DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s submission filed 3/27/2026 has been entered. The claims 1 and 10 have been amended. The claims 1-20 are pending in the current application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the newly filed claim 1 and similar claims have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground(s) of rejection set forth in the current Office Action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dollens US-PGPUB No. 2024/0135434 (hereinafter Dollens) in view of Garg et al. US-PGPUB No. 2025/0349043 (hereinafter Garg) and Hay et al. US-PGPUB No. 2016/0343152 (hereinafter Hay).
Re Claim 1:
Dollens teaches a computer-implemented method comprising:
In response to a request to load a vector graphics document at a client device, downloading by at least one processor, a raster image of the vector graphics document (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0124] In another embodiment, plural created vector images are storage are stored in a progressive resolution digital image format with corresponding raster images. In such an embodiment, the plural created vector images are stored in a progressive resolution digital image format and are displayed in with a progressive resolution display technique with having to use or download one or more of the original raster digital images from which the plural vector images were created from. Dollens teaches at FIG. 1C and Paragraph 0111 that the original raster digital image 39 was obtained on the Internet.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0216 that electronic image creation and display usage is monitored, controlled, and reported providing transparency for both the electronic content provider and the electronic content requester of the utilized electronic content storage retrieval service and at Paragraph 0243 that cloud storage objects 184 are also highly durable because of creation of copies of portions of desired electronic content across such networks 176, 178, 180, 182 of the cloud communications network 24. Cloud storage objects 184 includes one or more portions of desired electronic content and can be stored on any of the 176, 178, 180, 182 networks of the cloud communications network 24. Cloud storage objects 184 are transparent to a requester of desired electronic content and are managed by cloud applications 25 and at Paragraph 0248 that LDAP is a software protocol for enabling storage and retrieval of electronic content and other resources such as files and devices on the cloud communications network 24.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0192] At Step 142, a selection input is received on the application 25 on the server network device 12 via the communications network 24 for selected ones of electronic links from the first set and second set of electronic links and for selected one of the vector images from the created first set of plural vector images and second set of plural vector images to display in the N-layer digital image 70, 106.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0126 that the vector images are stored in M-layer vector image hierarchy and at Paragraph 0193 that the selection input may include a request to display all consumer products that include all natural ingredients.
Dollens teaches at FIG. 3, Paragraph 0133 and Paragraph 0140 in response to requesting/selecting to load a vector document (of vector images (vector image layers) of the plural consumer products) of the shelf layout such as the N-layer (layer-1) digital image of FIG. 3/8 or the M-layer vector image hierarchy (Paragraph 0165) from the communications network, downloading a raster image of the vector graphics document (N-layer digital image of FIG. 8) where the digital image of the shelf layout includes complications of one or more very high resolution digital images of individual products. Dollens shows at Paragraph 0145 that the digital image 36 includes hair care and skin product. Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0150 that the digital images includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images. Dollens teaches at FIGS. 5-7 and Paragraph 0157 the vector images 46, 48, 50 and 52);
Downloading, by the at least one processor, a vector graphic subunit of the vector graphics document (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0128 that “progressive resolution” includes displaying one or more different vector images by displaying a selected vector image in greater and greater level of detail (or magnification, etc.) without loss of image quality and allows zooming in, and zooming out of a whole vector image or a portion of vector image without loss of image quality.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0133] FIG. 2 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 26 for displaying and managing products. At Step 28 plural images of consumer products are selected to display in a virtual display environment. At Step 30, a display layout for the selected plural images consumer products is determined. The display layout includes a pre-determined ordering. At Step 32, an N-layer digital image of a shelf layout is created on which the selected plural images of consumer products are displayed. At Step 34, the N-layer digital image is displayed via a communications network to allow virtual shopping via the communications network.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0140] At Step 32, an N-layer digital image (e.g., FIG. 3, item 36, FIG. 11, item 112, FIG. 17) of a shelf layout 37 is created on which the selected plural images of consumer products are displayed. The N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0126 that the vector images are stored in M-layer vector image hierarchy including one or more vector digital images and one or more set of electronic links in one or more upper vector image layers in the M-layer vector image hierarchy.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0159 that the progressive resolution display of the N-layer digital image allows display of the N-layer digital image from the computer readable medium with the created plural vector images in the plural vector image layers without converting any of the created plural vector images to another format or having to download any raster images associated with the created plural vector images over the communications network.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0142 that the created image includes vector image layering in an N-layer hierarchy. Each digital vector image will have one or more vector images that overlay one or more raster images. Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0129 that the one or more different vector images also allow displaying a selected vector image in greater and greater levels of detail without loss of image quality and allows zooming in, and zooming out of a whole vector image or a portion of vector image without loss of image quality);
Providing, for display via the client device, a mixed level-of-detail rendering by masking a portion of the raster image of the vector graphics document corresponding to the vector graphic subunit and providing for display in the masked portion of the raster image, the vector graphic subunit as an overlay of the raster image such that the client device can modify the vector graphic subunit while downloading an additional vector graphic subunit (
A mask can be a vector mask or a bitmap mask and can be used to work with only a portion of a layer. However, Dollens teaches working with only a portion of the whole image with one or more vector images (vector image objects----vector masks---vector portions of the whole image) overlaying on the top of one or more raster images (raster image objects----raster masks---raster portions of the whole image).
With respect to the new claim limitation of “masking”, overlaying the vector image object on the top of a raster image object inherently requires the vector image object as a vector mask (vector overlay mask) for masking out the raster image object within the whole composite image, the claim limitation is implicitly met by Dollens.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0103 that "progressive resolution" includes displaying one or more different vector images by displaying a selected vector image in greater and greater level of detail (or magnification, etc.) without loss of image quality and allows zooming in, and zooming out of a whole vector image or a portion of vector image without loss of image quality.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0104 that the one or more different vector images also allow displaying a selected vector image in greater and greater levels of detail without loss of image quality and allows zooming in, and zooming out of a whole vector image or a portion of vector image without loss of image quality.
Dollen teaches at Paragraph 0134 that the created plural vector images include selected ones of the first set of the plural vector images created at different views of the consumer products and also include other selected ones of the created first set of plural vector images included vector images at varying levels of detail from general details to specific details for the consumer products included in the created first set of the plural vector images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0145] In such an exemplary embodiment in FIG. 9A at Step 86, an application 25 in a computer readable medium on a server network device 12 with one or more processors connected to a communications network 24 creates a first set of plural vector images (e.g., FIG. 1D, FIG. 10, items 100, 102, etc.) from plural corresponding raster images (e.g., FIG. 1C) of consumer products 20. The created plural vector images include selected ones of the first set of the plural vector images created at different views (e.g., FIG. 10, front 100, back 102, etc.) of the consumer products and also include other selected ones of the created first set of plural vector images included vector images at varying levels of detail from general details 38 (e.g., FIGS. 3, 11, etc.) to specific details 42 (FIGS. 5, 10) for the consumer products included in the created first set of the plural vector images. However, the present invention is not limited to this order and other orderings can be used in the N-layer digital image and the M-layer vector image hierarchy.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0156] In one exemplary embodiment, The M-layer vector image hierarchy includes selected ones of vector images from the created first set of the plural vector images displaying general details for the consumer products or groups of consumer products at a first set of highest levels in the M-layer vector image hierarchy and other selected ones of vector images from the created first set of plural vector images displaying specific details for the consumer products at lowest levels in the M-layer hierarchy. Selected ones from the created second set of vector images displays visual overlays of varying level of details from general to specific for the pre-determined groups of consumer products at a second set of highest levels in the M-layer vector image hierarchy. However, the present invention is not limited to such a hierarchy and other types of hierarchies can be used to practice the invention.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0232] The MRM digital image 37, 38, 42, 70, 116 includes an layered vector image hierarchy of the created first set and the created second set of the plural vector images and wherein the layered vector image hierarchy includes selected ones of vector images from the created first set of the plural vector images displaying the general details for the consumer products or groups of consumer products 20 at a first set of highest levels in the layered vector image hierarchy and other selected ones of vector images from the created first set of plural vector images displaying the specific details for the consumer products at lowest levels 108 in the layered hierarchy and selected ones from the created second set of vector images displaying visual overlays of varying level of details from the general details 112 to specific details 108 for the pre-determined groups of consumer products 20 at a second set of highest levels in the layered vector image hierarchy. (See e.g., FIGS. 8, 11, 12, 13, 18, etc.).
