DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, and 16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Additionally, on Page 9 ¶1: Applicant lists a number of claimed dimensional relationships, and states that ¶0027 explains the technical significance of the dimensional relationships.
--Examiner disagrees. In the SPEC filed on 05/24/2024 ¶0027 states:
However, as can be seen by reading ¶0027 none of the numerous claimed dimensional relationships are tied to the ability of the plunger being able to enter into fluid cavity 240 during the discharge stroke of the plunger – as argued by Applicant.
Accordingly, Applicants argument is not persuasive, as it is not supported by the record (e.g. the instant application), therefore the examiner gives the assertion little weight. See, e.g., In re Pearson, 494 F.2d 1399, 1405 (CCPA 1974) (“Attorney’s argument in a brief cannot take the place of evidence.”).
Accordingly for at least the reasons explained above, Applicants argument is not persuasive.--.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the
an outer surface of the biasing element and an outer surface of the base component form a coplanar surface that interfaces with the straight region of the inner surface – Claim 1 Line 19-20.
an outer surface of the spring and an outer surface of the base component form a coplanar surface – claim 10 Line 8-9.
an outer surface of the spring and an outer surface of the base component form a coplanar surface that interfaces with the straight region of the inner surface – claim 16 Line 23-24.
It is noted that since the cross-section of the wire & the outer surface of the wire of the spring/biasing element is circular in the drawing plane of Figs 4-5 – a coplanar surface is not formed by the outer surface of the spring and the outer surface of the base component as claimed.
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
Base component in claim 1
(an inner diameter of the base component being) configured to accommodate at least a portion of a plunger – Line 10-11.
Biasing element in claim 1.
Configured to bias the annular valve to a closed position – Line 14.
Configured to bias the annular valve at a radial end of the base component and at an axial end of the base component – Line 21-22.
Base component in claim 10
(a diameter of the base component being) configured to accommodate at least a portion of the plunger – Line 4-5.
Base component in claim 16
(a diameter of the base component being) configured to accommodate at least a portion of a plunger – Line 15-16.
Base component in claims 1, 10, and 16.
Corresponds to base component 226 that extends from the perimeter edge 218. Where an inner diameter of the base component being configured to accommodate at least a portion of plunger 120 (as understood from Fig 2, Figs 3-5, and ¶0024-¶0028 the base component accommodates the portion of plunger 120 which projects into the fluid cavity 240 during the discharge stroke of the plunger).
Biasing element in claim 1.
Corresponds to spring 230 in Fig 4 & Fig 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding Claim 1: Line 19-20 states: “an outer surface of the biasing element and an outer surface of the base component form a coplanar surface that interfaces with the straight region of the inner surface”.
Regarding Claim 10: Line 8-9 states: “an outer surface of the spring and an outer surface of the base component form a coplanar surface”
Regarding Claim 16: Line 23-24 states: “an outer surface of the spring and an outer surface of the base component form a coplanar surface that interfaces with the straight region of the inner surface”
However, in Figure(s) 4-5 the cross-section of the wire & the outer surface of the wire of the spring/biasing element is circular in the drawing plane – and because of this an extension from the outer surface of the base component to the outer surface of the spring/biasing element would not form a continuous co-planar surface, as part of the surface formed would extend radially inward from the outer surface of the base component due to the circular cross section of the wire of the spring/biasing element. Accordingly because of this Figs 4-5 do(es) not show the coplanar surface as recited in claim 1 / 10/ 16. Because Applicant does not appear to disclose any structure that is consistent with the particular language recited in the claim, there is a conflict between the claimed subject matter and the specification disclosure which renders the scope of the claims uncertain. Therefore because the specification does not support the claims at issue, the claim is indefinite when read in light of the specification. See in Re Paul G. Anderson, John A. Mcmennamy, Andrew P. Burke and Thomas A. Rak, 106 F.3d 425 (Fed. Cir. 1997) (Because appellants show no structure in their specification consistent with this claim language, [the claim] is indefinite). Also see MPEP §2173.03. For the purpose of examination the language in question in claim 1, 10, and 16 will be examined as best understood.
Finally; depending claim(s) inherit deficiencies from the parent claim(s). Appropriate correction is required.
Claims 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Regarding Claim 13: Claim 13 states: “The check valve assembly of claim 10, wherein the base component extends from the perimeter edge of the annular valve.” However, these features are already recited in Claim 10 Line 2-3. Accordingly, the language of claim 13 fails to further limit the language of claim 10.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Finally; depending claim(s) inherit deficiencies from the parent claim(s). Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 9, and 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buse USPN 3811801 in view of Bassett USPN 5511583.
