Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: Paragraph [0078] recited “105A” but such reference is not labeled in none of the figures. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The examiner suggests in Paragraph [0054], line 1, rewriting “U.S. Patent Application No._______” to --U.S. Patent No. 18/673,896-- to provide the patent application number of the related case.
The examiner suggests the following changes below to provide consistency between the drawings reference numbers and the specification:
Paragraphs [0077]-[0078], rewriting each instance of “125m” to --125-- and;
Paragraphs [0077]-[0078], rewriting each instance of “125p” to --125--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-3, 12, 16 and 18 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 3, 14 and 19 of co-pending application 18/673,896.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
As set forth below, the chart identifies which claims from the current application corresponds to conflicting claims found in the co-pending application
Current Application
Co-pending Application 18/673,896
1
3
2
3
3
3
12
3
16
14
18
19
As disclosed in the chart above, the co-pending claims 3, 14 and 19 substantially recite the same limitations recited in claims 1-3, 12, 16 and 18 of the current application as listed above. However, the following differences between the co-pending application and the current application claims are present as set forth below:
The co-pending application claims 3, 14 and 19 recites the additional limitation of “a packing structure having a coefficient of thermal expansion greater than 0 ppm/°C and equal to or less than 35 ppm/°C”.
Therefore, claims 3, 14 and 19 of the co-pending application meets claims 1-3, 12, 16 and 18 of the present application under an “anticipation” analysis in an obviousness-type double patenting rejection.
Claim Objections
Claim 19 is objected to because of the following informality:
Claim 19, line 1, the examiner suggests rewriting “claim 18further” to --claim 18 further-- to correct an obvious typographical error.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-9, 12 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Goto et al. (US2022/0158612 A1, cited by applicant).
In regards to claim 1, Goto et al. teaches in Fig. 3 a packaged acoustic wave component comprising:
A wafer level packaging structure (210) having a shield structure base (216);
A multi-layer piezoelectric substrate including a piezoelectric layer (242) and a support substrate (246), a difference between a coefficient of thermal expansion of the shield structure base (216) and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the support substrate (246) being 13 ppm/deg or less (based on Paragraph [0048], both the shield structure base 216 and the support substrate 246 have the same thickness, TT3=TB3, and are made from the same material, therefore have the same coefficient of thermal explanation, hence a difference between the coefficient of thermal expansion of both layers will be equal to 0 which is 13 ppm/deg or less); and
An interdigital transducer electrode (248) in electrical communication with the piezoelectric layer.
In regards to claim 2, as discussed above, the difference between the coefficient of thermal expansion of the shield structure base and the coefficient of thermal expansion of the support substrate is zero, therefore a difference between the coefficient of thermal expansion of both layers will be 10 ppm/deg or less.
In regards to claim 3, as discussed above, the difference between the coefficient of thermal expansion of the shield structure base and the coefficient of thermal expansion of the support substrate is zero, therefore a difference between the coefficient of thermal expansion of both layers will be 4 ppm/deg or less.
In regards to claim 5, based on Paragraph [0049], the support substrate (246) is made from sapphire which inherently has a coefficient of thermal expansion of 6.8 ppm/deg (see evidence Reference #1 in the conclusion section below for proof of inherency), in which 6.8 ppm/deg is a value between 3.5 ppm/deg and 24 ppm /deg.
In regards to claim 6, based on Paragraph [0049], the support substrate (246) is made from sapphire which inherently has a coefficient of thermal expansion of 6.8 ppm/deg (see evidence Reference #1 in the conclusion section below for proof of inherency), in which 6.8 ppm/deg is a value between 4 ppm/deg and 20 ppm /deg.
In regards to claim 7, based on Paragraph [0049], the support substrate (246) includes sapphire.
In regards to claim 8, based on Paragraph [0037], the piezoelectric layer (242) includes lithium tantalate.
In regards to claim 9, based on Paragraph [0037], the piezoelectric layer includes (242) lithium niobate.
