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated wherein the first occupant of the vehicle is a crew member and the second occupant of the vehicle is a pilot (Figs. 1-64; [0002], [0189], [0201-0203], [0234], [0269], [0271], [0277], [0278], [0279], [0283]) as suggested in Fagan. Doing so would be desirable because the present patent application is directed to a system and a method of operation of the system incorporating a graphical user interface on a mobile computing device that is assignable to a member of a crew (i.e., an attendant) in a vehicle cabin (also referred to herein as a “crew GUI,” “crew input/output node,” or “crew IO node”). The crew IO node provides control over one or more functions within the cabin of the vehicle. The crew member may be a flight attendant (or other crew member) and the vehicle may be an aircraft (see Fagan [0002]). Recently, a desire has developed to improve the manner in which aircraft cabin functions are controlled. Specifically, a desire has arisen to develop controls for one or more functions within the cabin of an aircraft from one or more consolidated IO nodes (see Fagan [0010]). The crew IO node is mobile and provides control to crew members over one or more functions within an aircraft cabin, regardless of the location of the crew member (see Fagan [0012]). Additionally, providing desired functionality to multiple crew members, such as the pilot, co-pilot, and flight attendants (see Fagan [0189], [0201], [0203]) would increase the usefulness and flexibility of the system.
Regarding claim 9, Fagan in view of Canal teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the control signal is received from the user interface of the media control device (Fagan Figs. 1-64; abs, a controller operatively connected to a processor; displaying, on the crew IO node, (i) a graphical user interface (GUI) component; [0002], a mobile computing device that is assignable to a member of a crew (i.e., an attendant) in a vehicle cabin (also referred to herein as a “crew GUI,” “crew input/output node,” or “crew IO node”); [0193], It is contemplated that the crew IO node of the present technology will be used in conjunction with a distributed architecture 10, one embodiment of which is illustrated in FIG. 1; [0201], The crew IO node 22 receives input from and provides output to members of the flight crew; [0202], the crew IO node 22 is intended to encompass any suitable input/output device that may be available to a member of the flight crew; [0203], the discussion of a particular functionality with respect to one IO node 20, 22 does not preclude the same functionality from being provided via the other of the IO nodes 20, 22; [0234], The crew IO node 22 also is contemplated to be a mobile device, such as a portable computer, tablet, or smartphone; [0269], FIG. 6 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a video submenu 172 according to the present technology. If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136; [0271], the video submenu 172 includes a media bar 174 that provides access to the different types of media that are available to the user. Since the user originally selected the video icon 142, the video submenu 172 defaults to the video programming available to the user; [0277], FIG. 8 is a viewing options GUI 186 that may be presented to the user after specific video content has been selected for viewing. The viewing options GUI 186 includes a viewing area submenu 188 and a sound options submenu 190; The sound options submenu 190 permits the audio portion of the video content to be played via headphone on the armrest of the seat 74 or via speakers on the tablet 132 or speakers within the cabin 48 of the aircraft 36; [0278], FIG. 9 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of an audio submenu 192; [0279], If the user accesses the audio icon 144 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the audio submenu 192; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above; [0284], FIG. 10 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a television submenu 194; [0303], FIG. 20 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a scheduling GUI 266 that is presented to the crew member after pressing the scheduling icon 256)
Regarding claim 10, Fagan in view of Canal teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein receiving the control signal that initiates the media presentation is based at least in part on one or more vehicle-based criterion being satisfied (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0201], The crew IO node 22 receives input from and provides output to members of the flight crew; [0202], the crew IO node 22 is intended to encompass any suitable input/output device that may be available to a member of the flight crew; [0203], the discussion of a particular functionality with respect to one IO node 20, 22 does not preclude the same functionality from being provided via the other of the IO nodes 20, 22; [0234], The crew IO node 22 also is contemplated to be a mobile device, such as a portable computer, tablet, or smartphone; [0269], FIG. 6 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a video submenu 172 according to the present technology. If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136; [0271], the video submenu 172 includes a media bar 174 that provides access to the different types of media that are available to the user. Since the user originally selected the video icon 142, the video submenu 172 defaults to the video programming available to the user; [0277], FIG. 8 is a viewing options GUI 186 that may be presented to the user after specific video content has been selected for viewing. The viewing options GUI 186 includes a viewing area submenu 188 and a sound options submenu 190; The sound options submenu 190 permits the audio portion of the video content to be played