DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
As to claim 8: The terms “close to” in lines 5 and 9 of claim 8 are relative terms which render the claim indefinite. The term “close to” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention.
In particular, Applicant’s as-filed specification ¶ 100 appears to be the pertinent portion of Applicant’s disclosure regarding the above limitations and recites “the width W3 of each of the first input 50 and the second input unit 60 that is farther from the sensor mount 40 is smaller than the width W4 of each of the first input unit 50 and the second input unit 60 that is close to the sensor mount”. However, because the aforementioned passage of the as-filed specification does not provide any objective measurement of what the Applicant considers to be “close to” (e.g. “within 1 mm” or “abutting the adjacent element”), the scope of the claim is still considered to be unclear.
As to claim 15: Lines 5 and 9 of the claim recite “close to” and recites limitations similar to claim 8 and suffers from similar issues as those noted above but not repeated herein for brevity.
Because the scope of the claims cannot be ascertained for the above mentioned reasons, a proper and complete prior art search for the claimed subject matter of claims 8 and 15 could not be carried out at this time. The examiner recommends responding to this office action in remarks by indicating how Applicant believes the claim scopes to be defined, preferably by referring to portions of Applicant’s disclosure, and/or amending the claims so as to obviate the instant rejection. In the event that Applicant’s response overcomes the instant 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections, said rejections will be withdrawn and a prior art search for the claimed subject matter of each of claims 8 and 15 will be carried out at that time.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11, 12, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lin et al. US PG-PUB 2020/0200629 A1 (hereafter Lin).
As to claim 1: Lin discloses an input device (10a; see fig. 1a and ¶ 21) comprising:
a force input unit (each of the elements 200, 310a, 320a, 340, and 350 are considered to together constitute a force input unit; see also ¶ 21 and 22) continuous along a first direction (see fig. 1a and ¶ 21 and 22);
a detection unit (300a; see fig. 1a and ¶ 22) coupled to the force input unit in the first direction (see fig. 1a); and
a sensor (310a; see fig. 1a and ¶ 22) provided on the detection unit (see fig. 1a) and configured to detect a force on the detection unit (see ¶ 22 and 23), the detection unit including
a sensor mount (200; see fig. 1a and ¶ 21) on which the sensor is (310a) is provided (see fig. 1a), the sensor mount including a first plane along the first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction (see fig. 1a; the sensor mount portion 200 extends in both the horizontally depicted and vertically depicted directions which are considered to be first and second directions, respectively), and
a first input unit and a second input unit (320a; see fig. 1a - there are two input units, one on each side of central portion 100 and as disclosed in ¶ 22 and 23) disposed on respective sides of the sensor (see fig. 1a) in the first direction, each of the first input unit and the second input unit being coupled to the sensor mount (see fig. 1a), and including a second plane facing the sensor (the vertical portions of the input units 320a each face the sensor 310a),
wherein the sensor (310a) is configured to detect a change in a positional relationship between the first input unit and the second input unit (see ¶ 22 and 23), and
wherein the positional relationship changes in accordance with torsional movement about a first axis along the first direction (see ¶ 22 and 23 regarding the torque/strain measured when a torque is applied that changes the positional relationship between the first and second input units 320a).
As to claim 3: Lin discloses the input device according to claim 1, wherein the detection unit (300a) includes buffer portions facing each other in the second direction when viewed in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction (not labeled but see the end faces of the detection unit 300a that are depicted in the vertical dimension of fig. 1b), and
wherein each of the buffer portions extends from the sensor mount (200) in the third direction (see fig. 1b regarding the vertical extends of the end faces of the detection unit 300a which extend from the sensor mount 200 as depicted in fig. 1a), and couples the first input unit and the second input unit (the input units 320a are coupled via the buffer portions connecting to the sensor mount via the central portion 100 as depicted in fig. 1a).
As to claim 4: Lin discloses the input device according to claim 3, wherein each of the buffer portions (not labeled but see the end faces of the detection unit 300a that are depicted in the vertical dimension of fig. 1b) includes a third plane along the first direction and the third direction (see fig. 1b; the buffer portions extend along the vertical/third direction and the horizontal direction labeled as the “X” axis).
