DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
This Non-Final Office Action is in response to Application Serial 18/673,750. Claim 1-20 are examined below.
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA ) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Information Disclosure Statement
Applicant did not submit an information disclosure statement (IDS) for consideration by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claim(s) 1-7 are process.
Claims 8-14 are machine.
Claims 15-20 are manufacture.
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more. The claim 1 recites, “… causing … retrieved from a primary calendar, … selecting … to generate … defining a shortened duration of attendance … for the user; receiving input data including information of a start time … and information of a duration or an end time …, wherein the duration … is less than a duration …; in response to the input data including the start time and information of the duration or the end time …: storing the start time … and the duration or the end time … in a secondary calendar, generating status data by accessing … to obtain identities of attendees …, and accessing … of the secondary calendar to obtain the start time … and the end time or the duration …, and updating meeting objects accessible by the attendees … with the status data, wherein the status data indicates that a user has accepted an invitation …, the status data further indicating, based on the duration … being less than the duration …, that an attendance duration of the user is less than the duration …. The claim 8 recites, “cause … retrieved from a primary calendar, … for selecting … to generate a secondary meeting object; receive input data including information of a start time … and information of a duration or an end time of the secondary meeting object that define a duration …, wherein a duration … is less than a duration … that corresponds …; in response to the input data including information of the start time … and the duration or the end time … store the start time … and the duration or the end time … in a secondary calendar, generate status data by accessing … to obtain identities of attendees …, and accessing … of the secondary calendar to obtain the start time … and the duration or the end time …, update meeting objects accessible by the attendees … with the status data, wherein the status data indicates that a user has accepted an invitation …, the status data further indicating, based on the duration … being less than the duration …, that an attendance duration of the user is less than the duration ….” The claim 15 recites, “cause … retrieved from a primary calendar, … for selecting … for causing the system to generate …; receive input data including information of a start time … and information of a duration or an end time of … that define a duration …, wherein a duration … is less than a duration … that corresponds …; in response to the input data including the start time and information of the duration or the end time …: store the start time … and the duration or the end time … in a secondary calendar, generate status data by accessing … to obtain identities of attendees of …, and accessing … to obtain the start time … and the end time or the duration …, update meeting objects accessible by the attendees … with the status data, wherein the status data indicates that a user has accepted an invitation …, the status data further indicating, based on the duration … being less than the duration …, that an attendance duration of the user is less than the duration …”. Claims 1-20 in view of the claim limitations, are an abstract idea of managing communications sessions, which are also referred to as events or meetings, having a distinct start time and end time, and thus, the claims are evaluation and observation, and thus, the claims recite mental concepts and are directed to a judicial exception under the first prong of Step 2A.
This judicial exception are not integrated into a practical application under the second prong of Step 2A. In particular, the claims recite the additional elements beyond the recited abstract idea of, “A method, executed by a data processing system, for managing a customized schedule for a user to attend a meeting defined by a primary calendar, the user scheduled to attend a portion of the meeting according to a shortened attendance period defined by a secondary calendar, the method comprising”, “a display of a user interface”, “a number of primary meeting objects”, “ the user interface further comprising control elements”, “a secondary meeting object”, “for the primary meeting object” in claim 1; “A system for managing a customized schedule for a user to attend a meeting defined by a primary calendar, the user scheduled to attend a portion of the meeting according to a shortened attendance period defined by a secondary calendar, the system comprising: one or more processing units; and a computer-readable storage medium having encoded thereon computer-executable instructions to cause the one or more processing units to” “a display of a user interface comprising a number of primary meeting objects”, “the user interface further comprising control elements”, “ a primary meeting object from the primary meeting objects for causing the system” in claim 8; “A computer-readable storage medium having encoded thereon computer-executable instructions for managing a customized schedule for a user to attend a meeting defined by a primary calendar, the user scheduled to attend a portion of the meeting according to a shortened attendance period defined by a secondary calendar, the computer-executable instructions causing the one or more processing units of a system to”, “a display of a user interface comprising a number of primary meeting objects”, “the user interface further comprising control elements”, “a primary meeting object from the primary meeting objects for causing the system”, “a secondary meeting object”, in claim 15; however, when viewed as an ordered combination, and pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation, each of the additional elements are computing elements recite adding the words “apply it” (or an equivalent) with the judicial exception, or mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer or merely uses a computer as a tool to perform an abstract idea – see MPEP 2106.05 (f)
The dependent claims recite the additional elements:
Claim 2, 9, 16: the user interface includes a template having a graphical; drag-and-drop input gesture of moving a graphical element representing the primary meeting object to a graphical element;
Claim 3, 10, 17: an additional secondary meeting object;
Claim 4, 11, 18: a first timeline template from a plurality of timeline templates
Claim 5, 12,19: displays control elements, displays video streams, a communication session, displaying a notification on a computing device of the user
Claim 6, 13, 20: a communication application; control elements
Claim 7, 14: the large language model, the template parameters
Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. The claims also fails to recite any improvements to another technology or technical field, improvements to the functioning of the computer itself, use of a particular machine, effecting transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing.