In regards to claim 12, based on Paragraph [0049], the support substrate (246) includes quartz.
In regards to claim 15, based on Fig. 3, the wafer level packaging structure further includes a pillar (via pillar 222) between the multi-layer piezoelectric substrate (240) and at least a portion of the shield structure base (216).
In regards to claim 16, Goto et al. teaches in Figs. 9 and 13A a radio frequency module with a packaged acoustic wave component (Fig. 9, 176) used in a RF front end (Fig. 13A: 422), which based on Paragraph [0067] and related Fig. 3, the package acoustic wave component comprises:
A wafer level packaging structure (210) having a shield structure base (216);
A multi-layer piezoelectric substrate including a piezoelectric layer (242) and a support substrate (246), a difference between a coefficient of thermal expansion of the shield structure base (216) and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the support substrate (246) being 13 ppm/deg or less (based on Paragraph [0048], both the shield structure base 216 and the support substrate 246 have the same thickness, TT3=TB3, and are made from the same material, therefore have the same coefficient of thermal explanation, hence a difference between the coefficient of thermal expansion of both layers will be equal to 0 which is 13 ppm/deg or less); and
An interdigital transducer electrode (248) in electrical communication with the piezoelectric layer.
In regards to claim 17, based on Fig. 13A, the radio frequency module is configured as a front-end module (422).
In regards to claim 18, Goto et al. teaches in Figs. 9 and 13A a wireless communication device comprising: a radio frequency module (Fig. 9, 176) used in a RF front end (Fig. 13A: 422) having an antenna (Fig 13A: 421) operatively coupled to the radio frequency module. Based on Paragraph [0067] and related Fig. 3, the package acoustic wave component comprises:
A wafer level packaging structure (210) having a shield structure base (216);
A multi-layer piezoelectric substrate including a piezoelectric layer (242) and a support substrate (246), a difference between a coefficient of thermal expansion of the shield structure base (216) and a coefficient of thermal expansion of the support substrate (246) being 13 ppm/deg or less (based on Paragraph [0048], both the shield structure base 216 and the support substrate 246 have the same thickness, TT3=TB3, and are made from the same material, therefore have the same coefficient of thermal explanation, hence a difference between the coefficient of thermal expansion of both layers will be equal to 0 which is 13 ppm/deg or less); and
An interdigital transducer electrode (248) in electrical communication with the piezoelectric layer.
In regards to claim 19, based on related Fig. 12A, a radio frequency amplifier (412) is operatively coupled to the radio frequency module and configured to amplify a radio frequency signal.
In regards to claim 20, based on Fig. 13A, a transceiver (424) is in communication with the radio frequency amplifier which is part of the RF front end (422).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Goto et al. (US2022/0158612 A1, cited by applicant) in view of Yamane et al. (US2022/0216845 A1).
As discussed above, Goto et al. teaches the claimed invention as recited in claim 1. However, as discussed above, Goto et al. teaches wherein the support substrate and shield structure base includes sapphire or quartz, therefore does not teach; in regards to claim 10, wherein the support substrate includes glass; and in regards to claim 11, wherein the support substrate includes spinel.
Yamane et al. teaches in Fig. 2 a packaged acoustic wave component comprising a plurality of interdigital transducer electrodes (RS3 and RS4) located above a support substrate (2). Based on paragraph [0046], the support substrate can either be sapphire, quartz, glass or spinel.
At the time of filing, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the invention of Goto et al. and have replaced the sapphire or quartz material of both the support substrate and shield structure based material of Goto et al. with either glass or spinel because such a modification would have been a well-known in the art substitution of art-recognized alternative/equivalent for a support substrate/shield structure based material that able to perform the same function as taught by Yamane et al. (see paragraph [0046]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 13 and 14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Evidence Reference #1: Song et al. (US2025/0294839 A1) discloses in Paragraph [0018] that sapphire inherently has a coefficient of thermal expansion of 6.8 ppm/deg.
/JORGE L SALAZAR JR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2843