As to claim 5: Lin discloses the input device according to claim 1, wherein the force input unit (each of the elements 200, 310a, 320a, 340, and 350 are considered to together constitute a force input unit; see also ¶ 22) has an arcuate shape when viewed in the second direction (see fig. 1a; the force input unit has an arcuate shape around the exterior edge of element 200),
wherein the force input unit includes both end portions (not labeled but see fig. 1a regarding the ends of detection unit 300a that are connected to the rest of the force input unit as depicted) at which the detection unit (300a) is coupled (see fig. 1a), and
wherein the force input unit and the detection unit have an annular shape (see fig. 1a regarding the annular shape of element 200 and fig. 1c as well as details in ¶ 23 regarding the annularly defined area A2 that is a component of detection 300a).
As to claim 7: Lin discloses the input device according to claim 1, further comprising:
a first bottom plate (not labeled but see fig. 1b regarding the bottom surface of element 310a that is lowest in the direction that runs vertically and perpendicular to axis “X”) extending from the first input unit (element 320a depicted to the right of central portion 100 in fig. 1a) toward an opposite side from the second input unit (element 320a depicted to the left of central portion 100 in fig. 1a) (see fig. 1b); and
a second bottom plate (not labeled but see fig. 1b regarding the bottom surface of element 320a that is lowest in the direction that runs vertically and perpendicular to axis “X”) extending from the second input unit (element 320a depicted to the left of central portion 100 in fig. 1a) toward an opposite side from the first input unit (element 320a depicted to the right of central portion 100 in fig. 1a) (see fig. 1b),
wherein a thickness direction of each of the first bottom plate and the second bottom plate is along a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction (the thickness of the first and second bottom plates is at least partially along the third direction which is perpendicular to the first and second directions), and
wherein each of the first bottom plate and the second bottom plate includes a pair of portions that are spaced apart in the second direction (see fig. 1b; each of the first and second bottom plates include portions that are closer to the other bottom plate or further from the other bottom plate).
As to claim 9: Lin discloses a force sensor (each of the elements 200, 310a, 320a, 340, and 350 are considered to together constitute a force sensor; see also ¶ 21 and 22) comprising:
a detection unit (300a; see fig. 1a and ¶ 22) coupled to the force input unit in the first direction (see fig. 1a); and
a sensor (310a; see fig. 1a and ¶ 22) provided on the detection unit (see fig. 1a) and configured to detect a force on the detection unit (see ¶ 22 and 23), the detection unit including
a sensor mount (200; see fig. 1a and ¶ 21) on which the sensor is (310a) is provided (see fig. 1a), the sensor mount including a first plane along the first direction and a second direction intersecting the first direction (see fig. 1a; the sensor mount portion 200 extends in both the horizontally depicted and vertically depicted directions which are considered to be first and second directions, respectively), and
a first input unit and a second input unit (320a; see fig. 1a - there are two input units, one on each side of central portion 100 and as disclosed in ¶ 22 and 23) disposed on respective sides of the sensor (see fig. 1a) in the first direction, each of the first input unit and the second input unit being coupled to the sensor mount (see fig. 1a), and including a second plane facing the sensor (the vertical portions of the input units 320a each face the sensor 310a),
wherein the sensor (310a) is configured to detect a change in a positional relationship between the first input unit and the second input unit (see ¶ 22 and 23), and
wherein the positional relationship changes in accordance with torsional movement about a first axis along the first direction (see ¶ 22 and 23 regarding the torque/strain measured when a torque is applied that changes the positional relationship between the first and second input units 320a).
As to claim 11: Lin discloses the force sensor according to claim 9, wherein the detection unit (300a) includes buffer portions facing each other in the second direction when viewed in a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction (not labeled but see the end faces of the detection unit 300a that are depicted in the vertical dimension of fig. 1b), and
wherein each of the buffer portions extends from the sensor mount (200) in the third direction (see fig. 1b regarding the vertical extends of the end faces of the detection unit 300a which extend from the sensor mount 200 as depicted in fig. 1a), and couples the first input unit and the second input unit (the input units 320a are coupled via the buffer portions connecting to the sensor mount via the central portion 100 as depicted in fig. 1a).
As to claim 12: Lin discloses the input device according to claim 11, wherein each of the buffer portions (not labeled but see the end faces of the detection unit 300a that are depicted in the vertical dimension of fig. 1b) includes a third plane along the first direction and the third direction (see fig. 1b; the buffer portions extend along the vertical/third direction and the horizontal direction labeled as the “X” axis).
