DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Status of Claims
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 11-19, and 21-24 are pending of which claims 1, 9 and 15 are in independent form.
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 11-19, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101.
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 11-19, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Regarding 35 USC 101, Abstract Idea:
Applicants’ arguments/amendments have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Although amended claims recite an API endpoint and concurrent execution of at least two searches, the claim remains directed to collecting structured information, standardizing the information, applying multiple analytical/search techniques to the information, selecting a result based on the resulting information, and communicating additional information. The API endpoint merely provides a generic communication mechanism through which the data and results are transmitted, and the concurrent-execution limitation specified when the abstract search operation are performed without reciting a particular improvement to parallel processing technology. Moreover, Applicant’s alleged technological benefits rely on features not required by the claim, including a specialized APL having specific parameters, server side execution remote from the user device, regex/fuzzy matching infrastructure, nearest-neighbor searching and score based result selection. Accordingly, the additional elements do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application and, whether considered individually or as an ordered combined, do not amount to significantly more than implementing the abstract information process using generic computing and communication components.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-5, 7, 9, 11-19, and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a judicial exception (i.e., a law of nature, a natural phenomenon, or an abstract idea) without significantly more.
The claim(s) recite(s) data enrichment using parallel processing.
With respect to step 1 of the patent subject matter eligibility analysis, the claims are directed to a process, machine, manufacture, or composition of matter.
Independent Claim 1 is directed to a system, including “one or more processors; and one or ore memories”, which is a machine, and directed to one of the 4 categories of patent eligible subject matter.
Independent claim 9 is directed to a method, which is a process.
Independent Claim 15 is directed to a non-transitory computer-readable medium, including, which is a machine, and directed to one of the 4 categories of patent eligible subject matter.
All other claims depend on claims 1, 9 and 15. As such, claims 1-20 are directed to a statutory category.
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 15:
With respect to step 2A, Prong One, prong one, the claims recite an abstract idea, law of nature, or natural phenomenon. Specifically, the following limitations recite mathematical concepts and/or mental processes and/or certain methods of organizing human activity.
The claims recite operations that are generally abstract in nature:
Receiving a structured data;
Normalizes the structured data;
Executes at least two search concurrently, where searches include:
first search configured to map a portion of the first entry to a first result
sending entry to ML model to obtain results
mapping a vectorized version to a vector database
or another different search
determines a select result based on results from the searches;
output the results including enhancement information.
The claims are directed to: collecting data, processing/transforming data (normalized, mapping, vectorization), running parallel search, comparing/combining results, selecting a result, outputting information.
The claims fall within:
Mental Process (evaluating multiple sources of information, comparing results, selecting a best results, derive additional information).
Data Conversion and manipulation (normalized, mapping, vectorization);
Mathematica Algorithm/Concept (vectorization, confidence type selection logic);
Examiner hereby specifies that collecting data, processing/transforming data (normalized, mapping, vectorization), running parallel search, comparing/combining results, selecting a result, outputting information as mathematical concepts/algorithm and/or mental process.
There are no steps performed that provides a technical improvement to the computing system itself (improved caching algorithm, improved database indexing, improved memory efficiency, improved cache eviction strategy; improved computing architecture). All the steps are generic, and conventional.
Thus, the claims recite an abstract idea (Mental Process/Mathematical/Data Manipulation algorithm).
With respect to step 2A, Prong Two, prong two, the claims do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application. The following limitations are considered “additional elements” and explanation will be given as to why these “additional elements” do not integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
The claims do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. The claims merely recite generic components:
One or more processors,
memories,
API,
executing searches (ML model, vector DB, partial matching)
Converting formats.
These components merely use conventional computer components as tools to execute the abstract idea.
Examiner specifies that generic computer implementation (processor, memory..), use of know techniques (ML model interface, vector DM, …), parallel execution (not a technological improvement), do not provide a meaningful integration of the abstract idea into a practical application.
The claims do not:
Improve ML model architecture
Improve API architecture
Improve vector DB structure
Improve search algorithms
Improve memory or processor operation
The limitations fail to improve hardware (no improvements to memory structure, CPU operation, storage optimization, etc.). There are also no improvements to computer functionality or any specific technical solution to a computer centric problems (the claims merely automate tasks humans perform conceptually: normalizing datasets and mapping relations). The claims fail to provide a particular technological solutions (such as how conversion occur). The computer merely used as a tool, which is an abstract improvement to information presentation and not technical improvements. There is no recitation of, a new data structure that changes computer operation, improved communication, an unconventional indexing/conversion technique, a specific hardware solution.
Instead the claims recite conventional and generic computer functions performed in a routine manner, which does not amount to a practical application.