The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. As discussed above, the additional elements when considered both individually and as an ordered combination do not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
At step 2B, it is MPEP 2106.05 (d) – Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec, 838 F.3d at 1321, 120 USPQ2d at 1362 (utilizing an intermediary computer to forward information).
Dependent claims 2-7 further narrow the abstract idea of independent claim 1. The claims 1-7 are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 9-14 further narrow the abstract idea of independent claim 8. The claims 8-14 are not patent eligible.
Dependent claims 16-20 further narrow the abstract idea of independent claim 15. The claims 15-20 are not patent eligible.
Moreover, aside from the aforementioned additional elements, the remaining elements of dependent claims 2-7, 9-14, & 16-20 do not transform the recited abstract idea into a patent eligible invention because these claims merely recite further limitations that provide no more than simply narrowing the recited abstract idea.
Since there are no limitations in these claims that transform the exception into a patent eligible application such that these claims amount to significantly more than the exception itself, claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as being directed to non-statutory subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 12, 13, 15, 17, 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lightbody (US 2024/0,095,682 A1) in view of Adams (EP 3,352,487 A1).
Regarding Claim 1,
A method, executed by a data processing system, for managing a customized schedule for a user to attend a meeting defined by a primary calendar, the user scheduled to attend a portion of the meeting according to a shortened attendance period defined by a secondary calendar, the method comprising: causing a display of a user interface comprising a number of primary meeting objects retrieved from a primary calendar, the user interface further comprising control elements for selecting a primary meeting object from the primary meeting objects for causing the system to generate a secondary meeting object defining a shortened duration of attendance for the primary meeting object for the user;
Similar to claim 8. Lightbody [005], [0053], [058], [063], [Figure 3A] discloses event durations 60 minutes (primary meeting object and setting/adjusting event to 30 minutes (secondary meeting object) because the user’s schedule is overbooked.
receiving input data including information of a start time of the secondary meeting object and information of a duration or an end time of the secondary meeting object, wherein the duration of the secondary meeting object is less than a duration of the primary meeting object; in response to the input data including the start time and information of the duration or the end time of the secondary meeting object: storing the start time of the secondary meeting object and the duration or the end time of the secondary meeting object in a secondary calendar,
See claim 8. Lightbody [053], [063],[064], [066]-[067], [0200], [Figure 3B], [Figure 7B].
generating status data by accessing the primary meeting object to obtain identities of attendees of the primary meeting object, and accessing the secondary meeting object of the secondary calendar to obtain the start time of the secondary meeting object and the end time or the duration of the secondary meeting object,
See claim 8. Lightbody [055], [058], [063],[0216], [Figure 6].
and updating meeting objects accessible by the attendees of the primary meeting object with the status data, wherein the status data indicates that a user has accepted an invitation for the primary meeting object, the status data further indicating, based on the duration of the secondary meeting object being less than the duration of the primary meeting object, that an attendance duration of the user is less than the duration of the primary meeting object.
See claim 8. Lightbody [005], [053], [055], [058], [063]-[064], [066]-[067], [0198], [0200], [0216], [Figure 2], [Figure 3B], [Figure 6].
