DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20200249415, hereinafter called Wang’415) in view of Wang et al. (US20220121025, hereinafter called Wang’025).
Regarding claim 1, Wang’415 teaches an optical element driving mechanism (figs.1-115D, paragraphs [0002] “The present disclosure relates to a driving mechanism”; paragraph [0134] “an optical element driving mechanism 1-10”), comprising:
a movable part (FIG. 2, the movable portion 1-200), for connecting an optical element (fig.2, the 1-210 and 1-220 has been referred to as the optical element; paragraph [0003] “The movable part is movably connected to the fixed part for holding the optical element”; paragraph [0135], “FIG. 2, the movable portion 1-200 includes an optical element 1-210”);
a fixed part (paragraph [0005], “a fixed portion”; see fig.1, the fixed portion 1-500; paragraph [0134], “the fixed portion 1-500”), having an opening (fig.7A, aperture 1-514; paragraph [0147] “the fixed portion 1-500 closer to the aperture 1-514,”) for allowing light to pass through (paragraph [0148] “The position of the aperture 1-514 of the cap 1-510 corresponds to the groove 1-524 of the base 1-520, allowing light to pass through”), wherein the movable part moves relative to the fixed part (paragraph [0135] “the perforations 1-212 correspond to the positioning assembly 1-400 for securing the position of the movable portion 1-200 relative to the fixed portion 1-500,” the fixed part 1-500); and
a sensing assembly (paragraph [0135] “the positioning assembly 1-400”; paragraph [0134] “the positioning assembly 1-400 may be disposed on the movable portion 1-200 in other embodiments”) for detecting the position of the movable part relative to the fixed part (paragraph [0005] “The positioning assembly is disposed on the fixed portion or the movable portion, wherein the positioning assembly limits the movable part to a first terminal position or a second terminal position relative to the fixed portion”; paragraph [0135] “The perforations 1-212 correspond to the positioning assembly 1-400 for securing the position of the movable portion 1-200 relative to the fixed portion 1-500”).
Wang’415 does not explicitly disclose wherein when the movable part is in a first range, the optical element at least partially overlaps the opening.
However, Wang’025 teaches the analogous optical element driving mechanism (Wang’025, figs.1-14, abstract, The present disclosure provides an optical element driving mechanism, which includes a first movable part, a fixed assembly), and further teaches wherein when the movable part is in a first range, the optical element at least partially overlaps the opening (Wang’025’, paragraph [0005] “the optical element does not overlap at least a part of the first opening; when viewed along the first axis, and when the first movable part is located at a second position, the optical element overlaps at least a part of the first opening; when viewed along the second axis, the first driving assembly overlaps at least a part of the second driving assembly”, thus, Wang’025 teaches when the movable part is in a first range, the optical element at least partially overlaps the opening).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the movable part of Wang’415 to have the specific movable part as taught by Wang’025 for the purpose to be developed that are convenient, thin, and lightweight, offering more choices for consumers (Wang’025, paragraph [0003]).
Further, Wang’415 in view of Wang’025 teaches wherein when the movable part (Wang’415, FIG. 2, the movable portion 1-200) is in a first position (Wang’415, paragraph [0148] “When the movable portion 1-200 is located in the first terminal position) and a second position (paragraph [0155] “as shown in FIG. 9B. In operation 1-804, the movable portion 1-200 is driven by the first driving assembly 1-300 to move into the second terminal position in the positive Y direction”), the sensing assembly is electrically connected to the optical element (see Wang’415, paragraph [0006], “the optical element driving mechanism further includes a metal wire embedded within the cap, and the metal wire is electrically connected to the positioning assembly”; Wang ’415 expressly teaches an optical element driving mechanism including a movable assembly carrying an optical element and a position-sensing/electrical control arrangement. In the embodiment of FIGS. 110–115D, Wang ’415 discloses sensing elements 9-DT1–9-DT5 configured to sense the position of magnetic element 9-MG associated with the movable assembly 9-108 and to provide position information to control circuit 9-150. The control circuit uses the sensed position information to control the driving coils and thereby control movement of the movable assembly 9-108 carrying the optical element. See Wang ’415, FIGS. 110–115D and corresponding paragraphs. Wang ’415 further teaches that the movable assembly is moved through different positional states, including a first position and a second position. In particular, when magnetic element 9-MG is at the first position, the sensing/control circuitry operates to control the corresponding driving coil, and when magnetic element 9-MG subsequently moves to the second position, the control circuit changes the current supplied to the driving coil. Thus, Wang ’415 teaches electrical position sensing and electrical feedback control of a movable assembly carrying an optical element at different positional states.