With respect to Step 2B. The claims do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. The additional limitations are directed to a computer readable storage medium, computer, memory, and processor, at a very high level of generality and without imposing meaningful limitations on the scope of the claim.
In addition, generic off‐the‐shelf computer‐based elements for implementing the claimed invention, which does not amount to significantly more than the abstract idea and is not enough to transform an abstract idea into eligible subject matter.
Claims recite:
Parallel search = routine optimization
Using ML, Vector DB, … = well understood, routine, conventional
Combining results = standard data processing
Such generic, high‐level, and nominal involvement of a computer or computer‐based elements for carrying out the invention merely serves to tie the abstract idea to a particular technological environment, which is not enough to render the claims patent‐eligible, as noted at pg.74624 of Federal Register/Vol. 79, No. 241, citing Alice, which in turn cites Mayo. Further, See, e.g., Alice Corp. Pty. Ltd. v. CLS Bank Int'l, 134 S. Ct. 2347, 2359‐60, 110 USPQ2d 1976, 1984 (2014). See also OIP Techs. v. Amazon.com, 788 F.3d 1359, 1364, 115 USPQ2d 1090, 1093‐94 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("Just as Diehr could not save the claims in Alice, which were directed to 'implement[ing] the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer', it cannot save O/P's claims directed to implementing the abstract idea of price optimization on a generic computer.") (citations omitted). See also, Affinity Labs of Texas LLC v. DirecTV LLC, 838 F.3d 1253, 1257‐1258 (Fed. Cir. 2016) (mere recitation of a GUI does not make a claimpatent‐eligible); Intellectual Ventures I LLC v. Capital One Bank, 792 F.3d 1363, 1370 (Fed. Cir. 2015) ("the interactive interface limitation is a generic computer element".).
The additional elements are broadly applied to the abstract idea at a high level of generality ("similar to how the recitation of the computer in the claims in Alice amounted to mere instructions to apply the abstract idea of intermediated settlement on a generic computer,") as explained in MPEP § 2106.05(f)) and they operate in a well‐understood, routine, and conventional manner.
MPEP § 2106.0S(d)(II) sets forth the following:
The courts have recognized the following computer functions as well-understood, routine, and conventional functions when they are claimed in a merely generic manner (e.g., at a high level of generality) or as insignificant extra-solution activity.
• Receiving or transmitting data over a network, e.g., using the Internet to gather data, Symantec ... ; TLI Communications LLC v. AV Auto. LLC ... ; OIP Techs., Inc., v. Amazon.com, Inc ... ; buySAFE, Inc. v. Google, Inc ... ;
• Performing repetitive calculations, Flook ... ; Bancorp Services v. Sun Life ... ;
• Electronic recordkeeping, Alice Corp ... ; Ultramercial ... ;
• Storing and retrieving information in memory, Versata Dev. Group, Inc. v. SAP Am., Inc ... ;
• Electronically scanning or extracting data from a physical document, Content Extraction and Transmission, LLC v. Wells Fargo Bank ... ; and
• A web browser's back and forward button functionality, Internet Patent
• Corp. v. Active Network, Inc. ...
. . . Courts have held computer-implemented processes not to be significantly more than an abstract idea (and thus ineligible) where the claim as a whole amounts to nothing more than generic computer functions merely used to implement an abstract idea, such as an idea that could be done by a human analog (i.e., by hand or by merely thinking).
In addition, when taken as an ordered combination, the ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements integrate the abstract idea into a practical application. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Therefore, when viewed as a whole, these additional claim elements do not provide meaningful limitations to transform the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea or that the ordered combination amounts to significantly more than the abstract idea itself.
The dependent claims have been fully considered as well, however, similar to the findings for claims above, these claims are similarly directed to the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas set forth in the 2019 PEG, without integrating it into a practical application and with, at most, a general purpose computer that serves to tie the idea to a particular technological environment, which does not add significantly more to the claims. The ordered combination of elements in the dependent claims (including the limitations inherited from the parent claim(s)) add nothing that is not already present as when the elements are taken individually. There is no indication that the combination of elements improves the functioning of a computer or improves any other technology. Their collective functions merely provide conventional computer implementation. Accordingly, the subject matter encompassed by the dependent claims fails to amount to significantly more than the abstract idea.
Regarding claim 2 (Repetition Across Additional Entries/Results),
What it adds:
The claims further specify:
Performing the same multi-search enhancement for the second entry;
Determining another selected results and confidence level.
This is merely representing the same abstract process of claim 1. Such operations represent mental process/mathematical concept/data processing.
There is no improvement to:
How search is performed,
How results are determined, or
Any technical mechanism.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 3, 4, 11, 13 and 14 (Data Transmission/API/Data Source Interaction),
What they add:
The claims further specify:
Sending a request to:
Vector database host
ML host
Data source
Receiving results or structured data;
API based input/output;
Use of credentials.