Annotated Figure 8 of Buse USPN 3811801 (Attached Figure A)
Annotated Figure 8 of Buse USPN 3811801 (Attached Figure B)
Regarding Claim 1: Buse USPN 3811801 discloses: A valve cartridge (the valve cartridge is defined by the sum of its parts and includes valve body 38) for a fluid pump (the fluid pump is defined by the sum of its parts), comprising:
a cartridge body 38 having a first end (see Annotated Fig 8 of Buse USPN 3811801 (Attached Figure B) above) and a second end opposite the first end (Attached Figure B);
a fluid cavity (Attached Figure B) defined in the cartridge body (as seen in Attached Figure B);
one or more suction passageways 58, defined through the cartridge body (Fig 8), that open into the fluid cavity (as seen in Attached Figure B the passageways 58 open into the fluid cavity as claimed); and
a suction valve assembly (the valve assembly is defined by the sum oof its parts and includes element 64) configured to control flow from the one or more suction passageways into the fluid cavity (i.e. control flow between passages 58 and the part of the fluid cavity surrounding elements 64 & 66 of the valve), wherein the suction valve assembly comprises:
an annular valve (64,66) having a central opening (see Annotated Figure 8 of Buse USPN 3811801 (Attached Figure A) above and Attached Figure B), a perimeter edge (Attached Figure A), a base component (base component = the bottom portion of element 64 and element 66 also see Annotated Figure 8 of Buse USPN 3811801 (Attached Figure A) above; the base component of Buse is equivalent to the base component of the instant application) that extends from the perimeter edge (as seen in Attached Figure A the base component extends longitudinally from the perimeter edge as claimed; additionally it is noted that the extension of the base component from the perimeter edge of Buse is the same as the extension of the base component from the perimeter edge seen in Figs 4-5 of the instant application), and a sealing surface (sealing surface = flat surface 77 in Fig 8) defined between the central opening and the perimeter edge (Attached Figure A), an inner diameter of the base component (inner diameter of the base component = inner diameter of element 66 of the base component in Attached Figure A; element 66 is identified as a cylindrical portion in Column 5 Line 10-21, thus the base component inherently has an inner diameter given what is shown in Fig 8) being configured to accommodate at least a portion of a plunger (plunger = piston 102 in Fig 8, a portion of the plunger = part of piston 102 located inside element 66 in Fig 8), and an outer diameter of the plunger (i.e. outer diameter of piston 102 in Fig 8) being similar to a diameter of the central opening (as seen in Attached Figure A and Fig 8 a diameter of the identified central opening is similar to an outer diameter of plunger 102) and less than the inner diameter of the base component (as seen in Attached Figure A and Fig 8 the outer diameter of the plunger 102 is less than the inner diameter of element 66); and
a biasing element 110 configured to bias the annular valve to a closed position (as understood from Fig 8), wherein a diameter of the biasing element (i.e. diameter of spring 110) is smaller than an outer diameter of the base component (as understood from Fig 8 a diameter of the biasing element 110 is smaller than an outer diameter of element 66 of the base component) and an inner surface of the fluid cavity (= inner surface generally indicated by elements 62, 56, and 47 in Fig 8) includes a straight region (straight region = region of the inner surface generally indicated by element 62 in Fig 8) that (i) longitudinally extends across the biasing element and the base component (as seen in Fig 8 the straight region extends across the base component and the biasing element as claimed) and (ii) has a diameter substantially similar to the outer diameter of the base component (as seen in Fig 8 an inner diameter of the straight region (i.e. the claimed diameter of the straight region) contacts element 66 of the base component (as seen in Fig 8), accordingly the inner diameter of the straight portion is substantially similar to the outer diameter of the base component as claimed; also the prior art of Buse addresses the claim language within the same confines as the instant application give what is shown in Figs 4-5 of the instant application is understood to support the particular language in question recited in the claim) such that an outer surface of the base component (i.e. the outer surface of element 66 of the base component) interfaces with the straight region (as seen in Fig 8, Column 5 Line 10-36, element 66 engages element 62 defining the straight region) and the biasing element is configured to bias the annular valve at an end of the base component (as understood from Fig 8 the biasing element is configured to bias the annular valve 66,64 at an inner surface of the right end of the base component); and an axial end of the base component (axial end of the base component = left facing end of element 66 which generally faces element 100 in Fig 8; it is noted that the identified axial end of the base component corresponds to a bottom axial end of the annular valve in Fig 8),
wherein, in an open position, the annular valve (66,64) is to allow flow from the one or more suction passageways 58 into the fluid cavity (i.e. into the part of the fluid cavity surrounding elements 64 & 66 of the valve), and wherein, in the closed position (i.e. the position illustrated in Fig 8), the annular valve is to seal the one or more suction passageways from the fluid cavity (i.e. by contacting valve seat 77 – Column 5 Line 24-29), and to allow flow through the fluid cavity via the central opening (i.e. allow flow through the fluid cavity identified in Attached Figure B when the discharge valve 112,54 is open and the inlet valve is closed; the annular valve 64 is an inlet valve, Column 2 Line 43-52, thus it inherently is opened during a suction stroke of the plunger, and closed during a compression stroke as known in the art – accordingly the fluid would flow through the fluid cavity via the central opening when the annular valve is in the closed position during the compression stroke).
Buse USPN 3811801 is silent regarding the limitations: a diameter of the biasing element is substantially similar to a diameter of the straight region. The prior art of Bassett USPN 5511583 which is directed to a spring biased valve to open/close a compression chamber (title, abstract, Fig 1) like Buse USPN 3811801, is noted.
However, Bassett USPN 5511583 does disclose the limitations: a biasing element (spring 22, Fig 1, Abstract) configured to bias the annular valve (the annular valve = annular sealing ring 20, Fig 1, Column 4 Line 39-52) to a closed position (Fig 1, Column 4 Line 59-61), a straight region (straight region = large diameter portion 80 in Fig 1 that surrounds & slidably receives spring 22 – Column 4 Line 30-38 – and forms the inner surface that guides spring 22 as stated in Column 5 Line 18-20) that (i) longitudinally extends across the biasing element (as seen in Fig 1 the cylindrical portion/straight portion of element 34 longitudinally extends across the biasing element as claimed) and (ii) has a diameter substantially similar to the diameter of the biasing element (since spring 22 is guided by the inner surface of the straight portion as stated in Column 5 Line 18-20 it follows that – an inner diameter of the straight portion (i.e. the claimed diameter of the straight portion) would be substantially similar to the diameter of the biasing element – in order to guide the spring as stated in Column 5 Line 18-20), such that an outer surface of the biasing element (i.e. outer surface of spring 22) interfaces with the straight region (i.e. slidably engages with the straight region, Column 4 Line 30-38, Column 5 Line 18-20, Claim 5), and the biasing element 22 is configured to bias the annular valve 20 at an axial end (i.e. at a bottom axial end of the annular valve 20, element 22 biases the valve as seen in Figs 1-3 & corresponding disclosure of Bassett).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bottom axial end of the annular valve (e.g. axial end of the base component) of Buse USPN 3811801 with the annular recess which receives one end coil of the spring (Fig 1, Column 4 Line 53-67); and configure the biasing element 110 of Buse USPN 3811801 to act against the bottom axial end of the annular valve and have its outer surface slidably engage the straight region as taught by Bassett USPN 5511583 in order to provide axial guidance of the valve based on the sliding interaction of the spring with the straight region (Column 5 Line 18-20, Column 4 Line 30-38, Claim 5).
