DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the amendment filed on 7/10/2026.
Claims 1-7, 10, 13, 15-16, 18-20 are amended.
Claims 21-23 are new.
Claims 1-23 are examined and rejected based on new grounds of rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 5-7, 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites in part: “… the first data further comprises second indication information and the second indication information indicates that the first data comprises the first SIB 1”. Here the underlined limitation is unclear, whether “the first data comprises the second indication information” or “the second indication information indicates the first data”. In other words the limitations “the first data” and the limitation “second indication information” and pointing to each other, making this claim unclear, confusing, repetitive and hence indefinite.
Claim 5 recites in part: “… obtaining third indication information associated with the first data, wherein the third indication information indicates that the first data comprises the first SIB 1”. Here the underlined limitation is unclear, as to how the “obtaining” step is performed, since it is unclear what is the “third indication information associated with the first data”.
The dependent claim 6 is also rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, by virtue of dependency and for the same reasons stated above.
Claim 7 recites in part: “… receiving fourth indication information from the network device, wherein the fourth indication information indicates the network device to send the first SIB 1; and wherein the fourth indication information is carried in a master information block (MIB) or the second DCI.” This claim starts with “receiving fourth indication information from the network device”, and this received fourth indication information, indicates back to the network to send the first SIB 1. It is unclear how the fourth indication information that is received from the network “indicates” back to the network to send SIB 1, making this limitation very confusing, unclear and hence indefinite.
Claim 12 recites in part: “… the first message further comprises second indication information, the second indication information indicating that the first message comprises the first SIB 1”. Here the underlined limitation is unclear, whether “the first message comprises the second indication information” or “the second indication information indicates the first message”. In other words, the limitations “the first message” and the limitation “second indication information” and pointing to each other, making this claim unclear, confusing, repetitive and hence indefinite.
Claim 13 recites in part: “… sending fourth indication information to the terminal device, wherein the fourth indication information indicates the network device to send the first SIB 1, and the fourth indication information is carried in a master information block (MIB} or the second DCI.” This claim starts with “sending fourth indication information to the terminal device”, and this sent fourth indication information, indicates back to the network to send the first SIB 1. It is unclear how the fourth indication information that is sent from the network “indicates” back to the network to send SIB 1, making this limitation very confusing, unclear and hence indefinite.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-12, 14-17, 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Lee (US 20220116982 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Lee teaches a communication method performed by a communication apparatus (see FIG. 13, wireless device 100, para 226), the method comprising:
receiving first downlink control information (DCI) from a network device, wherein the first DCI is used to schedule first data (see FIG. 11, para 211, the UE may receive downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) carrying system information); and
determining, based on the first DCI, that the first data comprises a first system information block 1 (SIB 1), wherein the first SIB 1 is one of at least two SIB is sent by the network device, the at least two SIB 1s comprising the first SIB 1 and a second SIB 1 (see FIG. 10, para 162, DCI for SIB1 (or SIBx) is CRC scrambled with SI-RNTI. All the (existing) UEs may receive the same DCI/i.e., the first DCI with multiple SIB1s (SIB1 and additional SIB1 as depicted in FIG. 10) … para 183, DCI may inform not only the transmission resource of the legacy SIB1, but may also inform the transmission resource of the additional SIB1; additionally also see FIG. 11, paras 213-214, The UE obtains at least part of the system information based on the at least one TB (B10); at step B15 of FIG. 11. The UE obtains the SIBs).
wherein the first DCI comprises first indication information that indicates that the first data comprises the first SIB 1 (see para 214, The DCI can be configured as common DCI for a plurality of UE types different from each other. The system information/i.e., including the first SIB1, carried by the plurality of TBs/i.e., the first data, may include one or more system information blocks (SIBs) for the plurality of UE types).