Adams [066], [0107], [Figure 4C].
Lightbody teaches scheduling through adaptive timeblocking. Adams teaches managing a meeting session. It would have been obvious to combine before the effective filing date, an intelligent calendar systems that allows a user to defend the user’s time by integrating the task lists from different project management apps., to automatically schedule time for the user’s to-dos and autoschedule events based on priorities, as taught by Lightbody, with a notification suggesting a break, as taught by Adams, to reduce lost productivity and increase participant engagement., Adams [107].
Regarding Claim 8,
A system for managing a customized schedule for a user to attend a meeting defined by a primary calendar, the user scheduled to attend a portion of the meeting according to a shortened attendance period defined by a secondary calendar, the system comprising: one or more processing units; and a computer-readable storage medium having encoded thereon computer-executable instructions to cause the one or more processing units to:
cause a display of a user interface comprising a number of primary meeting objects retrieved from a primary calendar, the user interface further comprising control elements for selecting a primary meeting object from the primary meeting objects for causing the system to generate a secondary meeting object;
Lightbody teaches calendar management devices and systems that uses large language model or other AI/ML models to optimizing scheduling. Lightbody [005]; Lightbody teaches retrieving metadata for each of the one or more events, determining the priority and scheduling each of the one or more user events based on the priority information for each of the one or more user events.; Lightbody discloses calendar 211 may be displayed in a user interface like a conventional calendar that lists events in a day, week, or month format. Lightbody [0053], [Figure 3A].
Lightbody discloses the default setting for event duration may be static (e.g., 1 hour) or may be dynamically configured depending on the event type. For example, if an event is identified as a personal event, the default duration may be set to 60 minutes (primary meeting object), while the default for setting for a work event may be set to 30 minutes (secondary meeting object) is the user’s schedule is overbooked. Lightbody [058], [063]
receive input data including information of a start time of the secondary meeting object and information of a duration or an end time of the secondary meeting object that define a duration of the secondary meeting object, wherein a duration of the secondary meeting object is less than a duration of the primary meeting object that corresponds to secondary meeting object; in response to the input data including information of the start time of the secondary meeting object and the duration or the end time of the secondary meeting object: store the start time of the secondary meeting object and the duration or the end time of the secondary meeting object in a secondary calendar,
Lightbody discloses the user interface may also include settings to allow a user to set up default task settings, buffer time settings (including task duration, event duration, start delay, and due date), settings for working hours, personal hours, and meeting hours, and color setting/, Lightbody [053]; Lightbody teaches the default settings for the event type are set as a personal event, the time window is set to 8:00 am as the start time. Lightbody [064], [Figure 3B]. Lightbody teaches as can be seen from the figure, the user interface allows the user to customize the frequency, the available days, and the time window including the start time, ideal time, and end time for the smart 1:1 meetings., Lightbody [0200], [Figure 7B].
Lightbody discloses the task service module 230 may work with an AI-assisted prioritization module 209 to determine whether a project, task, or event is prioritizable. Lightbody [066]. Lightbody discloses task service module 203 may check the intelligent calendar 211 for created task 232 or event 216, then determine a proper time slot. Lightbody [067].
Lightbody teaches if an event is identified as a personal event, the default duration may be set to 60 minutes (primary meeting object), while the default for setting for a work event may be set to 30 minutes (secondary meeting object) is the user’s schedule is overbooked.,Lightbody [063].
generate status data by accessing the primary meeting object to obtain identities of attendees of the primary meeting object, and accessing the secondary meeting object of the secondary calendar to obtain the start time of the secondary meeting object and the duration or the end time of the secondary meeting object,
Lightbody teaches making time for tasks 600 (e.g., make time for one-on-one)., Lightbody [Figure 6 and the associated text]. Lightbody teaches the intelligent calendar application makes sure that 1:1 meetings are always scheduled around other calendar events., Lightbody [0198].