Further Regarding Claim 1: following the combination of prior art as explained above, Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 discloses the limitations: wherein a diameter of the biasing element is substantially similar to an outer diameter of the base component (in the combination of prior art, since the biasing element/spring 110 of Buse is configured to slidably engage the straight region as taught by Bassett; and as seen in Fig 8 & Column 5 Line 10-36 of Buse, element 66 (the base component) engages element 62 defining the straight region; accordingly following the combination it follows that – a diameter of the biasing element/spring and an outer diameter of the base component would be substantially similar since both engage the straight region as taught by the prior art), and the straight region that (i) longitudinally extends across the biasing element and the base component (following the combination of prior art since both the biasing element and the base component contact the straight region, and the biasing element is configured to act against the bottom axial end of the annular valve – it follows that in the final structure the straight region would inherently extend across both the biasing element and the base component as claimed) and (ii) has a diameter substantially similar to the diameter of the biasing element and the outer diameter of the base component (as explained above in the combination of prior art the base component of Buse and the biasing element / spring 110 of Buse configured as taught by Bassett each engage an inner surface of the straight region; accordingly following the combination it follows that – the diameter of the biasing element/spring and the outer diameter of the base component would be substantially similar to the inner diameter of the straight region (e.g. the claimed diameter of the straight region) – since the components contact each other in the radial direction) such that an outer surface of the biasing element (i.e. outer surface of the biasing element / spring 110 of Buse configured as taught by Bassett) and an outer surface of the base component (i.e. the outer surface of element 66 of the base component of Buse) form a coplanar surface (since the claims do not recite any particular structure beside what is claimed and made obvious by the prior art of Buse as modified by Bassett that would enable the forming of a coplanar surface as claimed. Thus, because the structure of Buse as modified by Bassett makes obvious the claimed structure, it is reasonable to conclude that it will also meet the functional limitation) that interfaces with the straight region of the inner surface (the coplanar surface taught by the combination of prior art would interface with the straight region in the same manner as achieved in the instant application since the claims do not recite any particular structure beside what is claimed and made obvious by the prior art of Buse as modified by Bassett that would enable the coplanar surface to interface with the straight region of the inner surface as claimed. Thus, because the structure of Buse as modified by Bassett makes obvious the claimed structure, it is reasonable to conclude that it will also meet the functional limitation), and the biasing element is configured to bias the annular valve at a radial end of the base component (radial end of the base component = radial location of the annular recess which receives one end coil of the spring which is formed in the base component of Buse as taught by Bassett) and at an axial end of the base component (axial end of the base component = bottom end of the base component of Buse which has the annular recess which receives one end coil of the spring which is formed in the base component of Buse as taught by Bassett).
Additionally Regarding Claim 1: Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 discloses the claimed limitations except for: “an outer diameter of the plunger being greater than a diameter of the central opening”. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to design the pump such that an outer diameter of the plunger 102 is greater than a diameter of the central opening, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component (i.e. a mere change in the diameter of the plunger 102). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case the device of Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 would appear to function similarly given the claimed plunger outer diameter being greater than a diameter of the central opening and the modification would not appear to adversely affect the operation of the prior art device.
Regarding Claim 2: Buse USPN 3811801 discloses: wherein the annular valve, in the closed position (i.e. position shown in Fig 8), is to allow flow through the fluid cavity, from the first end to the second end of the cartridge body, via the central opening (see Attached Figure A & Attached Figure B; since the fluid passage identified in Attached Figure B extends between the first end and the second end, the annular valve (64,66) is an inlet valve, and in piston pumps like that of Buse – during operation of the pump, when the inlet valve is closed (like what is shown in Fig 8) the discharge valve (e.g. 112,54) is open so that the fluid can exit the compression chamber, it follows that during operation of the pump of Buse, during the compression stroke, fluid would be able to flow through the identified structure of the fluid cavity from the first end to the second end as claimed in order for the pumped fluid to leave the pump).
Regarding Claim 9: Buse USPN 3811801 discloses: wherein the fluid cavity extends through the cartridge body (as seen in Attached Figure B) from the first end to the second end of the cartridge body (as seen in Attached Figure B).
Regarding Claim 16: Buse USPN 3811801 discloses: A fluid pump (the fluid pump is defined by the sum of its parts), comprising:
a fluid end (the fluid end is defined by the sum of its parts) having a fluid end block (14 in Fig 4, and Figs 7-8) with a bore (bore = multi tired bore which receives the structure of element 38 in Figs 7-8), and a plunger 102 configured to reciprocate with respect to the bore (as understood from Figure 7-8);
a power end 12 operably connected to the plunger (the drive unit is known in the art to provide the motion for the operation of the plunger 102 of the reciprocating pump, thus the power end/drive unit 12 is inherently operably connected to the plunger 102 as claimed); and
a valve cartridge (the valve cartridge is defined by the sum of its parts and includes valve body 38), configured for insertion into and removal from the bore as a unit (given the structure illustrated in Figs 7-8 element 38 would be capable of being (i.e. configured for) inserted & removed from the bore as a unit as claimed), comprising:
a cartridge body 38 having a first end (Attached Figure B) and a second end opposite the first end (Attached Figure B);
a fluid cavity (Attached Figure B) defined in the cartridge body (Attached Figure B);
