Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, 8-9, and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Toomeoja et al.(WO2008108769) hereinafter Toomeoja et al.
Toomeoja et al. teaches writing and aromatherapy diffusion device having a first housing containing a conventional writing implement, such as a pen or pencil, which is connected to a second housing containing a wick for diffusing essential oils. The two housings include threads for easy attachment to each other. The second housing includes an aperture at one end for diffusing the essential oils into the air where they may be inhaled into the nose of a user. A cap is provided to allow for the selective covering of the second housing, including any apertures, thereby preventing the further diffusion of air containing the essential oils.
Regarding claim 1, Toomeoja et al. teaches a writing instrument; a cartridge body connected with the writing instrument and defining at least one reservoir adapted to contain a volatile substance;
a cartridge cap connected with the cartridge body and defining at least one vent opening; at least one wick, wherein a proximal portion of the wick is disposed within the cartridge cap adjacent the opening and wherein a distal portion of the wick is disposed in the reservoir; and at least one vent actuator movably connected with the cartridge cap adjacent a respective one of the at least one vent, wherein, in a first configuration the vent actuator opens the respective vent opening allowing the volatile liquid to evaporate and release vapors through the vent opening and in a second configuration the vent actuator closes the respective vent opening. Note annotated figures 1 and 2 above and paragraph [0013] – [0020].
Regarding claim 6, Toomeoja et al. teaches wherein the volatile substance is an essential oil. Note annotated figures 1 and 2 above and paragraph [0013] – [0020].
Regarding claim 8, Toomeoja et al. teaches wherein the writing instrument comprises a tube coupled with the proximal end of the cartridge body and a marking device disposed within the tube. Note annotated figures 1 and 2 above and paragraph [0013] – [0020].
Regarding claim 9, Toomeoja et al. teaches wherein a distal end of the marking device extends from a distal opening at a distal end of the tube. Note annotated figures 1 and 2 above and paragraph [0013] – [0020].
Regarding claim 11, Toomeoja et al. teaches wherein the writing instrument comprises an ink pen, a ball point pen, a gel pen, a felt tip pen, a pencil, a crayon, an inkless pen, a paint brush, a metal alloy stylus, or a calligraphy brush. Note annotated figures 1 and 2 above and paragraph [0013] – [0020].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Toomeoja et al.(WO2008108769) hereinafter Toomeoja et al. in view of Wagenheim(US 20150197118) hereinafter Wagenheim.
Regarding claim 10, Toomeoja et al. teaches the claimed invention as set forth above but does not specifically teach an actuation mechanism connected with the tube and the marking device, wherein actuation of the actuation mechanism moves the marking device from an extended configuration wherein the marking device extends from a distal end of the tube and a retracted configuration wherein the marking device is retracted within the tube.
Wagenheim teaches writing instrument includes a writing portion having a conventional writing implement and an aroma carrier separated from direct contact with a user. The aroma carrier is configured to allow release of the aroma to the user. The aroma carrier is separated from the writing portion by a divider that prevents fluid communication between the aroma carrier and the writing portion. The writing instrument may disperse any preferred aroma from the aroma carrier. Paragraph [0040] In use, the barrel 32 is held by a user to prevent the barrel 32 from rotating, while rotation of the holding sleeve 136 in a first direction causes extension of the pen refill 140 from the holding sleeve lower end 160. Retraction of the pen refill 140 may occur via an opposite rotation of the holding sleeve 136 relative to the barrel 32. One of ordinary skill will also realize that the writing portion 22 may instead include a suitable alternative mechanism configured to extend and retract the ink pen refill 40, such as a pin and spring mechanism (not shown).
Therefore, It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to include in the device of Toomeoja et al. an optional extension and retraction mechanism as taught by Wagenheim to ensure the marking device does not inadvertently mark items.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5, 7, and 12-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claims were given the broadest reasonable interpretation. There are aspects of applicants invention that are not seen in the prior art that could be relied on for further clarifying the claims to define over the current prior art of record. The examiner suggests clarifying the claims by focusing on allowable subject matter outlined in the allowable claims as set forth below to better define the structure of the aromatherapy device relative to the prior art reference to Toomeoja et al.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The prior art of record teaches aromatherapy pens including both a writing device attached to an aromatherapy device where the aroma therapy portion includes a cartridge that includes a chamber or reservoir for a wick and essential oil where the cartridge includes a cap and at least one vent and a mechanism to cover the vent(s) to control whether the essential oil smell is released or not.
The closest prior art of record does not reasonably teach alone or in combination the subject matter of the independent claim including where the vent actuator includes a slider adjacent the vent opening, or where there are plural reservoirs separated or isolated by a seal and plural wicks, and a plurality of vent openings and vent actuators or where the wick hole includes radial extensions or where cartridge body defines an distal opening at a distal end thereof, wherein the distal opening is in fluid communication with a distal end of the at least one reservoir, the device further comprising a plug sized to sealingly fit into the distal opening, the plug defining an air passage from an ambient atmosphere into the at least one reservoir, wherein at least a portion of the air passage is sized to prevent flow of the volatile liquid.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Keener(US 20160001035) teaches an aromatherapy device includes a housing forming two annular wells for retaining a scented fluid therein. Each well includes an insert positioned in the well to assist the retention of the fluid in the well by providing a second contact surface for the fluid to contact. The shape of the annular well and the viscosity of the fluid discourage the fluid from leaking out of the housing if laid on its side.
Kolins(US 20100001093) teaches a personal device for releasing the aroma of an essential oil includes an inner flexible container received within a rigid outer shell that is open on opposite sides to expose side portions of the inner flexible container. An interior chamber of the flexible container is partially filled with cotton or other fibrous material and a charge of an essential oil that saturates the cotton material. A cap fitted to an open top end of the flexible container includes a flip nozzle with a ball valve. The flip nozzle is operable between a lowered position to close the ball valve and seal the open top of the flexible container closed, and a raised straight up position to open the ball valve and permit release of beneficial aromas of the essential oil from an open end of the nozzle upon squeezing the exposed sides of the flexible container while holding the nozzle below the user's nostrils so that the aromas are released for direct inhalation through the user's nostrils.
Wetzel et al.( US 6899486) teaches writing pen such as a ballpoint pen having a scented housing or barrel made by including a scented agent (natural or synthetic) into the material (such as plastic) forming the pen housing. In the case of a metal housing or barrel, the pen has a scented coating such as lacquer or enamel. In a preferred embodiment the pen has a grip incorporated into the pen barrel made of a relatively soft, polymeric or rubber material which incorporates a scent giving off the desired aroma. The inventive scented pen is useful as an advertising or other promotional device and includes imprinted advertising, logo or other identification of the source for advertising purposes. The pen has the pleasant aroma of a commercial establishment with which the aroma is associated, such as the aroma of the coffee of a particular coffee house, with the name or logo of the coffee house.
SHIBUYA et al(JP 2003105244) teaches a marking pen capable of enhancing a letter and figure in sense of both sight and smell, and also largely improving learning efficiency of a writer, by generating a fragrance having aromatherapeutic effect.
/BRIAN L CASLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791