This is merely generic data communication steps. These claims simply describe: client server interaction; API calls; request/response patterns. Such operations represent insignificant extra solution activity, generic computer/network functions.
The claims do no:
Improve networking protocol,
Improve DB retrieval mechanism,
Improve ML model operations,
Introduce a new communication architecture.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 5, 7, 12, 19, 22 and 23 (Result Selection/Scoring/Decision Logic),
What they add:
The claims further specify:
Selecting results based on:
Confidence level
Scores
Outputting confidence value;
Selecting highest scores among results;
Using metadata to calculate confidence.
Ranking and selecting results based on similarity and location association;
Calculating confidence using: fuzzy-match, ML confidence score, vector-space distance.
This is merely classic evaluation and decision-making steps. These claims simply describe: ranking options, scoring alternatives. Choosing the best results. Such operations are considered mental process (evaluation and selection) and mathematical algorithm (scoring, ranking).
The claims do no:
Improve scoring algorithms,
Improve ML model accuracy in a technical sense,
Improve ranking algorithm
Improve confidence score calculation
Introduce a new mathematical technique.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claim 7 (Output/presentation/Transmission of Results),
What they add:
The claims further specify:
Transmitting results to a device;
Output via API.
This is merely displaying or transmitting results. Such operations are considered insignificant post solution activity.
The claims do no improve:
UI,
rendering,
communication efficiency.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 16, 17 and 18 (Tokenization/Normalization Details),
What they add:
The claims further specify:
breaking entry into subwords/tokens;
normalization steps;
Casing
Whitespace stripping
Punctuation processing
This is merely data processing technique. These claims simply describe common: NLP pipeline, text processing system. Such operations are considered mental process (data manipulation).
The claims do no:
Improve computer memory architecture,
Improve tokenization algorithm techniques,
Introduce a new encoding scheme.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Regarding claims 21 and 24 (Data Type/Information Organization),
What they add:
The claims further specify:
Specifies that the database contains enhancement information such as standardized name, location, or URL;
Specifies which categories of enhancement information are included depending on which search produced the selected result.
This is merely displaying or transmitting results. Such operations are considered insignificant post solution activity.
The claims do no improve:
Database technology
Search, storage, or computer operation.
This does not change the nature of the abstract idea. It does not add a technical improvement to an abstract idea, such as improving computer functionality, data structure, or processing architecture.
There is no practical application, and no inventive step, the claims are still considered abstract.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3-5, 7, 9, 11-15, 19 and 21-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha; Ankit Kumar et al. (US 20230101817 A1) [Sinha] in view of Ziegler; Zachary Michael et al. (US 12243653 B1) [Ziegler] in view of Hu; Houdong et al. (US 20190318405 A1) [Hu] in view of Jin; Zhongkun et al. (US 20220121649 A1) [Jin].
Regarding claims 1, 9 and 15, Sinha discloses, a system for data enrichment using a plurality of searches in parallel, the system comprising: one or more memories; and one or more processors, communicatively coupled to the one or more memories (see Figs. 6, 8A-B),
execute, via the one or more processors, based on an API call to the provisioned API endpoint (Application Program Interface (“API”) or similar interface. An API may be considered an interface that allows a user, on the user's local machine, or a service account on a system to communicate with a server or other computing device on a remote machine ¶ [0079]. In some configurations, users may revise the rules (remotely and/or locally) using a user interface (e.g., generating inputs via a user interface layer 622 in FIG. 6) or application programming interface (e.g., passing request programmatically using APIs/SDKs) ¶ [0177]), [and based on the normalized set of structured data], a plurality of searches concurrently, wherein the plurality of searches comprises: a first search configured to map a portion of the first entry to a first result (In some implementations, fuzzy logic may be implemented separately or as part of the RegEx to identify partial matches of the string to filters or expressions. The fuzzy logic output may comprise estimates or partial matches and corresponding values, such as “60% true” or “40% false” for a given match of a string to a filter or expression. Such implementations may be particularly helpful in instances where the RegEx fails to find an exact match, e.g. either 100% matching the filter (e.g. true) or 0% matching (e.g. false). The fuzzy logic may be implemented serially or in parallel with the RegEx at step 140 in some implementations, and in some implementations, both exact and fuzzy matching may be referred to as RegEx matching ¶ [0095]. Fuzzy models (including RegEx classifiers ¶ [0135]);
a second search configured to provide the first entry to a machine learning model in order to receive a second result (the classifiers employed in the third mashup 130 may be a third subset of classifiers, the third subset of classifiers including a neural network, as discussed above, an elastic search model, as discussed above, an XGBoost model, as discussed above, an automated machine learning model, as discussed above, and a Regular Expression (RegEx) classifier, as discussed above ¶ [0097]. Also see ¶ [0135]-[0136]); and
a third search configured to map a vectorized version of the first entry to a third result in a vector database (The neurons 208 in the first layer may each receive flattened one-dimensional input vectors 205 ¶ [0041]. Word2Vec neural networks may take one or more string inputs and return vectors that group strings together based on similarity. In a simple example, a neural network may group “cat” with “kitten” and group “dog” with “puppy” ¶ [0192]-[0193]. Each of the weight values can be assigned to a coordinate in the TF-IDF vector data structure. In some implementations, the resulting vector may be compared to vectors generated from template or sample documents, e.g. via a trained neural network or other classifier ¶ [0061]); and
output the selected result, including enhancement information for the first entry, and the confidence level (The data extracted from the document (or page) and displayed to a user will be the data that received the highest confidence scores after performing each of the various matching models ¶ [0165]. The confidence score indicates, for example, how confident the second machine learning model is in displaying that the Loan Number on a document is 12345, where the extracted data (e.g., 12345) is determined from one or more algorithms and/or models. In the event the confidence score exceeds a threshold, the process may proceed to step 770 ¶ [0200]. Also see ¶ [0232] and [0235]).