one or more passageways (58), defined through the cartridge body (Attached Figure B), that open into the fluid cavity (i.e. open into the part of the fluid cavity surrounding elements 64 & 66 of the valve; when the valve is not seated passages 58 are opened so that fluid can flow into the fluid cavity as understood from Attached Figure B); and
a valve assembly (the valve assembly is defined by the sum oof its parts and includes element 64) configured to control flow between the one or more passageways and the fluid cavity (i.e. control flow between the passages 58 and the articulated fluid cavity), wherein the valve assembly comprises:
an annular valve (annular valve = 64,66) having a central opening (Attached Figure A, Attached Figure B), a perimeter edge (Attached Figure A), a base component (base component = the bottom portion of element 64 and element 66, also see Attached Figure A) that extends from the perimeter edge (as seen in Attached Figure A the base component extends longitudinally from the perimeter edge as claimed; additionally it is noted that the extension of the base component from the perimeter edge of Buse is the same as the extension of the base component from the perimeter edge seen in Figs 4-5 of the instant application), and a sealing surface (sealing surface = flat surface 77 in Fig 8) defined between the central opening and the perimeter edge (Attached Figure A), a diameter of the base component (diameter of the base component = inner diameter of element 66 of the base component in Attached Figure A; element 66 is identified as a cylindrical portion in Column 5 Line 10-21, thus the base component inherently has an inner diameter given what is shown in Fig 8) being configured to accommodate at least a portion of a plunger (plunger = piston 102 in Fig 8, a portion of the plunger = part of piston 102 located inside element 66 in Fig 8), and an outer diameter of the plunger (i.e. outer diameter of piston 102 in Fig 8) being similar to a diameter of the central opening (as seen in Attached Figure A and Fig 8 a diameter of the identified central opening is similar to an outer diameter of plunger 102) and less than the diameter of the base component (as seen in Attached Figure A and Fig 8 the outer diameter of the plunger 102 is less than the inner diameter of element 66); and
a spring (110) configured to bias the annular valve (64,66) to a closed position (as understood from Fig 8), wherein a diameter of the spring (i.e. diameter of spring 110) is smaller than an outer diameter of the base component (as understood from Fig 8 a diameter of the biasing element 110 is smaller than an outer diameter of element 66 of the base component) and an inner surface of the fluid cavity (= inner surface generally indicated by elements 62, 56, and 47 in Fig 8) includes a straight region (straight region = region of the inner surface generally indicated by element 62 in Fig 8) that (i) longitudinally extends across the spring and the base component (as seen in Fig 8 the straight region extends across the base component and the spring as claimed) and (ii) has a diameter substantially similar to the outer diameter of the base component (as seen in Fig 8 an inner diameter of the straight region (i.e. the claimed diameter of the straight region) contacts element 66 of the base component (as seen in Fig 8), accordingly the inner diameter of the straight portion is substantially similar to the outer diameter of the base component as claimed; also the prior art of Buse addresses the claim language within the same confines as the instant application give what is shown in Figs 4-5 of the instant application is understood to support the particular language in question recited in the claim), such that an outer surface of the base component (i.e. the outer surface of element 66 of the base component) interfaces with the straight region of the inner surface (as seen in Fig 8, Column 5 Line 10-36, element 66 engages element 62 defining the straight region – thus it engages/interfaces with the straight region of the inner surface) and the spring is configured to bias the annular valve (as understood from Fig 8); and an end of the base component (end of the base component = left facing end of element 66 which generally faces element 100 in Fig 8; it is noted that the identified end of the base component corresponds to a bottom end of the annular valve in Fig 8).
Buse USPN 3811801 is silent regarding the limitations: a diameter of the spring is substantially similar to a diameter of the straight region. The prior art of Bassett USPN 5511583 which is directed to a spring biased valve to open/close a compression chamber (title, abstract, Fig 1) like Buse USPN 3811801, is noted.
However, Bassett USPN 5511583 does disclose the limitations: a spring (spring 22, Fig 1, Abstract) configured to bias the annular valve (the annular valve = annular sealing ring 20, Fig 1, Column 4 Line 39-52) to a closed position (Fig 1, Column 4 Line 59-61), a straight region (straight region = large diameter portion 80 in Fig 1 that surrounds & slidably receives spring 22 – Column 4 Line 30-38 – and forms the inner surface that guides spring 22 as stated in Column 5 Line 18-20) that (i) longitudinally extends across the spring (as seen in Fig 1 the cylindrical portion/straight portion of element 34 longitudinally extends across the spring as claimed) and (ii) has a diameter substantially similar to the diameter of the spring (since spring 22 is guided by the inner surface of the straight portion as stated in Column 5 Line 18-20 it follows that – an inner diameter of the straight portion (i.e. the claimed diameter of the straight portion) would be substantially similar to the diameter of the spring – in order to guide the spring as stated in Column 5 Line 18-20), such that an outer surface of the spring (i.e. outer surface of spring 22) interfaces with the straight region (i.e. slidably engages with the straight region, Column 4 Line 30-38, Column 5 Line 18-20, Claim 5), and the spring 22 is configured to bias the annular valve 20 at a radial end (radial end = radial location of the annular recess which receives one end coil of the spring (Column 4 Line 53-67); Additionally it is noted that the radial end is located at a bottom axial end of the annular valve 20, and that spring 22 biases the valve as seen in Figs 1-3 & corresponding disclosure of Bassett).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bottom axial end of the annular valve (e.g. axial end of the base component) of Buse USPN 3811801 with the annular recess which receives one end coil of the spring (Fig 1, Column 4 Line 53-67); and configure the spring 110 of Buse USPN 3811801 to act against the bottom axial end of the annular valve and have its outer surface slidably engage the straight region as taught by Bassett USPN 5511583 in order to provide axial guidance of the valve based on the sliding interaction of the spring with the straight region (Column 5 Line 18-20, Column 4 Line 30-38, Claim 5).