[Other calendar events are the primary meeting object. Secondary meeting object is the 1:1 or a lower priority meeting/event].
update meeting objects accessible by the attendees of the primary meeting object with the status data, wherein the status data indicates that a user has accepted an invitation for the primary meeting object, the status data further indicating, based on the duration of the secondary meeting object being less than the duration of the primary meeting object, that an attendance duration of the user is less than the duration of the primary meeting object.
Lightbody teaches the intelligent calendar application blocks time on a user's calendar for the user's habits, tasks, and smart 1:1 meetings, it looks at the user's schedule to see how busy the user is., Lightbody [0216].
See above - Lightbody [063] and [Figure 6].
Light bit teaches RSVP (“please respond”) (e.g., accept or decline if not auto-declined), or rescheduling (e.g. if overlapping with existing events in the intelligent calendar 211), Lightbody [055], [058].
Adams further teaches
that an attendance duration of the user is less than the duration.
Adams teaches taking meeting breaks to reduce lost productivity and increase participant engagement., Adams [107] Adams Fig 4c teaches meeting breaks start times and endtimes., Adams [066].
Lightbody teaches scheduling through adaptive timeblocking. Adams teaches managing a meeting session. It would have been obvious to combine before the effective filing date, an intelligent calendar systems that allows a user to defend the user’s time by integrating the task lists from different project management apps., to automatically schedule time for the user’s to-dos and autoschedule events based on priorities, as taught by Lightbody, with a notification suggesting a break, as taught by Adams, to reduce lost productivity and increase participant engagement., Adams [107].
Regarding Claim 10, [and similarly claim 3 and claim 17]
The system of Claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processing units to: generating an additional secondary meeting object that reserves a timeslot for the user, wherein the system restricts an overlap between the secondary meeting object and the timeslot.
See Claim 8 - Lightbody [0198] and Lightbody [066]-[067].; Lightbody [Figure 7A] and Lightbody [055], [058].
Lightbody teaches a user has to rejigger his/her whole schedule to get things back on track., Lighbody [0223]. Lightbody teaches reprioritization is as easy as a single click. For example, if a user has decided that “customer support emergency response” is more important than “write that important strategy doc,” even if the strategy doc is due sooner, a user can just click “toggle priority” as shown in FIG. 9D, to change the priority of an event or task as expected, which then causes certain events rescheduled due to the changed priorities. Lightbody [0224]. Rescheduling prevents overlap.
Lightbody teaches by integrating into Zoom, a user status can be automatically updated when the user enters and leaves a Zoom call, which may make the Zoom call less distracted due to automatic status updates displayed to others., Zoom [0135]. Meeting status prevents overlaps.
Lightbody teaches for example, the integrated intelligent calendar application may automatically find the best openings in Google Calendar using smart time blocking and keep that time available for adjustments until a user starts to run out of options or is close to the due date. In addition, the integrated intelligent calendar application may automatically block time for important tasks as soon as these tasks come up right through the user's email inbox, and automatically schedule these tasks in the Google Calendar when the intelligent calendar application is integrated into the Google Tasks., Lightbody [0136]. Blocking time prevents overlaps.
Regarding Claim 12, [and similarly claim 5 and claim 19]
The system of Claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processing units to: transitioning from a predetermined operating mode to a meeting mode, wherein the predetermined operating mode displays control elements for selecting a primary meeting object from the primary meeting objects for causing the system to generate a secondary meeting object, wherein the meeting mode displays video streams of users participating in a communication session;
Lightbody teaches such calendars or event organization platforms configured for integration may include, but are not limited to, Google Calendar (“271” in FIG. 2), Slack, Zoom, Google Tasks, Todoist, Asana, Jira, ClickUp, monday.com, Trello, Office 365 (“272” in FIG. 2), etc. By integration into different platforms, it can allow a user to manage the user events across different platforms., Lightbody [0133].; Lightbody teaches by integrating into Zoom, a user status can be automatically updated when the user enters and leaves a Zoom call, which may make the Zoom call less distracted due to automatic status updates displayed to others., Zoom. Lightbody [0135]
during the meeting mode, monitoring a running time of a meeting defined by the primary meeting object to determine that the running time of the meeting is within a threshold time relative to the end time of the secondary meeting object; and in response to determining that the running time of the meeting is within a threshold time relative to the end time of the secondary meeting object …
Lightbody discloses the default setting for event duration may be static (e.g., 1 hour) or may be dynamically configured depending on the event type. For example, if an event is identified as a personal event, the default duration may be set to 60 minutes (primary meeting object), while the default for setting for a work event may be set to 30 minutes (secondary meeting object) is the user’s schedule is overbooked., Lightbody [058], [063] Lightbody teaches threshold.