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0173] One advantage of displaying only selected ones of the electronic links and making these selected ones of the electronic links visible only when a selected individual vector image is displayed allows the N-layer digital image to be cleanly displayed without cluttered images displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. In such an embodiment, the N-layer digital image 106 created at Step 94 will include all possible vector images and all possible electronic links. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0148] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 54 for displaying and managing products. At Step 56, an individual portion of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout is displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image. At Step 58, one or more vectors images in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image are selected.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0170 that he created plural vector images include selected ones of the first set of the plural vector images created at different views (e.g., FIG. 10, front 100, back 102, etc.) of the consumer products and also include other selected ones of the created first set of plural vector images included vector images at varying levels of detail from general details 38 (e.g., FIGS. 3, 11, etc.) to specific details 42 (FIGS. 5, 10) for the consumer products included in the created first set of the plural vector images).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have requested/retrieved for the desired electronic content (e.g., the vector images) on the cloud storage device over the cloud communications network as files for display on a client network device such as the client terminal (see Paragraph 0161) upon the user request wherein one or more server network devices 12 of FIG. 19 may be replaced with one or more client network device 12’ (Paragraph 0043). One of the ordinary skill in the art would have displayed the N-layer digital image with the selected vector images in a level-of-detail.
With respect to the claim limitation of mask, it is old and well known that overlaying vector image object on the top of a raster image object inherently requires the vector image object as a vector mask for masking out the raster image object within the whole composite image.
Garg explicitly teaches the claim limitation of mask in the context of overlaying the vector image object onto the raster image object.
Garg teaches at Paragraph [0035] that, the image editing system 110 utilizes the mask correlation visualization system 102 to generate visualizations of mask correlations and interactions with layers in digital images. In particular, the mask correlation visualization system 102 extracts inclusivity attributes and boundary attributes of each existing mask and attributes of layers to generate boundary highlights representing affected areas of the layers and how the masks interact to modify the areas of the layers. Accordingly, the mask correlation visualization system 102 utilizes characteristics of layers and their respective raster masks and/or vector masks to generate visualizations of the interactions and correlations of the masks with the layer overlaid on top of digital images in graphical user interfaces.
It would have been obvious to have used vector masks or raster masks to have overlaying vector objects on the top of the raster objects according to Garg to have modified Dollens to have explicitly used vector masks or raster masks to have provided the overlay of the vector objects on the top of the raster objects. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided vector masks as means of masking out the corresponding raster image objects.
With respect to the claim limitation of mask, it is old and well known that overlaying vector image object on the top of a raster image object inherently requires the vector image object as a vector mask for masking out the raster image object within the whole composite image.
Hay explicitly teaches the claim limitation of mask in the context of overlaying the vector image object onto the raster image object.
Hay [0038] FIGS. 5A-5E show certain photographic images representing a portion of a city. FIG. 5A shows a true color airphoto image of the city portion; FIG. 5B shows a thermal infrared (TIR) raster image of the same city portion showing several image-objects (road section, trees rooftops); FIG. 5C shows a group of vector roof-top masks (red) geometrically overlaid on their corresponding TIR image objects for the same city portion; FIG. 5D shows a group of fitted vector roof-top mask (blue) overlaid to their corresponding TIR image objects for the same city portion and FIG. 5E shows a composite geometric overlay showing the vector mask (red) and the fitted vector roof-top mask (blue), overlaid on the TIR raster image.
It would have been obvious to have used vector masks or raster masks to have overlaying vector objects on the top of the raster objects according to Hay to have modified Dollens to have explicitly used vector masks or raster masks to have provided the overlay of the vector objects on the top of the raster objects. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided vector masks as means of masking out the corresponding raster image objects.
Re Claim 2:
The claim 2 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 1 except additional claim limitation that downloading the vector graphic subunit comprises: determining graphic layers of the vector graphics document; and selecting the vector graphic subunit based on the graphic layers of the vector graphics document.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that downloading the vector graphic subunit comprises: determining graphic layers of the vector graphics document; and selecting the vector graphic subunit based on the graphic layers of the vector graphics document (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0126] In one embodiment, the vector images are stored in M-layer vector image hierarchy including one or more vector digital images and one or more set of electronic links in one or more upper vector image layers in the M-layer vector image hierarchy that allow a user to link to general information about the consumer products. The M-layer vector image hierarchy includes one or more vector digital images including one or more set of electronic links in one or more intermediate vector image layers in the M-layer vector image hierarchy that allow a user to link to more specific information about the consumer products. The M-layer vector image hierarchy includes one or more vector digital images including one or more set of electronic links in one or more lower vector image layers in the M-layer vector hierarchy that allow a user to link to specific information about the consumer products. However, the present invention is not limited to the M-layer vector hierarchy described and other types of hierarchies and progressive resolution techniques can also be used to practice the invention.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0127] In one exemplary embodiment, the general information in the one or more upper vector layers include brand information, the one or more intermediate vector layers with the intermediate information includes sub-brand information and the one or more lower vector layers with the specific information includes product packaging and ingredient information. In another embodiment, the information placed in the vector layers are reversed. In another embodiment, the information placed in the vectors layers includes no particular ordering. However, the present invention is not limited to the type of information and display described and other types of information and display orderings can also be used to practice the invention.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. In such an embodiment, the N-layer digital image 106 created at Step 94 will include all possible vector images and all possible electronic links. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed).
Re Claim 3:
The claim 3 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 2 except additional claim limitation that determining a rendering order of a plurality of vector graphics of the vector graphic subunit based on a layer list of the vector graphics document; and providing, for display via the client device, the plurality of vector graphics of the vector graphic subunit according to the rendering order.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that determining a rendering order of a plurality of vector graphics of the vector graphic subunit based on a layer list of the vector graphics document; and providing, for display via the client device, the plurality of vector graphics of the vector graphic subunit according to the rendering order (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0126] In one embodiment, the vector images are stored in M-layer vector image hierarchy including one or more vector digital images and one or more set of electronic links in one or more upper vector image layers in the M-layer vector image hierarchy that allow a user to link to general information about the consumer products. The M-layer vector image hierarchy includes one or more vector digital images including one or more set of electronic links in one or more intermediate vector image layers in the M-layer vector image hierarchy that allow a user to link to more specific information about the consumer products. The M-layer vector image hierarchy includes one or more vector digital images including one or more set of electronic links in one or more lower vector image layers in the M-layer vector hierarchy that allow a user to link to specific information about the consumer products. However, the present invention is not limited to the M-layer vector hierarchy described and other types of hierarchies and progressive resolution techniques can also be used to practice the invention.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0127] In one exemplary embodiment, the general information in the one or more upper vector layers include brand information, the one or more intermediate vector layers with the intermediate information includes sub-brand information and the one or more lower vector layers with the specific information includes product packaging and ingredient information. In another embodiment, the information placed in the vector layers are reversed. In another embodiment, the information placed in the vectors layers includes no particular ordering. However, the present invention is not limited to the type of information and display described and other types of information and display orderings can also be used to practice the invention.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0110 that changing of z-order and combination of raster image primitives into complex vector image objects that are displayed at any magnification and at Paragraph 0138 that the pre-determined ordering includes an ordering developed via live focus groups. In another embodiment, the pre-determined ordering includes an ordering based on package coloring or package size or package shape.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0164] FIG. 11 illustrates a first vector image at level-1 in the M-layer vector image hierarchy including a first visual overlay 108 with brand information, a second vector image at level-2 including a second visual overlay 110 with sub-brand information, a third vector image 112 at level-3 including a pre-determined shelf layout of product information and a fourth and fifth vector image 100, 102 at level-M including specific product information. However, the present invention is not limited to this exemplary embodiment and others numbers of layers and values for N and M can be used to practice the invention.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0165] In addition, an ordering in the N-layer digital image and/or M-layer vector image hierarchy can be changed or adjusted. For example, in one exemplary embodiment, specific information may be included at top most levels and general information may be included at lowest levels in the N and/or M layers and visa-versa.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0170 that the created plural vector images include selected ones of the first set of the plural vector images created at different views (e.g., FIG. 10, front 100, back 102, etc.) of the consumer products and also include other selected ones of the created first set of plural vector images included vector images at varying levels of detail from general details 38 (e.g., FIGS. 3, 11, etc.) to specific details 42 (FIGS. 5, 10) for the consumer products included in the created first set of the plural vector images. However, the present invention is not limited to this order and other orderings can be used in the N-layer digital image and the M-layer vector image hierarchy.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0196] In one exemplary embodiment the type of information displayed in the N-layer digital image and/or the M-layer vector image hierarchy is completely configurable (e.g., with product selection tool 124). For example, a user may select create a N-layer digital image and/or M-layer vector image hierarchy by having vector images of consumer products (e.g., 100, 102) at a highest level, wherein a top most level includes consumer products with a lowest price, a next level includes consumer products with higher prices, etc. and a lowest level includes consumer products with a highest price. Virtually any ordering and virtually any type of electronic information can be selected and displayed in the N-layer digital image and/or the M-layer vector image hierarchy).