Wang ’025 further teaches an optical element driving mechanism having a first movable part 108 carrying an optical element 1082, wherein the first movable part 108 is selectively positioned at a first position and a second position relative to the fixed assembly. See Wang ’025, FIGS. 1–14 and the corresponding disclosure. Wang ’025 further discloses an electrical connection between the optical element driving mechanism and a base plate. Thus, Wang ’025 provides an electrically connected optical-element driving architecture in which the movable optical element is selectively located at different positions. Thus, tot would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the position-sensing and electrical feedback-control arrangement of Wang ’415 to the movable optical-element arrangement of Wang ’025, including the electrical connection to the base plate, such that the position sensing information is electrically communicated through the electrical circuitry associated with the optical-element driving mechanism when the movable part is at the respective first and second positions. Such a modification would merely combine known position-sensing and electrical-control circuitry with a known movable optical-element mechanism to provide positional feedback and predictable control of the movable optical element.).
(note: the limitations of “is electrically connected to” in the claim is product by process limitations, and don’t impart any requirement on the product itself other than what is already structurally claimed, See MPEP 2173.05(p) sec. II)
Regarding claim 3, combination Wang’415-Wang’025 discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Wang’415 further teaches wherein when the movable part is in the first position, the optical element is in a closed state (Wang’415, paragraph [0148] “When the movable portion 1-200 is located in the first terminal position, the blocking part 1-213 of the optical element 1-210 will block the aperture 1-514”; see annotated image, Wang’415, fig.9A, the optical element is in a first position, the first edge contacts the sensing assembly 1-410, and the optical element driving mechanism is in a closed state; paragraph [0155]“ the first terminal position is the initial position of the movable portion 1-200, and the locked position is the initial position of the positioning element 1-410, as shown in FIG. 9A”).
Regarding claim 4, combination Wang’415-Wang’025 discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Wang’415 further teaches wherein when the movable part is in the second position, the optical element is in an open state (See annotated image, Wang’415, fig.9B, the optical element is in a second position, the second edge contacts the sensing assembly, and the optical element driving mechanism is in an open state; paragraph [0155]“ In operation 1-802, the positioning element 1-410 is driven by the second driving assembly 1-430 to move into the unlocked position in the negative Z direction, as shown in FIG. 9B. In operation 1-804, the movable portion 1-200 is driven by the first driving assembly 1-300 to move into the second terminal position in the positive Y direction”).
Regarding claim 5, combination Wang’415-Wang’025 discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Wang’025 further teaches wherein a distance between the first position and the second position is approximately one-fourth of the total length of the optical element driving mechanism (see annotated image, Wang’025, fig.4, REFERRING TO THE SCALE IN THE IMAGE, the distance between the first position and the second position, 1.94, is approximately one-fourth of the total length of the optical element driving mechanism, 7.66). The motivation to combine Wang’415 and Wang’025 as provided in claim 1 is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 6, combination Wang’415-Wang’025 discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Wang’415 further teaches wherein when the movable part (the 1-200) is in the first position and the second position, the sensing assembly (1-410) is in contact with the optical element (see annotated image, Wang’415, fig.9A, fig.9B, and described in claim 2 and claim 3, when the movable part ,1-200 is in the first position and the second position, the sensing assembly, 1-410, is in contact with the optical element 1-210).
Regarding claim 7, combination Wang’415-Wang’025 discloses the invention as described in Claim 1 and Wang’415 further teaches wherein when the movable part is in the first position (Wang’415, paragraph [0148] “When the movable portion 1-200 is located in the first terminal position), a first edge of the optical element is in contact with the sensing assembly (See annotated image, Wang’415, fig.9A, described in claim 3, the optical element is in a first position, the first edge of the optical element is in contact with the sensing assembly 1-410).
Regarding claim 8, combination Wang’415-Wang’025 discloses the invention as described in Claim 7 and Wang’415 further teaches wherein when the movable part is in the second position, a second edge of the optical element is in contact with the sensing assembly (See annotated image, Wang’415, fig.9B, described in claim 4, when the movable part is in the second position, the second edge of the optical element is in contact with the sensing assembly 1-410).