Although highly suggested, Lightbody does not teach:
…. displaying a notification on a computing device of the user providing a suggestion of when to leave the meeting.
Adams teaches:
runtime … and in response to determining that the running time of the meeting is within a threshold time relative to the end time of the secondary meeting object, displaying a notification on a computing device of the user providing a suggestion of when to leave the meeting.
Adams Figure 4B teaches an attendee list button and break request window. Adams [Fig 4B items 424, 460, 462]
Adams teaches sending a notification 494 to the participants screen. The meeting notification overlays on the participants screen. Adams [Figure 4E -item 494 and the associated text ]. Adams discloses the meeting notification 494 may be automatically displayed when the break ends, i.e. when the countdown timer expires. The countdown timer may have a duration based on a default value, set by the meeting presenter. Or set by the server 110 bases on time parameter values. Adams [Figure 4E -item 494 and the associated text ], [Figure 5B item 572 and the associated text].
Adams teaches a notification of when to take a break and when to return from a break. The notification may be automatically triggered by meeting server 110. Adams [Figure 4C -item(s) 430, 480 and the associated text ], [Figure 4E -item 430 and the associated text ], [Figure 5B item 572 and the associated text], Adams [Figure 10].
Lightbody teaches scheduling through adaptive timeblocking. Adams teaches managing a meeting session. It would have been obvious to combine before the effective filing date, an intelligent calendar systems that allows a user to defend the user’s time by integrating the task lists from different project management apps., to automatically schedule time for the user’s to-dos and autoschedule events based on priorities, as taught by Lightbody, with a notification suggesting a break, as taught by Adams, to reduce lost productivity and increase participant engagement., Adams [107].
Regarding Claim 13, [and similarly claim 6 and claim 20]
The system of Claim 8, wherein permission data permits a communication application to modify the secondary meeting object of the secondary calendar and concurrently restricts the communication application from modifying the primary meeting objects the primary calendar while the communication application is in a predetermined operating mode displaying control elements for selecting a primary meeting object from the primary meeting objects for causing the system to generate a secondary meeting object.
Lightbody teaches calendars or event organization platforms configured for integration may include, but are not limited to, Google Calendar (“271” in FIG. 2), Slack, Zoom, Google Tasks, Todoist, Asana, Jira, ClickUp, monday.com, Trello, Office 365 (“272” in FIG. 2), etc. By integration into different platforms, it can allow a user to manage the user events across different platforms., Lightbody [0133]-[0136].
Regarding Claim 15,
A computer-readable storage medium having encoded thereon computer-executable instructions for managing a customized schedule for a user to attend a meeting defined by a primary calendar, the user scheduled to attend a portion of the meeting according to a shortened attendance period defined by a secondary calendar, the computer-executable instructions causing the one or more processing units of a system to: cause a display of a user interface comprising a number of primary meeting objects retrieved from a primary calendar, the user interface further comprising control elements for selecting a primary meeting object from the primary meeting objects for causing the system to generate a secondary meeting object; receive input data including information of a start time of the secondary meeting object and information of a duration or an end time of the secondary meeting object that define a duration of the secondary meeting object, wherein a duration of the secondary meeting object is less than a duration of the primary meeting object that corresponds to secondary meeting object; in response to the input data including the start time and information of the duration or the end time of the secondary meeting object: store the start time of the secondary meeting object and the duration or the end time of the secondary meeting object in a secondary calendar, generate status data by accessing the primary meeting object to obtain identities of attendees of the primary meeting object, and accessing the secondary meeting object of the secondary calendar to obtain the start time of the secondary meeting object and the end time or the duration of the secondary meeting object, update meeting objects accessible by the attendees of the primary meeting object with the status data, wherein the status data indicates that a user has accepted an invitation for the primary meeting object, the status data further indicating, based on the duration of the secondary meeting object being less than the duration of the primary meeting object, that an attendance duration of the user is less than the duration of the primary meeting object.
