DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-11 are pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
In the information disclosure statement filed 13 June 2024, NPL doc. #1 fails to comply with 37 CFR 1.98(a)(2), which requires a legible copy of each cited foreign patent document; each non-patent literature publication or that portion which caused it to be listed; and all other information or that portion which caused it to be listed.
In this case, the copy provided by Applicant is not legible and the details therein are indecipherable.
It has been placed in the application file, but the information referred to therein has not been considered, unless cited by the examiner on form PTO-892.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to for the following informalities:
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following element(s) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s) (No new matter should be entered):
The “liner” of claims 5 and 6
The arrangement of claim 10, in which the “seatpost is axially displaceable through a dropper seatpost collar”. Examiner notes that Figs. 4 and 5 do show both a “seatpost 6” and a “dropper seatpost collar 12”; however, in these Figs. the collar 12 is shown as a single, integral part of the seatpost 6 (note the continuous cross-hatching), rather than as two separate components with one axially displaceable through the other.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Re Claim 1: Claim 1 recites the limitation "the lower region" in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
For examination purposes, for this Office Action only, the Examiner will interpret this limitation as –a lower region--.
Clarification and correction are required.
Re Claims 2-10: These claims are considered indefinite because of their dependency from indefinite claim 1.
Examiner notes that any prior art rejections made in this Office Action are made in view of the claims, as best understood by the Examiner, in view of the above indefiniteness rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by NPL 1 ("Dropper post accessory attachment collar" by 5ppppp, 04 February 2020; webpage <https://thingiverse.com/thing:4143338>1).
Re Claim 1: NPL 1 discloses a collar attachment (see “collar” in annotated Fig. 1 below) for supporting an accessory (see the accessory strapped to the collar in Figs. 3 and 5) on a bicycle seatpost (see below), the collar attachment having a first internal bore (see “1st bore” in annotated Fig. 2 below) for receiving the seatpost, and a second internal bore (see “2nd bore” in annotated Fig. 2 below), of larger diameter than the first internal bore, situated below the first internal bore with respect to the orientation of the seatpost in normal use, the collar attachment being provided with a front strap-retaining lip (see “1st lip” in annotated Fig. 4 below) situated at a lower region of the collar attachment and with a rear supporting lip (see “2nd lip” in annotated Fig. 4 below) situated at the lower region of the collar attachment opposite the front strap-retaining lip, the rear supporting lip being disposed at a lower level than the front strap-retaining lip (note the vertical level of each lip, as shown in dashed lines in annotated Fig. 4 below).
Re Claim 2: NPL 1 discloses a collar attachment, in which in which the first and second internal bores (see annotated Fig. 2 above) are coaxial (along a longitudinal axis of the seatpost and the collar).
Re Claim 3: NPL 1 discloses a collar attachment, which comprises two parts which are secured together by fasteners (note the fastener shown in annotated Fig. 1 above and the fastener holes shown in annotated Fig. 2 above).
Re Claim 7: NPL 1 discloses a collar attachment which is fitted to a bicycle seatpost (see “seatpost” in annotated Fig. 1 above), the first internal bore being a close fit on the seatpost (see Fig. 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 8-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL 1, as applied to claims 1-3 and 7 above, and further in view of McKenzie (US Patent 10,266,222).
Re Claim 4: NPL 1 discloses a collar attachment significantly as claimed except wherein the collar attachment comprises two parts interconnected by a living hinge.
McKenzie teaches the use of a collar attachment (7) for supporting an accessory (4) on a bicycle seatpost (2), and further wherein the collar attachment comprises two parts (see “arms” in annotated Fig. 3 below) interconnected by a living hinge (at the base end of bracket 7, connecting the arms; see annotated Fig. 3 below), for the purpose of easily attaching the collar attachment to the seatpost (2).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of NPL 1, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the collar attachment comprises two parts interconnected by a living hinge, as taught by McKenzie, for the purpose of easily attaching the collar attachment to the seatpost.
Re Claim 8: NPL 1 discloses a bicycle provided with a collar attachment in accordance with claim 7 (see rejection of claim 7 above), in which an accessory (see Figs 3 and 5) is mounted on the bicycle, the accessory being connected to the seatpost by the collar attachment.
NPL 1 fails to explicitly disclose wherein the accessory is a saddlebag.
McKenzie teaches the use of a collar attachment (7) for supporting an accessory (4) on a bicycle seatpost (2), and further wherein the accessory is a saddlebag (4), for the purpose of carrying equipment on the bicycle.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of NPL 1, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the accessory is a saddlebag, as taught by McKenzie, for the purpose of carrying equipment on the bicycle.
Re Claim 9: NPL 1 further discloses a bicycle, in which the seatpost is a dropper seatpost (see annotated Fig. 4 above).
Re Claim 10: NPL 1 further discloses a bicycle, in which the seatpost is axially displaceable through a dropper seatpost collar (see annotated Figs. 2 and 4 above) fitted to the top of a seat tube (see annotated Fig. 4 above) of the bicycle, the diameter of the second internal bore being sufficiently large to accommodate the dropper seatpost collar (see Fig .2).
Re Claim 11: NPL 1 further discloses a bicycle, in which the seatpost is in a lowered condition (See Figs. 2 and 3), and in which the second internal bore accommodates the dropper seatpost collar through which the seatpost extends (see Fig. 2).
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over NPL 1, as applied to claims 1-3 and 7 above, and further in view of Lien (US Patent 7,225,956).
Re Claim 5: NPL 1 discloses a collar attachment significantly as claimed except wherein a liner of resilient material is provided on the first internal bore.
Lien teaches the use of a collar attachment (93) for supporting an accessory (7) on a bicycle seatpost (82), the collar accessory comprising a bore (at the inner surface of frame 93) for receiving the seatpost, and further wherein a liner (6) of resilient material is provided on the first internal bore, for the purpose of cushioning the seatpost.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of NPL 1, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that a liner of resilient material is provided on the first internal bore, as taught by Lien, for the purpose of cushioning the seatpost.
Re Claim 6: NPL 1, as modified above in view of Lien, discloses a collar attachment significantly as claimed. Neither NPL 1 nor Lien explicitly disclose wherein the liner comprises thermoplastic polyurethane.
Examiner notes that it has been held that the selection of a known material based upon its suitability for the intended use is a design consideration within the skill of the art. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960) [discussed in MPEP 2144.07].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of NPL 1, with a reasonable expectation of success, such that the liner comprises thermoplastic polyurethane, for the purpose of achieving a desired cushioning and gripping effect, and since such a modification would amount to a design consideration within the skill of the art.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/MATTHEW R MCMAHON/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3678
1 Examiner notes that this NPL document was cited by Applicant with the IDS filed 13 June 2024; however, since the document supplied by Applicant was illegible, it has been re-cited by the Examiner in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited and a copy is attached herewith