As to claim 14: Lin discloses the input device according to claim 9, further comprising:
a first bottom plate (not labeled but see fig. 1b regarding the bottom surface of element 310a that is lowest in the direction that runs vertically and perpendicular to axis “X”) extending from the first input unit (element 320a depicted to the right of central portion 100 in fig. 1a) toward an opposite side from the second input unit (element 320a depicted to the left of central portion 100 in fig. 1a) (see fig. 1b); and
a second bottom plate (not labeled but see fig. 1b regarding the bottom surface of element 320a that is lowest in the direction that runs vertically and perpendicular to axis “X”) extending from the second input unit (element 320a depicted to the left of central portion 100 in fig. 1a) toward an opposite side from the first input unit (element 320a depicted to the right of central portion 100 in fig. 1a) (see fig. 1b),
wherein a thickness direction of each of the first bottom plate and the second bottom plate is along a third direction intersecting the first direction and the second direction (the thickness of the first and second bottom plates is at least partially along the third direction which is perpendicular to the first and second directions), and
wherein each of the first bottom plate and the second bottom plate includes a pair of portions that are spaced apart in the second direction (see fig. 1b; each of the first and second bottom plates include portions that are closer to the other bottom plate or further from the other bottom plate).
References Cited but not Relied Upon
Hovis US PG-PUB 2016/0252417 A1 discloses methods for determining strain on turbine components comprising a plurality of strain sensor reference features and appears pertinent to Applicant’s disclosure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8 and 15 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 8: The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious to the skilled artisan an input device wherein in the second direction, a width of a portion of the first input unit farther from the sensor mount is smaller than a width of a portion of the first input unit close to the sensor mount, and wherein in the second direction, a width of a portion of the second input unit farther from the sensor mount is smaller than a width of a portion of the second input unit close to the sensor mount, when considered in combination with the limitations of parent claim 1 and when considered in accordance with the details of the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection outlined previously above.
In particular, while Lin is considered to disclose a first input unit and a second input unit (320a; see fig. 1a - there are two input units, one on each side of central portion 100 and as disclosed in ¶ 22 and 23) and a sensor mount (200), there is no disclosure, teaching, suggestion, or motivation to modify Lin nor any of the other available cited prior art to arrive at Applicant’s claimed invention as set forth by the limitations of claim 8 such that the claimed first input unit widths and second input unit widths are smaller than widths of the first or second input units close to the sensor mount, respectively.
As to claim 15: The claim recites limitations similar to claim 8 and accordingly is also objected to for reasons similar thereto while also being rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) and said reasons are not repeated herein for brevity.
Claims 2, 6, 10, and 13 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 2: The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious to the skilled artisan an input device wherein the second detection unit contacts the second input unit in the first direction, when considered in combination with the other limitations of the instant claim and with those of parent claim 1.
In particular, while Lin is considered to disclose a sensor (310a) that includes a first detection unit (312a; see fig. 1b and ¶ 22) and a second detection unit (314a; see fig. 1b and ¶ 30), wherein the first detection unit (312a) contacts the first input unit (element 320a depicted to the right of 310a in fig. 1a) in the first direction, there does not appear to be any disclosure, teaching, suggestion, or obvious modification of Lin to teach the feature of a second detection unit contacting the second input unit in the first direction. At best, Lin teaches an end portion 314a contacting the first detection unit 312a as depicted in fig. 1b but this does not teach or render obvious the aforementioned deficient features and therefore the instant claim is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
As to claim 6: The prior art of record does not disclose or render obvious to the skilled artisan an input device wherein the second direction, the sensor mount is narrower than each of the first input unit and the second input unit, when considered in combination with the limitations of parent claim 1.
In particular, while Lin is considered to disclose a sensor mount (200; see fig. 1a) extending in a second direction (the vertical direction perpendicular to axis “X” as depicted in fig. 1a), a first input unit and a second input unit (320a; see fig. 1a - there are two input units, one on each side of central portion 100 and as disclosed in ¶ 22 and 23), there is no disclosure, teaching, suggestion, or motivation available in Lin or the other available prior art that renders obvious to the skilled artisan the sensor mount being narrower than each of the first input unit and the second input unit when considered with the limitations of parent claim 1.
As to claim 10: The claim recites limitations similar to claim 2 and accordingly is objected to for reasons similar thereto but not repeated herein for brevity.
As to claim 13: The claim recites limitations similar to claim 6 and accordingly is objected to for reasons similar thereto but not repeated herein.
Conclusion
/JOHN M ROYSTON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2855