See claim 8. Lightbody [005], [053], [055], [058], [063]-[064], [066]-[067], [0198], [0200], [0216], [Figure 2], [Figure 3B], [Figure 6].
Adams [066], [0107], [Figure 4C].
Lightbody teaches scheduling through adaptive timeblocking. Adams teaches managing a meeting session. It would have been obvious to combine before the effective filing date, an intelligent calendar system that allows a user to defend the user’s time by integrating the task lists from different project management apps., to automatically schedule time for the user’s to-dos and autoschedule events based on priorities, as taught by Lightbody, with a notification suggesting a break, as taught by Adams, to reduce lost productivity and increase participant engagement., Adams [107].
Claim(s) 2, 4, 9, 11, 16, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lightbody (US 2024/0,095,682 A1) in view of Adams (EP 3,352,487 A1) in further view of Kreitler (EP 3,352,487 A1).
Regarding Claim 9, [and similarly claim 2 and claim 16]
The system of Claim 8, wherein the user interface includes a template having a graphical element representing the start time of the secondary meeting object and the end time of the secondary meeting object, … representing the primary meeting object to a graphical element representing the start time of the secondary meeting object and the end time of the secondary meeting object, the input gesture causing generation of data that associates the primary meeting object to the secondary meeting object.
See Claim 8 – Lightbody [063], [Figure 6], and [0198].
Although highly suggested, Kreitler does not explicitly teach:
wherein the input data is generated from a drag-and-drop input gesture of moving a graphical element
Kreitler teaches:
wherein the input data is generated from a drag-and-drop input gesture of moving a graphical element
Kreitler teaches in Figure 6, where the user has chosen to create a new project, they may be prompted at 600 to invite team members to be given access to the new project. The user may then be given several options in which to associate images with the project. In the screen of Figure 7, a drag-and-drop type interface 700 enables., Kreitler [column 4 lines 15-20].
Kreitler teaches for example, an organization may use JIRA to track some types of tasks or issues, and another tool such as Trello or Project Place to track other types of tasks. These different task management tools., Kreitler [043].
Lightbody teaches scheduling through adaptive timeblocking. Kreitler provides an interactive graphical user interface to an issue tracking / project management system. It would have been obvious to combine before the effective filing date, an intelligent calendar systems that allows a user to defend the user’s time by integrating the task lists from different project management apps., to automatically schedule time for the user’s to-dos and autoschedule events based on priorities, as taught by Lighbody, with using a drag and drop interface to manage tasks, as taught by Kreitler, to integrate a graphical image with task information maintained in a project management system., Kreitlfler [abstract].
Regarding Claim 11, [and similarly claim 4 and claim 18]
The system of Claim 8, wherein the user interface includes a menu for selecting … for secondary meeting objects and individual timeslots for restricts an overlap between the secondary meeting objects.
Lightbody [0223]-[0224], [Figure 7A] teaches reprioritization and finding time on calendar to schedule meeting using smart 1:1.
Lightbody teaches for example, the integrated intelligent calendar application may automatically find the best openings in Google Calendar using smart time blocking and keep that time available for adjustments until a user starts to run out of options or is close to the due date. In addition, the integrated intelligent calendar application may automatically block time for important tasks as soon as these tasks come up right through the user's email inbox, and automatically schedule these tasks in the Google Calendar when the intelligent calendar application is integrated into the Google Tasks., Lightbody [0136].