However, Sinha does not explicitly facilitate configured to: receive a set of structured data including at least a first entry; normalize the set of structured data; and based on the normalized set of structured data.
Ziegler discloses, configured to: receive a set of structured data including at least a first entry (The system receives a structured data record and a corresponding textual data record (1302) [col. 29, ll. 66-67]. The clustering engine 1404 is configured to receive: (i) the set of structured data records 204 [col. 32, ll. 31-32]);
normalize the set of structured data; and based on the normalized set of structured data (standardization engine…configured to standardize the set of structured data (normalize the set of structured data) [col. 33, ll. 38-53]. Replacing text in structured data records with standardized text strings (normalize across records) [col. 33, ll. 54-67]. Cluster system configured to standardize textual data included in the structured data records (normalization applied to set of data structures) [col. 19, ll. 17-35]. Normalization via cluster and consistent representation [col. 10, ll. 6-13]. Normalization propagated across dataset [col. 7, ll. 5-11]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Ziegler's system would have allowed Sinha to facilitate configured to: receive a set of structured data including at least a first entry; normalize the set of structured data; and based on the normalized set of structured data. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Sinha’s reference, because there a need to improve generating structured data representations from unstructured input text sequences through a neural network-based extraction.
However, neither Sinha nor Ziegler explicitly facilitate execute,.., at least two searches of a plurality of searches concurrently, wherein the plurality of searches includes two or more of: a second search configured to provide the first entry to a machine learning model in order to receive a second result; a third search configured to map a vectorized version of the first entry to a third result in a vector database; or a fourth search related to the first entry, wherein the fourth search is different from the first, the second, or the third search; determine a selected result based at least in part on results associated with the at least two searches; wherein the enhancement information includes additional data determined based on executing the at least two searches.
Hu discloses, execute,.., at least two searches of a plurality of searches concurrently, wherein the plurality of searches includes two or more of: (In some example embodiments, results from multiple identification methods may be combined to improve accuracy. For example, parallel search operations may be performed utilizing a fine-grain classifier or a product search based on the visual search, as described with reference to method 600. If the two methods provide the same product identity, then there is a high confidence that the product has been correctly identified. In addition, one or more rules may be defined to combine the results from two or more identification methods ¶ [0077]);
a second search configured to provide the first entry to a machine learning model in order to receive a second result (classification performed using ML (NN)l DNN generate query vectors ¶ [0045], [0091]); and
a third search configured to map a vectorized version of the first entry to a third result in a vector database (high-dimensional vectors and distance calculation; comparison of DNN vectors with index vectors; index images stored in index database; query vector compared with candidate vectors ¶ [0079], [0087], [0090], [0091]);
a fourth search related to the first entry, wherein the fourth search is different from the first, the second, or the third search (multiple identification methods; classifier based processing; product search vs classifier ¶ [0045], [0077]);
determine a selected result based at least in part on results associated with the at least two searches (combining results from multiple identification methods; ranking candidate results ¶ [0077], [0091]);
wherein the enhancement information includes additional data determined based on executing the at least two searches (improved results using combined signals (such as embeddings and multimodal inputs), combining multiple identification method outputs ¶ [0039], [0077]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Dwivedi's system would have allowed Sinha and Ziegler to facilitate execute,.., at least two searches of a plurality of searches concurrently, wherein the plurality of searches includes two or more of: a second search configured to provide the first entry to a machine learning model in order to receive a second result; a third search configured to map a vectorized version of the first entry to a third result in a vector database; or a fourth search related to the first entry, wherein the fourth search is different from the first, the second, or the third search; determine a selected result based at least in part on results associated with the at least two searches; wherein the enhancement information includes additional data determined based on executing the at least two searches. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Sinha and Ziegler’s reference, because there a need to improve programs for identifying products embedded within an image and, more particularly, methods, systems, and computer programs for identifying the brand and product identifier of the products within the image.
