Detailed Office Action
Applicant’s amendments and arguments dated 5/19/2026 have been entered and fully considered. Claims 1, 3, and 7 are amended. Claims 6 and 10-13 are withdrawn from examination. Claims 1-13 remain pending
Response to Amendments and Arguments
Applicant’s amendments have overcome the claim objection and the 35 USC 112(b) rejection previously set forth in the non-final office action of 2/26/2026. The objection and rejection are withdrawn.
Applicant arguments that claim 1 amendments overcome the primary art of SHIBUYA are not persuasive. The Examiner, with the aid of annotated FIG. 1 of SHIBUYA, and in the 35 USC 103 rejection section below, has shown that these amendments are disclosed by SHIBUYA. Additionally, the Examiner notes that the recitations of “first” and “second” in claim 1 do not denote order.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIBUYA (JP-H0465214-A and its English translation), hereinafter SHIBUYA, in view of NETER (US 6,461,556), hereinafter NETER. Note that the italicized text below are the instant claims. Also, note that annotated FIG. 1 of SHIBUYA is pasted below to assist with the mapping of the elements of claim 1.
Regarding claim 1, SHIBUYA discloses A temperature adjusting mold for adjusting a temperature of or cooling an injection-molded bottomed preform in a state where the injection-molded bottomed preform is held by a holding member {[P1] see highlighted text, [FIG. 1] note 18 is the holding member}, the temperature adjusting mold comprising:
A nozzle configured to be in airtight contact with a neck portion of the preform {[FIG. 1] note 16 and its whole structure is the nozzle that is airtight with preform 20 (preform will be in the area 20)};
and a hollow rod configured to be inserted in the preform, the hollow rod being provided concentrically in the nozzle {[FIG. 1] 26/28 is the hollow rod that is located concentrically with regard to the nozzle},
wherein an upper portion of the nozzle is provided with a first inlet {[FIG. 1] note the space above the arrow near numeral 30 is the first inlet, note that details are not shown, however that stream enters this space from a first inlet},
wherein an upper portion of the hollow rod is provided with a second inlet, wherein a first flow path is formed by an internal surface of the nozzle and an external surface of hollow rod, and wherein a second flow path is formed by an internal surface of the hollow rod {[FIG. 1] see the annotated FIG. 1 of SHIBUYA pasted below}.
SHIBUYA, however, is silent on the cooling medium being air that thus the nozzle and inlets being air nozzle and air inlets. SHIBUYA discloses using water as the cooling medium {[P3] see highlighted text}.
In the same field of endeavor that is related to post-mold cooling of preform, NETER discloses using air as the cooling medium in the hollow rod {[abstract] note cooling fluid in the pin or hollow rod, [C8, L14]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have substituted the cooling fluid of SHIBUYA (water) with the cooling air of NETER. Note that it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results is within the skill of an artisan {see MPEP 2143 (I)(B)}. This substitution is obvious and predictable since both fluids are used for cooling of preform in the same filed of endeavor. Note that for the rest of the claims, modified SHIBUYA is using air as the cooling medium.
Regarding claim 2, modified SHIBUYA discloses wherein a diameter of a first portion of the hollow rod is larger than a diameter of a second portion of the hollow rod and is smaller than a diameter of an inner surface of the preform, the first portion being configured to be inserted into the preform, the second portion being configured not to be inserted into the preform {[FIG. 1] note 28 is the first portion that has a larger diameter and is inside the preform 20, and 26 is the second portion that is outside and has a smaller diameter}.
Regarding claim 3, modified SHIBUYA discloses wherein the hollow rod is configured to be replaced with another hollow rod having a different shape to adjust a cross-sectional area of an air flow path, the air flow path being formed between an inner surface of the preform and an outer surface of the hollow rod {[FIG. 1 & 2] note the 28 in FIG. 2 has a different size and thus different cross section that is used to adjust the air flow path}.
Regarding claim 4, modified SHIBUYA discloses wherein a cross-section of a first portion of the hollow rod is a circular cross-section, the cross-section being perpendicular to an axis direction, the first portion being configured to be inserted into the preform {[FIG. 4] note the circular shape, also see claim 2 for insertion of the first portion}.
Regarding claim 5, NETER discloses wherein a cross-section of a first portion of the hollow rod is a circular cross-section and has a cross-sectional shape having a notched portion at at least one place in a circumferential direction, the cross-section being perpendicular to an axis direction, the first portion being configured to be inserted into the preform {see claim 4 for circular and insertion of the first portion, [C9, L41]}.
At the effective filing date of the instant invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have incorporated the teachings of NETER in the temperature adjusting mold of modified SHIBUYA and have included notches in the hollow rod of SHIBUYA. As disclosed by NETER, the advantage of these notches are the ability to include fins that assist with further efficiency of the cooling of the preform {[C9, L19-40]}.
Regarding claim 7, SHIBUYA discloses wherein the hollow rod has a cross-sectional shape where an outer diameter of a portion corresponding to the neck portion of the preform is larger than an outer diameter of the other portion, as seen in an axis direction {[FIG. 1] note part of 28 that corresponds to the neck portion of preform 20 is larger than the other portion or 26}.
Regarding claim 8, SHIBUYA discloses wherein cooling air is configured to flow into the first air flow path and to be discharged from the second air flow path, cooling air being for adjusting a temperature of or cooling the preform {[FIG. 1] and also see the discussion under claim 1 for air paths}.
Regarding claim 9, SHIBUYA discloses further comprising: a temperature adjustment pot mold into which the preform is configured to be inserted, the temperature adjustment pot mold being disposed below the holding member {[FIG. 1] 14 is the temperature adjustment pot that is below the holder as discussed under claim 1}.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/S. BEHROOZ GHORISHI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748