DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-4 and 20-28 were previously pending and subject to a non-final rejection dated December 12, 2025. In Response, submitted March 31, 2026, claims 1, 3, 23, 24, 26-28 were amended, and claims 29-32 were added. However, new matter was introduced in newly added claim 31, as detailed below. Therefore, claims 1-4 and 20-32 are currently pending and subject to the following final rejection.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks on Pages 9-10 of the Response regarding the previous rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(a), have been fully considered and are found to be persuasive in view of the amended claims.
Applicant’s remarks on Pages 10 of the Response regarding the previous rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), have been fully considered and are found to be persuasive in view of the amended claims.
Applicant’s remarks on Pages 10-17 of the Response, regarding the previous rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 101, have been fully considered and are not found persuasive.
On Pages 10-12 of the Response, Applicant argues “As an initial matter, the specification identifies a specific technical problem with conventional package room systems. … The process can be inefficient, especially if a courier has brought many packages to the room on a cart and must walk back and forth from the shelves to the kiosk to register all the packages. … Amended claim 1 solves this technical problem through a specific technical implementation. First, the claim recites a mobile device that allows the courier to scan package labels anywhere in the package room rather than at a fixed kiosk location, thereby eliminating the inefficient back-and-forth movement between the kiosk and shelves. Second, and critically, the claim recites ‘a plurality of optical sensors distributed throughout the area at known locations, each optical sensor having a field of view covering a portion of the area,’ and a processor configured ‘to review images captured by the plurality of optical sensors to determine which optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view as the person uses the mobile device to read the package label, to optically track the person as the person places the package at a location in the area, to detect the placement location of the package using computer-vision, and to validate the location data received from the mobile device by comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package, wherein the at least one processor registers the package at the placement location only if the comparison of the placement location with the tracked location of the person satisfies a criterion.’ This multi-sensor validation mechanism ensures accurate location registration by cross-validating the mobile device's location data against optical tracking data from the distributed camera array. Because the mobile device replaces the fixed kiosk, the system can no longer assume that scanning occurs at a known location; the validation mechanism addresses this by confirming that the mobile device's self-reported location data is consistent with the optically tracked location of the person placing the package.
Examiner notes, the processes requiring “a courier has brought many packages to the room on a cart and must walk back and forth from the shelves to the kiosk to register all the packages” is not an inherently technical problem, but rather an abstract issue as it deals with inefficiencies in the abstract ideas of gathering data and manually placing items on a shelf. Further merely substituting one tool (i.e. the kiosk) used to perform an abstract idea (i.e. gathering and providing data) for another tool (i.e., the mobile device) to perform the same abstract idea does not constitute an improvement in either technology, and only allows for alleged improvements in the abstract ideas of allowing abstract data gathering/provisioning anywhere in the package room and “eliminating the inefficient back-and-forth movement between the kiosk and shelves”. As noted in MPEP 2106.05(a)(II), an improvement to the abstract idea is not an improvement to technology.
Examiner additionally notes, as discussed further in the detailed rejection below, while not explicitly recited in claim 1, other independent claims recite “a plurality of optical sensors distributed throughout the area at known locations, each optical sensor having a field of view covering a portion of the area” which is disclosed generically at face value within the specification (see at least, Para. 18) and is used merely as a tool to perform abstract ideas such as gathering data for the invention. That is, when analyzed both individually and as a whole/ordered combination, this additional element amounts to merely “apply it”.
Examiner further notes, as discussed further in the detailed rejection below, review[ing] images captured by the plurality of optical sensors to determine which optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view as the person …read[s] the package label, to optically track the person as the person places the package at a location in the area, to detect the placement location of the package, and to validate the location data received by comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package, … register[ing] the package at the placement location only if the comparison of the placement location with the tracked location of the person satisfies a criterion” is a recitation of the abstract idea and unhelpful in bringing the claims to eligibility. The additional elements of the plurality of optical sensors (see above for explicit analysis of this element), the mobile device (i.e. “a smartphone or tablet-like device” [specification, para. 24]), the use of computer-vision (disclosed at face value [specification, paras. 22 and 30]), and the at least one processor (disclosed at face value [specification, para. 33]) are recited at high levels of generality such that they amount to merely “apply it” or generally linking whether they are analyzed individually or as a whole/ordered combination.
Examiner finally notes, the allegedly improved “validation mechanism ensur[ing] accurate location registration by cross-validating the mobile device's location data against optical tracking data from the distributed camera array” is accomplished through the abstract processes of analyzing and comparing data, and not through any technical improvements to the technologies themselves. As discussed above, the additional elements of the mobile device and the “distributed camera array” (claimed as a “plurality of optical sensors”) amount to mere tools used to perform the abstract processes of gathering and providing data to the invention.
On Page 12 of the Response, Applicant argues “Applicant respectfully submits that the amended claims now provide a specific technical problem (ensuring accurate location registration when using a mobile device instead of a fixed kiosk) and a specific technical solution (the multi-sensor validation mechanism using computer-vision). The Examiner also previously stated that ‘computer vision tracking’ was ‘not recited in the rejected claim(s),’”
Examiner acknowledges that computer-vision is now positively recited within the claim language.
Examiner notes, as discussed above and further below in the detailed rejection, the alleged improvement is found solely in the abstract “validation mechanisms” of the claimed invention (i.e., “review images captured by the plurality of optical sensors … to validate the location data received … by comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package” [claim 23]). The various additional elements represent by “multi-sensor” and the use of “computer-vision” amount to merely apply it or generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use. While these elements gather and provide data to the claimed invention, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more.
On Pages 13-14 of the Response, Applicant argues “Like Example 36's eligible claims, amended claim 1 recites: (1) a plurality of optical
sensors at known locations with fields of view covering the area (analogous to the camera array with overlapping views); (2) optical tracking of the person as they place the package; (3) computer-vision detection of the placement location; and (4) a validation step that validates the location data received from the mobile device by comparing the placement location with the tracked location of the person and registering only if the comparison satisfies a criterion. This combination provides a technical solution to a technical problem-ensuring accurate location registration through multi-sensor validation-not merely an improvement to the abstract idea of package tracking.
The Examiner at page 8, paragraph 13 has alleged that the claimed improvements are to the abstract idea rather than to technology. Applicant respectfully disagrees. The validation mechanism recited in amended claim 1-validating the location data received from the mobile device by comparing the placement location detected by computer-vision with the tracked location of the person and registering the package only if the comparison satisfies a criterion-is a technical improvement to computer vision systems for location verification. This is not merely ‘registering locations’ in the abstract; it is a specific technical process that uses multiple optical sensors at known locations to track a person's movement, detect package placement using computer-vision, and validate the mobile device's self-reported location data through a comparison criterion. The validation mechanism is specifically necessitated by the use of a mobile device instead of a fixed kiosk: with a fixed kiosk, the scanning location is known and need not be validated; with a mobile device, the system must validate the mobile device's self- reported location data against optical tracking to ensure accuracy. As stated in Example 36, such limitations "provide meaningful limitations to the practical application of inventory tracking with computer vision, by improving the system's ability to identify and track objects across multiple cameras in a three-dimensional space.’ Furthermore, the ordered combination of elements in amended claim 1-the distributed optical sensors, the mobile device for label scanning, the optical tracking of the courier, the computer-vision detection of placement, and the conditional registration based on a comparison criterion-represents a technical solution that is necessarily rooted in computer technology. This is not a case of merely using generic components to perform an abstract idea. Rather, the claim recites a specific hardware and software configuration that addresses the technical problem of accurately registering package locations when using a mobile scanning device instead of a fixed kiosk. The same amendments and arguments apply equally to currently amended independent claims 23 and 24, which recite the same validation mechanism.”
Examiner notes, in Example 36 it is important to note that “[i]n this hypothetical scenario, computer vision technology has not been used in the manner disclosed by this inventor prior to the filing of the application.” (Example 36, Background). Further, the background section provides specific issues with the hypothetical one-camera-only existing technology, and provides specific solutions as well as details as to specifically how the multi-camera system interacts with the data provided by the cameras in order to track objects through the fields of view of multiple cameras. Conversely, the instant application does not exist in the same hypothetical landscape where multi-camera computer vision does not exist, and rather than specifying in detail how this implementation of computer-vision is an improvement on previous versions, the specification generically discloses computer-vision at face value (“The package management system 100 uses computer vision and/or weight sensors to know a location of and track each package 106 placed on shelves 104 in the package room 102” [Specification, Para. 22]), and similarly discloses the way in which the system interacts with multiple images from multiple cameras in the same generic face value manner (“the images are merged into a pre-determined map or layout of the package room 102 and used like a panorama or merged into a mosaic. The camera images are synchronized to fit the map and operate as one camera with a panorama view” [specification, Para. 21]). These generic disclosures do not support any improvement to the technology of “computer-vision”, such as that found in Example 36, but rather simply serve to generally link the recited abstract idea to this field of use.
Examiner further notes, that the replacement of generic computing device, such as a kiosk, with another generic computing device, such as a mobile device, requiring an additional abstract process of “validat[ing] the … self-reported location data [of the mobile device] against optical tracking to ensure accuracy” does not constitute an improvement to any technology, nor does it constitute significantly more.
Examiner finally notes, as discussed in the detailed rejection below, the evaluation of the additional elements in an ordered combination yields the same results. The distributed optical sensors, the mobile device, scanning labels, and computer-vision amount to either merely “apply it” or serve to generally link the abstract ideas to a field of use, and in ordered combination they do so to carry out recited abstract ideas such as “the optical tracking of the courier, the … detection of placement, and the conditional registration based on a comparison criterion”. While these additional elements are recited alongside the abstract idea, they fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. The invention allegedly improves the abstract idea of “accurately registering package locations” but, as discussed above, replacing a generic tool (i.e. a kiosk) for performing an abstract idea with another generic tool (i.e. a mobile device) for performing the same abstract idea, does not make the abstract idea any more technical.
On Pages 14-15 of the Response, Applicant argues “Applicant respectfully submits that the newly added optical sensors and validation mechanism are not generic components performing generic functions. The plurality of optical sensors distributed at known locations with specific fields of view, combined with the processor configured to review images from those sensors, optically track a person, detect placement using computer-vision, and validate the mobile device's location data through a comparison criterion, constitutes a specific technical configuration-not a generic computer performing generic functions. The optical sensors are not merely storing or processing data; they are performing specific computer-vision operations (tracking a person, detecting placement) that are then used to validate location data through a comparison criterion. The Examiner has also alleged that OCR, barcode analysis, real-time image processing, location tracking sensors, positioning technology, scanning, and guidance hardware merely ‘generally link’ the abstract idea to a technological field under MPEP 2106.05(h). See Office Action, paragraph 60. Applicant respectfully submits that the newly added validation mechanism does not merely link the abstract idea to the field of computer vision-it imposes meaningful limits on how the abstract idea is practiced. Specifically, the claim requires that the processor review optical sensor images to determine which sensors see the person during label reading, optically track the person, detect placement using computer-vision, and validate the mobile device's location data by comparing the placement location with the tracked person location, registering only if a criterion is satisfied. These are not field-of-use limitations; they are specific technical steps that constrain how package registration is performed.”
Examiner notes, as discussed further in the detailed rejection below, the optical sensors are generically disclosed as cameras (specification, para. 18) which perform the abstract idea of gathering and providing data, in the form of images, within the invention which serves to only generally link the recited abstract idea to computer vision and, more broadly, camera technology. Further as discussed above, the “validation mechanism” is not in and of itself an additional element, but rather part of the abstract idea. As argued above, the “validation mechanism” consist of the abstract processes of “review[ing] images from those sensors, optically track a person, detect placement using computer-vision, and validat[ing] the … location data [of the mobile device] through a comparison criterion”. This merely the abstract idea of comparing data which is generally linked to field of computer vision technology through the high level recitations of the optical sensors and computer vision itself. The high level disclosure of these additional elements, as discussed at length above, fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. Similarly the processor is recited as a generic tool used to carry out the recited abstract idea.
Examiner also notes, the optical sensors are positively recited to very little as currently claimed. Within the context of the claimed invention the computing system receives images captured by the optical sensors, however it is then the generically disclosed computing system (disclosed only at face value as “a computer or computing system” [specification, para. 20]) which is used as a tool to perform the abstract ideas of “tracking a person, detecting placement … that are then used to validate location data through a comparison criterion”. Here the additional elements of the optical sensors, computing system, and computer-vision still fail to bring the claims to eligibility for the reason discussed at length above. While the steps these additional elements perform may arguably be “specific” they are not technical, but rather abstract, as “constrain[ing] how package registration is performed” in itself is abstract.