Further Regarding Claim 16: following the combination of prior art as explained above, Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 discloses the limitations: wherein a diameter of the spring is substantially similar to an outer diameter of the base component (in the combination of prior art, since the spring 110 of Buse is configured to slidably engage the straight region as taught by Bassett; and as seen in Fig 8 & Column 5 Line 10-36 of Buse, element 66 (the base component) engages element 62 defining the straight region; accordingly following the combination it follows that – a diameter of the spring and an outer diameter of the base component would be substantially similar since both engage the straight region as taught by the prior art), and the straight region that (i) longitudinally extends across the spring and the base component (following the combination of prior art since both the spring and the base component contact the straight region, and the spring is configured to act against the bottom axial end of the annular valve – it follows that in the final structure the straight region would inherently extend across both the spring and the base component as claimed) and (ii) has a diameter substantially similar to the diameter of the spring and the outer diameter of the base component (as explained above in the combination of prior art the base component of Buse and the spring 110 of Buse configured as taught by Bassett each engage an inner surface of the straight region; accordingly following the combination it follows that – the diameter of the spring and the outer diameter of the base component would be substantially similar to the inner diameter of the straight region (e.g. the claimed diameter of the straight region) – since the components contact each other in the radial direction) such that an outer surface of the spring (i.e. outer surface of the biasing element / spring 110 of Buse configured as taught by Bassett) and an outer surface of the base component (i.e. the outer surface of element 66 of the base component of Buse) form a coplanar surface (since the claims do not recite any particular structure beside what is claimed and made obvious by the prior art of Buse as modified by Bassett that would enable the forming of a coplanar surface as claimed. Thus, because the structure of Buse as modified by Bassett makes obvious the claimed structure, it is reasonable to conclude that it will also meet the functional limitation) that interfaces with the straight region of the inner surface (the coplanar surface taught by the combination of prior art would interface with the straight region in the same manner as achieved in the instant application since the claims do not recite any particular structure beside what is claimed and made obvious by the prior art of Buse as modified by Bassett that would enable the coplanar surface to interface with the straight region of the inner surface as claimed. Thus, because the structure of Buse as modified by Bassett makes obvious the claimed structure, it is reasonable to conclude that it will also meet the functional limitation), and the spring is configured to bias the annular valve at a radial end of the base component (radial end of the base component = radial location of the annular recess which receives one end coil of the spring which is formed in the base component of Buse as taught by Bassett).
Additionally Regarding Claim 16: Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 discloses the claimed limitations except for: “an outer diameter of the plunger being greater than a diameter of the central opening”. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to design the pump such that an outer diameter of the plunger 102 is greater than a diameter of the central opening, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component (i.e. a mere change in the diameter of the plunger 102). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case the device of Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 would appear to function similarly given the claimed plunger outer diameter being greater than a diameter of the central opening and the modification would not appear to adversely affect the operation of the prior art device.
Additionally Regarding Claim 16: Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 discloses the claimed limitations except for: “an outer diameter of the plunger being greater than a diameter of the central opening”. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to –design the pump such that an outer diameter of the plunger 102 is greater than a diameter of the central opening--, since no stated problem is solved or unexpected results obtained in having an outer diameter of the plunger being greater than a diameter of the central opening versus the design taught by Buse USPN 3811801. Applicant has not disclosed why it is important/critical that an outer diameter of the plunger is greater than a diameter of the central opening and has not demonstrated that this feature solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose. Specifically, ¶0038 of the SPEC indicates that the valve is designed such that the suction valve assembly has a simple construction (e.g. like the suction valve in Fig 8 of Buse USPN 3811801). Thus, when the pump is designed such that an outer diameter of the plunger 102 is greater than a diameter of the central opening the suction valve of Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 will also meet Applicant’s disclosed functional limitation of having a simple construction – especially since the flowpath where fluid enters the valve from a radially outer location and exits the valve along a central axis of the valve, is similar to the flowpath in the instant application.
Regarding Claim 17: Buse USPN 3811801 discloses: wherein the annular valve is to open during a suction stroke of the plunger (the annular valve 64,66 is an inlet valve, Column 2 Line 43-52, thus it inherently is opened during a suction stroke of the plunger, as known in the art) to allow flow from the one or more passageways into the fluid cavity (e.g. from 58 to the part of the fluid cavity surrounding elements 64 & 66 of the valve in Fig 8, Column 5 Line 24-29), and wherein the annular valve is to close during a discharge stroke of the plunger (the annular valve is an inlet valve, Column 2 Line 43-52, Column 5 Line 29-37, thus it inherently is closed during a discharge stroke of the plunger, as known in the art) to seal the one or more passageways from the fluid cavity (i.e. by contacting valve seat 77 – Column 5 Line 24-29), and to allow flow through the fluid cavity via the central opening and through an open discharge valve of the valve cartridge (discharge valve = 112,54; Column 4 Line 7-25, Column 5 Line 29-37, Fig 8; when the inlet valve is closed the fluid would inherently flow through the fluid cavity via the identified central opening and the open discharge valve in order to allow the fluid to exit the pump).
Regarding Claim 18: Buse USPN 3811801 discloses: wherein the annular valve is to close during a discharge stroke of the plunger (the annular valve is an inlet valve, Column 2 Line 43-52, Column 5 Line 29-37, thus it inherently is closed during a discharge stroke of the plunger, as known in the art) to seal the one or more passageways from the fluid cavity (i.e. by contacting valve seat 77 – Column 5 Line 24-29), and to allow flow through the fluid cavity via the central opening and through an open discharge valve of the valve cartridge (as seen from Attached Figure B the fluid cavity includes the outlet side of the discharge valve 112,54 – thus when the suction valve is closed and the discharge valve is open, the fluid would inherently be able to flow through the fluid cavity via the central opening and through the open discharge valve as claimed), and wherein the annular valve is to open during a suction stroke of the plunger to allow flow from the one or more passageways into the fluid cavity (Column 5 Line 19-37).
Regarding Claim 19: Buse USPN 3811801 discloses: wherein the central opening (Attached Figure A & Attached Figure B) is in a flow path through the fluid cavity (as understood in Attached Figure A & Attached Figure B the central opening forms a flow path through the articulated fluid cavity as claimed) in a direction from the first end to the second end of the cartridge body (as understood from Attached Figure A & Attached Figure B).
Claim(s) 10-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buse USPN 3811801 in view of Winn USPN 5230363 and Bassett USPN 5511583. Claim(s) 3-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buse USPN 3811801 in view of Bassett USPN 5511583 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Winn USPN 5230363. Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buse USPN 3811801 in view of Bassett USPN 5511583 as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Winn USPN 5230363.