via headphone on the armrest of the seat 74 or via speakers on the tablet 132 or speakers within the cabin 48 of the aircraft 36; [0278], FIG. 9 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of an audio submenu 192; [0279], If the user accesses the audio icon 144 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the audio submenu 192; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above; [0284], FIG. 10 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a television submenu 194; [0303] FIG. 20 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a scheduling GUI 266 that is presented to the crew member after pressing the scheduling icon 256. The scheduling GUI 266 is contemplated to include a timeline 268 for the flight. The timeline 268 identifies specific events that may be preplanned for the flight. For example, if the flight is of a particularly long duration, the timeline 268 may include information that indicates when movies are to be played and in what sequence; [0429], It is contemplated that input may be provided in an interactive manner via the scheduling GUI 266 that is illustrated in FIG. 20. For example, if the flight crew member wishes to play a particular movie at a particular time index, the flight crew member may do so by accessing the scheduling GUI 268. Alternatively, if the flight crew member would like for the movie to begin playing after the aircraft 36 reaches a particular altitude, the flight crew member may set this parameter via the altitude record 274)
Regarding claim 11, Fagan in view of Canal teaches all the limitations of claim 10, further comprising:
wherein the one or more vehicle-based criterion comprise one or more of (i) a vehicle occupancy criterion, (ii) a vehicle location criterion, (iii) a vehicle motion criterion, and (iv) a vehicle status criterion associated with an itinerary for the vehicle (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0201], The crew IO node 22 receives input from and provides output to members of the flight crew; [0202], the crew IO node 22 is intended to encompass any suitable input/output device that may be available to a member of the flight crew; [0203], the discussion of a particular functionality with respect to one IO node 20, 22 does not preclude the same functionality from being provided via the other of the IO nodes 20, 22; [0234], The crew IO node 22 also is contemplated to be a mobile device, such as a portable computer, tablet, or smartphone; [0269], FIG. 6 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a video submenu 172 according to the present technology. If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136; [0271], the video submenu 172 includes a media bar 174 that provides access to the different types of media that are available to the user. Since the user originally selected the video icon 142, the video submenu 172 defaults to the video programming available to the user; [0277], FIG. 8 is a viewing options GUI 186 that may be presented to the user after specific video content has been selected for viewing. The viewing options GUI 186 includes a viewing area submenu 188 and a sound options submenu 190; The sound options submenu 190 permits the audio portion of the video content to be played via headphone on the armrest of the seat 74 or via speakers on the tablet 132 or speakers within the cabin 48 of the aircraft 36; [0278], FIG. 9 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of an audio submenu 192; [0279], If the user accesses the audio icon 144 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the audio submenu 192; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above; [0284], FIG. 10 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a television submenu 194; [0303] FIG. 20 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a scheduling GUI 266 that is presented to the crew member after pressing the scheduling icon 256. The scheduling GUI 266 is contemplated to include a timeline 268 for the flight. The timeline 268 identifies specific events that may be preplanned for the flight. For example, if the flight is of a particularly long duration, the timeline 268 may include information that indicates when movies are to be played and in what sequence; [0429], It is contemplated that input may be provided in an interactive manner via the scheduling GUI 266 that is illustrated in FIG. 20. For example, if the flight crew member wishes to play a particular movie at a particular time index, the flight crew member may do so by accessing the scheduling GUI 268. Alternatively, if the flight crew member would like for the movie to begin playing after the aircraft 36 reaches a particular altitude, the flight crew member may set this parameter via the altitude record 274)
Regarding claim 12, Fagan in view of Canal teaches all the limitations of claim 10, further comprising:
wherein outputting the media presentation comprises: outputting, via the one or more media presentation devices, a first song during a first time interval; outputting, via the one or more media presentation devices, a second song during a second time interval (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0269], FIG. 6 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a video submenu 172 according to the present technology. If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136; [0271], the video submenu 172 includes a media bar 174 that provides access to the different types of media that are available to the user. Since the user originally selected the video icon 142, the video submenu 172 defaults to the video programming available to the user; [0277], FIG. 8 is a viewing options GUI 186 that may be presented to the user after specific video content has been selected for viewing. The viewing options GUI 186 includes a viewing area submenu 188 and a sound options submenu 190; The sound