CTNF 18/673,832 CTNF 91457 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 06-52 The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 5/24/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-aia AIA Claim(s) 1-8, 13, 15, 18, and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Morita (JP 2020183613; machine translation attached) . Regarding claim 1, Morita discloses a water supply device comprising: a casing (casing of 20) that forms a casing space (space of 20); and a flow path guide pack (80, 21-22) disposed in the casing space (see Fig. 1-3), wherein the flow path guide pack comprises: a first body (84); and a second body (85) coupled to the first body in a first direction (direction of 80) so as to form a plurality of flow paths (81-83, F1-F3) between the first body and the second body (see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 2, Morita discloses the flow path guide pack comprises: an inlet (27a-28a, 81a-83a) configured to introduce water from outside the water supply device (see Fig. 2-5), and an outlet (29, 81b-83b) configured to discharge water to the outside of the water supply device (see Fig. 2-5), wherein the inlet is connected to the outlet via the flow paths (see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 3, Morita discloses the flow paths are formed inside the flow path guide pack so to be separated from the casing that forms the casing space (see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 4, Morita discloses a controller (30-31, 50) disposed in the casing space and configured to control a flow rate or temperature of water discharged to outside of the flow path guide pack (p. 4, ll. 1-9), and a connector (connector of 30-31, 50) disposed in the flow path guide pack and configured to couple the controller to the flow paths, wherein the connector is open in the first direction (see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 5, Morita discloses the plurality of flow paths are arranged on a same plane (plane inside 80) inside the flow path guide pack (see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 6, Morita discloses the first body has a first body part (part of 84) and the second body has a second body part (part of 85), wherein the first body part and the second body part are in close contact with each other to form the flow paths (see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 7, Morita discloses each of the flow paths extends along a direction different from the first direction (see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 8, Morita discloses an inlet (27a-28a, 81a-83a) configured to provide water from outside the water supply device to inside the flow path guide pack, wherein the inlet is open in the first direction (see Fig. 2-5), and wherein an outlet (29, 81b-83b) configured to discharge water from the flow path guide pack to the outside of the water supply device (see Fig. 2-5), and the outlet is open in a second direction orthogonal to the first direction (see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 13, Morita discloses the flow path guide pack comprises: a first inlet (27a) to receive external cold water, and a second inlet (28a) to receive external hot water, and the flow paths include: a first inflow path (81) coupling the first inlet to the controller; a second inflow path (82) separated from the first inflow path, and coupling the second inlet to the controller (see Fig. 2-5); and a mixed flow path (83) that has one end coupled to the controller and configured to provide the cold water, the hot water, or a mixed water of the cold water and the hot water to an outlet (29, 81b-83b) of the flow path guide pack (see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 15, Morita discloses the controller comprises: a thermostat (p. 3, l. 36 - p. 4, l. 9) coupled to the flow path guide pack (see Fig. 2-5) and configured to mix cold water and hot water (p. 3, l. 36 - p. 4, l. 9), and a flow rate controller (50) coupled to the flow path guide pack and configured to control a discharge amount of water from the thermostat (p. 3, l. 36 - p. 4, l. 9), wherein a mixed flow path (F3) provided in the flow path guide pack couples the thermostat to the flow rate controller (p. 3, l. 36 - p. 4, l. 9; see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 18, Morita discloses the outlet includes a plurality of outlets (29, 81b-83b), a water discharge selector (21) having a plurality of selection flow paths (selection of flow paths 81-83, F1-F3) is disposed in the casing space (see Fig. 2-5), and water introduced through the inlet is discharged through any one of the selection flow paths and is provided to any one of the plurality of outlets (see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 20, Morita discloses a water supply device comprising: a casing (casing of 20) that forms a casing space (space of 20); and a flow path guide pack (80, 21-22) arranged in the casing space (see Fig. 1-3) and provided with an inlet (27a-28a, 81a-83a) to receive water from outside, wherein the flow path guide pack comprises: a first body (84); and a second body (85) coupled to the first body (see Fig. 3-4), and having a plurality of flow paths (81-83, F1-F3) formed between the first body and the second body (see Fig. 3-5), wherein the inlet is coupled to the flow paths (see Fig. 3-5) and is open in a direction in which the first body and the second body are coupled to each other (see Fig. 3-5) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim (s) 9-12, 14, 16-17, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Morita (JP 2020183613; machine translation attached) in view of Na (KR 102205604; machine translation attached) . Regarding claim 9, Morita discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 1. Morita further discloses a controller (30-31, 50) disposed in the casing space and configured to control a flow rate or a temperature of water discharged to outside of the flow path guide pack (p. 4, ll. 1-9); however, Morita does not disclose a filter disposed in the casing space and configured to purify water introduced into the flow path guide pack, wherein connectors are provided at the flow path guide pack to couple to the controller and to the filter, wherein the connectors are open in the first direction as claimed. Na discloses a smart water faucet including a filter (120) disposed in the casing space (space of 110) and configured to purify water introduced into the flow path guide pack (110; p. 3, ll. 2-7), wherein connectors (connectors of 110) are provided at the flow path guide pack to couple to the controller (140) and to the filter (see Fig. 2-3), wherein the connectors are open in the first direction (see Fig. 2-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Morita, to include a filter as claimed, as taught by Na, in order to purify the water supplied from the faucet (p. 3, ll. 2-7). Regarding claim 10, Morita discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 1. Morita further discloses a controller (30-31, 50) disposed in the casing space and configured to control a flow rate or a temperature of water discharged to outside of the flow path guide pack (p. 4, ll. 1-9); however, Morita does not disclose a filter disposed in the casing space and configured to purify water