DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
1. Applicant's arguments, filed on 06/2/2026 with respect to the pending claims in the remarks, have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection necessitated by the new limitations added to claims 1 and 11. See the rejection below of claims 1 and 11 for relevant citations found in Zhao and Slater disclosing the newly added limitations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 5-8, 11, 13 and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhao et al. (US 2020/0358877), (hereinafter, Zhao) in view of Slater (US 2023/0275944), (hereinafter, Slater).
Regarding claims 1 and 11, Zhao discloses a method/apparatus of providing an edge computing service to a user equipment (UE) in a network of a mobile communication system (= method of allocating service request in a system including one or more edge servers, see [0006]), the method comprising:
receiving a service request signal from the UE (= central management server 110 receives a service request and route of a mobile object from mobile object, see [0067]);
determining an edge server type to support the UE, based on information included in the service request signal (= server 110 may determine which edge servers have communication coverage that covers the route, see [0069]; whereby the route 312 of the mobile object is being associated with the “information”; and the edge server that has coverage that covers the route is being associated with the “edge server type”);
determining an edge server to support the UE, based on the edge server type determined to support the UE (= server 110 may determine which edge servers have communication coverage that covers the route, see [0069]; whereby the route 312 of the mobile object is being associated with the “information”; and the edge server that has coverage that covers the route is being associated with the “edge server type”); and
providing the edge computing service to the UE through the determined edge server (= allocating the service request to edge server 146-1, see [0075]).
Zhao explicitly fails to disclose the method/apparatus, wherein the edge server type includes a ground edge server type and an aerial edge server type.
However, Slater, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose ground and edge server located on mobile platforms such as aircraft (see, [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Slater with Zhao for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides bi-directional communication.
Regarding claims 3 and 13, as mentioned in claims 1 and 11, Zhao explicitly fails to disclose the method/apparatus, wherein the aerial edge server type is associated with an aerial edge server including one or more drones, or an aerial edge server including one or more satellites.
However, Slater, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose ground and edge server located on mobile platforms such as aircraft (see, [0022]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Slater with Zhao for the benefit of achieving a communication system that provides bi-directional communication.
Regarding claims 5 and 15, as mentioned in claims 1 and 11, Zhao further discloses the method/apparatus, wherein the information included in the service request signal includes one or more of location information of the UE, channel quality information, service type information, and capability information of the UE (= route information, see, [0069]).
Regarding claims 6 and 16, as mentioned in claim 1 and 11, Zhao further discloses the method/apparatus, wherein the network is in communication with a central server, wherein the UE comprises an uncrewed aerial vehicle (UAV), and wherein the service request signal is received by the central server via a ground base station or an aerial base station (see, [0029 and 0067]).
Regarding claims 7 and 17, as mentioned in claims 6 and 16, Zhao further discloses the method/apparatus, wherein the information included in the service request signal includes one or more of vertiport information and corridor information of the UAV
(= route information, see, [0067 and 0069]).
Regarding claims 8 and 18, as mentioned in claims 7 and 17, Zhao further discloses the method, wherein the central server is configured to: determine the edge server type to support the UE as a ground edge server type or an aerial edge server type; and determine the edge server to support the UE among one or more edge servers related to the edge server type, based on one or more of the vertiport information and the corridor information (= route information, see, [0067 and 0069]).
Regarding claims 9 and 19, as mentioned in claims 1 and 11, Zhao further discloses the method/apparatus, wherein the UE comprises one among a plurality of unmanned ground vehicles (UGVs) and a plurality of unmanned aerial vehicles (UAVs), and wherein the aerial edge server type is associated with aerial edge server comprising one among a plurality of aerial edge servers that provide edge computing service to the plurality of UGVs or the plurality of UAVs (see, [0029, 0067 and 0069]).
3. Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Zhao and Slater in view of Das Gupta et al., (US 2020/0351344), (hereinafter, Gupta).
Regarding claims 10 and 20, as mentioned in claims 9 and 19, the combination of Zhao and Slater explicitly fails to disclose that the method/apparatus, further comprising: selecting the aerial edge server based on at least one of location information of the UE, movement path information of the UE, required quality levels of the UE, or any combination thereof, by using an Artificial Intelligence (AI) model.
However, Gupta, which is an analogous art equivalently disclose that the method/apparatus, further comprising: selecting the aerial edge server based on at least one of location information of the UE (= towers closest to the end user device), movement path information of the UE, required quality levels of the UE, or any combination thereof, by using an Artificial Intelligence (AI) model (= global modeling via machine learning, see [0041]; once global model is initiated, the global model is pushed to selected subset of edge server, see [0042]; and edge servers can be selected purposefully; resides in towers closest to the end user device, see [0043]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have combined the teaching of Gupta with Zhao and Slater for the benefit of achieving a global edge server system that each edge server contribute to the development of global model independently.
CONCLUSION
4. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
571-272-8566.The examiner can normally be reached on M-Sat (6am – 10pm).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8566.
/Kwasi Karikari/
Primary Examiner: Art Unit 2641.