Annotated Figure 8 of Buse USPN 3811801 (Attached Figure A)
Regarding Claim 10: Buse USPN 3811801 discloses the limitations: A check valve assembly (the check valve assembly is defined by the sum of its parts), comprising:
an annular valve 64 having a central opening (see Annotated Figure 8 of Buse USPN 3811801 (Attached Figure A) above), a perimeter edge (Attached Figure A), a base component (Attached Figure A; the base component of Buse is equivalent to the base component of the instant application) that extends from the perimeter edge (as seen in Attached Figure A the base component extends longitudinally from the perimeter edge as claimed; additionally it is noted that the extension of the base component from the perimeter edge of Buse is the same as the extension of the base component from the perimeter edge seen in Figs 4-5 of the instant application), and a sealing surface (77, Column 3 Line 39-44) defined between the central opening and the perimeter edge (Attached Figure A), a diameter of the base component (diameter of the base component = inner diameter of element 66 of the base component in Attached Figure A; element 66 is identified as a cylindrical portion in Column 5 Line 10-21, thus the base component inherently has an inner diameter given what is shown in Fig 8) being configured to accommodate at least a portion of a plunger (plunger = piston 102 in Fig 8, a portion of the plunger = part of piston 102 located inside element 66 in Fig 8), and an outer diameter of the plunger (i.e. outer diameter of piston 102 in Fig 8) being similar to a diameter of the central opening (as seen in Attached Figure A and Fig 8 a diameter of the identified central opening is similar to an outer diameter of plunger 102) and less than the diameter of the base component (as seen in Attached Figure A and Fig 8 the outer diameter of the plunger 102 is less than the inner diameter of element 66);
a spring (110) having a diameter (i.e. diameter of spring 110), an outer diameter of the base component (an outer diameter of element 66 of the base component), an outer surface of the base component (i.e. the outer surface of element 66 of the base component), and the spring is configured to bias the annular valve (as understood from Fig 8); and an end of the base component (end of the base component = left facing end of element 66 which generally faces element 100 in Fig 8; it is noted that the identified end of the base component corresponds to a bottom end of the annular valve in Fig 8). Buse USPN 3811801 is silent regarding the limitations: a first sealing insert embedded in the annular valve nearer to the central opening than to the perimeter edge; and a second sealing insert embedded in the annular valve nearer to the perimeter edge than to the central opening. The prior art of Winn USPN 5230363 which is directed to a suction valve for a piston pump (title, abstract) like Buse USPN 3811801, is noted.
However, Winn USPN 5230363 does disclose the limitations: a first sealing insert 52 embedded in the annular valve 44 nearer to the central opening (the central opening of valve 44 seen in Fig 1 & Fig 4) than to the perimeter edge (the perimeter edge = top edge of 44 located between surface 26 and circular surface which abuts elements 62, Fig 1, Fig 4; as seen in Fig 1 the first sealing insert 52 is closer to the central opening than the perimeter edge); and a second sealing insert 54 embedded in the annular valve nearer to the perimeter edge than to the central opening (as seen in Fig 1).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sealing surface 77 of Buse USPN 3811801 with the first and second sealing inserts (52,54) of Winn USPN 5230363 in order to greatly decrease wear on the suction valve (Column 2 Line 5-25).
Furthermore, Buse USPN 3811801 discloses an inner surface of the fluid cavity (= inner surface generally indicated by elements 62, 56, and 47 in Fig 8) includes a straight region (straight region = region of the inner surface generally indicated by element 62 in Fig 8) and has a diameter substantially similar to the outer diameter of the base component (as seen in Fig 8 an inner diameter of the straight region (i.e. a diameter of the straight region) contacts element 66 of the base component (as seen in Fig 8), accordingly the inner diameter of the straight portion is substantially similar to the outer diameter of the base component; also this arrangement in the prior art of Buse is substantially the same as the arrangement in the instant application give what is shown in Figs 4-5 of the instant application).
Buse USPN 3811801 differs from the arrangement in Figs 4-5 of the instant application in that the spring 110 of Buse does not contact the inner surface of the straight region as seen in the arrangement in Figs 4-5 of the instant application. The prior art of Bassett USPN 5511583 which is directed to a spring biased valve to open/close a compression chamber (title, abstract, Fig 1) like Buse USPN 3811801, is noted.
However, Bassett USPN 5511583 does disclose the limitations: a spring (spring 22, Fig 1, Abstract) configured to bias the annular valve (the annular valve = annular sealing ring 20, Fig 1, Column 4 Line 39-52) to a closed position (Fig 1, Column 4 Line 59-61), a straight region (straight region = large diameter portion 80 in Fig 1 that surrounds & slidably receives spring 22 – Column 4 Line 30-38 – and forms the inner surface that guides spring 22 as stated in Column 5 Line 18-20) has a diameter substantially similar to the diameter of the spring (since spring 22 is guided by the inner surface of the straight portion as stated in Column 5 Line 18-20 it follows that – an inner diameter of the straight portion (i.e. the claimed diameter of the straight portion) would be substantially similar to the diameter of the spring – in order to guide the spring as stated in Column 5 Line 18-20), such that an outer surface of the spring (i.e. outer surface of spring 22) interfaces with the straight region (i.e. slidably engages with the straight region, Column 4 Line 30-38, Column 5 Line 18-20, Claim 5), and the spring 22 is configured to bias the annular valve 20 at a radial end (radial end = radial location of the annular recess which receives one end coil of the spring (Column 4 Line 53-67); Additionally it is noted that the radial end is located at a bottom axial end of the annular valve 20, and that spring 22 biases the valve as seen in Figs 1-3 & corresponding disclosure of Bassett).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the bottom axial end of the annular valve (e.g. axial end of the base component) of Buse USPN 3811801 with the annular recess which receives one end coil of the spring (Fig 1, Column 4 Line 53-67); and configure the spring 110 of Buse USPN 3811801 to act against the bottom axial end of the annular valve and have its outer surface slidably engage the straight region as taught by Bassett USPN 5511583 in order to provide axial guidance of the valve based on the sliding interaction of the spring with the straight region (Column 5 Line 18-20, Column 4 Line 30-38, Claim 5).