Re Claim 4:
The claim 4 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 2 except additional claim limitation that selecting the vector graphic subunit based on the graphic layers comprises: identifying a plurality of graphic design layout boundaries within the vector graphics document; selecting a priority graphic design layout boundary from the plurality of graphic design layout boundaries; and determining the graphic layers of the vector graphics document that fall within the priority graphic design layout boundary.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that selecting the vector graphic subunit based on the graphic layers comprises: identifying a plurality of graphic design layout boundaries within the vector graphics document; selecting a priority graphic design layout boundary from the plurality of graphic design layout boundaries; and determining the graphic layers of the vector graphics document that fall within the priority graphic design layout boundary (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0106] A “raster image” is a digital image format composed of a rectangular grid of pixels. Each pixel contains a defined value about its color, size, and location in the image. An image composed of a rectangular grid of pixels. Each pixel contains a defined value about its color, size, and location in the image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images. Accordingly, the vector image layers are bounded by the rectangular grid of pixels of the corresponding underlying raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0145] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 36 illustrating an exemplary image of an actual shelf layout 37 created with Method 26. FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. The digital image 36 includes hair care and skin care products that are displayed on a shelf in a manner similar or identical to that of an actual retail store.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0147] FIG. 5 is a block diagram 44 illustrating details of the second selected progressive resolution portion 42. FIG. 5 illustrates plural links 46, 48, 50, 52, 55 added to the progressive resolution portion 42 to provide addition information. For example, link 46 provides additional information on Dove products. Link 55 provides an electronic coupon that can be printed out and redeemed or used for an electronic purchase. Link 48 provides additional information on the essential nutrients included in the products. Link 50 provides additional information on the cleansing clothes. Link 52 provides a link to another progressive image with information on the reverse side of the product packaging.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0148] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 54 for displaying and managing products. At Step 56, an individual portion of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout is displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image. At Step 58, one or more vectors images in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image are selected. At Step 60, one or more electronic links with additional information are selected for a selected consumer product from the selected one or more layer in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0150] In such an exemplary embodiment, at Step 56, an individual portion 38, 42, 46, 48, 50, 52 of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout 36 are displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image (the portions having rectangular boundaries as shown in FIGS. 3-5 defined by the raster images having rectangular grid of pixels).
Dollens teaches at FIGS. 3-5 and Paragraph [0150] In such an exemplary embodiment, at Step 56, an individual portion 38, 42, 46, 48, 50, 52 of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout 36 are displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image.
It is noted that the individual portions of the vector images in FIGS. 3-5 are bounded by the rectangular bounding box.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0170 that an application 25 in a computer readable medium on a server network device 12 with one or more processors connected to a communications network 24 creates a first set of plural vector images (e.g., FIG. 1D, FIG. 10, items 100, 102, etc.) from plural corresponding raster images (e.g., FIG. 1C) of consumer products 20. The created plural vector images include selected ones of the first set of the plural vector images created at different views (e.g., FIG. 10, front 100, back 102, etc.) of the consumer products and also include other selected ones of the created first set of plural vector images included vector images at varying levels of detail from general details 38 (e.g., FIGS. 3, 11, etc.) to specific details 42 (FIGS. 5, 10) for the consumer products included in the created first set of the plural vector images. However, the present invention is not limited to this order and other orderings can be used in the N-layer digital image and the M-layer vector image hierarchy.
Dollens teaches at [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. In such an embodiment, the N-layer digital image 106 created at Step 94 will include all possible vector images and all possible electronic links. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0196] In one exemplary embodiment the type of information displayed in the N-layer digital image and/or the M-layer vector image hierarchy is completely configurable (e.g., with product selection tool 124). For example, a user may select create a N-layer digital image and/or M-layer vector image hierarchy by having vector images of consumer products (e.g., 100, 102) at a highest level, wherein a top most level includes consumer products with a lowest price, a next level includes consumer products with higher prices, etc. and a lowest level includes consumer products with a highest price. Virtually any ordering and virtually any type of electronic information can be selected and displayed in the N-layer digital image and/or the M-layer vector image hierarchy).
Re Claim 5:
The claim 5 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 4 except additional claim limitation that selecting the priority graphic design layout boundary comprises:
determining historical user interaction with vector content within the priority graphic design layout boundary; and selecting the priority graphic design layout boundary based on the historical user interaction with the vector content within the priority graphic design layout boundary.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that selecting the priority graphic design layout boundary comprises: determining historical user interaction with vector content within the priority graphic design layout boundary; and selecting the priority graphic design layout boundary based on the historical user interaction with the vector content within the priority graphic design layout boundary (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0141] Using progressive resolution, a user can zoom in very close to the product image or zoom out to view the shelf in it's entirety. The created image is resolved as the user zooms in to a specific product and also resolves the image to clarity as the user zooms out to view the entire shelf.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0145 that FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0106] A “raster image” is a digital image format composed of a rectangular grid of pixels. Each pixel contains a defined value about its color, size, and location in the image. An image composed of a rectangular grid of pixels. Each pixel contains a defined value about its color, size, and location in the image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images. Accordingly, the vector image layers are bounded by the rectangular grid of pixels of the corresponding underlying raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0145] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 36 illustrating an exemplary image of an actual shelf layout 37 created with Method 26. FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. The digital image 36 includes hair care and skin care products that are displayed on a shelf in a manner similar or identical to that of an actual retail store.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0147] FIG. 5 is a block diagram 44 illustrating details of the second selected progressive resolution portion 42. FIG. 5 illustrates plural links 46, 48, 50, 52, 55 added to the progressive resolution portion 42 to provide addition information. For example, link 46 provides additional information on Dove products. Link 55 provides an electronic coupon that can be printed out and redeemed or used for an electronic purchase. Link 48 provides additional information on the essential nutrients included in the products. Link 50 provides additional information on the cleansing clothes. Link 52 provides a link to another progressive image with information on the reverse side of the product packaging.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0148] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 54 for displaying and managing products. At Step 56, an individual portion of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout is displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image. At Step 58, one or more vectors images in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image are selected. At Step 60, one or more electronic links with additional information are selected for a selected consumer product from the selected one or more layer in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0153] At Steps 58 and 60, a seller will have the option of selecting which layers to make visible on the shelf image.
Dollens teaches at [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. In such an embodiment, the N-layer digital image 106 created at Step 94 will include all possible vector images and all possible electronic links. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0177 that only selected ones of electronic links from the second set of electronic links added to an individual vector image are visible and displayable when the individual vector image for a visual overlay is displayed. FIG. 13 illustrates the electronic links as graphical icons.).