On Pages 15-16 of the Response, Applicant argues “the amended claims do not merely replace a kiosk with a mobile device-they recite a specific technical validation mechanism that is necessitated by the use of a mobile device. The improvement is not to ‘package placement efficiency’ in the abstract, but to the technical process of location verification: the system uses computer-vision to detect placement, optically tracks the person, and validates the mobile device's location data through a comparison criterion. This is a technical improvement to how the computer vision system verifies location data, not merely an improvement to the business process of package management.”
Examiner notes, as discussed above, the “validation mechanism” is not a technical aspect, but rather an abstract idea performed through use of additional elements that amount to merely “apply it” or generally linking. Additionally, the “necessitated” additional abstract processes caused by using one generic computer as a tool versus another generic computer as a tool does not make abstract validation aspects or any other abstract aspects of the claimed invention any more technical, or constitute an improvement to the technology in any way. As discussed at length above “location verification: … detect[ing] placement, optically track[ing] the person, and validat[ing] the … location data through a comparison criterion” are aspects of the abstract idea and not technical improvements. That is, these limitations demonstrate the abstract processes of “verif[ying] location data” the invention uses which are generally linked to the field of computer vision, but in no way improves the computer vision system’s technology itself.
On Pages 16-17 of the Response, Applicant argues “Even if the Examiner were to find that the abstract idea is not integrated into a practical application at Step 2A Prong Two, the newly added limitations provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. The specific combination of distributed optical sensors at known locations with a processor configured to review images, track a person, detect placement using computer-vision, and validate mobile device location data through a comparison criterion is not well-understood, routine, or conventional activity. As demonstrated by USPTO Example 36, the use of a camera array with computer vision to track objects and determine their physical position was found to provide significantly more than the abstract idea of inventory management. Similarly, the validation mechanism in amended claims 1, 23, and 24-which cross-validates mobile device location data against optically tracked person location data and conditionally registers based on a criterion provides significantly more than the abstract idea of package management. The dependent claims recite additional technical features that further support eligibility. For example, claims 20-22 recite additional details about the optical sensors and their role in confirming package placement, and claims 26-28 specify particular positioning technologies (SLAM, VSLAM). However, for at least the reasons discussed above with respect to the independent claims, all pending claims are eligible under § 101. Based on the foregoing, Applicant requests reconsideration and removal of the rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101, and further contends that the pending claims are in condition for allowance.
Examiner notes, “well understood, routine, and conventional” is one of several tests provided for determining whether a claim amounts to significantly more, and was not utilized in either the detailed rejection below or the cite previous office action. As discussed further in the detailed rejection below, the additional elements fail to amount to significantly more because whether they are analyzed individually or as a whole/ordered combination, they amount to “apply it” or generally linking the abstract idea to a field of use, and therefore fail to amount to significantly more. Therefore, arguments regarding the well-understood, routine, and conventional test are moot.
Examiner further notes, that the in depth discussion provided above regarding the arguments involving Example 36, the abstract nature of the “validation mechanism”, and the various additional elements apply here as well, and fail to change the analysis that the claims do not amount significantly more at Step 2B for the reasons discussed above.
Examiner additionally notes, that the additional elements introduced in claim 20 fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. The “plurality of optical sensors distributed throughout the area” has been discussed at length above, and the “real-time video” is disclosed only at face value in Specification, Para. 16, and therefore amounts to generally linking the abstract idea to the field of live video technology. Claims 21-22 further narrow the recited abstract idea, however do not introduce any new additional elements.
Examiner finally notes, that the SLAM and VSLAM are disclosed at high levels of generality, providing “typical” applications for these systems such that they serve to generally link the abstract idea to positioning technology, but fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application or amount to significantly more. Therefore the claims remain ineligible over 101.
Applicant’s remarks on Pages 17-21 of the Response, regarding the previous rejection of the claims under 35 U.S.C. 103, have been fully considered but are not found persuasive in part in light of the amended claims.
On Page 18 of the Response, Applicant argues “Hill does not teach the processor being configured to (1) review images to determine which optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view as the person uses the mobile device to read the package label, (2) optically track the person as the person places the package, (3) validate the location data received from the mobile device by comparing the placement location with a tracked location of the person, and (4) register the package only if the comparison satisfies a criterion.”
Examiner notes, amended claim 1 does not recite the limitations at issue and quoted on pages 17-18 of the Response.
Examiner further notes, with regards to the amended claims, limitations 1 and 3 (as numbered in the argument) are moot. However, as discussed further in the detailed rejection below, Hill does teach “(2) optically track the person as the person places the package”. Hill discloses “the system 100 can alternatively provide continuous, real time tracking, albeit with more complicated image processing. In such a system, for example, a person (loader, driver, etc.) may be identified and the system may detect objects located in the vicinity of the hands of the person to determine if the object matches the package expected to be loaded.” (Col. 13, Ln. 17-27) Hill also discloses “the system 100 can compare the known map of the vehicle cargo space before the loader enters with a package with the new map of the vehicle cargo space after the loader places a package in the cargo area to determine the location of the package. Thus, even if the loader's body temporarily occludes optical tracking as the package is placed inside the cargo area, the package can be located, identified, and matched” (Col. 12, Ln. 19-32). These instances demonstrate that Hill teaches “optically track the person as the person places the package”. Further Hill discloses “(4) register the package only if the comparison satisfies a criterion”. Hill discloses “the system 100 requires a deliverable (i.e., a particular outcome) after a package is scanned. For example, if no package is detected that matches the scanned package, the system 100 may disallow further packages from being scanned, the system 100 may mark the package as scanned but unidentified, issue a warning to the loader, notify a central server of an unidentified package, or any combination thereof.” (Col. 11, Ln. 48-59). Hill also discloses “the system 100 performs the process 500 to track packages continuously after they have been scanned, loaded, and ‘matched’. The process 500 enables tracking of matched packages within an area of coverage after a package has been identified (‘marked’). Specifically, after a package is loaded and marked in one place” (Col. 12, Ln. 33-42). That is, Hill requires “a deliverable (i.e., a particular outcome) after a package is scanned” the deliverable requires the comparison of expected data (i.e. satisfies a criterion) in order to properly match the package to the location (i.e. register the package only if the comparison satisfies a criterion).
Examiner finally notes, the remainder of the arguments regarding 103 are moot in light of the amended claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 31 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 31 recites “wherein the one or more location sensors include at least one of image and inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensors, depth sensors, Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM), global positioning system (GPS), ultra-wideband (UWB), or radio frequency (RF) sensors.”
Examiner initially notes that while there is no haec verba requirement, newly added claim limitations must be supported in the specification through express, implicitly, or inherent disclosure (MPEP 2183). Further, when an explicit limitation in a claim "is not present in the written description whose benefit is sought it must be shown that a person of ordinary skilled would have understood, at the time the patent application was filed, that the description requires the limitation," Hyatt v. Boone, 146 F.3d 1348,1353, 47 USPQ2d 1128, 1131 (Fed. Cir. 1998), MPEP 2163.
Examiner notes that Paragraph [0022] of Applicant’s Specification states that “The package management system 100 uses computer vision and/or weight sensors to know a location of and track each package 106 placed on shelves 104 in the package room 102.”, and Paragraph [0072] states “the environment is the holding area (aka package room) 102, which may or may not have secured access or cameras 108 for real-time object (e.g., package) tracking. For localizing itself within the holding area, the data acquisition device 110 can utilize Light-Detection and Ranging (LIDAR), which determines range by targeting an object or a surface with light and measuring the time for the reflected light to return to the receiver, and/or have an Inertial Measurement Unit (IMU), which includes sensors for measuring orientation and heading, examples of which include gyroscopes, accelerometers, and magnetometers. Visual SLAM (or VSLAM) algorithms, for example, use RGB cameras on smartphones to create a 3D representation of the environment. In a typical VSLAM system, an algorithm tracks points of interest in successive images captured by the camera of the mobile device. From these images, the positions of these points are attained by triangulation.”
That is, numerous sensors are described in the determination of location within the specification, however there is no description or support is found that these sensors are GPS sensors or ultra-wideband (UWB) sensors.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-4 and 20-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Step 1
Claims 1-4, 20-22, 25 and 26 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine); claims 23 and 27 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine); claims 24 and 28 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine) ; claims 29-31 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine); and claim 32 is directed to a system (i.e., a machine). Therefore, claims 1-4 and 20-32 all fall within the one of the four statutory categories of invention.
Step 2A, Prong One
Independent claim 1 substantially recites processing package label data associated with a package received to identify the package being placed in a specific sub-area location on a surface, the specific sub-area location being one of a plurality of sub-areas of the surface, to extract package information from the package label associated with the package, to associate the package information with the specific sub-area location on the surface using data, to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data received, and generate and transmit a retrieval notification to a recipient of the package; and
determining device state information:
detecting a label scanning event corresponding to physical interaction with a package;
acquiring package identity information during the scanning event;
capturing device state information comprising at least a location of the mobile device contemporaneously with the scanning event; and
transmitting the acquired package identity information and the captured device state information as an associated data record; and
registering a placement location of the package based on the captured device state information;
corresponding to the scanning event; and
storing an association between the package identity and the registered placement location for retrieval of the package.
Independent claims 23 substantially recites processing package label data associated with a package received to identify the package being placed in a specific sub-area location as a placement location on a surface, the specific sub-area location being one of a plurality of sub-areas of the surface, to extract package information from the package label associated with the package to associate the package information with the specific sub-area location on the surface using data, to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data received, and generate and transmit a retrieval notification to a recipient of the package,
reviewing images captured by the plurality of optical sensors to determine which optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view as the person reads the package label, to optically track the person as the person places the package at a location in the area, detecting the placement location of the package, and to validate the location data received by comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package, registering the package at the placement location only if the comparison of the placement location with the tracked location of the person satisfies a criterion; and
determining a current location within the area, capturing and transmitting both the package label data and the location data, registering the package at the determined location enabling to direct users to the specific sub-area during package retrieval.
Independent claim 24 substantially recites processing package label data associated with a package received to identify the package being placed in a specific sub-area location on a surface, the specific sub-area location being one of a plurality of sub-areas of the surface, to extract package information from the package label associated with the package to associate the package information with the specific sub-area location on the surface using data, to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data received, and generating and transmitting a retrieval notification to a recipient of the package,
reviewing images captured by the plurality of optical sensors to determine which have a person and the package in their field of view as the person reads the package label, to optically track the person as the person places the package at a location in the area, to detect the placement location of the package, and to validate the location data received by comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package, registering the package at the placement location only if the comparison of the placement location with the tracked location of the person satisfies a criterion; and
determining a current location within the area, and acquiring the package label data, determining the current location at the time of scanning, capturing and transmitting both the package label data and the location data, registering the package at the determined location to enable directing users to the specific sub- area location during package retrieval.
Independent claim 29 substantially recites detecting a package label scanning event for a package placed on a surface in an area;
acquiring package identity information from the package label during the scanning event;
determining, contemporaneously with the scanning event, location data indicating a sub-area of the surface at which the package is placed; and
transmitting the package identity information and the location data; and
receiving the package identity information and the location data;
registering the package as placed in the sub-area indicated by the location data; and
storing an association between the package identity information and the registered sub-area for use in retrieving the package.
Independent claim 32 substantially recites detecting a package label scanning event for a package placed on a surface in an area;
acquiring package identity information from the package label during the scanning event; and
transmitting the package identity information and data indicative of the scanning event; and
tracking within the area:
determining, contemporaneously with the scanning event, location data indicating a sub-area of the surface at which the package is placed based on tracking;
registering the package as placed in the sub-area indicated by the location data; and
storing an association between the package identity information and the registered sub-area for use in retrieving the package.
The limitations stated above are processes/functions that under broadest reasonable interpretation covers “certain methods of organizing human activity” (commercial interactions) of registering item locations and data for providing guidance for users (see specification, Para. 1). Therefore, the claim recites an abstract idea.