Further Regarding Claim 10: following the combination of prior art as explained above, Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 discloses the limitations: wherein a diameter of the spring is substantially similar to an outer diameter of the base component (in the combination of prior art, since the spring 110 of Buse is configured to slidably engage the straight region as taught by Bassett; and as seen in Fig 8 & Column 5 Line 10-36 of Buse, element 66 (the base component) engages element 62 defining the straight region; accordingly following the combination it follows that – a diameter of the spring and an outer diameter of the base component would be substantially similar since both engage the straight region as taught by the prior art), such that an outer surface of the spring (i.e. outer surface of the biasing element / spring 110 of Buse configured as taught by Bassett) and an outer surface of the base component (i.e. the outer surface of element 66 of the base component of Buse) form a coplanar surface (since the claims do not recite any particular structure beside what is claimed and made obvious by the prior art of Buse as modified by Bassett that would enable the forming of a coplanar surface as claimed. Thus, because the structure of Buse as modified by Bassett makes obvious the claimed structure, it is reasonable to conclude that it will also meet the functional limitation), and the spring is configured to bias the annular valve at a radial end of the base component (radial end of the base component = radial location of the annular recess which receives one end coil of the spring which is formed in the base component of Buse as taught by Bassett).
Additionally Regarding Claim 10: Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Winn USPN 5230363 and Bassett USPN 5511583 discloses the claimed limitations except for: “an outer diameter of the plunger being greater than a diameter of the central opening”. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to design the pump such that an outer diameter of the plunger 102 is greater than a diameter of the central opening, since such a modification would have involved a mere change in the size of a component (i.e. a mere change in the diameter of the plunger 102). A change in size is generally recognized as being within the level of ordinary skill in the art. In re Rose, 105 USPQ 237 (CCPA 1955). In the instant case the device of Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Winn USPN 5230363 and Bassett USPN 5511583 would appear to function similarly given the claimed plunger outer diameter being greater than a diameter of the central opening and the modification would not appear to adversely affect the operation of the prior art device.
Regarding Claim 11: Buse USPN 3811801 is silent regarding the limitations: wherein the sealing surface is sloped inwardly from the perimeter edge to the central opening.
However Winn USPN 5230363 does disclose the limitations: wherein the sealing surface (50,48,56,58) is sloped inwardly from the perimeter edge to the central opening (as seen in Fig 1).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the flat sealing surface 77 and the corresponding flat valve body 47 of the suction valve of Buse USPN 3811801 with the angled valve seating surface 26 and the corresponding angled sealing surface (50,48,56,58) of Winn USPN 5230363 in order to greatly decrease the wear on the suction valve seating surfaces (Column 2 Line 5-25).
Regarding Claim 12: Buse USPN 3811801 is silent regarding the limitations: wherein the annular valve is in a shape of a conical frustum.
However Winn USPN 5230363 does disclose the limitations: wherein the annular valve is in a shape of a conical frustum (as seen in Fig 1).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the flat sealing surface 77 and the corresponding flat valve body 47 of the suction valve of Buse USPN 3811801 with the angled valve seating surface 26 and the corresponding angled sealing surface (50,48,56,58) of Winn USPN 5230363 in order to greatly decrease the wear on the suction valve seating surfaces (Column 2 Line 5-25).
Regarding Claim 13: Buse USPN 3811801 discloses the limitations: wherein the base component extends from the perimeter edge of the annular valve (as seen in Attached Figure A).
Regarding Claim 14: Buse USPN 3811801 discloses the limitations: wherein the base component comprises: a set of hoops (Attached Figure A) concentric with the central opening (Attached Figure A); and one or more alignment bars (Attached Figure A) that extend between hoops of the set of hoops (Attached Figure A).
Regarding Claim 15: Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 discloses the limitations: wherein the spring (e.g. spring 110 of Buse configured as taught by Bassett) is configured to act on the base component at an axial end of the base component (as explained in the rejection of claim 10 – the spring is configured to act on the annular recess located at the bottom axial end of the annular valve as taught by Bassett; and axial end of the base component = bottom end of the base component of Buse which has the annular recess which receives one end coil of the spring which is formed in the base component of Buse as taught by Bassett).
Regarding Claim 3: Buse USPN 3811801 is silent regarding the limitations: wherein the fluid cavity defines a sloping region that slopes inwardly with respect to a direction from the first end to the second end of the cartridge body, and wherein the one or more suction passageways open into the sloping region of the fluid cavity.
However Winn USPN 5230363 does disclose the limitations: wherein the fluid cavity defines a sloping region (i.e. region defined by surfaces 24,26 in Fig 1) that slopes inwardly with respect to a direction from the first end to the second end of the cartridge body (Fig 1), and wherein the one or more suction passageways 22 open into the sloping region of the fluid cavity (as understood from Fig 1 & Fig 2).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the flat sealing surface 77 and the corresponding flat valve body 47 of the suction valve of Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 with the angled valve seating surface 26 and the corresponding angled sealing surface (50,48,56,58) of Winn USPN 5230363 in order to greatly decrease the wear on the suction valve seating surfaces (Column 2 Line 5-25).
Regarding Claim 4: Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Winn USPN 5230363 discloses the claimed limitations: wherein the sealing surface of the annular valve is sloped inwardly from the perimeter edge to the central opening such that the sloping region and the sealing surface have matching slopes (following the combination of Buse and Winn as explained above, the flat valve body and flat sealing surface of Buse would be replaced with the angled valve body and sealing surface of Winn; additionally as seen in Fig 1 of Winn the sloping region (i.e. the sloping portion of the fluid cavity that is defined by the angled valve sealing surface 26) and the sealing surface (i.e. 50,48,56,58 in Fig 1 of Winn) have matching slopes; Accordingly the matching slopes taught by Winn would be present in the combination of prior art).
Regarding Claim 5: Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Winn USPN 5230363 discloses the claimed limitations: wherein the sloping region is a first sloping region (sloping region = first sloping region = the sloping portion of the fluid cavity that is defined by the angled valve sealing surface 26 taught by Winn – accordingly, when the valve of Buse is modified with the teachings of Winn the first sloping region would be where the valve body meets the sealing surface) and the fluid cavity (Buse – Attached Figure B) further defines a second sloping region (Buse – second sloping region = angled surface generally indicated by element 59 in Fig 8) that slopes inwardly with respect to a direction from the second end to the first end of the cartridge body (Buse –as seen in Fig 8), and wherein a fluid passageway region (Buse – fluid passageway region = region indicated by element 44 in Fig 8) defined in the fluid cavity (Attached Figure B) connects the first sloping region and the second sloping region (in the combination of prior art element 44/the fluid passageway region – would structurally connect the first sloping region to the second sloping region via the structure of cartridge body 38).