options submenu 190 permits the audio portion of the video content to be played via headphone on the armrest of the seat 74 or via speakers on the tablet 132 or speakers within the cabin 48 of the aircraft 36; [0278], FIG. 9 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of an audio submenu 192; [0279], If the user accesses the audio icon 144 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the audio submenu 192; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above; [0284], FIG. 10 illustrates one contemplated embodiment of a television submenu 194; [0303] FIG. 20 depicts one contemplated embodiment of a scheduling GUI 266 that is presented to the crew member after pressing the scheduling icon 256. The scheduling GUI 266 is contemplated to include a timeline 268 for the flight. The timeline 268 identifies specific events that may be preplanned for the flight. For example, if the flight is of a particularly long duration, the timeline 268 may include information that indicates when movies are to be played and in what sequence)
Canal further teaches:
outputting, via the one or more media presentation devices, an announcement during a third time interval between the first time interval and the second time interval, wherein the third time interval is based at least in part on user input received via the user interface of the media control device (Canal Figs. 1-13; [0027], As illustrated in FIG. 2, the crew user interface 102 displays a graphic 200; [0035], icons on the selectable areas of the LOPA graphical element 300 may indicate that services including, but not limited to, the following are already in progress: public announcement, video announcement, theme music or video override; The LOPA graphical element 300 may also indicate other services (e.g. public announcement, video announcement, video override etc.); as illustrated in FIG. 8, if the LOPA graphical element 300 indicates that a service 306, theme music, is in progress, it may also indicate that the type 308 of service is "classical" and the amount of time that it has been in progress; [0045], Selection of the Cabin Services 226 in the navigation area 210 provides a menu of cabin service functions configured for the aircraft. FIG. 6 illustrates cabin services such as those shown in on the cabin services menu 400: Pre-recorded Announcements and Music (PRAM) 402, Video Announcement 404, Boarding Music 406, Video Override 408, Theme Music 410, Overhead Video 412, Map Control 414, Camera Control 416, Audio/Video Control 418, and Script 420; [0047], A Video Announcement is a high-priority source, such as a safety video, displayed on the overhead monitors and the in-seat displays of the aircraft cabin. The audio is available through the cabin speakers and is distributed in the in-seat headsets as an audio public announcement. A Video Announcement overrides any entertainment going on in the aircraft or a selected section of the aircraft; [0050] FIG. 7 illustrates an exemplary video override screen 500 that allows the user to select a video for view and broadcast to the seat and overheads in the aircraft or a section of the aircraft as selected on the LOPA graphical element 300. The LOPA graphical element 300 may also provide visual display of the current status of other services in the aircraft or selected section of the aircraft. If a video source is already in progress, the LOPA graphical element 300 will display the elapsed time; [0051], FIG. 8 illustrates an exemplary theme music screen that may be displayed when Theme Music 410 element is selected from the Cabin Services Menu 400. As illustrated in FIG. 8, the theme music screen 360 allows the user to select from a set of music categories defined in the Screen Configuration Data 116 and to play or stop the theme music for the aircraft or a portion or the aircraft using the LOPA graphical element; see also [0053])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have incorporated outputting, via the one or more media presentation devices, an announcement during a third time interval between the first time interval and the second time interval, wherein the third time interval is based at least in part on user input received via the user interface of the media control device as suggested in Canal into Fagan. Doing so would be desirable because commercial passenger airlines and transportation vehicles continuously try to make travel as enjoyable as possible for their customers. Airlines often provide in-flight entertainment systems that provide access to various entertainment and services for passengers on the aircraft (see Canal [0002]). It is desirable for the crew and maintenance personnel to be able to centrally control and monitor the provision of and availability of services to passengers on the aircraft, in portions of the aircraft or in particular seats on the aircraft. In addition, new services may be added or existing services may need to be modified from time to time. It is desirable to be able to modify the availability of services, the types of services, and the display of information provided to the crew and maintenance personnel about those services. Therefore, it would be beneficial to be able to adapt the control logic for the display of such information and the navigation among menu screens without requiring changes in executable code (see Canal [0003]). The system of Canal would improve the system of Fagan by adding additional desired functionality, such as the ability to start and stop music as desired and also override music with an announcement ([0035], [0047], [0050]) thereby enabling flexible and dynamic media control to playback an announcement during a third time interval between the first time interval and the second time interval, wherein the third time interval is based at least in part on user input received via the user interface of the media control device.