Step 2A, Prong Two
The judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application. Claim 1 as a whole amounts to: (i) merely invoking generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea or “apply it” (or an equivalent), and (ii) generally links the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use. The claim recites the additional elements of: (i) a computing system (claims 1, 23, 24, 29, 32), (ii) at least one processor (claims 1, 23, 24, 29, 32), (iii) a mobile device physically movable within the area/the mobile device disposed within the area and physically separate from the computing system/a mobile device (claims 1, 23, 24, 29, 32), (iv) a wireless communications transceiver (claims 1, 23, 24, 29, 32), (vi) a mobile device processor/a processor (claims 1, 23, 24, 29, 32), (vii) optical character recognition (OCR) analysis (claims 1, 23), (viii) barcode analysis (claim 1), (ix) real-time image processing (claims 1, 23, 24), (x) a networked communication system (claims 1, 23, 24), (xi) wireless communication (claims 1, 23, 24), (xiii) an RFID reader (claim 24), (xiii) location tracking sensors (claims 1, 23, 24), (xiv) a positioning technology/one or more location sensors (claims 1, 23, 24, 29), (xv) a plurality of optical sensors distributed throughout the area at known locations, each optical sensor having a field of view covering a portion of the area (claim 23, 24), (xvi) a guidance hardware (claim 23, 24), (xvii) sensor data (claims 1, 23, 24), (xviii) computer vision (claims 23, 24), (xix) scanning the package label (claim 24), (xx) scanning sensors (claim 29, 32), (xxi) memory (claims 29, 32), and (xxii) one or more external sensors (claim 32).
The additional elements of (i) a computing system, (ii) at least one processor, (iii) a mobile device physically movable within the area/the mobile device disposed within the area and physically separate from the computing system/a mobile device, (iv) a wireless communications transceiver, (vi) a mobile device processor/a processor, and (xxi) memory are recited at a high level of generality (see [0020] of the Applicants PG Publication discussing the computer system, the at least one processor and memory, [0024] discussing the mobile device physically movable within the area/the mobile device disposed within the area and physically separate from the computing system/a mobile device, [0007] discussing the wireless communications transceiver and [0033] discussing the mobile device processor/the processor) such that, when viewed as whole/ordered combination, it amounts to no more than mere instruction to apply the judicial exception using generic computer components or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
The additional elements of (vii) optical character recognition (OCR), (viii) barcode analysis, (ix) real-time image processing, (x) a networked communication system, (xi) wireless communication, (xii) an RFID reader, (xiii) location tracking sensors, (xiv) a positioning technology/one or more location sensors, (xv) a plurality of optical sensors distributed throughout the area at known locations, each optical sensor having a field of view covering a portion of the area, (xvi) a guidance hardware, (xvii) sensor data, (xviii) computer vision, (xix) scanning the package label, and (xxii) one or more external sensors are recited at a high level of generality (See [0026] of the Applicant’s PG Publication discussing the optical character recognition (OCR) analysis and barcode analysis, [0021] discussing the real-time image processing, [0020] discussing the networked communication system, the wireless communication, one or more external sensors, [0018] discussing the plurality of optical sensors distributed throughout the area at known locations, each optical sensor having a field of view covering a portion of the area, [0024] discussing the scanning the package label, and RFID reader, [0034] discussing the location tracking sensors, the positioning technology/one or more location sensors, and scanning sensors [0037] discussing the guidance hardware, [0030/0034] discussing the sensor data, [0022] discussing the computer vision) such that when viewed as whole/ordered combination, do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e. package identifying technology, network systems, location tracking, computer vision) (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, these additional elements, when viewed as a whole/ordered combination [See Figures 1 and 5 showing all the additional elements (i) a computing system, (ii) at least one processor, (iii) a mobile device physically movable within the area/the mobile device disposed within the area and physically separate from the computing system/a mobile device, (iv) a wireless communications transceiver, (vi) a mobile device processor/a processor, (vii) optical character recognition (OCR) analysis, (viii) barcode analysis, (ix) real-time image processing, (x) a networked communication system, (xi) wireless communication, (xiii) an RFID reader, (xiii) location tracking sensors, (xiv) a positioning technology, (xv) a plurality of optical sensors distributed throughout the area at known locations, each optical sensor having a field of view covering a portion of the area, (xvi) a guidance hardware, (xvii) sensor data, (xviii) computer vision, (xix) scanning the package label, (xx) scanning sensors, (xxi) memory, and (xxii) one or more external sensors in combination], do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, claims 1, 23, 24, 29, and 32 are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements amount to no more than: (i) “apply it” (or an equivalent), and (ii) generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, and are not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) merely invoking the generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)); and (ii) generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claims adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, the claims 1, 23, 24, 29, 32 are ineligible.
Dependent Claim 25 merely narrows the previously recited abstract idea limitations. For reasons described above with respect to claim 24 these judicial exceptions are not meaningfully integrated into a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, claim 25 are also ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Dependent Claim 2 further narrows the previously recited abstract idea limitations. Claim 2 also recites the additional element of a radiofrequency (RF) transceiver, which is recited at a high-level of generality (See [0033] of the Applicants PG Publication disclosing the radiofrequency (RF) transceiver) such that when viewed as whole/ordered combination, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (wireless communication technology) (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, when viewed individually and as a whole/ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element amounts to no more than: generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, and is not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional element of a radiofrequency (RF) transceiver does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, claim 2 is ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Dependent Claim 3 further narrows the previously recited abstract idea limitations. Claim 3 also recites the additional elements of (i) a camera to capture an image, and (ii) a display screen.
The additional element of (i) a camera to capture an image are recited at a high level of generality (See [0023 and 0033] of the Applicant’s PG Publication discussing the camera to capture an image) such that when viewed as whole/ordered combination, do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., imaging) (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
The additional elements of (ii) a display screen are recited at a high level of generality (see [0033] of the Applicants PG Publication discussing the display screen) such that, when viewed as whole/ordered combination, it amounts to no more than mere instruction to apply the judicial exception using generic computer components or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, when viewed individually and as a whole/ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements amount to no more than: (i) “apply it” (or an equivalent), and (ii) generally link the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, and are not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) merely invoking the generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)); and (ii) generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional elements of (i) a camera to capture an image, and (ii) a display screen do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, claim 3 is ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Dependent Claim 4 further narrows the previously recited abstract idea limitations. Claim 4 also recites the additional elements of a real-time image stream, and one or more augmented reality graphics which is recited at a high-level of generality (See [0032] of the Applicants PG Publication disclosing the real-time image stream, and [0033] disclosing the one or more augmented reality graphics) such that when viewed as whole/ordered combination, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., livestreaming and augmented reality) (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, when viewed individually and as a whole/ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element amounts to no more than: generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, and is not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional element of a radiofrequency (RF) transceiver does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, claim 4 is ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Dependent Claim 20 further narrows the previously recited abstract idea limitations. Claim 20 also recites the additional elements of a plurality of optical sensors and a real-time video which is recited at a high-level of generality (See [0018] of the Applicants PG Publication disclosing the plurality of optical sensors, and [0016] discussing the real-time video) such that when viewed as whole/ordered combination, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., cameras and live video) (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, when viewed individually and as a whole/ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element amounts to no more than: generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, and is not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional element of the plurality of optical sensors and a real-time video does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, claim 20 is ineligible.
Dependent Claims 21 and 22 merely narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations. For reasons described above with respect to claim 20 these judicial exceptions are not meaningfully integrated into a practical application or significantly more than the abstract idea. Thus, claims 21 and 22 are also ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Dependent Claim 26-28 further narrow the previously recited abstract idea limitations. Claims 26-28 also recite the additional elements of simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM), visual SLAM (VSLAM), or location code scanning which are recited at a high-level of generality (See [0034] of the Applicants PG Publication disclosing the angle of arrival (AoA), simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM), visual SLAM (VSLAM), or location code scanning, and [0034 & 0037] discussing the location scanning) such that when viewed as whole/ordered combination, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., positioning technology) (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, when viewed individually and as a whole/ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element amounts to no more than: generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, and is not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional elements of simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM), visual SLAM (VSLAM), or location code scanning does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, claims 26-28 are ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Dependent Claim 30 further narrows the previously recited abstract idea limitations. Claim 30 also recites the additional elements of (i) a camera and (ii) a barcode scanner which are recited at a high level of generality (see [0024] of the Applicants PG Publication discussing the camera and the barcode scanner) such that, when viewed as whole/ordered combination, it amounts to no more than mere instruction to apply the judicial exception using generic computer components or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, when viewed individually and as a whole/ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional elements amount to no more than: (i) “apply it” (or an equivalent), and are not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) merely invoking the generic components as a tool to perform the abstract idea or “apply it” (See MPEP 2106.05(f)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional elements of (i) a camera and (ii) a barcode scanner do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, claim 30 is ineligible.
Step 2A, Prong Two
Dependent Claim 31 further narrows the previously recited abstract idea limitations. Claim 31 also recites the additional elements of image and inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensors, depth sensors, Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM), global positioning system (GPS), ultra-wideband (UWB), and radio frequency (RF) sensors which are recited at a high-level of generality (See [0018] of the Applicants PG Publication disclosing the image sensors, [0034] disclosing the inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensors, [0019] discussing the depth sensor, the global positioning system (GPS), and ultra-wideband (UWB), and [0033] disclosing the radio frequency (RF) sensors) such that when viewed as whole/ordered combination, the additional elements do no more than generally link the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (i.e., positioning technology) (See MPEP 2106.05(h)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, when viewed individually and as a whole/ordered combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application because they do not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea. Thus, the claims are directed to an abstract idea.
Step 2B
As discussed above with respect to Step 2A Prong Two, the additional element amounts to no more than: generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use, and is not a practical application of the abstract idea. The same analysis applies here in Step 2B, i.e., (i) generally linking the use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use (See MPEP 2106.05(h)), does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B.
Therefore, the additional elements of image and inertial measurement unit (IMU) sensors, depth sensors, Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM), global positioning system (GPS), ultra-wideband (UWB), and radio frequency (RF) sensors does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application at Step 2A or provide an inventive concept at Step 2B. Thus, even when viewed as a whole/ordered combination, nothing in the claim adds significantly more (i.e., an inventive concept) to the abstract idea. Thus, claim 31 is ineligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 20-22, 25, 29, 30, and 32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill (US 10853757) (hereafter Hill) in view of Corazzari (US 20220261815) (hereafter Corazzari).
In regards to claim 1, Hill discloses a package management system comprising: a computing system including at least one processor configured to process package label data associated with a package received from a mobile device to identify the package being placed in a specific sub-area location on a surface, the specific sub-area location being one of a plurality of sub-areas of the surface, to extract package information from the package label associated with the package using optical character recognition (OCR) or barcode analysis, to associate the package information with the specific sub-area location on the surface using real-time image processing and sensor data, to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data, and generate and transmit a retrieval notification to a recipient of the package via a networked communication system; and (Col. 2, Ln. 16-46; Col. 5, Ln. 6-14; Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 22, Ln. 6; Col. 23, Ln. 50-61) (“a package tracking system comprises … a computing system including a processor… The processor executes the executable code (i.e. at least one processor configured to process package label data associated with a package to identify the package being placed on a surface) to detect a presence and location of a given package held in the package room based on the one or more images captured by the one or more optical sensing devices and on package identification information relating to the given package … The one or more images captured by the one or more optical sensing devices include a continuous video from when a person enters package identification information associated with the given package into the computing system to when the computing system registers the given package in the package room (i.e. at least one processor configured to register a location of where the identified package is placed on the surface).” “the tracking area 112 includes a plurality of shelves 114-1, 114-n (generally, shelf or shelves 114) (i.e. he package being placed in a specific sub-area location on a surface, the specific sub-area location being one of a plurality of sub-areas of the surface), and on the shelves 114 are packages and/or assets 116-1, 116-n (generally, package 116).” “in each instance the person brings the package to a data acquisition site, where the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package, taking a picture of the shipping label and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information (i.e. to extract package information from the package label associated with the package using optical character recognition (OCR) or barcode analysis) … This data acquisition site can be in the vicinity of or in the package room. Afterwards, the person places the package on a surface (e.g., shelf) in the package room, where the package tracking system detects placement of the package, and confirms (i.e., registers) ( whether the detected package corresponds to the package from which package identification information was last obtained (i.e. to associate the package information with a specific location on the surface using real-time image processing and sensor data, to register the placement location of the package based on a combination of tracking to confirm actual placement).” “when a package is received in the room, an electronic text message, email, or similar notification can be sent to the package recipient (i.e. generate and transmit a retrieval notification to a recipient of the package via a networked communication system) indicating that their package is in the package room.”)