Claims 9 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20200249415, hereinafter called Wang’415) in view of Wang et al. (US20220121025, hereinafter called Wang’025), and further in view of Lin et al. (US20210302690).
Regarding claim 9, combination Wang’415-Wang’025 discloses the invention as described in Claim 8, Wang’415 does not explicitly disclose wherein the first edge and the second edge of the optical element in contact with the sensing assembly have rounded corners.
However, Lin teaches the analogous optical member driving mechanism (Lin, abstract, an optical member driving mechanism for connecting an optical member is provided, including a fixed portion and a first adhesive member), and further teaches wherein the first edge and the second edge of the optical element in contact with the sensing assembly have rounded corners (see Lin, fig.78, having the first edge and the second edge of the optical element 7-112 in contact with the sensing assembly, paragraph [0455] “the base opening 7-1121 corresponds to an image sensing element disposed below the base 7-112”, have rounded corners).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang’415 to have the specific position as taught by Lin for the purpose to be achieved to accurately control the optical element driving mechanism (Lin, paragraph [0583]).
Regarding claim 13, combination Wang’415-Wang’025 discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Wang’415 does not explicitly disclose wherein the movable part comprises a jointing part, laser welded to the optical element.
However, Lin teaches the analogous optical member driving mechanism (Lin, abstract, an optical member driving mechanism for connecting an optical member is provided , including a fixed portion and a first adhesive member), and further teaches wherein the movable part (see Lin, figs.18-22, paragraph [0248] “the movable module 2-MD is movable relative to the casing 2-102, and the frame 2-104”) comprises a jointing part, laser welded (Lin, paragraph [0255] “second connecting protrusion 2-1131 by laser welding, but it is not limited to this”) to the optical element (Lin, fig.21, the 2-112 has been referred to as the optical element).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang’415 to have the specific position as taught by Lin for the purpose to be achieved to accurately control the optical element driving mechanism (Lin, paragraph [0583]).
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20200249415, hereinafter called Wang’415) in view of Wang et al. (US20220121025, hereinafter called Wang’025), and further in view of Zhu et al. (US20250280185).
Regarding claim 10, combination Wang’415-Wang’025 discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Wang’415 does not explicitly disclose wherein the sensing assembly comprises a suspended wire and a circuit element, and the suspended wire is laser welded to the circuit element.
However, Zhu teaches the analogous optical member driving mechanism (Zhu, abstract, Disclosed is a circuit board for a camera module including a circuit board body), and further teaches
the sensing assembly (paragraph [0074] “As shown in FIGS. 1-21”; “a photosensitive assembly 30”) comprises a suspended wire and a circuit element, and the suspended wire is laser welded (paragraph [0117], ”belt hard plate 3132 by welding”) to the circuit element (fig.10, circuit board 31; see paragraph [0117] ”the electrical connection mediums 31322 are fixed with the first conductive holes 31221 by means of laser welding”; paragraph [0092], “As shown in FIGS. 7-12, in an embodiment of the present application, the photosensitive assembly 30 comprises a circuit board 31, a photosensitive chip 32, a base 34 and a filter element 35”; [0093] “The photosensitive chip 32 comprises a photosensitive area 321 and a non-photosensitive area 322321, and the photosensitive chip 32 is electrically connected to the circuit board 31 through the photosensitive chip pad located at the non-photosensitive area 322321. For example, the photosensitive chip 32 can be electrically connected to the circuit board 31 by means of gold wire bonding, leading wire bonding, welding, FC process (flip chip), RDL (redistribution layer technology) and the like. The photosensitive chip 32 is adapted to be fixed on an upper surface (the side of the circuit board 31 facing the lens is defined as the upper surface) of the circuit board 31 through an adhesive medium, or the photosensitive chip 32 is disposed in a circuit board through hole 3111 of the circuit board 31, thereby reducing the influence of the thickness of the circuit board 31 on the thickness of the photosensitive assembly 30, so as to reduce the height of the camera module”; thus, Zhu teaches the sensing assembly 30 comprises a suspended wire 3132 and a circuit element 31, the suspended wire 3132 is laser welded to the circuit element 31; note: the limitations of “is laser welded to” in the claim is product by process limitations, and don’t impart any requirement on the product itself other than what is already structurally claimed, See MPEP 2173.05(p) sec. II) ).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang’415 to have the specific processing as taught by Zhu for the purpose to overcome the deficiencies of the prior art and provide a circuit board and camera module solution that can reduce the movement resistance force of the circuit board body and the photosensitive chip, has a high yield rate and high production efficiency (Zhu, paragraph [0008]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20200249415, hereinafter called Wang’415) in view of Wang et al. (US20220121025, hereinafter called Wang’025) and Zhu et al. (US20250280185), and further in view of Kuo et al. (US20170108660).