However, neither one of Sinha, Ziegler or Hu explicitly facilitates provision an application programming interface (API) endpoint for a remote user device; via the provisioned API endpoint; wherein the selected result is output to the remote user device via the provisioned API endpoint.
Jin discloses, provision an application programming interface (API) endpoint for a remote user device (As described below, external user account systems may provide public and/or non-public (e.g., proprietary) application programming interfaces (APIs) by which user account data may be accessed by first-party software applications (e.g., mobile device software applications) of the external institutions. However, as further described below, the system of the present disclosure may enable access to service provider user account data via such public/non-public APIs of the external user account systems by, e.g., instantiating virtual and/or proxy instances of the first-party software applications of the external institutions. External user accounts may also be referred to herein as “user accounts.” ¶ [0041]. Also see ¶ [0051]-[0053], [0055]-[0057], [0105]-[0107], [0117]);
via the provisioned API endpoint (Application Programming Interface (API): A set of routines, protocols, and/or tools for building a software application. Generally, an API defines a standardized set of operations, inputs, outputs, and underlying types, such that functionality is accessible via the API in an efficient way ¶ [0043]. The initial request may be received through a normalized API (e.g., API 110) as a connection request. The connection request may be accompanied by parameters that specify a selected institution (if there are multiple institution options) and user credentials for the institution. The user credentials may include a username, password, pin code, and/or any suitable credentials ¶ [0062], [0068]); and
wherein the selected result is output to the remote user device via the provisioned API endpoint (Application Programming Interface (API): A set of routines, protocols, and/or tools for building a software application. Generally, an API defines a standardized set of operations, inputs, outputs, and underlying types, such that functionality is accessible via the API in an efficient way ¶ [0043]. the API 110 allows an API request to specify an account, and a response output provides the information related to executing a transaction with the endpoint. In one implementation, the API 110 can include at least one API resource for interacting with the transaction endpoint ¶ [0100]. The transaction specified by the normalized API request is executed by using the collected transaction information (block 1030). A normalized API response is provided to the external system (block 1040). The normalized API response provides results of the transaction ¶ [0112]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Jin's system would have allowed Sinha, Ziegler and Hu to facilitates provision an application programming interface (API) endpoint for a remote user device; via the provisioned API endpoint; wherein the selected result is output to the remote user device via the provisioned API endpoint. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Sinha, Ziegler and Hu’s reference, because there a need to improve granting access to user accounts by providing credentials related to those accounts.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, transmit a request including the first entry to a database host associated with the vector database; and receive the third result from the database host in response to the request (Sinha: The neurons 208 in the first layer may each receive flattened one-dimensional input vectors 205 ¶ [0041]. Word2Vec neural networks may take one or more string inputs and return vectors that group strings together based on similarity. In a simple example, a neural network may group “cat” with “kitten” and group “dog” with “puppy” ¶ [0192]-[0193]. Each of the weight values can be assigned to a coordinate in the TF-IDF vector data structure. In some implementations, the resulting vector may be compared to vectors generated from template or sample documents, e.g. via a trained neural network or other classifier ¶ [0061]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, transmit a request including the first entry to a machine learning host associated with the machine learning model; and receive the second result from the machine learning host in response to the request (Sinha: the classifiers employed in the third mashup 130 may be a third subset of classifiers, the third subset of classifiers including a neural network, as discussed above, an elastic search model, as discussed above, an XGBoost model, as discussed above, an automated machine learning model, as discussed above, and a Regular Expression (RegEx) classifier, as discussed above ¶ [0097]. Also see ¶ [0135]-[0136]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, output a confidence level, associated with the selected result, with the selected result and comprising a probability associated with the selected result; and determine the selected result based on confidence level (Sinha: In addition to a classifier returning a document label, a classifier may return a confidence score. The confidence score may be used to indicate the classifier's confidence in the classifier's label classification. In some embodiments, the classifier's confidence score may be determined based on the classification. For example, as discussed herein, classifiers may employ a softmax classifier to transform a numerical output produced by a model into a classification and subsequent label. The softmax classifier may produce a classification label based on a probability distribution utilizing the predicted numerical values, over several output classes ¶ [0073]. If models/algorithms searching the document/page for exact string matches are successful, the confidence value associated with the extracted data may be boosted ¶ [0162], [0163], [0165], [0183], [0199], [0200], [0232], [0235]).