Regarding claim 13, Fagan in view of Canal teaches all the limitations of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the media presentation causes one or more occupants of the vehicle to perform one or more actions (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0228], The monitors 96 are contemplated to be positioned to provide video information and entertainment to the passengers in the aircraft 36. It is contemplated that entertainment also may be provided to the passengers via entertainment devices that are associated with the passenger seats 74; [0273], The available devices section 176 provides a listing of the various video devices (i.e., the monitors 96) that are accessible on the aircraft. By selecting one or more of the icons associated with the available video devices 96, the user may select which of the monitors 96 will display the selected video content. For example, the user may elect to have a selected movie played on a nearby monitor 96 as well as a remote monitor in one of the bedrooms 64, 66. In this manner, the user may watch a movie from the user's seat 74 while his or her children watch the same movie in their bedroom 64; [0277], FIG. 8 is a viewing options GUI 186 that may be presented to the user after specific video content has been selected for viewing. The viewing options GUI 186 includes a viewing area submenu 188 and a sound options submenu 190. The viewing area submenu 188 allows the user to select one or more devices (i.e., one or more tablets 130 and/or one or more monitors 96) where the selected video is to be shown; [0283], Submenus of the audio submenu 192 are contemplated to operate in the same manner as the viewing options GUI 186, discussed above)
Response to Arguments
The Examiner acknowledges the Applicant’s amendments to claims 1, 6, 14, 19, and 20 and the cancellation of claims 2, 3, 15, and 16. The corrections to the claims are approved and the previous rejections of claims 1-20 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) are respectfully withdrawn.
Regarding independent claim 1, the Applicant alleges that Fagan in view of Canal as described in the previous Office action, does not explicitly teach amended claim 1 (see p. 8). Examiner respectfully disagrees. As discussed in the rejection above, Fagan is considered to teach: a method comprising receiving, from a user device and by one or more processors of a media control device of a vehicle, media data comprising one or more of: (i) one or more songs, (ii) one or more advertisements, and (iii) one or more announcements (Fagan Figs. 1-64; abs, [0193], [0199], [0234], [0245], [0247], [0276], [0278], [0282], [0375], [0355], [0378]); displaying, via a portion of a first region of a user interface of the media control device, a plurality of selectable category icons representative of a plurality of data categories for the media data, the plurality of data categories comprising (a) a song category, (b) an advertisement category (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0234], [0245], [0247-0248], [0253], [0262], [0264], [0288]); receiving, by the one or more processors, a control signal that initiates a media presentation, the media presentation based at least in part on the media data; adjusting, on the user interface and based at least in part on receiving the control signal that initiates the media presentation, a location of the plurality of selectable category icons from the portion of the first region of the user interface to a portion of a second region of the user interface (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0262], [0269], [0271], [0277-0279], [0283-0284], [0303]); and outputting, to one or more media presentation devices and based at least in part on receiving the control signal that initiates the media presentation, the media presentation (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0273], [0277], [0283]); displaying the plurality of selectable category icons via the portion of the second region and displaying an indication of the media presentation via a portion of a third region of the user interface, wherein the second region of the user interface comprises a first half of the user interface and the third region of the user interface comprises a second half of the user interface (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0269], [0271], [0273], [0277-0279], [0283-0284], [0303]); and displaying, via a second portion of the second region, a plurality of selectable presentation icons corresponding to a selected category icon of the plurality of selectable category icons (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0269], [0271], [0273], [0277-0279], [0283-0284], [0303]). Canal is cited to clarify the plurality of data categories comprising (a) a song category, (b) an advertisement category, and (c) an announcement category (Canal Figs. 1-13; [0027], [0035], [0045], [0047], [0053]). Thus, Fagan in view of Canal is considered to teach the claims.