Re Claim 6:
The claim 6 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 4 except additional claim limitation that selecting the priority graphic design layout boundary comprises: determining a measure of relevance between vector content within the priority graphic design layout boundary and a user of the client device; and selecting the priority graphic design layout boundary based on the measure of relevance between the vector content within the priority graphic design layout boundary and the user of the client device.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that selecting the priority graphic design layout boundary comprises: determining a measure of relevance between vector content within the priority graphic design layout boundary and a user of the client device; and selecting the priority graphic design layout boundary based on the measure of relevance between the vector content within the priority graphic design layout boundary and the user of the client device (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images. Accordingly, the vector image layers are bounded by the rectangular grid of pixels of the corresponding underlying raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0145] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 36 illustrating an exemplary image of an actual shelf layout 37 created with Method 26. FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. The digital image 36 includes hair care and skin care products that are displayed on a shelf in a manner similar or identical to that of an actual retail store.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0147] FIG. 5 is a block diagram 44 illustrating details of the second selected progressive resolution portion 42. FIG. 5 illustrates plural links 46, 48, 50, 52, 55 added to the progressive resolution portion 42 to provide addition information. For example, link 46 provides additional information on Dove products. Link 55 provides an electronic coupon that can be printed out and redeemed or used for an electronic purchase. Link 48 provides additional information on the essential nutrients included in the products. Link 50 provides additional information on the cleansing clothes. Link 52 provides a link to another progressive image with information on the reverse side of the product packaging.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0148] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 54 for displaying and managing products. At Step 56, an individual portion of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout is displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image. At Step 58, one or more vectors images in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image are selected. At Step 60, one or more electronic links with additional information are selected for a selected consumer product from the selected one or more layer in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0189] The graphical selection tool 124 allows a user to select which electronic links on which vector images will be visible and will be displayed when a corresponding vector image of a visual overlay or a consumer product is displayed. The graphical selection tool 124 allows a user to customize display of the N-layer digital image by allowing display of only those items a user is interesting in seeing.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0190] In one exemplary embodiment, the graphical selection tool 124 is includes pre-determined information. In another exemplary embodiment, the items displayed by the graphical selection tool are fully and/or partially customizable by a user.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0196 that, a user may select create a N-layer digital image and/or M-layer vector image hierarchy by having vector images of consumer products (e.g., 100, 102) at a highest level,
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0272] FIG. 23 is a block diagram 230 illustrating a graphical shopping purchase object 232 that provides progressive resolution display of any consumer products selected by a user. Consumer products selected by a user are displayed as one or more vector images at a lowest level-N in the N-level digital image in the M-level customized MRM digital image. Only one selected consumer product 100,156 is illustrated for simplicity. However, the graphical shopping purchase object 232 would typically include plural selected consumer products for purchase.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0273] For example, if a user selected consumer product 100, it would appear in the graphical shopping purchase object 232 as consumer product 156 displayed at Level-N in the N-level digital image 106 created with user inputs. This vector image of the consumer product in FIG. 23 is the vector image 100 (FIG. 10) displayed with the set of exemplary electronic links added (all original links 116 displayed in FIG. 12) at step 90 of Method 84. The consumer product 156 is at a lowest level-N in the N-level digital image 106. If the user selected consumer product 156, they could return to the various layers of the progressive resolution display back up to the first or highest level such as Level one 108 (FIG. 11) and then back down again, etc., directly from the graphical shopping purchase object 232.
Dollens teaches at FIG. 23 and Paragraph [0274] A user can select the consumer product 156 in the graphical shopping purchase object 232 and with the progressive resolution display return to the highest level, level-1 in the N-level digital image to select new or different consumer products directly from the graphical shopping purchase object.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0275] Progressive resolution display of selected consumer products directly from the graphical shopping purchase object 232 allows a user to review items that the user desire to purchase and select new, additional and/or different items from the customized on-line store in the customized plural layer MRM digital image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0276] In on embodiment, the graphical shopping purchase object 232 includes a graphical shopping cart and/or a graphical shopping bag and/or some other graphical shopping entity used to collect consumer products a user desires to purchase. However, the present invention is not limited to these graphical objects and other objects can be used to practice the invention.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0147 that, link 46 provides additional information on Dove products. Link 55 provides an electronic coupon that can be printed out and redeemed or used for an electronic purchase. Link 48 provides additional information on the essential nutrients included in the products. Link 50 provides additional information on the cleansing clothes. Link 52 provides a link to another progressive image with information on the reverse side of the product packaging.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0145 that FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0153] At Steps 58 and 60, a seller will have the option of selecting which layers to make visible on the shelf image.
Dollens teaches at [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. In such an embodiment, the N-layer digital image 106 created at Step 94 will include all possible vector images and all possible electronic links. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0177 that only selected ones of electronic links from the second set of electronic links added to an individual vector image are visible and displayable when the individual vector image for a visual overlay is displayed. FIG. 13 illustrates the electronic links as graphical icons.).
Re Claim 7:
The claim 7 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 4 except additional claim limitation that providing the vector graphic subunit as the overlay of the raster image comprises: generating a mask corresponding to the priority graphic design layout boundary; generating a masked raster image by applying the mask corresponding to the priority graphic design layout boundary to the raster image; and providing, for display, the vector graphic subunit as the overlay to the masked raster image.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that providing the vector graphic subunit as the overlay of the raster image comprises: generating a mask corresponding to the priority graphic design layout boundary; generating a masked raster image by applying the mask corresponding to the priority graphic design layout boundary to the raster image; and providing, for display, the vector graphic subunit as the overlay to the masked raster image (
The raster images are masked by the corresponding vector image layers.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0142 that each digital vector image will have one or more vector images that overlay one or more raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images. Accordingly, the vector image layers are bounded by the rectangular grid of pixels of the corresponding underlying raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0145] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 36 illustrating an exemplary image of an actual shelf layout 37 created with Method 26. FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. The digital image 36 includes hair care and skin care products that are displayed on a shelf in a manner similar or identical to that of an actual retail store.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0147] FIG. 5 is a block diagram 44 illustrating details of the second selected progressive resolution portion 42. FIG. 5 illustrates plural links 46, 48, 50, 52, 55 added to the progressive resolution portion 42 to provide addition information. For example, link 46 provides additional information on Dove products. Link 55 provides an electronic coupon that can be printed out and redeemed or used for an electronic purchase. Link 48 provides additional information on the essential nutrients included in the products. Link 50 provides additional information on the cleansing clothes. Link 52 provides a link to another progressive image with information on the reverse side of the product packaging.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0148] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 54 for displaying and managing products. At Step 56, an individual portion of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout is displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image. At Step 58, one or more vectors images in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image are selected. At Step 60, one or more electronic links with additional information are selected for a selected consumer product from the selected one or more layer in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0189] The graphical selection tool 124 allows a user to select which electronic links on which vector images will be visible and will be displayed when a corresponding vector image of a visual overlay or a consumer product is displayed. The graphical selection tool 124 allows a user to customize display of the N-layer digital image by allowing display of only those items a user is interesting in seeing).
Re Claim 8:
The computer-implemented method of claim 7, wherein providing the vector graphic subunit as the overlay of the raster image comprises: generating a clipped vector graphic subunit by applying the priority graphic design layout boundary to the vector graphic subunit; and providing the clipped vector graphic subunit over the masked raster image.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that providing the vector graphic subunit as the overlay of the raster image comprises: generating a clipped vector graphic subunit by applying the priority graphic design layout boundary to the vector graphic subunit; and providing the clipped vector graphic subunit over the masked raster image (Dollens shows at FIG. 1D and Paragraph 0113 generating a clipped vector graphic subunit 51 by applying the selected graphic layout boundary to the vector graphic subunit 53 and at FIG. 4 and Paragraph 0146-0148 generating a clipped vector graphic subunit 42 by applying the selected graphic layout boundary to the vector graphic subunit 42).