Hill discloses the mobile device physically movable within the area and in wireless communication with the computing system, the mobile device having a wireless communications transceiver, sensors configured to determine device state information using a mobile device processor, wherein the mobile device processor is further configured to: detect a label scanning event corresponding to physical interaction with a package; (Col. 5, Ln. 26-35; Col. 7, Ln. 56-60; Col. 8, Ln. 12-33) (“the scanner (i.e. the mobile device) 124 may be optical, magnetic, or electromagnetic means, depending on the type of barcode on the package. The scanner 124 may be a conventional barcode scanner or a smart phone or tablet-like device (i.e. the mobile device physically movable within the area and in wireless communication with the computing system, ). The form factor of the scanner 124 is not limiting.” “The scanners 124 are in communication with the central server 204, either continuously or through data dumps, to transfer package identification information when a barcode on a package is scanned and the location (i.e. detect a label scanning event corresponding to physical interaction with a package).” “a scanner 124-1 to scan (step 302) a barcode associated with the package 116-1. The scanner 124 transmits (step 304) the barcode (package identification) information to the image processing CPU 122 of the delivery vehicle 202-1 or to the central server 204, which can then transmit the data to the CPU 122. Transmission of this information may be by Bluetooth, WIFI or other communication protocols, wired or wireless (i.e. the mobile device having a wireless communications transceiver).”)
Hill discloses acquire package identity information during the scanning event; (Col. 8, Ln. 12-33; Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 22, Ln. 6) (“The scanner 124 transmits (step 304) the barcode (package identification) information” “scanning a bar code on the package, taking a picture of the shipping label and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information, or manually entering the recipient's information”)
Hill discloses capture device state information comprising at least a location of the mobile device contemporaneously with the scanning event; and (Col. 7, Ln. 56-60) (“The scanners 124 are in communication with the central server 204, either continuously or through data dumps, to transfer package identification information when a barcode on a package is scanned and the location”)
Hill discloses transmit the acquired package identity information to the computing system as an associated data record; and (Col. 8, Ln. 12-33) (“uses a scanner 124-1 to scan (step 302) a barcode associated with the package 116-1. The scanner 124 transmits (step 304) the barcode (package identification) information to … the central server 204” “the person initially brings the package to a data acquisition site… When the person scans the package to acquire the package identification information … the package tracking system generates a record associated with the package”)
Hill discloses wherein the computing system is configured to: register a placement location of the package (Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 22, Ln. 6; Col. 22, Ln. 44-Col. 23, Ln. 7) (“Couriers and store personnel, for example, interact with a package tracking system when bringing (i.e., ‘dropping off’) packages to a package room … the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package … the person places the package on a surface (e.g., shelf) in the package room, where the package tracking system detects placement of the package, and confirms (i.e., registers) whether the detected package corresponds to the package from which package identification information was last obtained (i.e. register a placement location of the package).” “When the person then carries the package into the package room… captures the video of the person putting the package on a shelf. After the processor detects this package and determines it to be the one just scanned, the processor also associates this interior video with the package by making it part of the record.”)
Hill discloses corresponding to the scanning event; and store an association between the package identity and the registered placement location for retrieval of the package. (Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 22, Ln. 6; Col. 23, Ln. 8-33) (“a courier is bringing a package to a drop-off location, or a store clerk is carrying a customer-bought item to a designated holding area within a business enterprise, in each instance the person brings the package to a data acquisition site, where the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package (i.e. corresponding to the scanning event) … Afterwards, the person places the package on a surface (e.g., shelf) in the package room, where the package tracking system detects placement of the package, and confirms (i.e., registers) whether the detected package corresponds to the package from which package identification information was last obtained (i.e. store an association between the package identity and the registered placement location for retrieval of the package).” “procedural improvements based on collected data include improvements to package placement or placement sequence, improvements to retrieval procedures and protocols, and improvements to navigation to packages”)
As discussed above, Hill discloses to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data. Hill does not explicitly disclose, however Corazzari, in the same field of endeavor, discloses to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data of Hill is received from the mobile device (Para. 18-20) (“The server may be further configured to receive a package identity and a package location together with the measurements (i.e. to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data), wherein the plurality of devices may be configured to determine the package identity and the package location (i.e. to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data of Hill is received from the mobile device). … The plurality of devices may further be configured to scan a package associated to the package identity, determine a device location while scanning the package, and set the package location to the device location (i.e. to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data of Hill is received from the mobile device).”)
As discussed above, Hill discloses transmit the acquired package identity information to the computing system as an associated data record. Hill does not explicitly disclose, however Corazzari, in the same field of endeavor, discloses transmit the acquired package identity information of Hill and the captured device state information to the computing system as an associated data record of Hill; (Para. 12, 18, 31, 37) (“The step of determining the package location may comprise scanning a package associated to the package identity by using the device, determining a device location for the device during the step of scanning the package, and setting the package location to the device location.” “device 204a, 204b, 204c, such as a mobile phone or tablet, communicatively connected to a server (i.e. the computing system of Hill) 206.” “The server may be further configured to receive a package identity and a package location together with the measurements, wherein the plurality of devices may be configured to determine the package identity and the package location (i.e. transmit the acquired package identity information of Hill and the captured device state information to the computing system as an associated data record of Hill).” “the devices 204a, 204b, 204c may GPS-enabled or in any other way provided with means for determining their positions (i.e. the captured device state information of Hill). … the devices are used for scanning the packages to determine the package identities. In this way also the package location 222a, 222b, 222c may be transmitted together with the measurements.”)
As discussed above, Hill discloses register a placement location of the package. Hill does not explicitly disclose, however Corazzari, in the same field of endeavor, discloses register a placement location of the package of Hill is based on the captured device state information; (Para. 18) (“The server may be further configured to receive a package identity and a package location (i.e. register a placement location of the package of Hill) …, wherein the plurality of devices may be configured to determine the package identity and the package location (i.e. based on the captured device state information).
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking of Hill with the package scanning of Corazzari in order to improve the system data reliability. (Corazzari – Para. 35)
In regards to claim 2, Hill in view of Corazzari discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hill discloses wherein the wireless communications transceiver has a radiofrequency (RF) transceiver, and where the scanning of the package label is performed either manually or automatically by the RF transceiver. (Col. 4, Ln. 31-54; Col. 5, Ln. 15-35; Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 22, Ln. 6) (“A package barcode is scanned in conjunction with it being moved into the holding area. As used herein, a barcode is any readable or scannable medium, examples of which include, but are not limited to, an electronic, magnetic, optical, electromagnetic, infrared, or semiconductor media, or any suitable combination thereof.” “The barcode on the package is initially scanned into the system 100 with a scanner 124 (i.e. where the scanning of the package label is performed either manually or automatically by the RF transceiver.). … the scanner 124 may be optical, magnetic, or electromagnetic (i.e. the wireless communications transceiver has a radiofrequency (RF) transceiver) means, depending on the type of barcode on the package.” “where the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package (i.e. where the scanning of the package label is performed either manually or automatically by the RF transceiver.)”)
In regards to claim 3, Hill in view of Corazzari discloses the limitations of claim 1. Hill discloses wherein the mobile device comprises: a camera; a display screen; (Col. 5, Ln. 26-35; Col. 18, Ln. 4-22; Col. 19, Ln. 39-47; Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 22, Ln. 6) (“the scanner 124 may be optical (i.e. the mobile device comprises a camera), magnetic, or electromagnetic means, depending on the type of barcode on the package. The scanner 124 may be … a smart phone or tablet-like device (i.e. the mobile device).” “tablet is tracked so that the viewpoint from the tablet's camera (i.e. the mobile device comprises a camera) associated with the tablet location and orientation is streamed to the tablet, with digital images overlaid onto the tablet's camera view,” “a view screen (i.e. display screen) (often in the form of a handheld tablet, smartphone, or scanner (i.e. the mobile device)) that displays a stream” “the person brings the package to a data acquisition site, where the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package, taking a picture of the shipping label (i.e. the mobile device comprises a camera) and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information”)
Hill discloses the mobile device processor configured, when a package is being placed on a surface in a holding area, to use the camera to capture an image of a package label associated with the package, and to use the wireless communications transceiver to transmit the image or image data of the package label to a computing system for image processing, (Col. 7, Ln. 11-55; Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 22, Ln. 6) (“the image processing is performed by the CPU 122. Alternatively, if bandwidth is not a significant concern, the image data can be transferred to a central server (FIG. 2) and image processing may be performed by the central server. … scanners 124 are in communication with a central server (or servers) 204 over communication connections 206. The server 204 (or servers) can be cloud based, meaning that a provider of the server 204 makes applications, services, and resources available on demand to users over a network (e.g., the Internet). The communication connections 206 may be established using any type of communication system including, but not limited to, a cellular network, private network, local network, wired network, wireless network, or any combination thereof.” “the person brings the package to a data acquisition site, where the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package, taking a picture of the shipping label and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information”)
Hill discloses the mobile device processor being further configured, when the recipient comes to the holding area to retrieve the package, to guide the recipient to the location of the package. (Col. 5, Ln. 1-5; Col. 9, Ln. 43-64; Col 23, Ln. 50-61) (“A package tracking system can also employ one or more guidance mechanisms (e.g., audible, visual) to guide placement of a package into a holding area or to bring attention to the present location of a package (e.g., for purposes of removal).” “a handheld … view screen to show the live view of the package overlaid with augmented reality markings identifying the package. … a view screen (often in the form of a handheld tablet, smartphone, or scanner) that displays a stream” “Cameras and imaging can also be utilized to provide better user interface options and features. … help direct the recipient to the package through such visualization”)
In regards to claim 4, Hill in view of Corazzari discloses the limitations of claim 3. Hill discloses wherein the mobile device processor is further configured to cause the camera to capture a real- time image stream of the holding area, to display the image stream on the display screen, to overlay the live-stream image of the package room with one or more augmented reality graphics that show the location within the area of the package being retrieved and provides guidance to the location. (Col. 5, Ln. 1-5; Col. 18, Ln. 4-22) (“A package tracking system can also employ one or more guidance mechanisms (e.g., audible, visual) to guide placement of a package into a holding area or to bring attention to the present location of a package (e.g., for purposes of removal).” “the position of the driver's tablet is tracked so that the viewpoint from the tablet's camera associated with the tablet location and orientation is streamed to the tablet (i.e. the mobile device is further configured to cause the camera to capture a real-time image stream of the holding area), with digital images overlaid onto the tablet's camera view, and is used for navigation or package identification. In this example, as the tablet camera views a stack of packages, the accurate tracking of the physical position and orientation of the tablet allows the system to overlay a digital image, for example, a flashing red light, on top of the package that is seen by the tablet camera (i.e. to overlay the live-stream image of the package room with one or more augmented reality graphics that show the location within the area of the package being retrieved and provides guidance to the location). In this case, digital images are shown on the tablet camera view, not projected onto the actual package by an external light source.”)
In regards to claim 20, Hill in view of Corazzari discloses the limitations of claim 3. Hill discloses further comprising a plurality of optical sensors distributed throughout the area to capture images of the package as the mobile device reads the label on the package, wherein the optical sensors enable a real-time video confirmation of package placement as the label information comes from the mobile device to facilitate registering where the package is being placed. (Col. 22, Ln. 30-Col. 23, Ln. 7) (“Cameras strategically situated can capture images or take video during any stage of system operation: when a package arrives at a holding area; when a person enters information about the package into the system; when a person places the package in the holding area; while the package resides in the holding area; when a person comes to retrieve the package from the holding area; and when a person removes the package from the holding area. … The video taken by the cameras can serve to confirm package drop-off at a package room. … When the person scans the package to acquire the package identification information … the package tracking system generates a record associated with the package. Video hereafter captured by an optical sensing device becomes associated with this package record. … camera disposed within the package room captures the video of the person putting the package on a shelf … the video captured by an appropriately positioned camera suffices to provide the visual confirmation of the package being registered and dropped off.”)