Specifically applicant alleges that Fagan fails to teach or suggest at least "displaying the plurality of selectable category icons via the portion of the second region and displaying an indication of the media presentation via a portion of a third region of the user interface, wherein the second region of the user interface comprises a first half of the user interface and the third region of the user interface comprises a second half of the user interface; and displaying, via a second portion of the second region, a plurality of selectable presentation icons corresponding to a selected category icon of the plurality of selectable category icons" as recited by independent Claim 1 as amended (see remarks p. 9). Fagan's video submenu 172 navigates the user to an entirely different screen when a media type is selected. That is, it replaces the main menu 136 with a submenu (e.g., the video submenu 172). See Fagan, paragraph [0269] ("If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the video submenu 172."). This is fundamentally different from the claimed split-screen configuration where, in response to a control signal initiating a media presentation, the user interface simultaneously displays the category icons and presentation icons in a first half and an indication of the media presentation in a second half. Fagan does not disclose a user interface that dynamically transitions from a full-screen display to a split-screen configuration that simultaneously shows both the category/presentation icons and a media presentation indication (see remarks pp. 9-10). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
Fagan discloses a crew IO node ([0234]) that displays a main menu 136 including a plurality of selectable category icons ([0247]), as shown in Fig. 5 ([0245]). If the user accesses the video icon 142 on the main menu 136, the user will be directed to the video submenu 172 (FIG. 6, [0269]). As shown in Fig. 6, the plurality of selectable category icons have been relocated to the media bar 174 displayed in a second region comprising a first half of the user interface ([0271]). FIG. 8 is a viewing options GUI 186 that may be presented to the user after specific video content has been selected for viewing ([0277]). As shown in Fig, 8, an indication of a media presentation is displayed in a third region comprising a second half of the user interface. Fagan further discloses that audio and television submenus work similarly ([0278-0279], [0283-0284]).
Examiner notes the claims place no limitations on what the second region, third region, first half, and second half must comprise. For example, the claims do not indicate if the second and third region are the same or different region. The claims do not indicate if the first half and second half are the same or different halves. The claims do not indicate if the regions and halves are indicated on screen. For example, applicant alleges the claim requires transitioning from a full-screen display to a split-screen display (see remarks pp. 9-10); however, the claim does not recite full-screen or split-screen limitations. Thus Fagan’s disclosure of displaying the plurality of selectable category icons via the portion of the second region and displaying an indication of the media presentation via a portion of a third region of the user interface, wherein the second region of the user interface comprises a first half of the user interface and the third region of the user interface comprises a second half of the user interface; and displaying, via a second portion of the second region, a plurality of selectable presentation icons corresponding to a selected category icon of the plurality of selectable category icons (Fagan Figs. 1-64; [0269], [0271], [0273], [0277-0279], [0283-0284], [0303]) is considered to teach the limitations.
Applicant further alleges that Fagan fails to teach or suggest "receiving, from a user device...media data comprising one or more of: (i) one or more songs, (ii) one or more advertisements, and (iii) one or more announcements" as recited by Claim 1. In Fagan, media content is stored in a database 18 on the aircraft. See Fagan, paragraph [0199] ("The database 18 may be a memory storage device, an IO device such as an MP3 player, a compact disc ('CD') player, a digital video disk ('DVD') player, or any other suitable storage and playback device."). Fagan's crew IO node 22 serves as a control interface that sends commands to the CPU 12. That is, it does not transmit media data (songs, advertisements, announcements) to the media control device. There is no disclosure in Fagan of a user device transmitting media data to the media control device (see remarks p. 10). Examiner respectfully disagrees.
As discussed in the rejection above, Fagan discloses storing media files in a database 18 ([0355], [0370]). The database 18 may be a memory storage device, an IO device such as an MP3 player, a compact disc (“CD”) player, a digital video disk (“DVD”) player, or any other suitable storage and playback device ([0199]). Fagan discloses the processor 14 connects to one or more databases 18 via communication lines 24 to receive media data ([0199], [0204]).
Examiner notes the claims place no limitations on what the user device must comprise. The claims also place no limitations on how the media data must be received. For example, applicant alleges the claim requires a user device transmitting media data to the media control device display (see remarks p. 0); however, the claim does not recite transfer limitations. Thus, Fagan is considered to teach receiving, from a user device and by one or more processors of a media control device of a vehicle, media data comprising one or more of: (i) one or more songs, (ii) one or more advertisements, and (iii) one or more announcements (Fagan Figs. 1-64; abs., [0193], [0199], [0234], [0245], [0247], [0276], [0278], [0282], [0355] [0378]). Canal is cited to clarify the plurality of data categories comprising (a) a song category, (b) an advertisement category, and (c) an announcement category (Canal Figs. 1-13; [0027], [0035], [0045], [0047], [0053]). Thus, Fagan in view of Canal is considered to teach claim 1.
Similar arguments have been presented for claims 14 and 20 and thus, Applicant’s arguments are not persuasive for the same reasons.
Applicant states that the dependent claims recite all the limitations of the independent claims, and thus, are allowable in view of the remarks set forth regarding the independent claims. However, as discussed above, Fagan in view of Canal is considered to teach the independent claims, and consequently, the dependent claims are rejected.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Nezu (US 20070028269 A1) see Figs. 1-17 and [0070-0077].
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN T REPSHER III/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2143