Re Claim 9:
The computer-implemented method of claim 1, further comprising: downloading the additional vector graphic subunit of the vector graphics document; and providing, for display via the client device, an additional masked level-of-detail rendering comprising the raster image of the vector graphics document with the vector graphic subunit and the additional vector graphic subunit as overlays of the raster image.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that downloading the additional vector graphic subunit of the vector graphics document; and providing, for display via the client device, an additional masked level-of-detail rendering comprising the raster image of the vector graphics document with the vector graphic subunit and the additional vector graphic subunit as overlays of the raster image (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images. Accordingly, the vector image layers are bounded by the rectangular grid of pixels of the corresponding underlying raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0145] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 36 illustrating an exemplary image of an actual shelf layout 37 created with Method 26. FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. The digital image 36 includes hair care and skin care products that are displayed on a shelf in a manner similar or identical to that of an actual retail store.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0147] FIG. 5 is a block diagram 44 illustrating details of the second selected progressive resolution portion 42. FIG. 5 illustrates plural links 46, 48, 50, 52, 55 added to the progressive resolution portion 42 to provide addition information. For example, link 46 provides additional information on Dove products. Link 55 provides an electronic coupon that can be printed out and redeemed or used for an electronic purchase. Link 48 provides additional information on the essential nutrients included in the products. Link 50 provides additional information on the cleansing clothes. Link 52 provides a link to another progressive image with information on the reverse side of the product packaging.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0148] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 54 for displaying and managing products. At Step 56, an individual portion of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout is displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image. At Step 58, one or more vectors images in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image are selected. At Step 60, one or more electronic links with additional information are selected for a selected consumer product from the selected one or more layer in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0145 that FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
The raster images are masked by the corresponding vector image layers.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0142 that each digital vector image will have one or more vector images that overlay one or more raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0189] The graphical selection tool 124 allows a user to select which electronic links on which vector images will be visible and will be displayed when a corresponding vector image of a visual overlay or a consumer product is displayed. The graphical selection tool 124 allows a user to customize display of the N-layer digital image by allowing display of only those items a user is interesting in seeing).
Re Claim 10:
Dollens teaches a system comprising:
one or more memory devices; and one or more processors coupled to the one or more memory devices, the one or more processors configured to cause the system to (Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0159 that in FIG. 9A at step 86, an application in a computer readable medium on a server network device with one or more processors connected to a communications network creates a first set of plural vector images from plural corresponding raster images of consumer products. The created plural vector images include selected ones of the first set of the plural vector images created at different views of the consumer products and also include other selected ones of the created first set of plural vector images included vector images at varying levels of detail from general details to specific details for the consumer products included in the created first set of the plural vector images):
in response to a request to load a vector graphics document at a client device, download a raster image of the vector graphics document
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0216 that electronic image creation and display usage is monitored, controlled, and reported providing transparency for both the electronic content provider and the electronic content requester of the utilized electronic content storage retrieval service and at Paragraph 0243 that cloud storage objects 184 are also highly durable because of creation of copies of portions of desired electronic content across such networks 176, 178, 180, 182 of the cloud communications network 24. Cloud storage objects 184 includes one or more portions of desired electronic content and can be stored on any of the 176, 178, 180, 182 networks of the cloud communications network 24. Cloud storage objects 184 are transparent to a requester of desired electronic content and are managed by cloud applications 25 and at Paragraph 0248 that LDAP is a software protocol for enabling storage and retrieval of electronic content and other resources such as files and devices on the cloud communications network 24.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0192] At Step 142, a selection input is received on the application 25 on the server network device 12 via the communications network 24 for selected ones of electronic links from the first set and second set of electronic links and for selected one of the vector images from the created first set of plural vector images and second set of plural vector images to display in the N-layer digital image 70, 106.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0126 that the vector images are stored in M-layer vector image hierarchy and at Paragraph 0193 that the selection input may include a request to display all consumer products that include all natural ingredients.
Dollens teaches at FIG. 3, Paragraph 0133 and Paragraph 0140 in response to requesting/selecting to load a vector document (of vector images (vector image layers) of the plural consumer products) of the shelf layout such as the N-layer (layer-1) digital image of FIG. 3/8 or the M-layer vector image hierarchy (Paragraph 0165) from the communications network, downloading a raster image of the vector graphics document (N-layer digital image of FIG. 8) where the digital image of the shelf layout includes complications of one or more very high resolution digital images of individual products. Dollens shows at Paragraph 0145 that the digital image 36 includes hair care and skin product. Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0150 that the digital images includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images. Dollens teaches at FIGS. 5-7 and Paragraph 0157 the vector images 46, 48, 50 and 52.
(Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0124] In another embodiment, plural created vector images are storage are stored in a progressive resolution digital image format with corresponding raster images. In such an embodiment, the plural created vector images are stored in a progressive resolution digital image format and are displayed in with a progressive resolution display technique with having to use or download one or more of the original raster digital images from which the plural vector images were created from. Dollens teaches at FIG. 1C and Paragraph 0111 that the original raster digital image 39 was obtained on the Internet.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 in response to requesting/selecting to load a vector document (of vector images (vector image layers) of the plural consumer products) of the shelf layout such as the N-layer (layer-1) digital image of FIG. 8, downloading a raster image of the vector graphics document (N-layer digital image of FIG. 8) where the digital image of the shelf layout includes complications of one or more very high resolution digital images of individual products. Dollens shows at Paragraph 0145 that the digital image 36 includes hair care and skin product. Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0150 that the digital images includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images. Dollens teaches at FIGS. 5-7 and Paragraph 0157 the vector images 46, 48, 50 and 52);
select a first vector graphic subunit of the vector graphics document to download (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0173] One advantage of displaying only selected ones of the electronic links and making these selected ones of the electronic links visible only when a selected individual vector image is displayed allows the N-layer digital image to be cleanly displayed without cluttered images displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0128 that “progressive resolution” includes displaying one or more different vector images by displaying a selected vector image in greater and greater level of detail (or magnification, etc.) without loss of image quality and allows zooming in, and zooming out of a whole vector image or a portion of vector image without loss of image quality.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0133] FIG. 2 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 26 for displaying and managing products. At Step 28 plural images of consumer products are selected to display in a virtual display environment. At Step 30, a display layout for the selected plural images consumer products is determined. The display layout includes a pre-determined ordering. At Step 32, an N-layer digital image of a shelf layout is created on which the selected plural images of consumer products are displayed. At Step 34, the N-layer digital image is displayed via a communications network to allow virtual shopping via the communications network.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0140] At Step 32, an N-layer digital image (e.g., FIG. 3, item 36, FIG. 11, item 112, FIG. 17) of a shelf layout 37 is created on which the selected plural images of consumer products are displayed. The N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0126 that the vector images are stored in M-layer vector image hierarchy including one or more vector digital images and one or more set of electronic links in one or more upper vector image layers in the M-layer vector image hierarchy.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0159 that the progressive resolution display of the N-layer digital image allows display of the N-layer digital image from the computer readable medium with the created plural vector images in the plural vector image layers without converting any of the created plural vector images to another format or having to download any raster images associated with the created plural vector images over the communications network);
Mask a portion of the raster image of the vector graphics document corresponding to the first vector graphic subunit; provide, for display on the client device, the first vector graphic subunit in the masked portion of the raster image (
A mask can be a vector mask or a bitmap mask and can be used to work with only a portion of a layer. However, Dollens teaches working with only a portion of the whole image with one or more vector images (vector image objects----vector masks---vector portions of the whole image) overlaying on the top of one or more raster images (raster image objects----raster masks---raster portions of the whole image).