Regarding Claim 2, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the determining, based on the first DCI, that the first data comprises the first SIB 1 comprises: or determining, based on a time domain resource of the first DCI, that the first data comprises the first SIB 1 (see para 187, When the DCI for receiving SIB1 or R-SIB1 indicates ‘System information indicator for R-UE (reduces capability UE) or E-UE’ (enhanced coverage UE), the R-UE/E-UE may receive a PDSCH carrying SIB1 using the existing frequency resource and (existing) time resource information).
Regarding Claim 3, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first data further comprises second indication information and the second indication information indicates that the first data comprises the first SIB 1 (Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification paragraph 311, the above limitation is interpreted as: the second indication information is used to distinguish between different SIBs 1. Based on this interpretation, see para 154, from the viewpoint of the base station, a cell should simultaneously operate two types of SIB1s (i.e., SIB1 and R-SIB1). One type of MIB is mapped to both types of SIB1s, or the MIB is mapped to the Normal SIB1, and the Normal SIB1 may be mapped to R-SIB1. Normal SIB1 and R-SIB1 may include scheduling information (e.g., RRC parameter schedulinglnfoList) that informs whether other SIBs are broadcast or not and the transmission periods of other SIBs).
Regarding Claim 8, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises receiving the first data from the network device based on the first DCI (see para 214, The DCI can be configured as common DCI for a plurality of UE types different from each other. The system information/i.e., including the first SIB1, carried by the plurality of TBs/i.e., the first data, may include one or more system information blocks (SIBs) for the plurality of UE types).
.
Regarding Claim 9, 15, Lee teaches: the first SIB 1 comprises information related to network access in a first operation mode; or the second SIB 1 comprises information related to network access in a second operation mode (Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification paragraph 230, the limitation “SIB 1 comprises information related to network access in a first operation mode” has been interpreted as: an operation mode used when no compatibility problem occurs (normal SIB 1). Based on this interpretation, see para 154, from the viewpoint of the base station, a cell should simultaneously operate two types of SIB1s (i.e., SIB1 and R-SIB1). One type of MIB is mapped to both types of SIB1s, or the MIB is mapped to the Normal SIB1, and the Normal SIB1 may be mapped to R-SIB1/i.e., the first operation mode. Normal SIB1 and R-SIB1 include scheduling information (e.g., RRC parameter schedulinglnfoList) that informs whether other SIBs are broadcast or not and the transmission periods of other SIBs).
Regarding Claim 10, Lee teaches a communication method performed by a communication apparatus (see FIG. 13, base station 200, para 226), the method comprising:
determining first downlink control information (DCI), wherein the first DCI is used to schedule first data (see FIG. 11, para 211, the UE may receive/i.e., from the base station, downlink control information (DCI) scheduling a plurality of transport blocks (TBs) carrying system information), the first data comprises a first system information block 1 (SIB 1), the first SIB 1 is one of at least two SIB is sent by the network device, the at least two SIB 1s comprises the first SIB 1 and a second SIB 1 (see FIG. 10, para 162, DCI for SIB1 is CRC scrambled with SI-RNTI. All the (existing) UEs may receive the same DCI/i.e., the first DCI with multiple SIB1s (SIB1 and additional SIB1 as depicted in FIG. 10) … para 183, DCI may inform not only the transmission resource of the legacy SIB1, but may also inform the transmission resource of the additional SIB1; additionally also see FIG. 11, paras 213-214, The UE obtains at least part of the system information based on the at least one TB (B10); at step B15 of FIG. 11. The UE obtains the SIBs), and the first SIB 1 comprises information related to network access in a first operation mode (see para 154, from the viewpoint of the base station, a cell should simultaneously operate two types of SIB1s (i.e., SIB1 and R-SIB1). One type of MIB is mapped to both types of SIB1s, or the MIB is mapped to the Normal SIB1, and the Normal SIB1 may be mapped to R-SIB1/i.e., the first operation mode. Normal SIB1 and R-SIB1 include scheduling information (e.g., RRC parameter schedulinglnfoList) that informs whether other SIBs are broadcast or not and the transmission periods of other SIBs); and
sending the first DCI to a terminal device (see FIG. 11, para 211, the UE may receive/i.e., from the base station, downlink control information (DCI));
wherein the first DCI comprises first indication information and the first indication information indicates that the first data comprises the first SIB 1 (see para 214, The DCI can be configured as common DCI for a plurality of UE types different from each other. The system information/i.e., including the first SIB1, carried by the plurality of TBs/i.e., the first data, may include one or more system information blocks (SIBs) for the plurality of UE types).
