DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Applicant’s claim for the benefit of a prior-filed application under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) or under 35 U.S.C. 120, 121, 365(c), or 386(c) is acknowledged. Applicant has not complied with one or more conditions for receiving the benefit of an earlier filing date under 35 U.S.C. 119(e) and 120 as follows:
The later-filed application must be an application for a patent for an invention which is also disclosed in the prior application (the parent or original nonprovisional application or provisional application). The disclosure of the invention in the parent application and in the later-filed application must be sufficient to comply with the requirements of 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or the first paragraph of pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, except for the best mode requirement. See Transco Products, Inc. v. Performance Contracting, Inc., 38 F.3d 551, 32 USPQ2d 1077 (Fed. Cir. 1994).
The disclosure of the prior-filed application, Application Nos. 62/648,229; 62/522,847; and 15725430, fail to provide adequate support or enablement in the manner provided by 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, first paragraph for one or more claims of this application. The applications fail to provide support for the limitation of sending a dental impression kit with different sized trays, and as such the earliest priority date provided to the instant claims is 04/27/2018.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kitching et al. (US 2008/0305454 A1) in view of Tchouangang et al. (US 2011/0183293 A1).
Regarding claim 18, Kitching discloses a method comprising of sending a dental impression kit to a patient(paragraph [0040] all, disclosing taking molds/impressions of a patient’s teeth and thus the molds/impressions inherently being present would have been sent to the location of where they exist for use),
providing by an application server to a provider computing device associated with a provider treatment plan data indicative of a treatment plan for moving one or more teeth of the patient (Fig. 4 element 304-308 are treatment plans that have been made and element 312 they are sent to a clinician for interaction and review, paragraph [0008] lines 1-20 disclosing the steps are performed on servers and sent to computers),
wherein at least some of the treatment plan data is provided in an editable field of a user interface (paragraph [0044] disclosing the plan has editable fields for the clinician to change the final position of the teeth);
receiving, by the application server from the provider computing device, a communication approving the treatment plan (Fig. 3c element 266 the revieing and receiving of an acceptance/approval for treatment) ; and
manufacturing a plurality of dental aligners based on the treatment plan and the communication, the plurality of dental aligners being specific to the patient and being configured to reposition one or more teeth of the patient (Fig. 3c element 268 aligners have been manufactured and sent to the patient, paragraph [0096] lines 11-16).
Kitching discloses structure substantially identical to the instant application as discussed above but fails to explicitly disclose where the dental impression kit including a plurality of dental trays of different sizes.
However, Tchouangang discloses a dental impression supply kit (title and abstract disclosing the kit is for use by a patient without visiting a dentist), the kit providing a set of upper and lower dental trays (Fig. 1 elements 5 and 6) and acknowledges and discloses that different patients were known required different size dental trays in order to take proper at impressions (Paragraph [0075] lines 4-6 disclosing providing a "number sufficient to accommodate size differences” ).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the kit having trays of different sizes as taught by Tchouangang into the impression trays/molds as taught by Kitching for the purpose of ensuring the kit has the sufficient sizes and trays based on need as taught by Tchouangang (paragraph [0075] lines 4-6).
Regarding claim 19, Kitching further discloses wherein the treatment plan data includes a characteristic associated with one or more dental impressions, and wherein the characteristic is provided in the editable field (paragraph [0044] disclosing the plan has editable fields for the clinician to change the final position of the teeth which is a plan associated with the initial position of the teeth in the dental impression).
Regarding claim 20, Kitching further discloses receiving, by the application server, images of a mouth of the patient captured by a user device of the patient and uploaded to the application server which are provided to the computing device (Fig. 9 element 600 uploaded images of the teeth, , paragraph [0038] lines 28-30, a use’s device that is made to be used by the patient takes images of the patient’s teeth, Fig. 9 showing images 600 are provided to the computing device by being loaded into the computer in 600-606);
wherein the communication is indicative of the patient being considered fit for treatment(Fig. 3c element 266 the revieing and receiving of an acceptance/approval of fitness for treatment).
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 7, 11-13, and 18-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388 is a species to claims 1, 7, 11-13, and 18-20 of the instant application.
Claim 2 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 2 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388 is a species to claim 2 of the instant application.
Claim 3 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 3 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388 is a species to claim 3 of the instant application.
Claim 4 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388 is a species to claim 4 of the instant application.
Claim 5 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388 is a species to claim 5 of the instant application.
Claim 6 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388 is a species to claim 6 of the instant application.
Claim 8 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 9 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388 is a species to claim 8 of the instant application.
Claim 9 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 10 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388 is a species to claim 9 of the instant application.
Claim 14 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388 is a species to claim 14 of the instant application.
Claims 15 and 16 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388 is a species to claim 15 and 16 of the instant application.
Claim 17 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,992,388 is a species to claim 17 of the instant application.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See form PTO-892.
/M.P.S/Examiner, Art Unit 3772 12/30/2025
/EDELMIRA BOSQUES/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3772