With respect to the new claim limitation of “masking”, overlaying the vector image object on the top of a raster image object inherently requires the vector image object as a vector mask (vector overlay mask) for masking out the raster image object within the whole composite image, the claim limitation is implicitly met by Dollens.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0173] One advantage of displaying only selected ones of the electronic links and making these selected ones of the electronic links visible only when a selected individual vector image is displayed allows the N-layer digital image to be cleanly displayed without cluttered images displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. In such an embodiment, the N-layer digital image 106 created at Step 94 will include all possible vector images and all possible electronic links. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed);
select a second vector graphic subunit of the vector graphics document to download (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0173] One advantage of displaying only selected ones of the electronic links and making these selected ones of the electronic links visible only when a selected individual vector image is displayed allows the N-layer digital image to be cleanly displayed without cluttered images displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0128 that “progressive resolution” includes displaying one or more different vector images by displaying a selected vector image in greater and greater level of detail (or magnification, etc.) without loss of image quality and allows zooming in, and zooming out of a whole vector image or a portion of vector image without loss of image quality.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0133] FIG. 2 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 26 for displaying and managing products. At Step 28 plural images of consumer products are selected to display in a virtual display environment. At Step 30, a display layout for the selected plural images consumer products is determined. The display layout includes a pre-determined ordering. At Step 32, an N-layer digital image of a shelf layout is created on which the selected plural images of consumer products are displayed. At Step 34, the N-layer digital image is displayed via a communications network to allow virtual shopping via the communications network.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0140] At Step 32, an N-layer digital image (e.g., FIG. 3, item 36, FIG. 11, item 112, FIG. 17) of a shelf layout 37 is created on which the selected plural images of consumer products are displayed. The N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0126 that the vector images are stored in M-layer vector image hierarchy including one or more vector digital images and one or more set of electronic links in one or more upper vector image layers in the M-layer vector image hierarchy.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0159 that the progressive resolution display of the N-layer digital image allows display of the N-layer digital image from the computer readable medium with the created plural vector images in the plural vector image layers without converting any of the created plural vector images to another format or having to download any raster images associated with the created plural vector images over the communications network); and
provide, for display on the client device, a mixed level-of-detail rendering comprising the first vector graphic subunit and the second vector graphic subunit with the raster image (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0103 that "progressive resolution" includes displaying one or more different vector images by displaying a selected vector image in greater and greater level of detail (or magnification, etc.) without loss of image quality and allows zooming in, and zooming out of a whole vector image or a portion of vector image without loss of image quality.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0104 that the one or more different vector images also allow displaying a selected vector image in greater and greater levels of detail without loss of image quality and allows zooming in, and zooming out of a whole vector image or a portion of vector image without loss of image quality.
Dollen teaches at Paragraph 0134 that the created plural vector images include selected ones of the first set of the plural vector images created at different views of the consumer products and also include other selected ones of the created first set of plural vector images included vector images at varying levels of detail from general details to specific details for the consumer products included in the created first set of the plural vector images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0145] In such an exemplary embodiment in FIG. 9A at Step 86, an application 25 in a computer readable medium on a server network device 12 with one or more processors connected to a communications network 24 creates a first set of plural vector images (e.g., FIG. 1D, FIG. 10, items 100, 102, etc.) from plural corresponding raster images (e.g., FIG. 1C) of consumer products 20. The created plural vector images include selected ones of the first set of the plural vector images created at different views (e.g., FIG. 10, front 100, back 102, etc.) of the consumer products and also include other selected ones of the created first set of plural vector images included vector images at varying levels of detail from general details 38 (e.g., FIGS. 3, 11, etc.) to specific details 42 (FIGS. 5, 10) for the consumer products included in the created first set of the plural vector images. However, the present invention is not limited to this order and other orderings can be used in the N-layer digital image and the M-layer vector image hierarchy.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0156] In one exemplary embodiment, The M-layer vector image hierarchy includes selected ones of vector images from the created first set of the plural vector images displaying general details for the consumer products or groups of consumer products at a first set of highest levels in the M-layer vector image hierarchy and other selected ones of vector images from the created first set of plural vector images displaying specific details for the consumer products at lowest levels in the M-layer hierarchy. Selected ones from the created second set of vector images displays visual overlays of varying level of details from general to specific for the pre-determined groups of consumer products at a second set of highest levels in the M-layer vector image hierarchy. However, the present invention is not limited to such a hierarchy and other types of hierarchies can be used to practice the invention.
Dollens teaches at FIGS. 3-5 and Paragraph [0150] In such an exemplary embodiment, at Step 56, an individual portion 38, 42, 46, 48, 50, 52 of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout 36 are displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0173] One advantage of displaying only selected ones of the electronic links and making these selected ones of the electronic links visible only when a selected individual vector image is displayed allows the N-layer digital image to be cleanly displayed without cluttered images displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. In such an embodiment, the N-layer digital image 106 created at Step 94 will include all possible vector images and all possible electronic links. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0148] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 54 for displaying and managing products. At Step 56, an individual portion of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout is displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image. At Step 58, one or more vectors images in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image are selected.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0170 that he created plural vector images include selected ones of the first set of the plural vector images created at different views (e.g., FIG. 10, front 100, back 102, etc.) of the consumer products and also include other selected ones of the created first set of plural vector images included vector images at varying levels of detail from general details 38 (e.g., FIGS. 3, 11, etc.) to specific details 42 (FIGS. 5, 10) for the consumer products included in the created first set of the plural vector images).
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have requested/retrieved for the desired electronic content (e.g., the vector images) on the cloud storage device over the cloud communications network as files for display on a client network device such as the client terminal (see Paragraph 0161) upon the user request wherein one or more server network devices 12 of FIG. 19 may be replaced with one or more client network device 12’ (Paragraph 0043). One of the ordinary skill in the art would have displayed the N-layer digital image with the selected vector images in a level-of-detail.
It would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the instant application to have requested/retrieved for the desired electronic content (e.g., the vector images) on the cloud storage device over the cloud communications network as files for display on a client network device such as the client terminal (see Paragraph 0161) upon the user request wherein one or more server network devices 12 of FIG. 19 may be replaced with one or more client network device 12’ (Paragraph 0043). One of the ordinary skill in the art would have displayed the N-layer digital image with the selected vector images in a level-of-detail.
With respect to the claim limitation of mask, it is old and well known that overlaying vector image object on the top of a raster image object inherently requires the vector image object as a vector mask for masking out the raster image object within the whole composite image.
Garg explicitly teaches the claim limitation of mask in the context of overlaying the vector image object onto the raster image object.
Garg teaches at Paragraph [0035] that, the image editing system 110 utilizes the mask correlation visualization system 102 to generate visualizations of mask correlations and interactions with layers in digital images. In particular, the mask correlation visualization system 102 extracts inclusivity attributes and boundary attributes of each existing mask and attributes of layers to generate boundary highlights representing affected areas of the layers and how the masks interact to modify the areas of the layers. Accordingly, the mask correlation visualization system 102 utilizes characteristics of layers and their respective raster masks and/or vector masks to generate visualizations of the interactions and correlations of the masks with the layer overlaid on top of digital images in graphical user interfaces.
It would have been obvious to have used vector masks or raster masks to have overlaying vector objects on the top of the raster objects according to Garg to have modified Dollens to have explicitly used vector masks or raster masks to have provided the overlay of the vector objects on the top of the raster objects. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided vector masks as means of masking out the corresponding raster image objects.
With respect to the claim limitation of mask, it is old and well known that overlaying vector image object on the top of a raster image object inherently requires the vector image object as a vector mask for masking out the raster image object within the whole composite image.
Hay explicitly teaches the claim limitation of mask in the context of overlaying the vector image object onto the raster image object.
Hay [0038] FIGS. 5A-5E show certain photographic images representing a portion of a city. FIG. 5A shows a true color airphoto image of the city portion; FIG. 5B shows a thermal infrared (TIR) raster image of the same city portion showing several image-objects (road section, trees rooftops); FIG. 5C shows a group of vector roof-top masks (red) geometrically overlaid on their corresponding TIR image objects for the same city portion; FIG. 5D shows a group of fitted vector roof-top mask (blue) overlaid to their corresponding TIR image objects for the same city portion and FIG. 5E shows a composite geometric overlay showing the vector mask (red) and the fitted vector roof-top mask (blue), overlaid on the TIR raster image.
It would have been obvious to have used vector masks or raster masks to have overlaying vector objects on the top of the raster objects according to Hay to have modified Dollens to have explicitly used vector masks or raster masks to have provided the overlay of the vector objects on the top of the raster objects. One of the ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to have provided vector masks as means of masking out the corresponding raster image objects.