Regarding claim 6, (Canceled).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, wherein the one or more processors, to output the selected result, are configured to: output a confidence level associated with the selected result transmit the selected result and the confidence level to a device that triggered the plurality of searches by performing an API call (Sinha: The data extracted from the document (or page) and displayed to a user will be the data that received the highest confidence scores after performing each of the various matching models ¶ [0165]. The confidence score indicates, for example, how confident the second machine learning model is in displaying that the Loan Number on a document is 12345, where the extracted data (e.g., 12345) is determined from one or more algorithms and/or models. In the event the confidence score exceeds a threshold, the process may proceed to step 770 ¶ [0200]. Also see ¶ [0232] and [0235]).
Regarding claim 8, (Canceled).
Regarding claim 10, (Canceled).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, transmitting, to a data source, a request for the set of structured data; and receiving the set of structured data in response to the request (Ziegler: transmitting a request to generate an article based on a set of structured data records associated with the identified cluster [col. 7, ll. 15-18]. Extracting a plurality of text sequences from search results obtained by querying a search engine using the search queries [col. 9, ll. 36-38], [col. 47, ll. 34-43]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, wherein the first result is associated with a first score, the second result is associated with a second score, the third result is associated with a third score, and determining the selected result comprises: selecting from the first result, the second result, or the third result based on a highest score of the first score, the second score, or the third score (Sinha: If models/algorithms searching the document/page for exact string matches are successful, the confidence value associated with the extracted data may be boosted. That is, there is a higher confidence that the models/algorithms worked well (because there was an exact match to strings in the document/page) and the extracted content is likely accurate ¶ [0162], [0163], [0165], [0183], [0231]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, receiving an indication of the set of structured data from a user device; and receiving the set of structured data from a data source based on the indication (Ziegler: In some implementations, the method further comprises: generating a set of one or more features for each of the plurality of clusters; and identifying a cluster as representing a subject for an article based on the set of features associated with the cluster; and transmitting a request to generate an article based on a set of structured data records associated with the identified cluster [col. 7, ll. 12-18]. Also see [col. 6, ll. 20-44]).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, receiving a set of credentials from the user device, wherein the set of structured data is received using the set of credentials (Jin: Users may grant access to their user accounts by providing credentials related to those accounts. Account data may be obtained from such user accounts. The account data may or may not be in a useful format ¶ [0005]. Also see ¶ [0047], [0056], [0070], [0082]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, wherein the one or more instructions, cause the device to: receive a plurality of possible results associated with a plurality of scores; and select a confidence level, from the plurality of scores, associated with the selected result from the plurality of possible results (Sinha: The data extracted from the document (or page) and displayed to a user will be the data that received the highest confidence scores after performing each of the various matching models ¶ [0165]. The confidence score indicates, for example, how confident the second machine learning model is in displaying that the Loan Number on a document is 12345, where the extracted data (e.g., 12345) is determined from one or more algorithms and/or models. In the event the confidence score exceeds a threshold, the process may proceed to step 770 ¶ [0200]. Also see ¶ [0232] and [0235]. If models/algorithms searching the document/page for exact string matches are successful, the confidence value associated with the extracted data may be boosted ¶ [0162], [0163], [0183] and [0199]).
Regarding claim 20, (Canceled).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, map the portion of the first entry to a matching record in a database, wherein the matching records includes enhancement information associated with an entity corresponding to the first entry (Sinha: In some implementations, fuzzy logic may be implemented separately or as part of the RegEx to identify partial matches of the string to filters or expressions. The fuzzy logic output may comprise estimates or partial matches and corresponding values, such as “60% true” or “40% false” for a given match of a string to a filter or expression. Such implementations may be particularly helpful in instances where the RegEx fails to find an exact match, e.g. either 100% matching the filter (e.g. true) or 0% matching (e.g. false). The fuzzy logic may be implemented serially or in parallel with the RegEx at step 140 in some implementations, and in some implementations, both exact and fuzzy matching may be referred to as RegEx matching ¶ [0095]. Fuzzy models (including RegEx classifiers ¶ [0135]), and
wherein the enhancement information includes at least one of a standardized name, a location indicator, a category, or a uniform resource locator associated with a merchant or an entity corresponding to the first entry (Jin: matching the text string to a plurality of locations within a location corpus to extract location information from the text string, and identifying a candidate entity from the text string based on a similarity score with respect to a plurality of entities within an entity corpus. The method further involves in response to the similarity score of the identified candidate entity being less than a threshold score, generating entity information using the tokens indicative of entity information, and generating normalized transaction data including the extracted location information and one of the identified candidate entity or the generated entity information [Abstract]. Also see ¶ [0069], [0139], [0144], [0146]-[0147], [0179], [0181], and [0185]).