Although highly suggested, Lightbody teaches:
a first timeline template from a plurality of timeline templates, wherein each timeline template includes a different set of timelines
Kreitler teaches:
a first timeline template from a plurality of timeline templates, wherein each timeline template includes a different set of timelines
Kreitler teaches in Figure 23 teaches timeline.; Kreitler teaches Figure 23 is another use case where the image is a photograph of a project time line. As with the prior example, the team was in a meeting that spontaneously made a plan, drawing boxes and lines between the boxes. This image can be imported into Gliffy Project, and have hotspots associated with it, and tasks created for each hotspot. Dates, person(s) responsible and level(s) of effort can also be input to the associated project management tool and applied to hotspots for images imported this way., Kreitler [046].
Lightbody teaches scheduling through adaptive timeblocking. Kreitler provides an interactive graphical user interface to an issue tracking / project management system. It would have been obvious to combine before the effective filing date, an intelligent calendar systems that allows a user to defend the user’s time by integrating the task lists from different project management apps., to automatically schedule time for the user’s to-dos and autoschedule events based on priorities, as taught by Lightbody, with timelines as taught by Kreitler, to integrate a graphical image with task information maintained in a project management system., Kreitler [abstract]
Claim(s) 7, 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lightbody (US 2024/0,095,682 A1) in view of Adams (EP 3,352,487 A1) and in further view of Lu (US 12,118,513 B1).
Regarding Claim 14, [and similarly claim 7]
The system of Claim 8, wherein the instructions further cause the one or more processing units to: generating a query that includes activity data defining at least one of historical meeting records, attendance records, invitee lists, and user activity levels during past meetings that are dated prior to a predetermined date as grounding data …., the query including instructions that cause … to generate template parameters defining at least one of the start time, the end time, or the duration of the secondary meeting object; communicating the query to … to generate the template parameters defining at least one of the start time, the end time, or the duration of the secondary meeting object; and receiving the template parameters…. , the template parameters displayed on the user interface comprising a number of primary meeting objects retrieved from a primary calendar, wherein the control elements include the template parameters for user selection of the start time of the secondary meeting object and an end time of the secondary meeting object.
Lightbody teaches the intelligent calendar systems disclosed herein may include a machine learning algorithm that determines to schedule events with complex frequencies by learning from the previous scheduling patterns for similar events from a same user or a large number of calendars of different users. For another example, the intelligent calendar systems disclosed herein may also include a machine learning algorithm that automatically identifies the assignment event categories, so as to automatically schedule events based on the identified event categories. The intelligent calendar systems may also include other ML/AI mechanisms for automation of calendar scheduling without requiring many user inputs., Lightbody [034].
See Above. Lightbody [053], [064], [Figure 3B]
Although highly suggested, Lightbody does not explicitly teach:
… the large language model causing the large language model … from the large language model …
Lu teaches:
… the large language model causing the large language model … from the large language model …
The content can be generated by an artificial intelligence (AI) system (e.g., a generative AI system including a large language model (LLM)) in accordance with a particular type of content associated with a block. The particular type of content can be, for example, a summary or a list of action items. , [column 2 lines 13-21], [Figure 3A and the associated task].
Lightbody teaches scheduling through adaptive timeblocking. Lu teaches initiate a generative process to create in-block content of a particular type. It would have been obvious to combine before the effective filing date, an intelligent calendar systems that allows a user to defend the user’s time by integrating the task lists from different project management apps., to automatically schedule time for the user’s to-dos and autoschedule events based on priorities, as taught by Lightbody, with using a string of text instructions that cause an AI system (e.g., an LLM system) to create the in-block content to be displayed in the page, as taught by Lu, to easy and efficient manner of generating content, such as summaries, lists, or action items based on content already existing on a workspace page., to create generative content of the particular type based on the selection of the in-page content. Lu [abstract].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sen (1997, Satisfying user preferences while negotiating meetings.) discloses meeting preferences, balancing concerns, proposing and accepting meeting times that satisfy user preferences.)
Maeda (JP 2025055152 discloses adjusting schedules and automatically finding available time be refencing group’s schedule and adjusting through chat.)
Brzozowski (2006, groupTime: preference based group scheduling.) teaches a machine learning approaches that implicitly learns hoe users prefer to schedule time and then attempts to predict their responses.
Trello (2021, Trello helps teams move work forward.) teaches drag and drop functions for project management tasks and team hub.
/THEA LABOGIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3624