Re Claim 11:
The claim 11 encompasses the same scope of inventio as that of the claim 10 except additional claim limitation that the one or more processors are further configured to select the first vector graphic subunit of the vector graphics document to download by: selecting a priority graphic design layout boundary from a plurality of graphic design layout boundaries based on historical user interaction with the vector graphics document.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that the one or more processors are further configured to select the first vector graphic subunit of the vector graphics document to download by: selecting a priority graphic design layout boundary from a plurality of graphic design layout boundaries based on historical user interaction with the vector graphics document (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0141] Using progressive resolution, a user can zoom in very close to the product image or zoom out to view the shelf in it's entirety. The created image is resolved as the user zooms in to a specific product and also resolves the image to clarity as the user zooms out to view the entire shelf.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0145 that FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0106] A “raster image” is a digital image format composed of a rectangular grid of pixels. Each pixel contains a defined value about its color, size, and location in the image. An image composed of a rectangular grid of pixels. Each pixel contains a defined value about its color, size, and location in the image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images. Accordingly, the vector image layers are bounded by the rectangular grid of pixels of the corresponding underlying raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0145] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 36 illustrating an exemplary image of an actual shelf layout 37 created with Method 26. FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. The digital image 36 includes hair care and skin care products that are displayed on a shelf in a manner similar or identical to that of an actual retail store.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0147] FIG. 5 is a block diagram 44 illustrating details of the second selected progressive resolution portion 42. FIG. 5 illustrates plural links 46, 48, 50, 52, 55 added to the progressive resolution portion 42 to provide addition information. For example, link 46 provides additional information on Dove products. Link 55 provides an electronic coupon that can be printed out and redeemed or used for an electronic purchase. Link 48 provides additional information on the essential nutrients included in the products. Link 50 provides additional information on the cleansing clothes. Link 52 provides a link to another progressive image with information on the reverse side of the product packaging.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0148] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 54 for displaying and managing products. At Step 56, an individual portion of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout is displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image. At Step 58, one or more vectors images in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image are selected. At Step 60, one or more electronic links with additional information are selected for a selected consumer product from the selected one or more layer in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0145 that FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0153] At Steps 58 and 60, a seller will have the option of selecting which layers to make visible on the shelf image.
Dollens teaches at [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. In such an embodiment, the N-layer digital image 106 created at Step 94 will include all possible vector images and all possible electronic links. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0177 that only selected ones of electronic links from the second set of electronic links added to an individual vector image are visible and displayable when the individual vector image for a visual overlay is displayed. FIG. 13 illustrates the electronic links as graphical icons).
Re Claim 12:
The claim 12 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 11 except additional claim limitation that the one or more processors are further configured to select the first vector graphic subunit of the vector graphics document by: determining graphic layers of the vector graphics document that fall within the priority graphic design layout boundary; and identifying vector graphics of the first vector graphic subunit corresponding to the graphic layers.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that the one or more processors are further configured to select the first vector graphic subunit of the vector graphics document by: determining graphic layers of the vector graphics document that fall within the priority graphic design layout boundary; and identifying vector graphics of the first vector graphic subunit corresponding to the graphic layers (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0126] In one embodiment, the vector images are stored in M-layer vector image hierarchy including one or more vector digital images and one or more set of electronic links in one or more upper vector image layers in the M-layer vector image hierarchy that allow a user to link to general information about the consumer products. The M-layer vector image hierarchy includes one or more vector digital images including one or more set of electronic links in one or more intermediate vector image layers in the M-layer vector image hierarchy that allow a user to link to more specific information about the consumer products. The M-layer vector image hierarchy includes one or more vector digital images including one or more set of electronic links in one or more lower vector image layers in the M-layer vector hierarchy that allow a user to link to specific information about the consumer products. However, the present invention is not limited to the M-layer vector hierarchy described and other types of hierarchies and progressive resolution techniques can also be used to practice the invention.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0127] In one exemplary embodiment, the general information in the one or more upper vector layers include brand information, the one or more intermediate vector layers with the intermediate information includes sub-brand information and the one or more lower vector layers with the specific information includes product packaging and ingredient information. In another embodiment, the information placed in the vector layers are reversed. In another embodiment, the information placed in the Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0106] A “raster image” is a digital image format composed of a rectangular grid of pixels. Each pixel contains a defined value about its color, size, and location in the image. An image composed of a rectangular grid of pixels. Each pixel contains a defined value about its color, size, and location in the image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images. Accordingly, the vector image layers are bounded by the rectangular grid of pixels of the corresponding underlying raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0145] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 36 illustrating an exemplary image of an actual shelf layout 37 created with Method 26. FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. The digital image 36 includes hair care and skin care products that are displayed on a shelf in a manner similar or identical to that of an actual retail store.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0147] FIG. 5 is a block diagram 44 illustrating details of the second selected progressive resolution portion 42. FIG. 5 illustrates plural links 46, 48, 50, 52, 55 added to the progressive resolution portion 42 to provide addition information. For example, link 46 provides additional information on Dove products. Link 55 provides an electronic coupon that can be printed out and redeemed or used for an electronic purchase. Link 48 provides additional information on the essential nutrients included in the products. Link 50 provides additional information on the cleansing clothes. Link 52 provides a link to another progressive image with information on the reverse side of the product packaging.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0148] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 54 for displaying and managing products. At Step 56, an individual portion of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout is displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image. At Step 58, one or more vectors images in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image are selected. At Step 60, one or more electronic links with additional information are selected for a selected consumer product from the selected one or more layer in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0150] In such an exemplary embodiment, at Step 56, an individual portion 38, 42, 46, 48, 50, 52 of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout 36 are displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image.
Dollens teaches at FIGS. 3-5 and Paragraph [0150] In such an exemplary embodiment, at Step 56, an individual portion 38, 42, 46, 48, 50, 52 of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout 36 are displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image.
It is noted that the individual portions of the vector images in FIGS. 3-5 are bounded by the rectangular bounding box.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0170 that an application 25 in a computer readable medium on a server network device 12 with one or more processors connected to a communications network 24 creates a first set of plural vector images (e.g., FIG. 1D, FIG. 10, items 100, 102, etc.) from plural corresponding raster images (e.g., FIG. 1C) of consumer products 20. The created plural vector images include selected ones of the first set of the plural vector images created at different views (e.g., FIG. 10, front 100, back 102, etc.) of the consumer products and also include other selected ones of the created first set of plural vector images included vector images at varying levels of detail from general details 38 (e.g., FIGS. 3, 11, etc.) to specific details 42 (FIGS. 5, 10) for the consumer products included in the created first set of the plural vector images. However, the present invention is not limited to this order and other orderings can be used in the N-layer digital image and the M-layer vector image hierarchy.
Dollens teaches at [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. In such an embodiment, the N-layer digital image 106 created at Step 94 will include all possible vector images and all possible electronic links. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0196] In one exemplary embodiment the type of information displayed in the N-layer digital image and/or the M-layer vector image hierarchy is completely configurable (e.g., with product selection tool 124). For example, a user may select create a N-layer digital image and/or M-layer vector image hierarchy by having vector images of consumer products (e.g., 100, 102) at a highest level, wherein a top most level includes consumer products with a lowest price, a next level includes consumer products with higher prices, etc. and a lowest level includes consumer products with a highest price. Virtually any ordering and virtually any type of electronic information can be selected and displayed in the N-layer digital image and/or the M-layer vector image hierarchy).
Re Claim 13:
The claim 13 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 11 except additional claim limitation that the one or more processors are further configured to select the second vector graphic subunit of the vector graphics document based on historical user interactions with the vector graphics document by comparing user interactions across the plurality of graphic design layout boundaries within the vector graphics document.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that the one or more processors are further configured to select the second vector graphic subunit of the vector graphics document based on historical user interactions with the vector graphics document by comparing user interactions across the plurality of graphic design layout boundaries within the vector graphics document (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0141] Using progressive resolution, a user can zoom in very close to the product image or zoom out to view the shelf in it's entirety. The created image is resolved as the user zooms in to a specific product and also resolves the image to clarity as the user zooms out to view the entire shelf.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0145 that FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0106] A “raster image” is a digital image format composed of a rectangular grid of pixels. Each pixel contains a defined value about its color, size, and location in the image. An image composed of a rectangular grid of pixels. Each pixel contains a defined value about its color, size, and location in the image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images. Accordingly, the vector image layers are bounded by the rectangular grid of pixels of the corresponding underlying raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0145] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 36 illustrating an exemplary image of an actual shelf layout 37 created with Method 26. FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. The digital image 36 includes hair care and skin care products that are displayed on a shelf in a manner similar or identical to that of an actual retail store.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0147] FIG. 5 is a block diagram 44 illustrating details of the second selected progressive resolution portion 42. FIG. 5 illustrates plural links 46, 48, 50, 52, 55 added to the progressive resolution portion 42 to provide addition information. For example, link 46 provides additional information on Dove products. Link 55 provides an electronic coupon that can be printed out and redeemed or used for an electronic purchase. Link 48 provides additional information on the essential nutrients included in the products. Link 50 provides additional information on the cleansing clothes. Link 52 provides a link to another progressive image with information on the reverse side of the product packaging.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0148] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 54 for displaying and managing products. At Step 56, an individual portion of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout is displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image. At Step 58, one or more vectors images in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image are selected. At Step 60, one or more electronic links with additional information are selected for a selected consumer product from the selected one or more layer in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0145 that FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0153] At Steps 58 and 60, a seller will have the option of selecting which layers to make visible on the shelf image.
