DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 1, claims 1-10 in the reply filed on May 20, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on May 20, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hunter, Jr. et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0191120) in view of Hirsch (US 4,142,088) and Den Hurk (US PG Pub 2008/0130701).
Regarding claim 1, Hunter, Jr. et al. disclose: a laser assembly (100) to project a laser beam towards a fusion target (116) (Fig. 1, [0076]); a vacuum transition region (112) positioned to receive the amplified laser beam; a containment vessel (114) to receive the fusion target; a vacuum tank (inherent) located around the vacuum transition region (112), wherein the vacuum tank receives an efflux of Helium gas from the vacuum transition region just before the laser beam propagates through the vacuum transition region (Fig. 17, [0090], [0133]); one or more pumps (pump channels 148 and compressor (142)) to restore the pressure in the vacuum transition region, after the laser beam passes through (Fig. 1, [0090]); Helium gas in the vacuum transition region ([0133]); wherein the one or more pumps pushes the Helium gas into the vacuum transition region ([0133]).
Hunter, Jr. et al. do not disclose: a gain region positioned to receive and amplify the incoming laser beam from the laser assembly; a laser shutter assembly located between the vacuum transition region and the containment vessel to quickly control an opening and closing of the laser shutter assembly to allow the laser beam to pass through; and a pump valve positioned adjacent to each of the one or more pumps to control the flow of Helium gas; after the laser shutter assembly closes to refill the vacuum transition region.
Hirsch discloses: a gain region positioned to receive and amplify the incoming laser beam from the laser assembly (see amplifier in Fig. 2) (col. 4, lines 58-66); improved laser-target irradiation means having an aperture and/or shutter, which when open allows laser light to be directed against a focusing reflector forming a target holder and a target held in the holder, whereby the shutter protects the laser from the reaction products produced by the interaction of the laser light with the target (col. 1, line 45 to col. 2, line 8). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hunter, Jr. by forming a gain region adjacent to the laser assembly and a laser shutter between the vacuum transition region and the containment vessel in order to increase the optical power of the laser output and to protect the laser from the reaction products produced by the interaction of the laser light with the target. The device as modified disclose: pushes the Helium gas into the vacuum transition region after the laser shutter assembly closes to refill the vacuum transition region.
Hunter, Jr. as modified do not disclose: pump valve positioned adjacent to each of the one or more pumps to control the flow of Helium gas.
Den Hurk discloses: In order to pump gas into the discharge chamber 2, valves 7 of the gas apparatus are appropriately opened or closed such that gas may flow from the gas storage chamber 5 through the pump 4 and into the discharge chamber 2 (Fig. 2, [0050]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device of Hunter, Jr. as modified by adding a pump valve adjacent to each pump in order to control the pumping of Helium to the vacuum transition region.
Fig. 1 of Hunter, Jr.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-10 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 2 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…wherein the laser shutter assembly is a dual-flap shutter.”
Claim 3 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…wherein the laser shutter assembly is a dual-slot shutter.”
Claim 4 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…further comprising slats in the vacuum transition region, wherein the slats can be controlled to open when the laser is propagating through.”
Claim 5 is allowable as the prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the claimed limitations including “…a lenslet array that covers the cross-sectional area of the laser assembly, wherein the lenslet array provides a uniform energy deposition to project toward the fusion target.”
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Hunter, Jr. et al. (US PG Pub 2018/0159290) disclose: embodiments include an optical configuration of a laser for driving an inertial confinement target that may include a section configured to generate long pulse laser light (Primary Laser Source) and then to compress the long pulse with multiple compression stages to a desired pulse length, energy, and beam quality (Compression Section). These configurations can utilize compression stages that do not include any material optics operating near damage fluence, and that do not require material optics exposed to high fluences to couple compression stages to each other (Abstract). Moses et al. (US PG Pub 2014/0286471) disclose: An architecture for a fusion power plant is disclosed. The plant includes a fusion chamber for producing neutrons from a fusion reaction, and a laser system in which lasers are arranged about a vacuum chamber to provide energy to the fusion chamber to initiate the fusion reaction. The beam paths between the lasers and the fusion chamber are configured to prevent neutrons from the fusion chamber from reaching the laser system at a level that would preclude human access to the laser system (Abstract).
/XINNING(Tom) NIU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2828