DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the U.S. Patent Application No. 18/673,908, filed May 24, 2024. Claims 1-20 are presently pending and are presented for examination.
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on Sweden Patent Application No. SE2350688-4, filed June 5, 2023.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on May 24, 2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFT 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Publication No. 2014/0297151, to Nabeshima et al. (hereinafter Nabeshima).
As per claim 1, and similarly with respect to claim 14, Nabeshima discloses a computer-implemented method for switching between a first controller and a second controller for a vehicle (e.g. see Fig. 2, and para 0020, wherein a first target drive force setting unit 30 (first setting unit) and second target drive force setting unit 40 (second setting unit) are provided), the method comprising, by processing circuitry of a computer system: in a first operation stage, controlling, an operational parameter of at least one motion support device “MSD” of the vehicle using the first controller, thereby providing a first tire force at at [sic] least one tire associated with the MSD (e.g. see Fig. 2, and para 0020, wherein the first setting unit sets a first target drive force); determining a second tire force for the at least one tire based on a vehicle model associated with the second controller (e.g. see Fig. 2, and para 0020, wherein the second setting unit sets a second target drive force); in a second operation stage, controlling the operational parameter of the at least one MSD using a third controller, comprising determining an intermediate value for the operational parameter based on the first and second tire forces (e.g. see Fig. 2 and para 0023-0024, wherein a final drive force setting unit 43 (i.e. third setting unit) is provided, the third setting unit setting a third target drive force which transitions (i.e. intermediate) from the first target drive force to the second target drive force)); and in a third operation stage, controlling the operational parameter of the at least one MSD using the second controller, thereby providing the second tire force at the at least one tire (e.g. see para 0024, wherein the first, intermediate and second drive force (i.e third operating force) are utilized).
As per claim 2, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses comprising determining the intermediate value for the operational parameter such that, at the onset of the second operation stage, the intermediate value for the operational parameter corresponds to the first tire force (e.g. see Fig. 2 and para 0023-0024, wherein a final drive force setting unit 43 (i.e. third setting unit) is provided, the third setting unit setting a third target drive force which transitions (i.e. intermediate) from the first target drive force to the second target drive force); the Office notes that upon selection of the second operating force, from the first operating force, the intermediate force would correspond to the first operating/tire force).
As per claim 3, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 2, and further discloses further comprising, during the first operation stage, determining a virtual value for the operational parameter using the third controller based on the first tire force and one or more estimated states and/or parameters of the vehicle (e.g. see Figs. 3 and 4, and para 0008, wherein based upon activation of a switch turn-off or brake application (i.e. estimated state or parameter of the vehicle) the final drive force setting unit (i.e. third controller) controls target drive force based upon the force level applied during the first target drive force).
As per claim 4, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 3, and further discloses comprising determining the virtual value for the operational parameter based on a vehicle model associated with the third controller (e.g. see para 0016, wherein the system may be configured for an electric vehicle, hybrid vehicle or combustion engine vehicle).
As per claim 5, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses comprising determining the intermediate value for the operational parameter such that, at the onset of the third operation stage, the intermediate value for the operational parameter corresponds to the second tire force (e.g. see Fig. 3, wherein the drive force by the final drive force setting unit (i.e. third operating stage) ranges from the first drive force to the second drive force).
As per claim 6, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses comprising determining an optimised value for the operational parameter such that a difference between an allocated tire force and a requested tire force, and/or the integral of a difference between an allocated tire force and a requested tire force, is below a threshold (e.g. see Fig. 3, wherein the drive force by the final drive force setting unit (i.e. third operating stage) is below the first drive force).
As per claim 7, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 6, and further discloses comprising determining the optimised value for the operational parameter using a cost function (e.g. see para 0007, wherein the system suppresses driver’s discomfort (i.e. cost function)).
As per claim 8, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 7, and further discloses wherein the cost function is based on one or more of acceleration of the vehicle, energy losses of the vehicle, peak power consumed by the MSD, peak/average power regenerated by the MSD, tire grip, tire wear, and tire slip (e.g. see para 0007, wherein the system suppresses driver’s discomfort (i.e. cost), which is predicated upon an energy loss of the vehicle as a result of rapid deceleration).
As per claim 9, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses comprising controlling the operational parameter of the at least one MSD of the vehicle using the first controller based on one or more estimated states of the vehicle (e.g. see Fig. 3, and Abstract, wherein the estimated state of the vehicle during the use of the first controller would be based upon active cruise control and preceding vehicle information).
As per claim 10, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses comprising controlling the operational parameter of the at least one MSD of the vehicle using the first controller based on one or more estimated states of the vehicle (e.g. see Fig. 3, wherein the drive force by the final drive force setting unit (i.e. third operating stage) is based upon first target drive force and the second target drive force)).
As per claim 11, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the third controller comprises a model predictive controller (e.g. see Fig. 3, wherein the drive force by the final drive force setting unit (i.e. third operating stage) is based upon first target drive force and the second target drive force (i.e. model)).
As per claim 12, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the operational parameter comprises a torque of the MSD or a speed of the MSD (e.g. see Fig. 3, wherein the drive force by the drive force setting units are based upon applied force (i.e. torque)).
As per claim 13, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the MSD comprises an electrical machine, a set of service brakes, a combustion engine, a steering system, or a suspension system (e.g. see para 0016, wherein the system may be configured for an electric vehicle, hybrid vehicle or combustion engine vehicle).
As per claim 15, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses wherein the third controller is configured to determine the intermediate value for the operational parameter such that: at the onset of the second operation stage, the intermediate value corresponds to the first tire force, and/or at the onset of the third operation stage, the intermediate value corresponds to the second tire force (e.g. see rejection of claim 2).
As per claim 16, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses a vehicle comprising processing circuitry to perform the computer-implemented method of claim 1 (e.g. Abstract and rejection of claim 1, wherein the vehicle controller is for a vehicle).
As per claim 17, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses A computer program product comprising program code for performing, when executed by processing circuitry, the computer-implemented method of claim 1 (e.g. Abstract and rejection of claim 1, wherein the vehicle controller 18 is for a vehicle).
As per claim 18, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses A control system comprising one or more control units configured to perform the computer-implemented method of claim 1 (e.g. Abstract and rejection of claim 1, wherein the vehicle controller 18 is for a vehicle).
As per claim 19, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium comprising instructions, which when executed by processing circuitry, cause the processing circuitry to perform the computer-implemented method of claim 1 (e.g. Abstract and rejection of claim 1, wherein the vehicle controller 18 is for a vehicle).
As per claim 20, Nabeshima discloses the features of claim 1, and further discloses a computer system comprising processing circuitry configured to perform the computer-implemented method of claim 1 (e.g. Abstract and rejection of claim 1, wherein the vehicle controller 18 is for a vehicle).
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to James M. McPherson whose telephone number is (313) 446-6543. The examiner can normally be reached on 7:30 AM - 5PM Mon-Fri Eastern Alt Fri. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Abby Flynn can be reached on 571 272-9855. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMES M MCPHERSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3663B