Regarding Claim 11, Lee teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the first data comprises a first message and the first message comprises the first SIB 1 (Examiners Note: Using BRI consistent with the specification, the limitation “first message” has been interpreted as “RRC”. Based on this interpretation, see para 154, Normal SIB1 and R-SIB1 may include scheduling information (e.g., RRC parameter schedulinglnfoList)/i.e., representing the first message, that informs whether other SIBs are broadcast or not and the transmission periods of other SIBs).
Regarding Claim 12, Lee teaches the method according to claim 11, wherein the first message further comprises second indication information, the second indication information indicating that the first message comprises the first SIB 1 (see para 154, from the viewpoint of the base station, a cell should simultaneously operate two types of SIB1s (i.e., SIB1 and R-SIB1). One type of MIB/i.e., representing the second indication information, is mapped to both types of SIB1s, or the MIB is mapped to the Normal SIB1, and the Normal SIB1 may be mapped to R-SIB1/i.e., the first operation mode. Normal SIB1 and R-SIB1 include scheduling information (e.g., RRC parameter schedulinglnfoList) /i.e., representing the first message, that informs whether other SIBs are broadcast or not and the transmission periods of other SIBs)
.
Regarding Claim 14, Lee teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the method further comprises sending the first data to the terminal device (see para 214, The DCI can be configured as common DCI for a plurality of UE types different from each other. The system information/i.e., including the first SIB1, carried by the plurality of TBs/i.e., the first data, may include one or more system information blocks (SIBs) for the plurality of UE types).
Regarding Claim 16, Lee teaches a communication apparatus comprising: a processor; a transceiver; and memory coupled to the processor and the transceiver, the memory storing a computer program or instructions that, when executed by the transceiver and processor, enable the terminal device to implement the method according to claim 1 (see FIG. 13., para 227).
Regarding Claim 17, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first DCI comprises the first indication information that indicates that the first data comprises the first SIB 1 (see para 214, The DCI can be configured as common DCI for a plurality of UE types different from each other. The system information/i.e., including the first SIB1, carried by the plurality of TBs/i.e., the first data, may include one or more system information blocks (SIBs) for the plurality of UE types).
Regarding Claim 19, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein information associated with the first DCI different from information associated with a second DCI, and the information associated with the first DCI that is different from the information associated with the second DCI comprises frequency domain resource information, information indicating that the second DCI is used to schedule second data, and information indicating that the second data comprises a second SIB 1 (see FIG. 10, para 163, SIB1 is transmitted through TB1/i.e., transport block 1 … or R-SIB1 of R-BWP is transmitted through TB2/i.e., transport block 2. The N-UE (normal UE) receives only TB1. The R-UE/E-UE may receive only TB2 or both TB1 and TB2. Here, Initial BWP and R-BWP may be the same or different BWPs. Also, TB1 and TB2 are the same or different TBs. DCI may be configured to indicate whether TB1 and TB2 are the same or different from each other… para 166, The DCI may include at least part of the following information: Frequency domain resource assignment, Time domain resource assignment—4 bits, VRB-to-PRB mapping—1 bit, Modulation and coding scheme—5 bits, Redundancy version—2 bits, System information indicator—1 bit, System information indicator for R-UE or E-UE, BWP-id for REDCAP (reduced capability) UEs, (Extended/Additional) SI window length for R-UE or E-UE, Additional frequency domain resource assignment, Additional time domain resource assignment, DCI-to-PDSCH (TB2) slot offset).