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, rank a plurality of candidate results based on, a string similarity between a normalized version of the first entry and a plurality of candidate results; and determine the selected result from the plurality of candidate results based on the ranking (Sinha: In addition to performing fuzzy matching in step 760, the construction of the strings may be modified to determine string similarity scores. For example, one string construction may include considering a sentence to be a string. The token sort approach involves creating tokens associated with several characters in the string, alphabetizing the tokens, and subsequently analyzing the original string with respect to the alphabetized token string. For instance, the string “peanuts and crackerjacks” may appear dissimilar to the string “crackerjacks and peanuts.” However, while the strings are not exactly matched, the strings are the same, but merely in dissimilar constructions. Considering other constructions of the string may highlight the similarity of the strings. For example, using the token sort approach, both strings would result in “and cracker jacks peanuts.” Thus, the strings would exactly match and yield a high string similarity score ¶ [0197]);
and an association between a first location related to the first entry and a second location associated with the plurality of candidate results (Jin: matching the text string to a plurality of locations within a location corpus to extract location information from the text string ¶ [0007], [0011], [0013]).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, calculate a confidence level associated with the selected result based on at least one of: a proportion of characters in the first entry matched during fuzzy matching associated with the first search, a confidence score output by the machine learning model associated with the second search, or a distance in an encoding space between a vectorized version of the first entry and the third result associated with the third search (Sinha: If models/algorithms searching the document/page for string matches in data fields associated with non-line items are unsuccessful, other association matching (or comparison, or fuzzy) models and/or algorithms may be applied to the document/page. That is, instead of applying models/algorithms that search for exact matches of strings in a document/page, models/algorithms may be applied to a document/page that look for associations between strings. If the fuzzy matching algorithms successfully correlate strings in the document/page (e.g., a similarity score between two strings satisfy a threshold) then the confidence associated with the extracted data may be boosted. The data extracted from the document and displayed to a user (or selected or stored) will be the data that received the highest confidence scores after performing each of the various matching (or comparison) models ¶ [0163]. Also see ¶ [0235], [0093]-[0095]).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, wherein the enhancement information includes one or more categories of information selected from a standardized name, a location indicator, a category, a category identifier, a personal-finance category, and a uniform resource locator (Jin: matching the text string to a plurality of locations within a location corpus to extract location information from the text string, and identifying a candidate entity from the text string based on a similarity score with respect to a plurality of entities within an entity corpus. The method further involves in response to the similarity score of the identified candidate entity being less than a threshold score, generating entity information using the tokens indicative of entity information, and generating normalized transaction data including the extracted location information and one of the identified candidate entity or the generated entity information [Abstract]. Also see ¶ [0069], [0139], [0144], [0146]-[0147], [0179], [0181], and [0185]), and
wherein the one or more processors are configured to selectively include, in the enhancement information, one or more of the categories of information based on which of the first search, the second search, or the third search produced the selected result (Hu: A representation of a detected object may comprise one or more of: visual identification/tagging of a detected object (e.g., categorical classification(s) for a detected object), presentation of contextually relevant visual search results or suggestions for a detected object and/or surfacing of an example bounding box for a detected object, among other examples ¶ [0099]; also see ¶ [0111], [0112] and [0114]).
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha in view of Ziegler in view of Hu in view of Jin in view of Dwivedi; Akash et al. (US 20220043807 A1) [Dwivedi].
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin discloses, calculate an additional confidence level associated with the additional selected result (Sinha: If models/algorithms searching the document/page for exact string matches are successful, the confidence value associated with the extracted data may be boosted ¶ [0162], [0163], [0165], [0183], [0199], [0200], [0232], [0235]); and
output the additional selected result, including enhancement information for the second entry, and the additional confidence level (Sinha: The data extracted from the document (or page) and displayed to a user will be the data that received the highest confidence scores after performing each of the various matching models ¶ [0165]. The confidence score indicates, for example, how confident the second machine learning model is in displaying that the Loan Number on a document is 12345, where the extracted data (e.g., 12345) is determined from one or more algorithms and/or models. In the event the confidence score exceeds a threshold, the process may proceed to step 770 ¶ [0200]. Also see ¶ [0232] and [0235]).
However, neither one of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu or Jin explicitly facilitate determine an additional selected result for the second entry; wherein the set of structured data further includes a second entry, and the one or more processors are configured to: execute the plurality of searches concurrently for the second entry.