In regards to claim 21, Hill in view of Corazzari discloses the limitations of claim 20. Hill discloses wherein the computing system determines from the label information received from the mobile device and the images captured by the optical sensors to determine which optical sensors of the plurality of optical sensors have the package in the field of view and the time the mobile device reads the label on the package, and determines that a next package detected on the surface belongs to the label information. (Col. 5, Ln. 36-51; Col. 15, Ln. 24-37; Col. 15, Ln. 46-Col. 16, Ln. 5; Col. 16, Ln. 38-45) (“Each camera 118 has a field of view 120 covering a portion of the area within which the packages 116 lie … An appropriate number of cameras 118 can be mounted inside the tracking area 112 in such a way to provide a complete field of view, … Before the system 100 begins to operate, each camera position is fixed to ensure the camera(s) cover the tracking area 112.” “With the background information (and foreground if applicable) subtracted, the process 600 checks (step 624) for changes in depth of any objects in the field of view of the camera(s) and the measurement field of the depth sensor(s).” “As previously described, the system 100 detects changes in a field of view to build a database of known packages. The database is used to locate and disregard these registered packages while looking for identifying new objects being placed into the field of view.” “The use of both optical and depth sensing information allows the system to calculate package size based on the 3D data generated from the camera images and depth sensor data. The identity, location and other information (e.g., time of placement and motion) may be stored at a central server (e.g., 204 of FIG. 2) for later analysis.” “the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package, taking a picture of the shipping label and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information, … Afterwards, the person places the package on a surface (e.g., shelf) in the package room, where the package tracking system detects placement of the package, and confirms (i.e., registers) whether the detected package corresponds to the package from which package identification information was last obtained.”)
In regards to claim 22, Hill in view of Corazzari discloses the limitations of claim 20. Hill discloses wherein the package management system detects a most recently placed package on the shelf, notes the placement location, and registers the package at the location by associating the package information acquired from the label with this package and location, and wherein the package management system uses the known locations of the optical sensors that captured the moment of the reading of the package label and followed the movement of the courier as the courier placed the package on the shelving, to validate or repudiate the registered location. (Col. 4, Ln. 31-54; Col. 5, Ln. 36-51; Col. 6, Ln. 47-63; Col. 15, Ln. 24-37; Col. 16, Ln. 38-45; Col. 23, Ln. 8-34) (“track the movement of packages optically before the packages are placed into a holding area. A package barcode is scanned in conjunction with it being moved into the holding area.” “Each camera 118 has a field of view 120 covering a portion of the area within which the packages 116 lie … An appropriate number of cameras 118 can be mounted inside the tracking area 112 in such a way to provide a complete field of view, … Before the system 100 begins to operate, each camera position is fixed to ensure the camera(s) cover the tracking area 112.” “a mosaic approach may be utilized to integrate camera images. In this embodiment, one camera 118 is used for a certain area, a second (or third or fourth) camera 118 is used for another area, and a handoff is used during the tracking, with the images from cameras 118 being run in parallel on the CPU 122. In a mosaic, like a panorama approach, image data from the multiple cameras (or from other sensors) are merged into the map of the tracking area 112 (e.g., truck, container, plane, etc.) with each viewpoint designated for the area that is seen by the camera 18. It will be recognized that in both embodiments, a handoff is made when objects move from one viewpoint to another or are seen by one camera and not the others. These handoffs may be made using the images running in parallel on the cameras 118, with the package placement and movement determined by the CPU 122 using whichever camera has the best view of the package 116.” “With the background information (and foreground if applicable) subtracted, the process 600 checks (step 624) for changes in depth of any objects in the field of view of the camera(s) and the measurement field of the depth sensor(s).” “As previously described, the system 100 detects changes in a field of view to build a database of known packages. The database is used to locate and disregard these registered packages while looking for identifying new objects being placed into the field of view.” “Couriers … interact with a package tracking system when bringing (i.e., “dropping off”) packages to a package room (a term used herein to refer generally to any area designated for holding packages, inclusive of conveyor belts). Whether a courier is bringing a package to a drop-off location, … the person brings the package to a data acquisition site, where the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package, taking a picture of the shipping label and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information… This data acquisition site can be in the vicinity of or in the package room. Afterwards, the person places the package on a surface (e.g., shelf) in the package room, where the package tracking system detects placement of the package, and confirms (i.e., registers) whether the detected package corresponds to the package from which package identification information was last obtained.” “The captured images or video can serve to track each user's interactions with the system”)
In regards to claim 25, Hill in view of Corazzari disclose the limitations of claim 1. Hill does not explicitly disclose, however Corazzari, in the same field of endeavor, discloses wherein the location data of Hill and the package label data of Hill are captured of Hill simultaneously for the registration of the package of Hill. (Para. 12) (“determining the package location may comprise scanning a package associated to the package identity by using the device, determining a device location for the device during the step of scanning the package (i.e. the package label data of Hill are captured of Hill), and setting the package location (i.e. the location data of Hill are captured of Hill) to the device location (i.e. the location data of Hill and the package label data of Hill are captured of Hill simultaneously for the registration of the package of Hill).”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking of Hill with the package scanning of Corazzari in order to improve the system data reliability. (Corazzari – Para. 35)
In regards to claim 29, Hill discloses a package management system comprising: a mobile device having scanning sensors, a wireless transceiver, a processor, and the mobile device configured to: detect a package label scanning event for a package placed on a surface in an area; (Col. 5, Ln. 26-35, Col. 7, Ln. 36-60) (“the scanner 124 may be optical, magnetic, or electromagnetic means (i.e. a mobile device having scanning sensors), depending on the type of barcode on the package. The scanner 124 may be … a smart phone or tablet-like device (i.e. the mobile device having a processor).” “scanners 124 are in communication with a central server (or servers) 204 over communication connections 206 (i.e. a mobile device having a wireless transceiver) . The server 204 (or servers) can be cloud based, meaning that a provider of the server 204 makes applications, services, and resources available on demand to users over a network (e.g., the Internet). The communication connections 206 may be established using any type of communication system including, but not limited to, a cellular network, private network, local network, wired network, wireless network, or any combination thereof. … The scanners 124 are in communication with the central server 204, either continuously or through data dumps, to transfer package identification information when a barcode on a package is scanned and the location (i.e. detect a package label scanning event for a package placed on a surface in an area).”)
Hill discloses (Col. 8, Ln. 12-33; Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 22, Ln. 6) (“The scanner 124 transmits (step 304) the barcode (package identification) information” “scanning a bar code on the package, taking a picture of the shipping label and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information, or manually entering the recipient's information”)
Hill discloses determine, contemporaneously with the scanning event, location data indicating a sub-area of the surface at which the package is placed; and transmit the package identity information and the location data to a computing system; and (Col. 7, Ln. 56-60) (“The scanners 124 are in communication with the central server 204, either continuously or through data dumps, to transfer package identification information when a barcode on a package is scanned and the location”)
Hill discloses the computing system comprising at least one processor and memory, the computing system configured to: receive the package identity information and the location data; (Col. 7, Ln. 35-60; Col. 9, Ln. 7-26; Col. 29, Ln. 39-Col. 30, Ln. 58) (“scanners 124 are in communication with a central server (or servers) 204 over communication connections 206. The server 204 (or servers) (i.e. the computing system) can be cloud based, meaning that a provider of the server 204 makes applications, services, and resources available on demand to users over a network (e.g., the Internet). … The scanners 124 are in communication with the central server 204, either continuously or through data dumps, to transfer package identification information when a barcode on a package is scanned and the location (i.e. the computing system configured to: receive the package identity information and the location data).” “The matched package is not only marked or identified in real time as being within the delivery vehicle 202-1, but also the exact location of the package (i.e. location data) 116-1 in the vehicle may be made continuously available to the central server 204” “aspects of the systems described herein may be embodied in entirely hardware, in entirely software (including, but not limited to, firmware, program code, resident software, microcode), or in a combination of hardware and software. … a computer readable storage medium (i.e. memory) may be any tangible medium that can contain or store a program for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, device, computer, computing system, computer system, or any programmable machine or device that inputs, processes, and outputs instructions, commands, or data. … the methods described herein can be implemented on a special purpose computer, a programmed microprocessor or microcontroller”)
Hill discloses register the package as placed in the sub-area indicated by the location data; and (Col. 2,Ln. 36-46; Col. 4, Ln. 55-67; Col. 9, Ln. 7-26) (“The one or more images captured by the one or more optical sensing devices include a continuous video from when a person enters package identification information associated with the given package into the computing system to when the computing system registers the given package in the package room (i.e. register the package as placed in the sub-area indicated by the location data).” “Any user that thereafter views a stream of the camera view or a static image of the packages inside the holding area may receive an overlay that identifies the packages contained therein and their precise location (i.e. register the package as placed in the sub-area indicated by the location data).” “The matched package is not only marked or identified in real time as being within the delivery vehicle 202-1, but also the exact location of the package (i.e. register the package as placed in the sub-area indicated by the location data) 116-1 in the vehicle may be made continuously available to the central server 204”)
Hill discloses store an association between the package identity information and the registered sub-area for use in retrieving the package. (Col. 16, Ln. 38-45; Col. 17, Ln. 20-34) (“the system 100 detects changes in a field of view to build a database of known packages. The database is used to locate and disregard these registered packages while looking for identifying new objects being placed into the field of view. While the registered packages are “disregarded” when looking for new packages that are being loaded, they are continually monitored to see if they have moved or been removed.” “the location of a package may be ‘marked’ or indicated in a variety of manners: … The package tracking system can be configured to illuminate a particular light in a given light strip to show the location on the shelving of a package to be removed”)
Hill does not explicitly disclose, however Corazzari, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the mobile device of Hill having one or more location sensors (Para. 31, 37) (“a device (i.e. the mobile device of Hill) 204a, 204b, 204c, such as a mobile phone or tablet” “the devices (i.e. the mobile device of Hill) 204a, 204b, 204c may GPS-enabled or in any other way provided with means for determining their positions (i.e. the mobile device of Hill having one or more location sensors)”)
As discussed above, Hill discloses receive the location data. Hill does not explicitly disclose, however Corazzari, in the same field of endeavor, discloses receive the location data of Hill is from the mobile device (Para. 18) (“The server may be further configured to receive a package identity and a package location together with the measurements (i.e. receive the location data of Hill), wherein the plurality of devices may be configured to determine the package identity and the package location (i.e. receive the location data of Hill is from the mobile device). … The plurality of devices may further be configured to scan a package associated to the package identity, determine a device location while scanning the package, and set the package location to the device location (i.e. receive the location data of Hill is from the mobile device).”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking of Hill with the package scanning of Corazzari in order to improve the system data reliability. (Corazzari – Para. 35)
In regards to claim 30, Hill in view of Corazzari disclose the limitations of claim 29. Hill discloses wherein the scanning sensors include at least one of a camera and a barcode scanner. (Col. 5, Ln. 26-35) (“the scanner 124 may be optical (i.e. a camera), magnetic, or electromagnetic means, depending on the type of barcode (i.e. a barcode scanner) on the package. The scanner 124 may be a conventional barcode scanner or a smart phone or tablet-like device (i.e. the scanning sensors include at least one of a camera and a barcode scanner).”)
In regards to claim 32, Hill discloses a package management system comprising: a mobile device having scanning sensors, a wireless transceiver, and a processor, the mobile device configured to: detect a package label scanning event for a package placed on a surface in an area; (Col. 5, Ln. 26-35, Col. 7, Ln. 36-60) (“the scanner 124 may be optical, magnetic, or electromagnetic means (i.e. a mobile device having scanning sensors), depending on the type of barcode on the package. The scanner 124 may be … a smart phone or tablet-like device (i.e. the mobile device having a processor).” “scanners 124 are in communication with a central server (or servers) 204 over communication connections 206 (i.e. a mobile device having a wireless transceiver) . The server 204 (or servers) can be cloud based, meaning that a provider of the server 204 makes applications, services, and resources available on demand to users over a network (e.g., the Internet). The communication connections 206 may be established using any type of communication system including, but not limited to, a cellular network, private network, local network, wired network, wireless network, or any combination thereof. … The scanners 124 are in communication with the central server 204, either continuously or through data dumps, to transfer package identification information when a barcode on a package is scanned and the location (i.e. detect a package label scanning event for a package placed on a surface in an area).”)
