DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5 and 11-20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected inventions and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/13/26. Applicant did not state claim 5 was withdrawn, but the first doped layer and second undoped layer is drawn to unelected species C and therefore has been withdrawn (see spec P0038).
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the wavelength-stabilization device of claim 9 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 4 and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doerr et al (US 10,797,462 B1) and Mathai (US 12,646,903 B2).
Doerr teaches:
1. An electro-optical device (100, Figs. 1-3) comprising:
an optical amplifier (part of 100) comprising:
a first encapsulation layer (116 above 106a) defining a first bonding surface (top, 320), and
an erbium-doped waveguide (106), wherein the erbium-doped waveguide (106) disposed within the first encapsulation layer (116 above 106a);
wherein the electro-optical device (100) further comprises:
a photonic assembly (part of 100) comprising:
a substrate (114),
a second encapsulation layer (116 below 106a) defining a second bonding surface (bottom, 308), the second encapsulation layer (116 below 106a) disposed on the substrate (114),
one or more photodetectors (222), and
a waveguide (104),
wherein the one or more photodetectors (222) and the waveguide (104) are disposed within the second encapsulation layer (116 below 106a) (C7 L23-29), wherein one or more regions of the first bonding surface (burying oxide 320/above 106a) are bonded to the one or more regions of the second bonding surface (deposited oxide 308, below 106a),
wherein the erbium-doped waveguide (106) is optically coupled to the waveguide (104).
Doerr does not teach expressly the erbium doped waveguide being an erbium-doped Si3N4 waveguide or a modulator.
Doerr does teach “according to aspects of the present application, the three-waveguide-layer structure as disclosed in some embodiments may advantageously allow monolithic integration of one or more components selected from a group comprising: modulators…”(C6 L9-15), therefore at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to include a modulator in the photonic assembly with the motivation being to be able to allow the amplifier output to be changed as needed per a particular application.
Mathai teaches an integrated optical circuit with an erbium doped Si3N4 waveguide (40, Fig. 1) embedded in an encapsulation layer (30) (C5 L63 – C6 L29).
Doerr and Mathai are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor /, integrated erbium doped waveguide structures.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the erbium doped waveguide of Doerr to use an erbium doped Si3N4 waveguide as taught by Mathai.
The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce cost and complexity by using known waveguide materials.
Regarding claim 3: Doerr and Mathai do not state the amplifier is annealed at a temperature that is greater than about 800C. This claim recites how the device is made, it does to provide any more structure and "even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). All of the structure of claims 1 and 3 have been taught by Doerr and Mathai so a prima facie case has been established.
Doerr further teaches:
4. The electro-optical device of claim 1, wherein the first encapsulation layer (116) comprises SiO2 (C4 L32-43).
6. The electro-optical device of claim 1, wherein the waveguide is a Si3N4 waveguide (104) (Fig. 1), wherein the photonic assembly further comprises a silicon waveguide (102) (Fig. 1), wherein the erbium-doped Si3N4 waveguide (106) is optically coupled to the Si3N4 waveguide (104) and the Si3N4 waveguide (104) is optically coupled to the silicon waveguide (102) (Fig. 4).
7. The electro-optical device of claim 1, further comprising a laser (108), wherein at least a portion of the laser (108) is disposed in a cavity (see Fig. 1), the cavity defined in the first encapsulation layer (116 above 106a) and the second encapsulation layer (116 below 106a) (see Fig. 1), the laser (108) in optical communication with the waveguide (104), wherein the waveguide is a Si3N4 waveguide (Fig. 1).
8. The electro-optical device of claim 7, further comprising a wavelength division multiplexer (WDM) coupler (220) in optical communication with the Si3N4 waveguide (204), wherein the WDM coupler (220) is configured to combine light at about a first wavelength range and pump light at about a second wavelength range (C6 L63 – C7 L22).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doerr and Mathai as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Watts et al (US 10,775,559 B2).
Doerr and Mathai teach the electro-optical device previously discussed.
Doerr and Mathai does not teach expressly a removable substrate, wherein the first encapsulation layer is disposed on the removable substrate.
Watts teaches an integrated optical waveguide device (Figs. 3-14) wherein there is a removable substrate (108) that a first encapsulation layer (106) is disposed on to encapsulate a photonic SOI device (Figs. 3-6) (C5 L64 – C6 L5).
Doerr, Mathai and Watts are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, integrated optical waveguide devices.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Doerr and Mathai to include a removable substrate for depositing an encapsulation layer on a waveguide layer as taught by Watts.
The motivation for doing so would have been to be able to handle and deposit a thin oxide layer to the device with adequate support.
Claims 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Doerr and Mathai as applied to claims 1 and 7 above, and further in view of Nagarajan (US 2020/0301070 A1).
Doerr and Mathai teach the device previously discussed.
Doerr and Mathai does not teach expressly:
9. The electro-optical device of claim 7, wherein the photonic assembly further comprises a wavelength-stabilization device comprising a wavelength-selective partial reflector and an optical delay element.
10. The electro-optical device of claim 1, further comprising a photonic integrated circuit comprising a coherent transmitter, wherein the optical amplifier and the photonic assembly are integrated into the photonic integrated circuit, the photonic integrated circuit further comprising an element selected from the group consisting of: a plurality of silicon nested MZI modulators, a pump laser, a grating, a splitter, a WDM coupler, a tunable filter, a variable optical attenuator, and a polarization beam splitter and rotator.
Nagarajan teaches an electro-optical device (Figs. 1-6) comprising a wavelength-stabilization device comprising a wavelength-selective partial reflector (470) and an optical delay element (480) (P0074) and a PIC coherent transmitter (40) (P0074) and splitter (481-482).
Doerr, Mathai and Nagarajan are analogous art because they are from the same field of endeavor, electro-optical devices.
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Doerr and Mathai to include the wavelength-stabilization device, coherent transmitter and splitter as taught by Nagarajan.
The motivation for doing so would have been to allow the device to lock to certain channel wavelengths of a wide band (Nagarajan, P0074).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following references teach electro-optical devices with mixed waveguide structures with doped and undoped guides: US 11088503, US 11114815, US 11381053, US 11804499, US 2025/0125587.
/RYAN A LEPISTO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874