Regarding claim 11, combination Wang’415-Wang’025-Zhu discloses the invention as described in Claim 10, Wang’415 does not explicitly disclose wherein teaches wherein one end of the suspended wire is dangled in the air.
However, Kuo teaches the analogous lens driving device (Kuo, abstract, provided are a lens driving device, a camera device, and an electronic apparatus that are capable of smoothly guiding a lens support), and further teaches wherein one end of the suspended wire is dangled in the air (see Kuo, fig.2, one end of the suspended wire 32a is dangled in the air; paragraph [0050] “suspension wires 32a to 32d”).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang’415 to have suspended wire as taught by Kuo for the purpose to provide a lens driving device, a camera device, and an electronic apparatus that are capable of smoothly guiding a lens support (Kuo, paragraph [0007]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20200249415, hereinafter called Wang’415) in view of Wang et al. (US20220121025, hereinafter called Wang’025) and Zhu et al. (US20250280185), and further in view of Oh (US20150296106).
Regarding claim 12, combination Wang’415-Wang’025-zhu discloses the invention as described in Claim 10, Wang’415 does not explicitly disclose wherein the fixed part comprises an outer case, and an insulating element is disposed between the suspended wire and the outer case.
However, Oh teaches the analogous optical driving device (Oh, figs.1-7, camera module), and further teaches wherein the fixed part (fig.2, a housing 20 + shield can 70) comprises an outer case (Oh, fig.2, shield can 70), and an insulating element (Oh, fig.2, paragraph [0047] “a body unit of the base (20) is injection-molded using an insulation material”) is disposed between the suspended wire (fig.2, wire spring 60) and the outer case (fig.2, the 70).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang’415 to have the specific insulating element as taught by Oh for the purpose of making a miniaturized, low power-consuming camera module (Oh, paragraph [0002]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang et al. (US20200249415, hereinafter called Wang’415) in view of Wang et al. (US20220121025, hereinafter called Wang’025), and further in view of Ho et al. (US20200249424).
Regarding claim 14, combination Wang’415-Wang’025 discloses the invention as described in Claim 1, Wang’415 does not explicitly disclose wherein further comprising a transmitting element, connected to the fixed part via a buffering element.
However, Ho teaches the analogous optical member driving mechanism (Ho, abstract, a driving mechanism for moving an optical element is provided), and further teaches wherein comprising a transmitting element, connected to the fixed part via a buffering element (Ho, fig.15, paragraph [0097] “the buffer element 2-G is used as a flexible damper between the holder 2-LH and the base 2-B. The buffer element 2-G is electrically connected to the control circuit element via the contact pads 2-P1 and 2-P2 to form a detection circuit”, thus Ho teaches the transmitting element 2-P2, connected to the fixed part 2-B via the buffering element 2-G).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the apparatus of Wang’415 to have the specific buffering element as taught by Ho for the purpose to follow the trend of miniaturization, meaning that the various components of the camera module or its structure must also be continuously reduced so as to achieve miniaturization (Ho, paragraph [0004]).
Response to Amendment / argument
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims have been considered, see Remarks Page. 4-8 with respect to the 35 U.S.C.&103 rejection have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
In the remarks, applicant argues that:
Applicant argues that Wang ’415 fails to disclose or suggest the limitation “when the movable part is in a first position and a second position, the sensing assembly is electrically connected to the optical element,” because the positioning assembly 1-400 is electrically connected to conductive circuitry associated with the fixed portion rather than to the optical element.In response to applicant's argument(s) of 1
see claim 1, Wang ’415 expressly teaches an optical element driving mechanism including a movable assembly carrying an optical element and a position-sensing/electrical control arrangement. In the embodiment of FIGS. 110–115D, Wang ’415 discloses sensing elements 9-DT1–9-DT5 configured to sense the position of magnetic element 9-MG associated with the movable assembly 9-108 and to provide position information to control circuit 9-150. The control circuit uses the sensed position information to control the driving coils and thereby control movement of the movable assembly 9-108 carrying the optical element. See Wang ’415, FIGS. 110–115D and corresponding paragraphs.