Hill discloses acquire package identity information from the package label during the scanning event; and transmit the package identity information and data indicative of the scanning event to a computing system; and (Col. 4, Ln. 31-54; Col. 56-60) (“A package barcode is scanned in conjunction with it being moved into the holding area. As used herein, a barcode is any readable or scannable medium, examples of which include, but are not limited to, an electronic, magnetic, optical, electromagnetic, infrared, or semiconductor media, or any suitable combination thereof. Package identification information about the package is determined from scanning the package barcode (i.e. acquire package identity information from the package label during the scanning event).” “The scanners 124 are in communication with the central server 204, either continuously or through data dumps, to transfer package identification information when a barcode on a package is scanned and the location (i.e. transmit the package identity information and data indicative of the scanning event to a computing system).”)
Hill discloses the computing system comprising at least one processor, memory, and one or more external sensors configured to track within the area, the computing system configured to: determine, contemporaneously with the scanning event, location data indicating a sub-area of the surface at which the package is placed based on tracking by the one or more external sensors; (Col. 6, Ln. 47-63; Col. 7, Ln. 35-60; Col. 9, Ln. 7-26; Col. 29, Ln. 39-Col. 30, Ln. 58) (“a mosaic approach may be utilized to integrate camera images. In this embodiment, one camera 118 is used for a certain area, a second (or third or fourth) camera 118 is used for another area (i.e. external sensors configured to track the mobile device within the area), and a handoff is used during the tracking, with the images from cameras 118 being run in parallel on the CPU 122” “scanners 124 are in communication with a central server (or servers) 204 over communication connections 206. The server 204 (or servers) (i.e. the computing system) can be cloud based, meaning that a provider of the server 204 makes applications, services, and resources available on demand to users over a network (e.g., the Internet). … The scanners 124 are in communication with the central server 204, either continuously or through data dumps, to transfer package identification information when a barcode on a package is scanned and the location (i.e. the computing system configured to: determine, contemporaneously with the scanning event, location data).” “if the data captured by the barcode scanner matches (within a predetermined threshold) the package image data captured by the camera 118, a match occurs. The matched package is not only marked or identified in real time as being within the delivery vehicle 202-1, but also the exact location of the package 116-1 in the vehicle may be made continuously available to the central server 204 (i.e. determine, contemporaneously with the scanning event, location data indicating a sub-area of the surface at which the package is placed based on tracking by the one or more external sensors),” “aspects of the systems described herein may be embodied in entirely hardware, in entirely software (including, but not limited to, firmware, program code, resident software, microcode), or in a combination of hardware and software. … a computer readable storage medium (i.e. memory) may be any tangible medium that can contain or store a program for use by or in connection with an instruction execution system, apparatus, device, computer, computing system, computer system, or any programmable machine or device that inputs, processes, and outputs instructions, commands, or data. … the methods described herein can be implemented on a special purpose computer, a programmed microprocessor or microcontroller”)
Hill discloses register the package as placed in the sub-area indicated by the location data; and (Col. 2,Ln. 36-46; Col. 4, Ln. 55-67; Col. 9, Ln. 7-26) (“The one or more images captured by the one or more optical sensing devices include a continuous video from when a person enters package identification information associated with the given package into the computing system to when the computing system registers the given package in the package room (i.e. register the package as placed in the sub-area indicated by the location data).” “Any user that thereafter views a stream of the camera view or a static image of the packages inside the holding area may receive an overlay that identifies the packages contained therein and their precise location (i.e. register the package as placed in the sub-area indicated by the location data).” “The matched package is not only marked or identified in real time as being within the delivery vehicle 202-1, but also the exact location of the package (i.e. register the package as placed in the sub-area indicated by the location data) 116-1 in the vehicle may be made continuously available to the central server 204”)
Hill discloses store an association between the package identity information and the registered sub-area for use in retrieving the package. (Col. 16, Ln. 38-45; Col. 17, Ln. 20-34) (“the system 100 detects changes in a field of view to build a database of known packages. The database is used to locate and disregard these registered packages while looking for identifying new objects being placed into the field of view. While the registered packages are “disregarded” when looking for new packages that are being loaded, they are continually monitored to see if they have moved or been removed.” “the location of a package may be ‘marked’ or indicated in a variety of manners: … The package tracking system can be configured to illuminate a particular light in a given light strip to show the location on the shelving of a package to be removed”)
As disclosed above Hill discloses to track within the area. Hill does not explicitly disclose, however Corazzari, in the same field of endeavor, discloses to track of Hill the mobile device within the area of Hill (Para. 8-12) (“determining locations associated to a plurality of devices associated with a plurality of identities … determining a package location by using the device, receiving the package location together with the measurements … The step of determining the package location may comprise scanning a package associated to the package identity by using the device, determining a device location for the device during the step of scanning the package, and setting the package location to the device location.”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking of Hill with the package scanning of Corazzari in order to improve the system data reliability. (Corazzari – Para. 35)
Claim 23 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic (US 20220171972) (hereafter Stankovic) and even further in view of Mann (US 20190213455) (hereafter Mann).
In regards to claim 23, Hill discloses a package management system comprising: a plurality of optical sensors distributed throughout the area at known locations, each optical sensor having a field of view covering a portion of the area; (Col. 5, Ln. 36-51) (“The system 100 includes an optical system. In this embodiment, the optical system includes four optical sensors represented by cameras 118-1, 118-2, 118-3, and 118-4 (generally, camera 118). Each camera 118 has a field of view 120 covering a portion of the area within which the packages 116 lie (i.e. each optical sensor having a field of view covering a portion of the area) (to simplify the illustration, only one field of view is shown). An appropriate number of cameras 118 can be mounted inside the tracking area 112 in such a way to provide a complete field of view … Before the system 100 begins to operate, each camera position is fixed to ensure the camera(s) cover the tracking area 112 (i.e. a plurality of optical sensors distributed throughout the area at known locations). The exact position and number of cameras 118 is within the discretion of the system designer.”)
Hill discloses a computing system including at least one processor configured to process package label data associated with a package received from a mobile device to identify the package being placed in a specific sub-area location as a placement location on a surface, the specific sub-area location being one of a plurality of sub-areas of the surface, to extract package information from the package label associated with the package using optical character recognition (OCR) to associate the package information with the specific sub-area location on the surface using real- time image processing and sensor data, to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location, and generate and transmit a retrieval notification to a recipient of the package via a networked communication system, (Col. 2, Ln. 16-46; Col. 5, Ln. 6-14; Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 22, Ln. 6; Col. 23, Ln. 50-61) (“a package tracking system comprises … a computing system including a processor… The processor executes the executable code (i.e. at least one processor configured to process package label data associated with a package to identify the package being placed on a surface) to detect a presence and location of a given package held in the package room based on the one or more images captured by the one or more optical sensing devices and on package identification information relating to the given package … The one or more images captured by the one or more optical sensing devices include a continuous video from when a person enters package identification information associated with the given package into the computing system to when the computing system registers the given package in the package room (i.e. at least one processor configured to register a location of where the identified package is placed on the surface).” “the tracking area 112 includes a plurality of shelves 114-1, 114-n (generally, shelf or shelves 114) (i.e. he package being placed in a specific sub-area location on a surface, the specific sub-area location being one of a plurality of sub-areas of the surface), and on the shelves 114 are packages and/or assets 116-1, 116-n (generally, package 116).” “in each instance the person brings the package to a data acquisition site, where the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package, taking a picture of the shipping label and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information (i.e. to extract package information from the package label associated with the package using optical character recognition (OCR) or barcode analysis) … This data acquisition site can be in the vicinity of or in the package room. Afterwards, the person places the package on a surface (e.g., shelf) in the package room, where the package tracking system detects placement of the package, and confirms (i.e., registers) ( whether the detected package corresponds to the package from which package identification information was last obtained (i.e. to associate the package information with a specific location on the surface using real-time image processing and sensor data, to register the placement location of the package based on a combination of tracking to confirm actual placement).” “when a package is received in the room, an electronic text message, email, or similar notification can be sent to the package recipient (i.e. generate and transmit a retrieval notification to a recipient of the package via a networked communication system) indicating that their package is in the package room.”)
Hill discloses the at least one processor being further configured to review images captured by the plurality of optical sensors to determine which optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view, to optically track the person as the person places the package at a location in the area, to detect the placement location of the package using computer-vision, and (Col. 10, Ln. 12-Col. 11, Ln. 11; Col. 12, Ln. 19-32, Col. 13, Ln. 17-27) (“an image-processing process 500 for identifying and matching a package. … At step 506, an absolute difference is determined across the two images to detect the presence of new objects (i.e. review images captured by the plurality of optical sensors to determine which optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view) … If a change in the images (N and N−1) is detected at step 514, further analysis occurs. For example, the change detected by the system 100 may be the detection of the presence of the loader in the image (i.e. have a person in their field of view). … if changes in the images are indicative of a package moving, the image processing CPU 122 also continues to work on the current image data (frame N and N−1) (i.e. have the package in their field of view). … Whenever a new package is located, the package is to be identified. In one embodiment, the image processing CPU 122 uses edge detection to determine (step 516) the dimensions of the package. Objects that are not compatible with being a package are filtered at this point. For example, if an object size is less than the smallest possible package, the object is ignored. The system 100 can also filter other objects of a size, dimension, or location that do not correspond to a package (e.g., the loader or a clipboard or tablet carried by the loader).” “the system 100 can compare the known map of the vehicle cargo space before the loader enters with a package with the new map of the vehicle cargo space after the loader places a package in the cargo area to determine the location of the package. Thus, even if the loader's body temporarily occludes optical tracking as the package is placed inside the cargo area, the package can be located, identified, and matched by using image frames after the loader leaves the cargo area to frames before the loader entered the cargo area (i.e. optically track the person as the person places the package at a location in the area, to detect the placement location of the package using computer-vision).” “in each instance the person brings the package to a data acquisition site, where the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package, taking a picture of the shipping label and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information, or manually entering the recipient's information. This data acquisition site can be in the vicinity of or in the package room. Afterwards, the person places the package on a surface (e.g., shelf) in the package room, where the package tracking system detects placement of the package (i.e. optically track the person as the person places the package at a location in the area, to detect the placement location of the package using computer-vision), and confirms (i.e., registers) whether the detected package corresponds to the package from which package identification information was last obtained.” “the system 100 can alternatively provide continuous, real time tracking, albeit with more complicated image processing. In such a system, for example, a person (loader, driver, etc.) may be identified and the system may detect objects located in the vicinity of the hands of the person to determine if the object matches the package expected to be loaded (i.e. optically track the person as the person places the package at a location in the area, to detect the placement location of the package using computer-vision).”)
Hill discloses comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package, wherein the at least one processor registers the package at the placement location only if the comparison of the placement location with the tracked location of the person satisfies a criterion; and ((Col. 10, Ln. 12-Col. 11, Ln. 11; Col. 12, Ln. 19-42) (“an image-processing process 500 for identifying and matching a package. … At step 506, an absolute difference is determined across the two images to detect the presence of new objects … If a change in the images (N and N−1) is detected at step 514, further analysis occurs. For example, the change detected by the system 100 may be the detection of the presence of the loader in the image (i.e. a tracked location of the person placing the package) … Whenever a new package is located (i.e. the placement location of the package), the package is to be identified. In one embodiment, the image processing CPU 122 uses edge detection to determine (step 516) the dimensions of the package. Objects that are not compatible with being a package are filtered at this point. For example, if an object size is less than the smallest possible package, the object is ignored. The system 100 can also filter other objects of a size, dimension, or location that do not correspond to a package (e.g., the loader (i.e. a tracked location of the person placing the package) or a clipboard or tablet carried by the loader).” “Through prediction from threshold detection from the loader position inside the vehicle cargo area and the vehicle cargo area map already stored by CPU 122, the system 100 can compare the known map of the vehicle cargo space before the loader enters with a package with the new map of the vehicle cargo space after the loader places a package in the cargo area to determine the location of the package. … Thus, even if the loader's body temporarily occludes optical tracking as the package is placed inside the cargo area (i.e. a tracked location of the person placing the package), the package can be located (i.e. comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package), identified, and matched by using image frames after the loader leaves the cargo area to frames before the loader entered the cargo area. … the system 100 performs the process 500 to track packages continuously after they have been scanned, loaded, and ‘matched’ (i.e. wherein the at least one processor registers the package at the placement location only if the comparison of the placement location with the tracked location of the person satisfies a criterion). The process 500 enables tracking of matched packages within an area of coverage after a package has been identified (‘marked’) (i.e. wherein the at least one processor registers the package at the placement location only if the comparison of the placement location with the tracked location of the person satisfies a criterion). Specifically, after a package is loaded and marked in one place, the image processing CPU 122 can regularly (or continuously) perform the same (or similar) threshold detection to search for a “change” at the location of interest.”)
