DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 5,794,889 to Tamllos (Tamllos).
Regarding Claim 1: Tamllos discloses a height-adjustable shooting sticks, comprising: a first leg (See Annotated Fig. A) pivotably coupled to a second leg (See Annotated Fig. A); a center column (See Annotated Fig. A) coupled to the first and second leg; and a yoke (See Annotated Fig. A) coupled to a top end of the center column; wherein the center column is vertically adjustable in relation to the first and second legs.
Regarding Claim 2: Tamllos discloses a height-adjustable shooting sticks of claim 1, wherein the first leg is pivotably coupled to the second leg via an assembly collar (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 3: Tamllos discloses a height-adjustable shooting sticks of claim 2, wherein the center column (See Annotated Fig. A) is coupled to the first and second legs (See Annotated Fig. A) via the assembly collar (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 4: Tamllos discloses a height-adjustable shooting sticks of claim 3, wherein the assembly collar comprises a lock (See Annotated Fig. A) configured to secure the position of the center column in relation to the assembly collar and first and second legs.
Regarding Claim 5: Tamllos discloses a height-adjustable shooting sticks of claim 1, wherein the first leg and second leg (See Annotated Fig. A) each comprise at least one leg segment (See Annotated Fig. A) configured to be telescopic in relation to the first and second leg, respectively.
Regarding Claim 6: Tamllos discloses a height-adjustable shooting sticks of claim 5, wherein the first and second leg each comprise at least one leg lock (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 9: Tamllos discloses a height-adjustable shooting sticks of claim 1, wherein the yoke (See Annotated Fig. A) is configured to freely rotate in relation to the assembly collar (See Annotated Fig. A).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7, 8, 10-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tamllos in view of US Patent No. 11,988,322 to Hourigan (Hourigan).
Regarding Claim 7: Tamllos does not disclose wherein the center column comprises a counterweight hook. However, Hourigan teaches a center column (112b) comprising a counterweight hook (112c). It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art at a time before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Tamllos by using a counterweight hook similar to that taught by Hourigan to provide additional stability (See Col. 4, lines 49-53).
Regarding Claims 8 and 14: Tamllos does not disclose that the legs are pivotable to a range of zero to ninety degrees. However, Hourigan teaches legs that are pivotable from zero degrees (See Figure 2) to ninety degrees (See Figure 8 – note the gears 802) using the gears (802) that provide gears for a range of rotation from zero to ninety. The locking gears (802) provide incremental positions ranging from zero to ninety.
Regarding Claim 10: Tamllos discloses a height-adjustable shooting sticks, comprising: a first leg (See Annotated Fig. A) pivotably coupled to a second leg (See Annotated Fig. A) via an assembly collar (See Annotated Fig. A), the first and second leg each comprising at least one leg segment (See Annotated Fig. A) configured to be telescopic in relation to the first and second leg, respectively; a center column (See Annotated Fig. A) slidably received through the assembly collar . . . a lock (See Annotated Fig. A) configured to secure the vertical position of the center column in relation to the assembly collar; a yoke (See Annotated Fig. A) coupled to a top end of the center column, the yoke configured to rotate in relation to the assembly collar; and a quick release mounting bracket (See Annotated Fig. A) for coupling the yoke to the center column.
Tamllos does not disclose wherein the center column comprises a counterweight hook; however, Hourigan teaches such a counterweight hook, which would have been obvious for the same reasons discussed in Claim 7.
Regarding Claim 11: Tamllos discloses a height-adjustable shooting sticks of claim 10, wherein the first and second legs each comprise a foot (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding Claim 12: Neither Tamllos nor Hourigan disclose or teach a yoke comprise a V-shape but rather Tamllos discloses a U-shaped yoke. Nonetheless, it would have been obvious for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the yoke shape to be a V shape. Here's why:
First, Courts have held that changes in shape normally require only routine skill in the art and are therefore considered routine expedients unless the Applicant has demonstrated the criticality of a specific limitation.1 With regards to a specific shape or configuration of the claimed invention, courts have held that “the configuration of the claimed [device] was a matter of choice which a person of ordinary skill would have found obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular configuration of the claimed [device] was significant.”2 In the instant application, Applicant discloses that the yoke may have a V or U shape or a flat surface. (See para 0039 of specification) This disclosure does not demonstrate that the V shaped yoke is critical but rather demonstrates the yoke can be many different shapes and sizes and therefore the shape is not critical. As a result, Examiner can rely solely on case law as the rational to support an obviousness rejection.3
In Tamllos the yoke is U shaped. It would have been obvious at a time before the effective date of the current application for a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the yoke of Tamllos to be V shaped, which would provide another cradle shape option for a user depending on their particular preference. Moreover, doing so would not have unexpected results or change the functionality of the device.
Regarding Claim 13: Tamllos discloses a height-adjustable shooting sticks of claim 10, wherein the yoke comprises a non-slip surface (See Annotated Fig. A).
Regarding method Claim 15: In view of the structure disclosed and taught by Tamllos in view of Hourigan, the method of operating the device would have been obvious and implicitly taught, since it is the normal and logical manner in which the device could be used. If a prior art device, in its normal and usual operation, would necessarily perform the method claimed, then the method claimed will be considered to be obvious to a person of ordinary skill and/or implicitly taught by the prior art reference at a time before the effective date of the claimed invention. When the prior art device is arguably the same as the claimed invention it can be assumed the device will implicitly perform the claimed process.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. In addition to the references used in this rejection and those cited in the PTO-892, the following references are very relevant to the claimed invention: US 9151562, 6044747.
ERET C. MCNICHOLS
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3632
/ERET C MCNICHOLS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3632
1 See MPEP 2144.04.
2 See MPEP 2144.04(B)
3 See MPEP 2144.04.