Regarding Claim 6: Buse USPN 3811801 discloses the claimed limitations: further comprising: a discharge valve assembly (112,54) configured to control flow from the fluid passageway region into the second sloping region (since valve assembly 112,54 controls the passage of fluid from 44 to 59 in Fig 8, it would inherently control flow from the fluid passageway 44 to the second sloping region 59 as claimed).
Regarding Claim 7: Buse USPN 3811801 is silent regarding the limitations: a first sealing insert embedded in the annular valve nearer to the central opening than to the perimeter edge; and a second sealing insert embedded in the annular valve nearer to the perimeter edge than to the central opening. The prior art of Winn USPN 5230363 which is directed to a suction valve for a piston pump (title, abstract) like Buse USPN 3811801, is noted.
However, Winn USPN 5230363 does disclose the limitations: a first sealing insert 52 embedded in the annular valve 44 nearer to the central opening (the central opening of valve 44 seen in Fig 1 & Fig 4) than to the perimeter edge (the perimeter edge = top edge of 44 located between surface 26 and circular surface which abuts elements 62, Fig 1, Fig 4; as seen in Fig 1 the first sealing insert 52 is closer to the central opening than the perimeter edge); and a second sealing insert 54 embedded in the annular valve nearer to the perimeter edge than to the central opening (as seen in Fig 1).
Hence it would have been obvious, to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify the sealing surface 77 of Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 with the first and second sealing inserts (52,54) of Winn USPN 5230363 in order to greatly decrease wear on the suction valve (Column 2 Line 5-25).
Regarding Claim 8: Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Winn USPN 5230363 discloses the claimed limitations: wherein, in the closed position of the annular valve (Buse – Fig 8 position | Winn – Fig 1 position), ends of the one or more suction passageways that lead into the fluid cavity (Buse – ends of passageways 58 that extend through valve seat 77 in Fig 8 | Winn – ends of passageways that open between elastomeric rings 52,54) are between the first sealing insert and the second sealing insert (Winn – as shown in Fig 1 of Winn; in the combination of prior art the ends of passageways 58 of Buse would be located between the first and second sealing inserts 52,54 given the teachings of Winn).
Regarding Claim 20: Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 is silent regarding the limitations: wherein the fluid cavity defines a sloping region that slopes inwardly with respect to a direction from the first end to the second end of the cartridge body, and wherein the one or more suction passageways open into the sloping region of the fluid cavity.
However Winn USPN 5230363 does disclose the limitations: wherein the fluid cavity defines a sloping region (i.e. region defined by surfaces 24,26 in Fig 1) that slopes inwardly with respect to a direction from the first end to the second end of the cartridge body (Fig 1), and wherein the one or more suction passageways 22 open into the sloping region of the fluid cavity (as understood from Fig 1 & Fig 2).
Hence it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to replace the flat sealing surface 77 and the corresponding flat valve body 47 of the suction valve of Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Bassett USPN 5511583 with the angled valve seating surface 26 and the corresponding angled sealing surface (50,48,56,58) of Winn USPN 5230363 in order to greatly decrease the wear on the suction valve seating surfaces (Column 2 Line 5-25).
Further Regarding Claim 20: Buse USPN 3811801 as modified by Winn USPN 5230363 discloses the claimed limitations: wherein the sealing surface of the annular valve is sloped inwardly from the perimeter edge to the central opening such that the sloping region and the sealing surface have matching slopes (following the combination of Buse and Winn as explained above, the flat valve body and flat sealing surface of Buese would be replaced with the angled valve body and sealing surface of Winn; additionally as seen in Fig 1 of Winn the sloping region (i.e. the sloping portion of the fluid cavity that is defined by the angled valve sealing surface 26) and the sealing surface (i.e. 50,48,56,58 in Fig 1 of Winn) have matching slopes; Accordingly the matching slopes taught by Winn would be present in the combination of prior art).
Examiner's Note: The Examiner respectfully requests of the Applicant in preparing responses, to fully consider the entirety of the references as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention.
It is noted, REFERENCES ARE RELEVANT AS PRIOR ART FOR ALL THEY CONTAIN. “The use of patents as references is not limited to what the patentees describe as their own inventions or to the problems with which they are concerned. They are part of the literature of the art, relevant for all they contain.” In re Heck, 699 F.2d 1331, 1332-33, 216 USPQ 1038, 1039 (Fed. Cir. 1983) (quoting In re Lemelson, 397 F.2d 1006, 1009, 158 USPQ 275, 277 (CCPA 1968)). A reference may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably suggested to one having ordinary skill the art, including nonpreferred embodiments (see MPEP § 2123).
Additionally the origin of the drawing is immaterial. For instance, drawings in a design patent can anticipate or make obvious the claimed invention, as can drawings in utility patents. When the reference is a utility patent, it does not matter that the feature shown is unintended or unexplained in the specification. The drawings must be evaluated for what they reasonably disclose and suggest to one of ordinary skill in the art. In re Aslanian, 590 F.2d 911, 200 USPQ 500 (CCPA 1979). (See MPEP § 2125).
The Examiner has cited particular locations in the reference(s) as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claims, typically other passages and figures will apply as well.
Furthermore: with respect to the prior art and the determination of obviousness, it has been held that Prior art is not limited just to the references being applied, but includes the understanding of one of ordinary skill in the art. The "mere existence of differences (i.e. a gap) between the prior art and an invention DOES NOT ESTABLISH the inventions nonobviousness." Dann v. Johnston, 425 U.S. 219, 230, 189 USPQ 257, 261 (1976). Rather, in determining obviousness the proper analysis is whether the claimed invention would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art after consideration of all the facts. And factors other than the disclosures of the cited prior art may provide a basis for concluding that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to bridge the gap. (See MPEP § 2141).
Conclusion
/CHARLES G FREAY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746
/JOSEPH S. HERRMANN/ Examiner, Art Unit 3746