Hill discloses the mobile device disposed within the area and physically separate from and in wireless communication with the computing system, the mobile device having a wireless communications transceiver, an optical reader, and a mobile device processor configured to perform real-time image processing to capture and transmit both the package label data and the location data to the computing system via the networked communication system, wherein the computing system registers the package at the determined location to enable a guidance hardware to direct users to the specific sub-area during package retrieval. (Col. 4, Ln. 31-54; Col. 5, Ln. 1-5; Col. 5, Ln. 15-35; Col. 7, Ln. 36-60; Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 23, Ln. 7, Col. 23, Ln. 50-61) (“Package identification information about the package is determined from scanning (i.e. the mobile device having a wireless communications transceiver). Such package identification information typically includes dimensions, weight, contents or other information that may be utilized to detect and track the package.” “A package tracking system can also employ one or more guidance mechanisms (i.e. guidance hardware) (e.g., audible, visual) to guide … or to bring attention to the present location of a package (e.g., for purposes of removal).” “The barcode on the package is initially scanned into the system 100 with a scanner (i.e. the mobile device having an optical reader a processor configured to cause the mobile device to perform real-time image processing to capture and transmit both the package label data) 124. (16) In general, the scanner 124 may be optical, magnetic, or electromagnetic means, depending on the type of barcode on the package. The scanner 124 may be a conventional barcode scanner or a smart phone or tablet-like device (i.e. a mobile device). The form factor of the scanner 124 is not limiting.” “The server 204 (or servers) can be cloud based, meaning that a provider of the server 204 makes applications, services, and resources available on demand to users over a network (e.g., the Internet). … scanners 124 are in communication with a central server (or servers) 204 over communication connections 206 (i.e. physically separate from and in wireless communication with the computing system, the mobile device having a wireless communications transceiver), … continuously (i.e. a mobile device processor configured to perform real-time image processing to capture and transmit the package label data to the computing system via the networked communication system) … , to transfer package identification information when a barcode on a package is scanned” “in each instance the person brings the package to a data acquisition site, where the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package (i.e. the mobile device having a processor configured to cause the mobile device perform real-time image processing to capture the package label data), taking a picture of the shipping label and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information (i.e. the mobile device having a processor configured to cause the mobile device to perform real-time image processing to capture the package label data), … This data acquisition site can be … in the package room (i.e. a mobile device disposed within the area.). Afterwards, the person places the package on a surface (e.g., shelf) in the package room, where the package tracking system detects placement of the package, and confirms (i.e., registers) whether the detected package corresponds to the package from which package identification information was last obtained (i.e. wherein the computing system registers the package at the determined location for directing users to the specific sub-area location during package retrieval). … when bringing a package to the package room, the person initially brings the package to a data acquisition site… When the person scans the package to acquire the package identification (i.e. a mobile device processor configured to perform real-time image processing to capture and transmit the package label data to the computing system via the networked communication system) … the package tracking system generates a record associated with the package.”)
As discussed above, Hill discloses to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data. Hill does not explicitly disclose, however Corazzari, in the same field of endeavor, discloses to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data of Hill is received from the mobile device (Para. 18) (“The server may be further configured to receive a package identity and a package location together with the measurements (i.e. to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data), wherein the plurality of devices may be configured to determine the package identity and the package location (i.e. to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data of Hill is received from the mobile device). … The plurality of devices may further be configured to scan a package associated to the package identity, determine a device location while scanning the package, and set the package location to the device location (i.e. to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data of Hill is received from the mobile device).”)
Hill does not explicitly disclose, however Corazzari, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the mobile device of Hill having location tracking sensors configured to determine a current location of the mobile device of Hill within the area of Hill using a positioning technology (Para. 31, 37) (“a device (i.e. the mobile device of Hill) 204a, 204b, 204c, such as a mobile phone or tablet” “the devices (i.e. the mobile device of Hill) 204a, 204b, 204c may GPS-enabled or in any other way provided with means for determining their positions (i.e. configured to determine a current location of the mobile device of Hill within the area of Hill using a positioning technology)”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking of Hill with the package scanning of Corazzari in order to improve the system data reliability. (Corazzari – Para. 35)
As discussed above, Hill discloses determine which optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view. Hill in view of Corazzari does not explicitly disclose, however Stankovic, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view of Hill as the person uses the mobile device to read the package label, (Para. 3) (“a first user in an environment scans visual indicia associated with an item, such as a barcode (i.e. the person uses the mobile device of Hill to read the package label) … The architecture also includes server computing devices configured to receive an indication of the scan, retrieve image data of the interaction from a camera within the environment (i.e. the optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view of Hill as the person uses the mobile device to read the package label),” “vision algorithms may be used to track an item that is scanned by a scanning device until it is received by another user in the facility. That is, when an item is scanned, one or more computer-vision algorithms may be used to identify the scanned item and to track the location of the scanned item (e.g., within the VOI or otherwise) within the image data over time at least until a user that is different than the user that scanned the item receives the item.”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking of Hill in view of Corazzari with the sensor identifications of Stankovic in order to improve system accuracy and user experience. (Stankovic – Para. 104)
As discussed above, Hill discloses comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package. Hill in view of Corazzi discloses the location data received from the mobile device. Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic does not explicitly disclose, however Mann, in the same field of endeavor, discloses to validate the location data received from the mobile device of Corazzari by comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package of Hill (Para. 74) (“The tracking techniques may include any or a combination of registering locations of items … using cameras to capture and track movement of items or users associated with or registered to an item, etc. (i.e. comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package of Hill) … The user's device may then be tracked (i.e. location data received from the mobile device of Corazzari), for example using GPS, dead reckoning, etc., to then verify, confirm… a location of an item (i.e. to validate the location data received from the mobile device of Corazzari by comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package of Hill).”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking of Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic with the tracking verification of Mann in order to improve data accuracy and accountability of the system. (Mann – Para. 4)
Claim 24 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic and even further in view of Mann and even further in view of Lee (US 20210065104) (hereafter Lee).
In regards to claim 24, Hill discloses a package management system comprising: a plurality of optical sensors distributed throughout the area at known locations, each optical sensor having a field of view covering a portion of the area; (Col. 5, Ln. 36-51) (“The system 100 includes an optical system. In this embodiment, the optical system includes four optical sensors represented by cameras 118-1, 118-2, 118-3, and 118-4 (generally, camera 118). Each camera 118 has a field of view 120 covering a portion of the area within which the packages 116 lie (i.e. each optical sensor having a field of view covering a portion of the area) (to simplify the illustration, only one field of view is shown). An appropriate number of cameras 118 can be mounted inside the tracking area 112 in such a way to provide a complete field of view … Before the system 100 begins to operate, each camera position is fixed to ensure the camera(s) cover the tracking area 112 (i.e. a plurality of optical sensors distributed throughout the area at known locations). The exact position and number of cameras 118 is within the discretion of the system designer.”)
Hill discloses a computing system including at least one processor configured to process package label data associated with a package received from a mobile device to identify the package being placed in a specific sub-area location on a surface, the specific sub-area location being one of a plurality of sub-areas of the surface, to extract package information from the package label associated with the package to associate the package information with the specific sub-area location on the surface using real-time image processing and sensor data, to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data, and generate and transmit a retrieval notification to a recipient of the package via a networked communication system; and (Col. 2, Ln. 16-46; Col. 5, Ln. 6-14; Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 22, Ln. 6; Col. 23, Ln. 50-61) (“a package tracking system comprises … a computing system including a processor… The processor executes the executable code (i.e. at least one processor configured to process package label data associated with a package to identify the package being placed on a surface) to detect a presence and location of a given package held in the package room based on the one or more images captured by the one or more optical sensing devices and on package identification information relating to the given package … The one or more images captured by the one or more optical sensing devices include a continuous video from when a person enters package identification information associated with the given package into the computing system to when the computing system registers the given package in the package room (i.e. at least one processor configured to register a location of where the identified package is placed on the surface).” “the tracking area 112 includes a plurality of shelves 114-1, 114-n (generally, shelf or shelves 114) (i.e. the package being placed in a specific sub-area location on a surface, the specific sub-area location being one of a plurality of sub-areas of the surface), and on the shelves 114 are packages and/or assets 116-1, 116-n (generally, package 116).” “in each instance the person brings the package to a data acquisition site, where the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package, taking a picture of the shipping label and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information (i.e. to extract package information from the package label associated with the package using optical character recognition (OCR) or barcode analysis) … This data acquisition site can be in the vicinity of or in the package room. Afterwards, the person places the package on a surface (e.g., shelf) in the package room, where the package tracking system detects placement of the package, and confirms (i.e., registers) ( whether the detected package corresponds to the package from which package identification information was last obtained (i.e. to associate the package information with a specific location on the surface using real-time image processing and sensor data, to register the placement location of the package based on a combination of tracking to confirm actual placement).” “when a package is received in the room, an electronic text message, email, or similar notification can be sent to the package recipient (i.e. generate and transmit a retrieval notification to a recipient of the package via a networked communication system) indicating that their package is in the package room.”)
Hill discloses the at least one processor being further configured to review images captured by the plurality of optical sensors to determine which optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view, to optically track the person as the person places the package at a location in the area, to detect the placement location of the package using computer-vision, and (Col. 10, Ln. 12-Col. 11, Ln. 11; Col. 12, Ln. 19-32) (“an image-processing process 500 for identifying and matching a package. … At step 506, an absolute difference is determined across the two images to detect the presence of new objects (i.e. review images captured by the plurality of optical sensors to determine which optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view) … If a change in the images (N and N−1) is detected at step 514, further analysis occurs. For example, the change detected by the system 100 may be the detection of the presence of the loader in the image (i.e. have a person in their field of view). … if changes in the images are indicative of a package moving, the image processing CPU 122 also continues to work on the current image data (frame N and N−1) (i.e. have the package in their field of view). … Whenever a new package is located, the package is to be identified. In one embodiment, the image processing CPU 122 uses edge detection to determine (step 516) the dimensions of the package. Objects that are not compatible with being a package are filtered at this point. For example, if an object size is less than the smallest possible package, the object is ignored. The system 100 can also filter other objects of a size, dimension, or location that do not correspond to a package (e.g., the loader or a clipboard or tablet carried by the loader).” “the system 100 can compare the known map of the vehicle cargo space before the loader enters with a package with the new map of the vehicle cargo space after the loader places a package in the cargo area to determine the location of the package. Thus, even if the loader's body temporarily occludes optical tracking as the package is placed inside the cargo area, the package can be located, identified, and matched by using image frames after the loader leaves the cargo area to frames before the loader entered the cargo area (i.e. optically track the person as the person places the package at a location in the area, to detect the placement location of the package using computer-vision).” “in each instance the person brings the package to a data acquisition site, where the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package, taking a picture of the shipping label and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information, or manually entering the recipient's information. This data acquisition site can be in the vicinity of or in the package room. Afterwards, the person places the package on a surface (e.g., shelf) in the package room, where the package tracking system detects placement of the package (i.e. optically track the person as the person places the package at a location in the area, to detect the placement location of the package using computer-vision), and confirms (i.e., registers) whether the detected package corresponds to the package from which package identification information was last obtained.”)