Dollens teaches at [0176] In another embodiment, the product selection tool 124 is also used via a client network device 12 via application 25 via GUI 16 by a user who desires to create electronic links and display vector images only to products that interest them. In such an embodiment, the N-layer digital image 106 created at Step 94 will include all possible vector images and all possible electronic links. A consumer will select and activate only those vector images and electronic links for consumer products that are of interest to the user and only those electronic links and vector images will be displayed.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0177 that only selected ones of electronic links from the second set of electronic links added to an individual vector image are visible and displayable when the individual vector image for a visual overlay is displayed. FIG. 13 illustrates the electronic links as graphical icons).
Re Claim 14:
The claim 14 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 10 except additional claim limitation that providing the first vector graphic subunit with the raster image comprises: identifying a first priority graphic design layout boundary corresponding to the first vector graphic subunit; generating a masked raster image by applying a mask corresponding to the first priority graphic design layout boundary to the raster image; and providing, for display within the first priority graphic design layout boundary, the first vector graphic subunit as an overlay to the masked raster image.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that providing the first vector graphic subunit with the raster image comprises: identifying a first priority graphic design layout boundary corresponding to the first vector graphic subunit; generating a masked raster image by applying a mask corresponding to the first priority graphic design layout boundary to the raster image; and providing, for display within the first priority graphic design layout boundary, the first vector graphic subunit as an overlay to the masked raster image (The raster images are masked by the corresponding vector image layers.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0142 that each digital vector image will have one or more vector images that overlay one or more raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images. Accordingly, the vector image layers are bounded by the rectangular grid of pixels of the corresponding underlying raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0145] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 36 illustrating an exemplary image of an actual shelf layout 37 created with Method 26. FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. The digital image 36 includes hair care and skin care products that are displayed on a shelf in a manner similar or identical to that of an actual retail store.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0147] FIG. 5 is a block diagram 44 illustrating details of the second selected progressive resolution portion 42. FIG. 5 illustrates plural links 46, 48, 50, 52, 55 added to the progressive resolution portion 42 to provide addition information. For example, link 46 provides additional information on Dove products. Link 55 provides an electronic coupon that can be printed out and redeemed or used for an electronic purchase. Link 48 provides additional information on the essential nutrients included in the products. Link 50 provides additional information on the cleansing clothes. Link 52 provides a link to another progressive image with information on the reverse side of the product packaging.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0148] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 54 for displaying and managing products. At Step 56, an individual portion of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout is displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image. At Step 58, one or more vectors images in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image are selected. At Step 60, one or more electronic links with additional information are selected for a selected consumer product from the selected one or more layer in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0189] The graphical selection tool 124 allows a user to select which electronic links on which vector images will be visible and will be displayed when a corresponding vector image of a visual overlay or a consumer product is displayed. The graphical selection tool 124 allows a user to customize display of the N-layer digital image by allowing display of only those items a user is interesting in seeing).
Re Claim 15:
The claim 15 encompasses the same scope of invention as that of the claim 14 except additional claim limitation that providing the second vector graphic subunit with the raster image comprises: identifying a second priority graphic design layout boundary corresponding to the second vector graphic subunit; applying an additional mask corresponding to the second priority graphic design layout boundary to the raster image; and providing, for display within the second priority graphic design layout boundary, the second vector graphic subunit as an additional overlay to the masked raster image.
Dollens further teaches the claim limitation that providing the second vector graphic subunit with the raster image comprises: identifying a second priority graphic design layout boundary corresponding to the second vector graphic subunit; applying an additional mask corresponding to the second priority graphic design layout boundary to the raster image; and providing, for display within the second priority graphic design layout boundary, the second vector graphic subunit as an additional overlay to the masked raster image (
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images. Accordingly, the vector image layers are bounded by the rectangular grid of pixels of the corresponding underlying raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0145] FIG. 3 is a block diagram 36 illustrating an exemplary image of an actual shelf layout 37 created with Method 26. FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. The digital image 36 includes hair care and skin care products that are displayed on a shelf in a manner similar or identical to that of an actual retail store.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0147] FIG. 5 is a block diagram 44 illustrating details of the second selected progressive resolution portion 42. FIG. 5 illustrates plural links 46, 48, 50, 52, 55 added to the progressive resolution portion 42 to provide addition information. For example, link 46 provides additional information on Dove products. Link 55 provides an electronic coupon that can be printed out and redeemed or used for an electronic purchase. Link 48 provides additional information on the essential nutrients included in the products. Link 50 provides additional information on the cleansing clothes. Link 52 provides a link to another progressive image with information on the reverse side of the product packaging.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0148] FIG. 6 is a flow diagram illustrating a Method 54 for displaying and managing products. At Step 56, an individual portion of a displayed digital image of a shelf layout is displayed on which selected plural images of consumer products are displayed in a determined display layout. The digital image includes one or more vector images and one or more raster images and allows progressive resolution on the vector images of the consumer products from the selected individual portions that appear in the digital image. At Step 58, one or more vectors images in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image are selected. At Step 60, one or more electronic links with additional information are selected for a selected consumer product from the selected one or more layer in the selected one or more individual portions of the digital image.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0145 that FIG. 3 illustrates a first selected progressive resolution portion 38 of an actual digital image created to emulate an actual retail store shopping experience. Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0146] FIG. 4 is a block diagram 40 illustrating an exemplary progressive resolution portion of the shelf layout image of FIG. 3. FIG. 4 illustrates a second selected progressive resolution portion 42 selected within the first selected progressive resolution portion.
The raster images are masked by the corresponding vector image layers.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0140 that the N-layer digital image includes one or more vector images in plural different vector image layers created from and overlaying one or more original raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0142 that each digital vector image will have one or more vector images that overlay one or more raster images.
Dollens teaches at Paragraph [0189] The graphical selection tool 124 allows a user to select which electronic links on which vector images will be visible and will be displayed when a corresponding vector image of a visual overlay or a consumer product is displayed. The graphical selection tool 124 allows a user to customize display of the N-layer digital image by allowing display of only those items a user is interesting in seeing).
Re Claim 16:
The claim 16 is in parallel with the claim 1 in a computer program product. The claim 16 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 1.
Moreover, Dollens teaches a non-transitory computer readable medium storing executable instructions which, when executed by a processing device, cause the processing device to perform operations comprising [the method steps of the claim 1] (Dollens teaches at Paragraph 0159 that in FIG. 9A at step 86, an application in a computer readable medium on a server network device with one or more processors connected to a communications network creates a first set of plural vector images from plural corresponding raster images of consumer products. The created plural vector images include selected ones of the first set of the plural vector images created at different views of the consumer products and also include other selected ones of the created first set of plural vector images included vector images at varying levels of detail from general details to specific details for the consumer products included in the created first set of the plural vector images).
Re Claim 17:
The claim 16 is in parallel with the claim 4 in a computer program product. The claim 17 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 4.
Re Claim 18:
The claim 16 is in parallel with the claim 6 in a computer program product. The claim 18 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 6.
Re Claim 19:
The claim 19 is in parallel with the claim 7 in a computer program product. The claim 16 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 7.
Re Claim 20:
The claim 20 is in parallel with the claim 8 in a computer program product. The claim 20 is subject to the same rationale of rejection as the claim 8.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JIN CHENG WANG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2617