Regarding Claim 20, Lee teaches a communication apparatus (see FIG. 13, base station 200, para 226) comprising: a processor; a transceiver; and memory coupled to the processor and the transceiver, the memory storing a computer program or instructions that, when executed by the transceiver and processor, enable the network device to implement the method according to claim 10.
Regarding Claim 21, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the first DCI further comprises a system information indicator field, and different values of the system information indicator field indicate the second SIB 1, or a system information (SI) message (see para 187, When the DCI for receiving SIB1 or R-SIB1 indicates ‘System information indicator for R-UE or E-UE’, the R-UE/E-UE may receive a PDSCH carrying SIB1 using the existing frequency resource and (existing) time resource information).
Regarding Claim 22, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the second SIB 1 is associated with a second DCI, time domain resource information associated with the first DCI is different from time domain resource information associated with the second DCI (see FIG. 10, two SIB 1s using different time resources for DCI), the time domain resource information associated with the first DCI comprises: or a time domain resource on which DCI is capable of appearing (see 187, when DCI indicates an additional frequency resource or additional time resource, the R-UE/E-UE receives the additional PDSCH through the additional resource).
Regarding Claim 23, Lee teaches the method according to claim 10, wherein the second SIB 1 is associated with a second DCI, time domain resource information associated with the first DCI is different from time domain resource information associated with the second DCI (see FIG. 10, two SIB 1s using different time resources for DCI), the time domain resource information associated with the first DCI comprises: or a time domain resource on which DCI is capable of appearing (see 187, when DCI indicates an additional frequency resource or additional time resource, the R-UE/E-UE receives the additional PDSCH through the additional resource).
.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee in view of Garcia (US 20250008435 A1, provisional filed Nov. 15, 2021, hereinafter “Garcia”).
Regarding Claim 18, Lee teaches the method according to claim 1, but does not teach details regarding: information associated with the first DCI is different from information associated with a second DCI, and the information associated with the first DCI that is different from the information associated with the second DCI comprises scrambling information, DCI format information, and the time domain resource information.
Garcia teaches this limitation: see para 115, DCI for scheduling PDSCH/i.e., first DCI… para 116, paging DCI)/i.e., the second DCI… paras 115-116, scheduling DCI 1_0 format scrambled with a SI-RNTI, and at para 111 comprising SSB and CORESET/i.e., frequency and time resource indication; see para 116, the paging DCI (e.g., a DCI 1_0 format scrambled with a P-RNTI) may include Short Message(s); also see para 150, paging DCI having paging search space);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the method of Lee, to include details regarding information included in the first and second DCI, such as scrambling information, DCI format information, and the time domain resource information as taught by Garcia, the motivation being, for a WTRU to receive system information and system information update(s) (see Garcia, para 3), indicated by scrambling information, DCI format information, and the time domain resource information.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 (from the previous rejection, without new claims 21-23) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Bendlin (US 20230134170 A1) teaches in FIG. 4, paras 34-35, a shared system information structure for LTE eMTC and LTE MBB is illustrated that includes a PSS/SSS followed by a MIB. The MIB can be carried over a broadcast channel, e.g., PBCH, within a 1.4MHz carrier band. The MIB can include a limited number of frequently transmitted parameters that are utilized to acquire other information from a given cell… The MIB can be followed by one or more system information blocks (SIBs), including a SystemInformationBlockType 1 (SIB1) 430 and or more subsequent SystemInformation (SI) messages 440. Unlike the MIB 420, SIB1 430 and SI messages 440 can be transmitted over a full wideband carrier band. To accommodate BL/CE UEs (bandwidth-reduced, low complexity (BL) devices) and/or other eMTC devices, eMTC devices can apply bandwidth reduced (BR) versions of SIB and SI messages, e.g., SIB1-BR 432 and SI-BR messages 442 as further shown in FIG. 4. Thus, in an LTE system, MBB and eMTC UEs can utilize a common PSS/SSS and MIB, and the system information can subsequently branch off into MBB- and eMTC-specific signaling.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DEEPA BELUR/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2472