Dwivedi discloses, determine an additional selected result for the second entry; wherein the set of structured data further includes a second entry, and the one or more processors are configured to: execute the plurality of searches concurrently for the second entry (Each indexer 206 may be responsible for storing and searching a subset of the events contained in a corresponding data store 208. By distributing events among the indexers and data stores, the indexers can analyze events for a query in parallel ¶ [0229]. These techniques include: (1) performing search operations in parallel across multiple indexers; (2) using a keyword index; (3) using a high performance analytics store; and (4) accelerating the process of generating reports ¶ [0361], [0363]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Dwivedi's system would have allowed Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin to facilitate determine an additional selected result for the second entry; wherein the set of structured data further includes a second entry, and the one or more processors are configured to: execute the plurality of searches concurrently for the second entry. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin’s reference, because there a need to improve efficiently storing information identifying journey instances within unstructured event data of a data intake and processing system.
Claim(s) 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sinha in view of Ziegler in view of Hu in view of BHATHENA; Hanoz et al. (US 20240273126 A1) [Bhathena].
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin clearly teaches all the limitations of claim 15.
However, neither one of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu or Jin explicitly facilitate wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the device to generate the normalized first entry, cause the device to: divide the first entry into a plurality of subwords; and normalize each subword in the plurality of subwords to generate the normalized first entry.
Bhathena discloses, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the device to generate the normalized first entry, cause the device to: divide the first entry into a plurality of subwords; and normalize each subword in the plurality of subwords to generate the normalized first entry (A natural language utterance received at utterance pipeline 120 may be passed to tokenization engine 122. Tokenization engine 122 may split the full utterance into constituent tokens. Tokenization engine 122 may perform sub-word tokenization for better generalization. Featurizer engine 128 may include one or more featurizer processes that convert tokens into numerical feature vectors for model input. After an utterance has been tokenized and converted into feature vectors, the features vectors may be sent to intent and entity extraction engine 124 for processing ¶ [0036]. Also see ¶ [0040]-[0041]).
It would have been obvious to one ordinary skilled in the art at the time of the present invention to combine the teachings of the cited references because Bhathena's system would have allowed Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin to facilitate wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the device to generate the normalized first entry, cause the device to: divide the first entry into a plurality of subwords; and normalize each subword in the plurality of subwords to generate the normalized first entry. The motivation to combine is apparent in the Sinha, Ziegler, Hu and Jin’s reference, because there a need to improve generating query parameters from natural language utterances.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu, Jin, and Bhathena discloses, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the device to normalize the first entry, cause the device to: apply standardized casing, whitespace stripping, and punctuation processing to data associated with the first entry (Bhathena: A method may resolve each feature vector of the plurality of feature vectors to a corresponding standardized value of a database query language [abstract]. Also see ¶ [0005], [0006], [0008], [0039]. A tokenization engine may include sub-word tokenization that allows operators and symbols (such as “$”, “=”, “<”, “>,” “+,” dashes, hyphens, etc.) to be identified. Identification of non-word operators and symbols allows for better generalization of the utterance and significantly reduces the chance of a token being out of vocabulary ¶ [0040]. Operator and symbol recognition by a tokenization engine may produce more usable results for parameter generation. For instance, the string “<$40”, may be tokenized simply as “<$40” if a tokenizer is configured to split only on white space ¶ [0041]-[0042])
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Sinha, Ziegler, Hu, Jin, and Bhathena discloses, wherein the one or more instructions, that cause the device to normalize the first entry, cause the device to: divide the first entry into a plurality of subwords; divide each subword in the plurality of subwords into one or more tokens; and generate the normalized first entry based on the one or more tokens for each subword (Bhathena: A natural language utterance received at utterance pipeline 120 may be passed to tokenization engine 122. Tokenization engine 122 may split the full utterance into constituent tokens. Tokenization engine 122 may perform sub-word tokenization for better generalization. Featurizer engine 128 may include one or more featurizer processes that convert tokens into numerical feature vectors for model input. After an utterance has been tokenized and converted into feature vectors, the features vectors may be sent to intent and entity extraction engine 124 for processing ¶ [0036]. Also see ¶ [0040]-[0041]).
Conclusion
The examiner requests, in response to this Office action, support be shown for language added to any original claims on amendment and any new claims. That is, indicate support for newly added claim language by specifically pointing to page(s) and line no(s) in the specification and/or drawing figure(s). This will assist the examiner in prosecuting the application.
When responding to this office action, Applicant is advised to clearly point out the patentable novelty which he or she thinks the claims present, in view of the state of the art disclosed by the references cited or the objections made. He or she must also show how the amendments avoid such references or objections See 37 CFR 1.111(c).
7/24/2026
/MOHAMMAD S ROSTAMI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2154