Hill discloses comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package, wherein the at least one processor registers the package at the placement location only if the comparison of the placement location with the tracked location of the person satisfies a criterion; and ((Col. 10, Ln. 12-Col. 11, Ln. 11; Col. 12, Ln. 19-42) (“an image-processing process 500 for identifying and matching a package. … At step 506, an absolute difference is determined across the two images to detect the presence of new objects … If a change in the images (N and N−1) is detected at step 514, further analysis occurs. For example, the change detected by the system 100 may be the detection of the presence of the loader in the image (i.e. a tracked location of the person placing the package) … Whenever a new package is located (i.e. the placement location of the package), the package is to be identified. In one embodiment, the image processing CPU 122 uses edge detection to determine (step 516) the dimensions of the package. Objects that are not compatible with being a package are filtered at this point. For example, if an object size is less than the smallest possible package, the object is ignored. The system 100 can also filter other objects of a size, dimension, or location that do not correspond to a package (e.g., the loader (i.e. a tracked location of the person placing the package) or a clipboard or tablet carried by the loader).” “Through prediction from threshold detection from the loader position inside the vehicle cargo area and the vehicle cargo area map already stored by CPU 122, the system 100 can compare the known map of the vehicle cargo space before the loader enters with a package with the new map of the vehicle cargo space after the loader places a package in the cargo area to determine the location of the package. … Thus, even if the loader's body temporarily occludes optical tracking as the package is placed inside the cargo area (i.e. a tracked location of the person placing the package), the package can be located (i.e. comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package), identified, and matched by using image frames after the loader leaves the cargo area to frames before the loader entered the cargo area. … the system 100 performs the process 500 to track packages continuously after they have been scanned, loaded, and ‘matched’ (i.e. wherein the at least one processor registers the package at the placement location only if the comparison of the placement location with the tracked location of the person satisfies a criterion). The process 500 enables tracking of matched packages within an area of coverage after a package has been identified (‘marked’) (i.e. wherein the at least one processor registers the package at the placement location only if the comparison of the placement location with the tracked location of the person satisfies a criterion). Specifically, after a package is loaded and marked in one place, the image processing CPU 122 can regularly (or continuously) perform the same (or similar) threshold detection to search for a “change” at the location of interest.”)
Hill discloses the mobile device disposed within the area and physically separate from and in wireless communication with the computing system, the mobile device having a wireless communications transceiver, and a mobile device processor configured to scan the package label to acquire the package label data, perform real-time image processing to capture and transmit both the package label data and the location data to the computing system via the networked communication system, wherein the computing system registers the package at the determined location to enable a guidance hardware to direct users to the specific sub-area location during package retrieval. (Col. 4, Ln. 31-54; Col. 5, Ln. 15-35; Col. 7, Ln. 36-60; Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 23, Ln. 7; Col. 21, Ln. 49-Col. 22, Ln. 6; Col. 23, Ln. 50-61) (“Package identification information about the package is determined from scanning (i.e. the mobile device having a wireless communications transceiver) the package barcode (i.e. acquire label information by scanning the package label). Such package identification information typically includes dimensions, weight, contents or other information that may be utilized to detect and track the package.” “The barcode on the package is initially scanned into the system 100 with a scanner (i.e. a mobile device processor configured to scan the package label to acquire the package label data) 124. (16) In general, the scanner 124 may be optical, magnetic, or electromagnetic means, depending on the type of barcode on the package. The scanner 124 may be a conventional barcode scanner or a smart phone or tablet-like device (i.e. a mobile device). The form factor of the scanner 124 is not limiting.” “The server 204 (or servers) can be cloud based, meaning that a provider of the server 204 makes applications, services, and resources available on demand to users over a network (e.g., the Internet). … scanners 124 are in communication with a central server (or servers) 204 over communication connections 206 (i.e. physically separate from and in wireless communication with the computing system, the mobile device having a wireless communications transceiver), … continuously (i.e. a mobile device processor configured to perform real-time image processing to capture and transmit both the package label data and the location data to the computing system via the networked communication system) … , to transfer package identification information when a barcode on a package is scanned” “the person places the package on a surface (e.g., shelf) in the package room, where the package tracking system detects placement of the package (i.e. perform real-time image processing to capture and transmit both the package label data and the location data to the computing system via the networked communication system)” “in each instance the person brings the package to a data acquisition site, where the person enters package identification information about the package being dropped off, for example, by scanning a bar code on the package (i.e. a mobile device processor configured to scan the package label to acquire the package label data), taking a picture of the shipping label and having character recognition software automatically recognize and input the package recipient information (i.e. a mobile device processor configured to scan the package label to acquire the package label data), … This data acquisition site can be … in the package room (i.e. a mobile device disposed within the area.). Afterwards, the person places the package on a surface (e.g., shelf) in the package room, where the package tracking system detects placement of the package, and confirms (i.e., registers) whether the detected package corresponds to the package from which package identification information was last obtained (i.e. the computing system registers the package at the determined location to enable a guidance hardware to direct users to the specific sub-area location during package retrieval) . … when bringing a package to the package room, the person initially brings the package to a data acquisition site… When the person scans the package to acquire the package identification (i.e. a mobile device processor configured to perform real-time image processing to capture and transmit both the package label data and the location data to the computing system via the networked communication system) … the package tracking system generates a record associated with the package.”)
As discussed above, Hill discloses to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data. Hill does not explicitly disclose, however Corazzari, in the same field of endeavor, discloses to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data of Hill is received from the mobile device (Para. 18) (“The server may be further configured to receive a package identity and a package location together with the measurements (i.e. to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data), wherein the plurality of devices may be configured to determine the package identity and the package location (i.e. to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data of Hill is received from the mobile device). … The plurality of devices may further be configured to scan a package associated to the package identity, determine a device location while scanning the package, and set the package location to the device location (i.e. to register the placement location of the package in the specific sub-area location based on location data of Hill is received from the mobile device).
Hill does not explicitly disclose, however Corazzari, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the mobile device of Hill having location tracking sensors configured to determine a current location of the mobile device of Hill within the area of Hill using a positioning technology (Para. 31, 37) (“a device (i.e. the mobile device of Hill) 204a, 204b, 204c, such as a mobile phone or tablet” “the devices (i.e. the mobile device of Hill) 204a, 204b, 204c may GPS-enabled or in any other way provided with means for determining their positions (i.e. configured to determine a current location of the mobile device of Hill within the area of Hill using a positioning technology)”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking of Hill with the package scanning of Corazzari in order to improve the system data reliability. (Corazzari – Para. 35)
As discussed above, Hill discloses determine which optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view. Hill in view of Corazzari does not explicitly disclose, however Stankovic, in the same field of endeavor, discloses the optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view of Hill as the person uses the mobile device to read the package label, (Para. 3) (“a first user in an environment scans visual indicia associated with an item, such as a barcode (i.e. the person uses the mobile device of Hill to read the package label) … The architecture also includes server computing devices configured to receive an indication of the scan, retrieve image data of the interaction from a camera within the environment (i.e. the optical sensors have a person and the package in their field of view of Hill as the person uses the mobile device to read the package label),” “vision algorithms may be used to track an item that is scanned by a scanning device until it is received by another user in the facility. That is, when an item is scanned, one or more computer-vision algorithms may be used to identify the scanned item and to track the location of the scanned item (e.g., within the VOI or otherwise) within the image data over time at least until a user that is different than the user that scanned the item receives the item.”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking of Hill in view of Corazzari with the sensor identifications of Stankovic in order to improve system accuracy and user experience. (Stankovic – Para. 104)
As discussed above, Hill discloses comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package. Hill in view of Corazzi discloses the location data received from the mobile device. Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic does not explicitly disclose, however Mann, in the same field of endeavor, discloses to validate the location data received from the mobile device of Corazzari by comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package of Hill (Para. 74) (“The tracking techniques may include any or a combination of registering locations of items … using cameras to capture and track movement of items or users associated with or registered to an item, etc. (i.e. comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package of Hill) … The user's device may then be tracked (i.e. location data received from the mobile device of Corazzari), for example using GPS, dead reckoning, etc., to then verify, confirm… a location of an item (i.e. to validate the location data received from the mobile device of Corazzari by comparing the placement location of the package with a tracked location of the person placing the package of Hill).”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking of Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic with the tracking verification of Mann in order to improve data accuracy and accountability of the system. (Mann – Para. 4)
As discussed above, Hill discloses to extract package information from the package label associated with the package. Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic and even further in view of Mann does not explicitly disclose, however Lee discloses to extract package information from the package label associated with the package of Hill using RFID (Para. 58, 84) (“a package identifier (e.g., a barcode or RFID tag data) may be scanned or read by machines at particular stages (e.g., automated or handheld barcode scanners, RFID readers, high-speed cameras, devices such as tablet 119A, mobile device/PDA 119B, computer 119C, or the like). … scan or a read of a package identifier in a corresponding database (not pictured) along with the package identifier, a time, date, location, user identifier, or other information, and may provide this information to other systems (e.g., shipment and order tracking system 111)” “package identifiers may be an … RFID tag… User device 303 may comprise a camera or a scanner configured to scan package identifiers using an input device (i.e. to extract package information from the package label associated with the package of Hill using RFID), such as an imaging device including a camera or a scanner.”)
Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic and even further in view of Mann does not explicitly disclose, however Lee discloses the mobile device of Hill having an RFID reader (Para. 83-84) (“User device (i.e. the mobile device of Hill) 303 may be any computer device, or communications device including, but not limited to, a server, a network appliance, a personal computer (PC), a workstation, a mobile device, a phone, a handheld PC … package identifiers may be … RFID tag…. User device 303 may comprise a camera or a scanner (i.e. the mobile device of Hill having an RFID reader) configured to scan package identifiers using an input device, such as an imaging device including a camera or a scanner.”
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking system of Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic and even further in view of Mann with package management of Lee in order to efficiency of delivery and package tracking. (Lee – Para. 3)
Claims 26 and 31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Bennet (US 20240212322) (hereafter Bennet).
In regards to claim 26, Hill in view of Corazzari disclose the limitations of claim 1. Hill in view of Corazzari does not explicitly disclose, however Bennet discloses wherein the positioning technology of Hill includes at least one of simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM). (Para. 12) (“a system for tracking an inventory of products on one or more shelves is disclosed. The system comprises a mobile device including an image sensor, at least one processor, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the following steps: apply a simultaneous localization and mapping in three dimensions (SLAM 3D) program, on images of a shelf input from the image sensor”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking system of Hill in view of Corazzari with location object tracking of Bennet in order to improve the ability of the system’s to identify imaged objects. (Bennet – Para. 9)
In regards to claim 31, Hill in view of Corazzari disclose the limitations of claim 29. Hill in view of Corazzari does not explicitly disclose, however Bennet discloses wherein the one or more location sensors of Corazzari include at least one of Simultaneous Localization and Mapping (SLAM) (Para. 12) (“a system for tracking an inventory of products on one or more shelves is disclosed. The system comprises a mobile device including an image sensor, at least one processor, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the following steps: apply a simultaneous localization and mapping in three dimensions (SLAM 3D) program, on images of a shelf input from the image sensor”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking system of Hill in view of Corazzari with location object tracking of Bennet in order to improve the ability of the system’s to identify imaged objects. (Bennet – Para. 9)
Claim 27 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic and even further in view of Mann and even further in view of Bennet.
In regards to claim 27, Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic and even further in view of Mann disclose the limitations of claim 23. Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic and even further in view of Mann does not explicitly disclose, however Bennet discloses wherein the positioning technology of Hill includes at least one of simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM). (Para. 12) (“a system for tracking an inventory of products on one or more shelves is disclosed. The system comprises a mobile device including an image sensor, at least one processor, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the following steps: apply a simultaneous localization and mapping in three dimensions (SLAM 3D) program, on images of a shelf input from the image sensor”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking system of Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic and even further in view of Mann with location object tracking of Bennet in order to improve the ability of the system’s to identify imaged objects. (Bennet – Para. 9)
Claim 28 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic and even further in view of Mann and even further in view of Lee and even further in view of Bennet.
In regards to claim 28, Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic and even further in view of Mann and even further in view of Lee disclose the limitations of claim 24. Hill in view of Corazzari and further in view of Stankovic and even further in view of Mann and even further in view of Lee does not explicitly disclose, however Bennet discloses wherein the positioning technology of Hill includes at least one of simultaneous localization and mapping (SLAM). (Para. 12) (“a system for tracking an inventory of products on one or more shelves is disclosed. The system comprises a mobile device including an image sensor, at least one processor, and a non-transitory computer-readable medium having instructions that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform the following steps: apply a simultaneous localization and mapping in three dimensions (SLAM 3D) program, on images of a shelf input from the image sensor”)
Therefore, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the package tracking system of Hill in view of Corazzari with location object tracking of Bennet in order to improve the ability of the system’s to identify imaged objects. (Bennet – Para. 9)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DAVID G. GODBOLD/Examiner, Art Unit 3628 /RUPANGINI SINGH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3628