Wang ’415 further teaches that the movable assembly is moved through different positional states, including a first position and a second position. In particular, when magnetic element 9-MG is at the first position, the sensing/control circuitry operates to control the corresponding driving coil, and when magnetic element 9-MG subsequently moves to the second position, the control circuit changes the current supplied to the driving coil. Thus, Wang ’415 teaches electrical position sensing and electrical feedback control of a movable assembly carrying an optical element at different positional states.
Wang ’025 further teaches an optical element driving mechanism having a first movable part 108 carrying an optical element 1082, wherein the first movable part 108 is selectively positioned at a first position and a second position relative to the fixed assembly. See Wang ’025, FIGS. 1–14 and the corresponding disclosure. Wang ’025 further discloses an electrical connection between the optical element driving mechanism and a base plate. Thus, Wang ’025 provides an electrically connected optical-element driving architecture in which the movable optical element is selectively located at different positions.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to apply the position-sensing and electrical feedback-control arrangement of Wang ’415 to the movable optical-element arrangement of Wang ’025, including the electrical connection to the base plate, such that the position sensing information is electrically communicated through the electrical circuitry associated with the optical-element driving mechanism when the movable part is at the respective first and second positions. Such a modification would merely combine known position-sensing and electrical-control circuitry with a known movable optical-element mechanism to provide positional feedback and predictable control of the movable optical element.
(Note: Applicant's argument that the sensing assembly is not directly electrically connected to the optical element is not persuasive because claim 1 does not recite that the sensing assembly must be “directly” electrically connected to the optical element. The claimed limitation does not exclude an electrical connection through one or more intervening conductive components of the optical element driving mechanism. Wang ’415 and Wang ’025 collectively teach such electrically interconnected components and the use of sensed positional information to control the movable optical element.
It would have been obvious to electrically interconnect these known components to provide the claimed positional feedback/control.)
Further, the recited “first position” and “second position” are positional conditions of the movable part, rather than separate structural elements of the movable part. Accordingly, the limitation “when the movable part is in a first position and a second position” is reasonably understood, in view of the claim as a whole, to require the recited electrical relationship when the movable part is at each of the first and second positions. The claim does not require the movable part to physically occupy the first position and the second position simultaneously. Rather, the first position and the second position define different positional states of the movable part during its movement relative to the fixed part. Under MPEP § 2111, claim terms are given their broadest reasonable interpretation consistent with the specification, and the claim language is interpreted according to its ordinary and customary meaning as understood by one of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP § 2111. Thus, the limitation should be interpreted as requiring the sensing assembly to be electrically connected to the optical element when the movable part is in the first position and when the movable part is in the second position. The fact that the movable part occupies different positions at different times does not negate the recited electrical relationship.
Accordingly, Applicant has not shown that the combination of Wang ’415 and Wang ’025 fails to teach or suggest the claimed electrical relationship. Wang ’415 provides the position-sensing and electrical feedback-control arrangement, while Wang ’025 provides a movable optical element selectively positioned at first and second positions within an electrically interconnected optical-element driving mechanism. Modifying the combined arrangement to electrically communicate the sensed positional information through the electrical circuitry associated with the movable optical element would have been a predictable use of known components according to their established functions, and would have provided the expected benefit of positional feedback and control. Therefore, the limitation remains obvious over the combination of Wang ’415 and Wang ’025.
Examiner's Note
Regarding the references, the Examiner cites particular figures, paragraphs, columns and line numbers in the reference(s), as applied to the claims above. Although the particular citations are representative teachings and are applied to specific limitations within the claims, other passages, internally cited references, and figures may also apply. In preparing a response, it is respectfully requested that the Applicant fully consider the references, in their entirety, as potentially disclosing or teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as fully consider the context of the passage as taught by the reference(s) or as disclosed by the Examiner.
Conclusion
Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KUEI-JEN L EDENFIELD/
Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872