introduced into the flow path guide pack, and each of the controller and the filter is disposed at least partly to overlap a front surface of the flow path guide pack as claimed. Na discloses a smart water faucet including a filter (120) disposed in the casing space (space of 110) and configured to purify water introduced into the flow path guide pack (110; p. 3, ll. 2-7), and each of the controller (140) and the filter is disposed at least partly to overlap a front surface (a front surface of 110) of the flow path guide pack (see Fig. 2-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Morita, to include a filter as claimed, as taught by Na, in order to purify the water supplied from the faucet (p. 3, ll. 2-7). Regarding claim 11, the combination above and specifically Morita further discloses wherein the flow path guide pack includes an inlet (27a-28a, 81a-83a) through which water is introduced and an outlet (29, 81b-83b) through which water is discharged, the flow paths include: an inflow path (81) coupling the inlet to the controller; a filter flow path (F1) coupling the controller to the filter (as modified by Na above); and an outflow path (F3) coupling the filter (as modified by Na above) to the outlet (see Fig. 2-5), wherein the inflow path, the filter flow path, and the outflow path are provided on a same plane (see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 12, Morita discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 1. Morita further discloses a controller (30-31, 50) configured to control a flow rate or a temperature of water discharged to outside of the flow path guide pack (p. 4, ll. 1-9); however, Morita does not disclose a filter configured to purify water introduced into the flow path guide pack, and a generator disposed in the casing space and configured to generate electricity based on pressure of the introduced water, wherein the controller, the filter, and the generator are coupled to each other through the flow paths as claimed. Na discloses a smart water faucet including a filter (120) configured to purify water introduced into the flow path guide pack (110; p. 3, ll. 2-7), and a generator (170) disposed in the casing space and configured to generate electricity based on pressure of the introduced water (p. 6, ll. 1-9), wherein the controller (140), the filter, and the generator are coupled to each other through the flow paths (flow paths of 110; see Fig. 2-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Morita, to include a filter and a generator as claimed, as taught by Na, in order to purify the water supplied from the faucet (p. 3, ll. 2- 7) and to increase the amount of power generation as water is discharged through the flow path (p. 6, ll. 1-9). Regarding claim 14, the combination above and specifically Morita further discloses wherein the flow path guide pack is arranged in a first area (a first area of the space of 20) of the casing space, and the controller, the filter (as modified by Na above), and the generator (as modified by Na above) are arranged in a second area (a second area of the space of 20) of the casing space, wherein the second area is arranged at a position closer to a front surface (a front surface of 20) of the casing than the first area (see Fig. 2-5). Regarding claim 16, Morita discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 4. However, Morita does not disclose wherein a filter is arranged in the casing space and is configured to receive water that has passed through the controller, and water purified through the filter is provided through the flow path guide pack to the outside of the flow path guide pack, and wherein the filter is disposed in the casing space in a second direction different from the first direction as claimed. Na discloses a smart water faucet wherein a filter (120) is arranged in the casing space (space of 110) and is configured to receive water that has passed through the controller (p. 3, ll. 2-7), and water purified through the filter is provided through the flow path guide pack (110) to the outside of the flow path guide pack (p. 3, ll. 2-7), and wherein the filter is disposed in the casing space in a second direction different from the first direction (see Fig. 2-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Morita, to include a filter as claimed, as taught by Na, in order to purify the water supplied from the faucet (p. 3, ll. 2-7). Regarding claim 17, the combination above and specifically Na further discloses wherein the filter comprises: a filter housing (housing of 120) having a filter storage structure (structure of 120); and a filter purifier (p. 3, ll. 2-7) stored in the filter storage structure and configured to purify water (p. 3, ll. 2-7), wherein the filter purifier is disposed in the filter storage structure in the second direction (see Fig. 2-3). Regarding claim 19, Morita discloses substantially all of the elements of the present invention as stated above in the rejection of claim 18. However, Morita does not disclose wherein a generator that generates electricity based on pressure of the introduced water is disposed in the casing space, and the generator and the water discharge selector are arranged at different heights in the casing space as claimed. Na discloses a smart water faucet wherein a generator (170) that generates electricity based on pressure of the introduced water is disposed in the casing space (space of 110; p. 6, ll. 1-9), and the generator and the water discharge selector (140) are arranged at different heights in the casing space (see Fig. 2-3). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have modified the system of Morita, to include a generator as claimed, as taught by Na, in order to increase the amount of power generation as water is discharged through the flow path (p. 6, ll. 1-9). Conclusion 07-96 The prior art made of record in the PTO-892 form and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Thomas (US 8739826) is directed to the state of the art as disclosing a center set faucet body including inlet tubes (20, 22), hot water body (102), cold water body (104), central body (106), valve interface (120), and valves (30, 32). Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to WILLIAM R KLOTZ whose telephone number is (571)272-0274. The examiner can normally be reached Monday-Thursday 11AM-5PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, David P Angwin can be reached at (571)270-3735. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /WILLIAM R KLOTZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3754 /DAVID P ANGWIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754 Application/Control Number: 18/673,832 Page 2 Art Unit: 3754 Application/Control Number: 18/673,832 Page 3 Art Unit: 3754 Application/Control Number: 18/673,832 Page 4 Art Unit: 3754 Application/Control Number: 18/673,832 Page 5 Art Unit: 3754 Application/Control Number: 18/673,832 Page 6 Art Unit: 3754 Application/Control Number: 18/673,832 Page 7 Art Unit: 3754 Application/Control Number: 18/673,832 Page 8 Art Unit: 3754 Application/Control Number: 18/673,832 Page 9 Art Unit: 3754 Application/Control Number: 18/673,832 Page 10 Art Unit: 3754 Application/Control Number: 18/673,832 Page 11 Art Unit: 3754 Application/Control Number: 18/673,832 Page 12 Art Unit: 3754